DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 20, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
The “second plane” as described in claim 3
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show:
The “second plane” as described in the specification, ¶ 10.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “4” has been used to designate both “reflecting plates” (see specifications, ¶ 80, line 2) and “reflecting plate” (see specifications, ¶ 78, line 7).
Reference character “2” has been used to designate “two adjacent antenna units” (see specifications, ¶ 80, line 3), “antenna unit” (see specifications, ¶ 80, line 2) and “two antenna units” (see specifications, ¶ 78, line 5).
The drawings are objected to because:
The unlabeled “antenna structure”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 2.
The unlabeled “second plane”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 10.
The unlabeled “thickness” of the connector, as described in the specifications, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “thickness” of the reflecting plate, as described in the specifications, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “geometric center”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 18.
The unlabeled “slot widths”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 23.
The unlabeled “one end” of the metal sheet, as described in the specifications, ¶ 26.
The unlabeled “side” of the radiation patch, as described in the specifications, ¶ 27.
The unlabeled “one end” of the feeding ports, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “end face” of the radiation patch, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “other end” of the feeding ports, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “total area” of a projection, as described in the specifications, ¶ 34.
The unlabeled “communication system”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 2.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The unlabeled “antenna structure”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 2.
The unlabeled “second plane”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 10.
The unlabeled “thickness” of the connector, as described in the specifications, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “thickness” of the reflecting plate, as described in the specifications, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “geometric center”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 18.
The unlabeled “slot widths”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 23.
The unlabeled “one end” of the metal sheet, as described in the specifications, ¶ 26.
The unlabeled “side” of the radiation patch, as described in the specifications, ¶ 27.
The unlabeled “one end” of the feeding ports, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “end face” of the radiation patch, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “other end” of the feeding ports, as described in the specifications, ¶ 32.
The unlabeled “total area” of a projection, as described in the specifications, ¶ 34.
The unlabeled “communication system”, as described in the specifications, ¶ 2.
When there are drawings, there shall be a brief description of the several views of the drawings and the detailed description of the invention shall refer to the different views by specifying the numbers of the figures and to the different parts by use of reference letters or numerals (preferably the latter). (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.74 ).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,7-13,15-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claim 11, line 6, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 12-13 depend therefrom and are included in the rejection.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood in that “close” correspond to “adjacent”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the antenna assemblies" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the antenna assemblies" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the antenna assemblies" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B (See attached translation for the following citation) by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (See attached translation for the following citation. Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Zhang et al. teaches: An antenna structure (antenna structure, ¶ 87; fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) comprising two antenna assemblies (the first antenna assembly comprises a first antenna element (100) and a second antenna element (200), ¶ 8; and the second antenna assembly comprises a third antenna element and a fourth antenna element, ¶ 27, 87), a first direction (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), a first plane (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow); and
the antenna assemblies (the first antenna assembly comprises a first antenna element (100) and a second antenna element (200), ¶ 8; and the second antenna assembly comprises a third antenna element and a fourth antenna element, ¶ 27, 87) comprise at least two antenna units (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow) spaced apart, each antenna unit (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow) comprises a reflecting plate (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) and a patch mechanism (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 66; fig. 1 [110, 210] annotated hereinbelow) that are connected to each other (the first antenna element (100) and the second antenna element (200) are connected to each other by a third network divider (331), ¶ 43, 48-51; fig. 5-6), and the patch mechanism (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 66; fig. 1 [110, 210] annotated hereinbelow) is located on a side of the reflecting plate (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) facing away from the first plane (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach two antenna assemblies spaced apart in a first direction, wherein the two antenna assemblies are configured to be symmetrical relative to a first plane located between the two antenna assemblies, and the first direction is configured to be perpendicular to the first plane.
However, as best understood, Dong et al. teaches two antenna assemblies (two radiation units, ¶ 39; fig. 3 [200] annotated hereinbelow) spaced apart in a first direction (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow), wherein the two antenna assemblies (two radiation units, ¶ 39; fig. 3 [200] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be symmetrical relative to a first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow) located between the two antenna assemblies (two radiation units, ¶ 39; fig. 3 [200] annotated hereinbelow), and the first direction (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be perpendicular to the first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include two antenna assemblies spaced apart in a first direction, wherein the two antenna assemblies are configured to be symmetrical relative to a first plane located between the two antenna assemblies, and the first direction is configured to be perpendicular to the first plane as taught by Dong et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al. to increase the bandwidth of the antenna (Dong et al., ¶ 40).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the antenna assemblies (the first antenna assembly comprises a first antenna element (100) and a second antenna element (200), ¶ 8; and the second antenna assembly comprises a third antenna element and a fourth antenna element, ¶ 27, 87) further comprise a connector (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), reflecting plates (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of two adjacent antenna units (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be connected (fig. 5-6 annotated hereinbelow) through the connector (the first antenna element (100) and the second antenna element (200) are connected to each other by a third network divider (331), ¶ 43, 48-51; fig. 5-6 annotated hereinbelow), and the two adjacent antenna units (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be symmetrical relative to the connector (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al CN 110034398 B, hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of Dong et al CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS), hereinafter Dong et al. and in further view of Li et al US 20230098188, hereinafter Li et al.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang et al. and Dong et al, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the reflecting plates of the at least two antenna units are located in a second plane and are spaced apart, the connector is configured to have a plate shape and is located in the second plane, and the second plane is parallel to the first plane.
However, Li et al. teaches wherein the reflecting plates (fig. 4 annotated hereinbelow) of the at least two antenna units (fig. 4 [19] annotated hereinbelow) are located in a second plane (fig. 4 annotated hereinbelow) and are spaced apart (fig. 4 annotated hereinbelow), the connector (fig. 5 [27] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to have a plate shape (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) and is located in the second plane (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow), and the second plane (fig. 4-5 annotated hereinbelow) is parallel to the first plane (fig. 4-5 annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the reflecting plates of the at least two antenna units are located in a second plane and are spaced apart, the connector is configured to have a plate shape and is located in the second plane, and the second plane is parallel to the first plane as taught by Li et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al. and Dong et al. to reduce mutual coupling.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the connector (fig. 1, 5-6 annotated hereinbelow) is provided as an integral piece (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) with the reflecting plates (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the two adjacent antenna units (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow), and a thickness (0.8 mm, ¶ 46) of the connector (fig. 1, 5-6 annotated hereinbelow) is the same as a thickness (0.8 mm, ¶ 46) of the reflecting plate (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the patch mechanism (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 66; fig. 1 [110, 210] annotated hereinbelow) comprises a dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) and a radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow), the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be parallel (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) to the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) and to be spaced apart (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) from the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) in the first direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) is sandwiched (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) between the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) and the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and both the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) and the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be arranged centrally (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) relative to the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow); and
the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) has two feeding ports (first probes, ¶ 70; fig. 2-3 [111] annotated hereinbelow) rotationally symmetrical at 90° (fig. 2-3 annotated hereinbelow) relative to a geometric center (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) of the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. teaches wherein a projection of the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be located within a projection of the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and a projection of the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) is located within the projection of the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow), and the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) are all configured as a plate-like structure (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), edges of the connector (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) at both ends in a second direction (fig. 6 annotated hereinbelow) are provided as first edges (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow), the first edges (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be connected with the reflecting plate (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow), and an extension length (fig. 6 annotated hereinbelow) of each first edge (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be equal to or less than an extension length (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) of an edge (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting plate (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow) close to the connector (fig. 2, 6 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 1-3 [110]) is provided with a second slot (first window, ¶ 68; fig. 1-3 [112]), and the second slot (first window, ¶ 68; fig. 1-3 [112]) is arranged centrally on the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 1-3 [110]) and penetrates the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 1-3 [110]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al. teaches wherein a metal member (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) is provided between the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) and the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) and the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be electrically connected via the metal member (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow; the first antenna element (110) is provided with a first pin (113). The first pin (113) is fixedly connected to the reflector (300), ¶ 81), and the metal member (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) is embedded in the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow; the first dielectric layer (120) has a first clearance groove (122) corresponding to the first pin (113), ¶ 81-82).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang et al. teaches wherein one end of the feeding ports (first probes, ¶ 70; fig. 2 [111] annotated hereinbelow) penetrates the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) and is welded to the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) at an end face of the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) facing away from the reflecting plate (reflector, ¶ 43; fig. 2 [300] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in figure 2, the first probes (111) are connected to the first antenna element (110) at one end facing away from the reflector (300).), and the other end of the feeding ports (first probes, ¶ 70; fig. 2 [111] annotated hereinbelow) penetrates the reflecting plate (reflector, ¶ 43; fig. 2 [300] annotated hereinbelow; the welding operation of the first probes (111) to the feed points on the reflector (300), ¶ 70).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a distance between the two antenna assemblies is configured to be 10 mm to 50 mm.
However, Zhang et al. teaches that the distance can be varied, ¶ 80.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the distance to be 10 mm to 50 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Doing so would prevent signal interference.
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Zhang et al. teaches wherein in one of the antenna assemblies (the first antenna assembly comprises a first antenna element (100) and a second antenna element (200), ¶ 8; and the second antenna assembly comprises a third antenna element and a fourth antenna element, ¶ 27, 87), a total area (dimensions, ¶ 46) of a projection of the connector (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) and the reflecting plate (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna unit (first antenna element and second antenna element, ¶ 43; fig. 1 [100, 200] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane.
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach the 0.1 m2 to 0.15 m2, but Zhang et al. does teach an approximate area of 0.010758 m2, ¶ 46.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the distance to be 0.1 m2 to 0.15 m2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Doing that would allow to accommodate the assembly in designed limited space .
Regarding claim 23, Zhang et al. teaches: A communication system (communication technology, ¶ 2) comprising the antenna structure (antenna structure, 87, fig. 1-6) according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. and in further view of US 20150244079 by White et al., hereinafter White et al.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al and Li et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the connector is provided with a first slot that is configured to penetrate the connector in the first direction, and the first slot is arranged centrally on the connector: and
wherein the first slot comprises a plurality of first transverse slots and a plurality of first vertical slots, the plurality of first transverse slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a second direction, the plurality of first vertical slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a third direction, the plurality of first transverse slots and the plurality of first vertical slots intersect to form a mesh shape, and the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are configured to be perpendicular to each other.
However, White et al. teaches wherein the connector is provided with a first slot (Figs 7A, 7B) that is configured to penetrate the connector in the first direction, and the first slot is arranged centrally on the connector (Figs 7A, 7B); and wherein the first slot comprises a plurality of first transverse slots (transvers slots 31) and a plurality of first vertical slots (vertical slots 31), the plurality of first transverse slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a second direction (vertical direction d), the plurality of first vertical slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a third direction (transverse direction d), the plurality of first transverse slots and the plurality of first vertical slots intersect to form a mesh shape (mesh shape Fig 7A), and the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are configured to be perpendicular to each other (directions d, d, h, x, y, z axes Figs 7A, 7B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the connector is provided with a first slot that is configured to penetrate the connector in the first direction, and the first slot is arranged centrally on the connector: and wherein the first slot comprises a plurality of first transverse slots and a plurality of first vertical slots, the plurality of first transverse slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a second direction, the plurality of first vertical slots are parallel to each other and arranged at equal intervals along a third direction, the plurality of first transverse slots and the plurality of first vertical slots intersect to form a mesh shape, and the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are configured to be perpendicular to each other as taught by White et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to evenly distribute radio frequency.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. and in further view of WO 2022160094 A1 (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Qiu et al., hereinafter Qiu et al.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein two antenna units are provided, the two antenna units are spaced apart in a second direction, and reflecting plates of the two antenna units are each provided with a reflecting sheet perpendicular thereto, and the reflecting sheet and the reflecting plate are provided as an integral piece; and
an edge of the reflecting plate away from the connector in the second direction is provided as a third edge, one end of the reflecting sheet is connected with the third edge, the other end of the reflecting sheet extends away from the first plane, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Qiu et al. teaches wherein two antenna units (two radiation units, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [10] annotated hereinbelow) are provided, the two antenna units (two radiation units, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [10] annotated hereinbelow) are spaced apart in a second direction (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), and reflecting plates (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the two antenna units (two radiation units, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [10] annotated hereinbelow) are each provided with a reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) perpendicular thereto (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), and the reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) and the reflecting plate (reflecting plate, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [20] annotated hereinbelow) are provided as an integral piece (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow); and an edge (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting plate (reflecting plate, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [20] annotated hereinbelow) away from the connector (the phase shifter assembly (30) is disposed in the cavity (22) and includes a feeding network (32) electrically connected to each radiating element (10), ¶ 27; fig. 2 [30] annotated hereinbelow) in the second direction (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is provided as a third edge (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), one end (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) is connected with the third edge (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), the other end (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) extends away from the first plane (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), and the second direction (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is perpendicular to the first direction (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein two antenna units are provided, the two antenna units are spaced apart in a second direction, and reflecting plates of the two antenna units are each provided with a reflecting sheet perpendicular thereto, and the reflecting sheet and the reflecting plate are provided as an integral piece; and an edge of the reflecting plate away from the connector in the second direction is provided as a third edge, one end of the reflecting sheet is connected with the third edge, the other end of the reflecting sheet extends away from the first plane, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction as taught by Qiu et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to provide shielding sidewalls to prevent signal leakage.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. in view of WO 2022160094 A1 (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Qiu et al., hereinafter Qiu et al. and in further view US 20090262024 by Schillmeier et al., hereinafter Schillmeier et al.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the reflecting sheet is configured to be the same as an extension length of the third edge, and one end of the reflecting sheet away from the reflecting plate is configured to have a distance H from the reflecting plate, wherein 10 mm < H < 15 mm.
However, Qiu et al. teaches wherein a length (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be the same as an extension length (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the third edge (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), and one end (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the reflecting sheet (vertical flanges, ¶ 36; fig. 1 [24] annotated hereinbelow) away from the reflecting plate (reflecting plate, ¶ 29; fig. 1 [20] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to have a distance H (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) from the reflecting plate (reflector, ¶ 43; fig. 2 [300] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein a length of the reflecting sheet is configured to be the same as an extension length of the third edge, and one end of the reflecting sheet away from the reflecting plate is configured to have a distance H from the reflecting plate as taught by Qiu et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to maximize the radio frequency shielding.
Zhang et al., Dong et al., Li et al. and/or Qiu et al. do not explicitly teach wherein 10 mm < H < 15 mm.
However, Schillmeier et al. teaches wherein 10 mm < H < 15 mm (an electrically conductive metal sheet (53) with peripheral webs (53b) has a height (114a) which is less than the height (114) of the patch assembly (13), i.e., less than 5 mm, ¶ 40, 49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the distance H between 10 mm < H < 15 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Doing so would enhance the radio frequency shielding of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. and in further view of US 20110279344 by He et al., hereinafter He et al.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the second slot is provided as a cross-shaped slot, and the cross-shaped slot comprises a second transverse slot and a second vertical slot that intersect: and wherein slot widths of the second transverse slot and the second vertical slot are both configured to be 1 mm to 2 mm, slot lengths of the second transverse slot and the second vertical slot are both configured to be L1, the second transverse slot or the second vertical slot is configured to extend in the second direction, and an extension length of the radiation patch in the second direction is configured to be L2, wherein L1: L2 = 1: 2, and the second direction is configured to be perpendicular to the first direction.
However, He et al. teaches wherein the second slot (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow) is provided as a cross-shaped slot (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow), and the cross-shaped slot (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow) comprises a second transverse slot (horizontal slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78a] annotated hereinbelow) and a second vertical slot (vertical slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78b] annotated hereinbelow) that intersect (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow): and wherein slot widths (width, ¶ 58; fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow) of the second transverse slot (horizontal slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78a] annotated hereinbelow) and the second vertical slot (vertical slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78b] annotated hereinbelow) are both configured to be 1 mm to 2 mm (a width of 1 mm, ¶ 58), slot lengths (the slots (78) have a length, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78a-78b] annotated hereinbelow) of the second transverse slot (horizontal slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78a] annotated hereinbelow) and the second vertical slot (vertical slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78b] annotated hereinbelow) are both configured to be L1 (fig. 8 [l1 80] annotated hereinbelow), the second transverse slot (horizontal slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78a] annotated hereinbelow) or the second vertical slot (vertical slot, ¶ 58; fig. 8 [78b] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to extend in the second direction (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow), and an extension length (width, ¶ 52; fig. 8 [w1 54] annotated hereinbelow) of the radiation patch (inner patch elements, ¶ 52; fig. 8 [52] annotated hereinbelow) in the second direction (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be L2 (fig. 8 [w1 54] annotated hereinbelow), wherein L1 (fig. 8 [l1 80] annotated hereinbelow): L2 (fig. 8 [w1 54] annotated hereinbelow) = 1 (28 mm, ¶ 58): 2 (48 mm, ¶ 52), and the second direction (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be perpendicular to the first direction (fig. 8 annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the second slot is provided as a cross-shaped slot, and the cross-shaped slot comprises a second transverse slot and a second vertical slot that intersect: and wherein slot widths of the second transverse slot and the second vertical slot are both configured to be 1 mm to 2 mm, slot lengths of the second transverse slot and the second vertical slot are both configured to be L1, the second transverse slot or the second vertical slot is configured to extend in the second direction, and an extension length of the radiation patch in the second direction is configured to be L2, wherein L1: L2 = 1: 2, and the second direction is configured to be perpendicular to the first direction as taught by He et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to optimize the return loss and bandwidth of the patch antenna assembly (He et al., ¶ 58).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. and in further view of US 20140361952 by Dobric et al., hereinafter Dobric et al.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the metal member (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) is provided as a metal sheet (The first pin (113) can be soldered (¶ 82); therefore, they are metal sheets (hereinafter first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113]).), the metal sheet (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) is perpendicular to the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) and the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) and is attached to the reflecting plate (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) and the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) at both ends in the first direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and the dielectric plate (first dielectric layer, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [120] annotated hereinbelow) is provided with an embedding slot (first clearance groove, ¶ 81; fig. 2 [122] annotated hereinbelow) for accommodating the metal sheet (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow); and
one edge (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) of the radiation patch (first antenna element, ¶ 62; fig. 2 [110] annotated hereinbelow) in a third direction (fig. 2-3 annotated hereinbelow) is provided as a second edge (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the two feeding ports (first probes, ¶ 70; fig. 2-3 [111] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be away from the second edge (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the metal sheet (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) extends along the third direction (fig. 2-3 annotated hereinbelow), one end of the metal sheet (first pin, ¶ 82; fig. 2 [113] annotated hereinbelow) is flush with the second edge (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and the first direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), the second direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and the third direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) are configured to be perpendicular to each other (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow).
Zhang et al., Dong et al. and/or Li et al. does not explicitly teach the metal sheet is configured to be centrally arranged in a second direction relative to the radiation patch.
However, Dobric et al. teaches the metal sheet (galvanic through-connection, ¶ 73-74; fig. 6-7 [27] annotated hereinbelow) is configured to be centrally arranged in a second direction (fig. 6-7 annotated hereinbelow) relative to the radiation patch (patch electrode, ¶ 74; fig. 9 [7] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the metal sheet is configured to be centrally arranged in a second direction relative to the radiation patch as taught by Dobric et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to provide beamforming (Dobric et al., ¶ 81).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. and in further view of CN 111430908 A (See attached translation for the following citation) by Huang et al., hereinafter Huang et al.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the patch mechanism further comprises a parasitic patch and a foam pad, the parasitic patch is located on a side of the radiation patch facing away from the reflecting plate, the parasitic patch is parallel to the radiation patch and is spaced apart from the radiation patch in the first direction, and the foam pad is sandwiched between the parasitic patch and the radiation patch.
However, Huang et al. teaches wherein the patch mechanism (fig. 1-2) further comprises a parasitic patch (parasitic units, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [6] annotated hereinbelow) and a foam pad (foam, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [2] annotated hereinbelow), the parasitic patch (parasitic units, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [6] annotated hereinbelow) is located on a side (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) of the radiation patch (octagonal main patch, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [8] annotated hereinbelow) facing away from the reflecting plate (reflector, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [10] annotated hereinbelow), the parasitic patch (parasitic units, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [6] annotated hereinbelow) is parallel (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) to the radiation patch (octagonal main patch, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [8] annotated hereinbelow) and is spaced apart (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) from the radiation patch (octagonal main patch, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [8] annotated hereinbelow) in the first direction (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow), and the foam pad (foam, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [2] annotated hereinbelow) is sandwiched (fig. 2 annotated hereinbelow) between the parasitic patch (parasitic units, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [6] annotated hereinbelow) and the radiation patch (octagonal main patch, ¶ 34; fig. 2 [8] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the patch mechanism further comprises a parasitic patch and a foam pad, the parasitic patch is located on a side of the radiation patch facing away from the reflecting plate, the parasitic patch is parallel to the radiation patch and is spaced apart from the radiation patch in the first direction, and the foam pad is sandwiched between the parasitic patch and the radiation patch as taught by Huang et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al. and Li et al. to improve the bandwidth and gain of the antenna structure.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110034398 B by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang et al. in view of CN 110323551 A (Reference provided by the applicant in the IDS) by Dong et al., hereinafter Dong et al. in view of US 20230098188 by Li et al., hereinafter Li et al. in view of CN 111430908 A by Huang et al., hereinafter Huang et al. and in further view of US 20090262024 by Schillmeier et al., hereinafter Schillmeier et al.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhang et al., Dong et al., Li et al. and Huang et al., as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein both the parasitic patch and the foam pad are configured to have a square plate shape;
a projection of the radiation patch on the first plane is located in a projection range of the parasitic patch on the first plane; and
a projection of the foam pad on the first plane is the same as the projection of the radiation patch on the first plane.
However, Schillmeier et al. teaches wherein both the parasitic patch (first parasitic patch element, ¶ 34; fig. 3 [53] annotated hereinbelow) and the foam pad (double-sided adhesive foam strips, ¶ 35; fig. 3 [19] annotated hereinbelow) are configured to have a square plate shape (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow);
a projection of the radiation patch (patch assembly, ¶ 34; fig. 3 [13] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow) is located in a projection range of the parasitic patch (first parasitic patch element, ¶ 34; fig. 3 [53] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow); and
a projection of the foam pad (double-sided adhesive foam strips, ¶ 35; fig. 3 [19] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow) is the same as the projection of the radiation patch (patch assembly, ¶ 34; fig. 3 [13] annotated hereinbelow) on the first plane (fig. 3 annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the patch mechanism further comprises a parasitic patch and a foam pad, the parasitic patch is located on a side of the radiation patch facing away from the reflecting plate, the parasitic patch is parallel to the radiation patch and is spaced apart from the radiation patch in the first direction, and the foam pad is sandwiched between the parasitic patch and the radiation patch as taught by Schillmeier et al. in the antenna of Zhang et al., Dong et al., Li et al. and Huang et al. to improve the bandwidth and gain of the antenna structure.
Additional Comments
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20240250430 by Jean L. Kubwimana et al.
US-11962099 by Huan-Chu Huang et al.
US-20220216621 by Shih-Yuan Chen et al.
US-11088469 by Chi-Ming Chiang et al.
US-20210075122 by Trang Thuy Thai et al.
US-9559431 by Kin-Fai Tong et al.
US-9490538 by Chieh-Sheng Hsu et al.
US-20160261039 by Francis E. Parsche et al.
US-20160126617 by Cheng-Geng Jan et al.
US-20110221652 by Qian Li et al.
JP-2006005851-A by Masakatsu Maruyama et al.
US-9705201 by Carson R. White et al.
US-20030071763 by William E. McKinzie III et al.
US-4916457 by Wong Foy et al.
US-6593891 by Xin Zhang et al.
US-20190393597 by Keishi Kosaka et al.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845