DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges the response filed 9/29/2026. Claim 7 was canceled. Claims 1-6 and 8-12 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The replacement drawing was received on 9/29/2026. This drawing is approved and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 1218226, hereafter ‘226.
Re Clm 1: ‘226 discloses a mechanical fuse device (3) for a drive shaft (1, 2) of a switching apparatus, the fuse device comprising: a first connection portion (left side end of 3) and a second connection portion (right side end of 3); and a neck portion (middle of 3, including chamfered portion and hole 4) connecting the first connection portion and the second connection portion, wherein the drive shaft comprises a first part (1) and a second part (2) and the first connection portion is configured to be removably connected to the first part and the second connection portion is configured to be removably connected to the second part thereby connecting the first part and the second part of the drive shaft (see figs), wherein the neck portion is a weak link configured to break when being subject to a torque exceeding a predetermined torque value and thereby disconnect the first part and the second part of the drive shaft (see paragraph 0008), wherein the neck portion has an outer cross-sectional dimension that is smaller than an outer cross-sectional dimension of each of the first connection portion and the second connection portion (at the chamfer of hole 4, see annotated figure below).
Re Clm 2: ‘226 discloses wherein each connection portion comprises at least one attachment point (at contact point) configured to be coupled with the first part and second part of the drive shaft respectively by means of a fastener (6, 7).
Re Clm 3: ‘226 discloses wherein the neck portion is hollow (at hole 4) and comprises a circumferential wall (in between hole openings on wall) and at least one aperture (4) in the wall.
Re Clm 4: ‘226 discloses the neck portion is solid (surrounding hole 4) and comprises at least one aperture (4) extending through the neck portion.
Re Clm 5: ‘226 discloses wherein the predetermined torque value at which the neck portion will break depends on a size of the aperture (paragraph 0008).
Re Clm 6: ‘226 discloses wherein each of the first connection portion and the second connection portion and the neck portion has a cylindrical, square, or polygon cross-sectional shape (see figs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of DE 1218226, hereafter ‘226.
Re Clm 8: AAPA (background of the invention and figure 1) discloses a known switching apparatus (200) for an electrical circuit, the switching apparatus (200) comprising: at least one drive shaft (82) with a first part (top of shaft) and a second part (bottom of shaft), configured for operating the switching apparatus (200).
AAPA fails to disclose at least one mechanical fuse device according to claim 1, removable connected to the first part and the second part of the drive shaft.
‘226 teaches the use of a mechanical fuse device (as rejected above in claim 1) for the purpose of preventing damage due to an overload of torque.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the known drive shaft with a known mechanical fuse device, as taught by ‘226, for the purpose of preventing damage due to an overload of torque.
Re Clm 9: AAPA as modified above discloses wherein the first part of the drive shaft is connected to a power kinematic chain (as disclosed in AAPA).
Re Clm 10: AAPA as modified above discloses wherein the second part of the drive shaft is connected to an operational drive mechanism (92, 94).
Re Clm 11: AAPA as modified above discloses wherein the at least one fuse device is connected to a drive shaft of a disconnector of the switching apparatus (see fig 1).
Re Clm 12: AAPA as modified above discloses wherein the fuse device is connected to a drive shaft of an earthing switch (100) of the switching apparatus (see AAPA).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on the bottom of page 1 to the top of page 2 that the DE ‘226 reference fails to disclose wherein the neck portion has an outer cross-sectional dimension that is smaller than an outer cross-sectional dimension of each of the first connection portion and the second connection portion, since the chamfer is associated with the hole. Examiner disagrees and notes that the neck portion of the device of DE ‘226 relied upon in the rejection is the middle portion of element “3” that has a chamfer and a hole. Examiner further notes that the chamfer clearly has an outer cross-section dimension (vertical dimension) that is more narrow/smaller than an outer cross-sectional dimension of the first and second connection parts (left and right sections of 3). Examiner further notes that figure 2 clearly shows a horizontal cross-section dimension of the neck portion being smaller than a horizontal cross-section dimension of the first and second connection parts.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678