Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Figures 1A-1D) in the reply filed on 12 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6, 9-12, and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 June 2026.
The Examiner notes, while the Applicant stated claims 1-3, 7-8, and 11-15 read on the elected Species, claims 11-12 are further withdrawn from consideration since they depend on implicitly withdrawn claim 10.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the election filed on 12 June 2026
Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 13-15 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
A. "magnetically acting coupling elements," first introduced in claim 1:
the magnetically acting coupling elements perform the function of causing the impeller to rotate in a contactless manner as a result of magnetic interaction between the coupling elements and a rotating magnetic field and may comprise a permanent magnets, coil magnets, or a combination thereof (see for example page 7, third full paragraph; FIG. 1A-1B); or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim language, "wherein each of the vanes has at least two action regions which are spaced apart from and flexibly connected to one another and on which forces can be exerted by means of a magnetic field, by which a relative position of the action regions with respect to one another can be varied," (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if "can" is referring to the possibility of something occurring or if the term "can" is referring to the apparatus being "configured to be" a particular way. Further, after careful review of the specification, based on the Species selected, the magnetic field forces do not act upon the action regions directly, rather it is the magnetically acting coupling elements which interact with the magnetic field/force. For purposes of examination the claim language is interpreted to be as written, however the Examiner suggests the following amendment, "wherein each of the vanes has at least two action regions which are spaced apart from and flexibly connected to one another and a relative position of the action regions with respect to one another are configured to be varied [[on which forces can be exerted by means of]] in response to forces exerted on the magnetically acting coupling elements by means of a magnetic field. [[, by which a relative position of the action regions with respect to one another can be varied.]]
NOTE: The above proposed claim language would appear to overcome the prior art rejection(s) below.
Regarding claims 2-3, 7-8, and 13-15:
Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 13-15 are rejected by virtue of dependence on a rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nojiri et al (US 5947703), hereafter referred to as Nojiri, in view of Melo et al (US 10533558), hereafter referred to as Melo.
Regarding Claim 1, Nojiri discloses the following:
An impeller (23, FIG. 4) of a pump (1) comprising
a plurality of vanes (25; FIG. 4),
magnetically acting coupling elements (27) disposed around an axis of rotation (z) and configured to cause the impeller (23) to rotate in a contactless manner as a result of magnetic interaction between the coupling elements (27) and a rotating magnetic field (synonymous with magnetic flux, see Col. 7, lines 25-45; FIG. 5).
Nojiri does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein each of the vanes has at least two action regions which are spaced apart from and flexibly connected to one another and on which forces can be exerted by means of a magnetic field, by which a relative position of the action regions with respect to one another can be varied.
However Melo teaches the following:
wherein each of the vanes (428; FIG. 4C) has at least two action regions (inner and outer portions of 428b; FIG. 4C) which are spaced apart from and flexibly connected (see Col. 7-8) to one another and on which forces can be exerted by means of a magnetic field (see Col. 6, lines 25-30), by which a relative position of the action regions (inner and outer portions of 428b; FIG. 4C) with respect to one another can be varied (as seen in FIG. 4C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic impeller blades as disclosed by Nojiri, with the adaptable impeller blades, as taught by Melo, with the reasonable expectation of successfully allowing the pump to have its pump curve adjusted to better fit changing process conditions including optimum power efficiency for a wider range of operation and better response to changes in fluid density (see Melo Col. 4, lines 40-45). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the impeller blade of Nojiri with the impeller blade of Melo results in the predictable result of providing an impeller with a known impeller blade (i.e. substituting one known means to provide an impeller with impeller blades for another known means to provide an impeller with impeller blades). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 2, Nojiri as modified by Melo discloses the following:
The impeller according to claim 1,
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-8, and 13-15 would appear to be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claim 3:
a. the impeller comprises at least two groups of the magnetically acting coupling elements that are spaced apart in a radial direction, and
b. each of the vanes has at least two of the action regions that are spaced apart in the radial direction, to each of which at least one of the coupling elements of another of the groups is assigned by a connection between the action region and the at least one assigned coupling element or by integration of the at least one assigned coupling element into the action region,
c. with the impeller geometry being changeable by a relative movement-about the axis of rotation between the at least two groups of coupling elements;
Regarding Claims 7-8 and 14-15:
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 ultimately depend on claim 3;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Nojiri et al (US 5947703) and Melo et al (US 10533558).
The Examiner notes Melo is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar pump arrangements see Page(s) 1.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745