DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Non-final communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
Claims 1-3, and 6:
[ Image Evoking Unit] Prong1: image evoking unit; Prong 2: that extracts a registered object Prong 3: Sufficient structure not recited. ; Specification: Paragraph {0062} ; A function of the information processing apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment can be realized by cooperation of software and hardware to be described below. Functions of the overall control unit 120, the instruction analysis unit 130, the image evoking unit 140, the name object registration unit 150, and the robot
control unit 160 may be executed by, for example, a CPU 901.
Claims 1-2 and 5-6:
[ Name Object Registration Unit] Prong1: name object registration unit; Prong 2: that registers a correspondence ; Prong 3: Sufficient structure not recited. ; Specification: Paragraph {0062} ; A function of the information processing apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment can be realized by cooperation of software and hardware to be described below. Functions of the overall control unit 120, the instruction analysis unit 130, the image evoking unit 140, the name object registration unit 150, and the robot control unit 160 may be executed by, for example, a CPU 901.
Claims 1, 6 and 8-9:
[ Overall Control Unit] Prong1: overall control unit; Prong 2: that grasps correspondence ; Prong 3: Sufficient structure not recited. ; Specification: Paragraph {0062} ; A function of the information processing apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment can be realized by cooperation of software and hardware to be described below. Functions of the overall control unit 120, the instruction analysis unit 130, the image evoking unit 140, the name object registration unit 150, and the robot control unit 160 may be executed by, for example, a CPU 901.
Claims 7-8:
[Instruction Analysis Unit] Prong1: instruction analysis unit; Prong 2: that analyzes ; Prong 3: Sufficient structure not recited. ; Specification: Paragraph {0062} ; A function of the information processing apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment can be realized by cooperation of software and hardware to be described below. Functions of the overall control unit 120, the instruction analysis unit 130, the image evoking unit 140, the name object registration unit 150, and the robot control unit 160 may be executed by, for example, a CPU 901.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nakano (US 20100332231 A1)
Claim 1:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
An information processing apparatus comprising: an image evoking unit that extracts a registered object from a captured image and outputs an identifier corresponding to the extracted object; (Nakano - [0136] When a speech for teaching a name of an object is inputted and this expert is activated, this expert requires the image study/recognition module to perform an image study. Then, the image study/recognition module determines whether the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past or not. When the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module returns the ID of the object. …) a name object registration unit that registers a correspondence between a name of the object and the identifier; and (Nakano - [0139] When a speech for asking a name of an object is recognized, an image study request is sent to the image study/recognition module. When the returned result shows an ID of an object for which the name is already learned, then the name of the object is answered. …) an overall control unit that grasps a correspondence between the name included in an instruction text and the object included in the captured image on a basis of the identifier and (Nakano - [0021] However, when considering a scene when a domestic robot is actually used, it is required to detect a speech that teaches a name in a natural spoken dialogue to extract the name of an object in the speech to link the name to the object. ; [0136] … When the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module returns the ID of the object. …) executes an operation on the object instructed by the instruction text. (Nakano - [0117] In order to demonstrate the effectiveness of the suggested architecture, a dialogue robot was structured. This robot can learn a name of an object by a dialogue and can move to find the object when receiving an instruction to search the object based on the name. )
Claim 2:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the instruction by the instruction text is an instruction about giving a name to an object in the captured image, (Nakano - [0136] When a speech for teaching a name of an object is inputted and this expert is activated, this expert requires the image study/recognition module to perform an image study. Then, the image study/recognition module determines whether the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past or not. When the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module returns the ID of the object. …) the name object registration unit registers the name included in the instruction text and the identifier output from the image evoking unit to which the captured image is input in association with each other. (Nakano - [0139] When a speech for asking a name of an object is recognized, an image study request is sent to the image study/recognition module. When the returned result shows an ID of an object for which the name is already learned, then the name of the object is answered. …)
Claim 3:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, in a case where the object included in the captured image is not registered, the image evoking unit registers the object and outputs a new identifier corresponding to the object. (Nakano - [0136] … When the object it sees is not the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module memorizes the feature of the object image and returns the ID of the object. When the image study/recognition module fails to study the object, the module sends a failure flag. When the study is failed, the lexical acquisition dialogue expert tells the user by a speech that the study is failed. If the ID of the object is obtained, the lexical acquisition dialogue expert requests the lexical acquisition module to perform a lexical acquisition. Then, the lexical acquisition module acquires the name using a language model of a teaching speech that is studied in advance and returns the name.)
Claim 5:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the name object registration unit associates at least one or more names with one identifier. (Nakano - [0139] When a speech for asking a name of an object is recognized, an image study request is sent to the image study/recognition module. When the returned result shows an ID of an object for which the name is already learned, then the name of the object is answered. …)
Claim 6:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the name object registration unit outputs the identifier corresponding to the name included in the instruction text, and (Nakano - [0139] When a speech for asking a name of an object is recognized, an image study request is sent to the image study/recognition module. When the returned result shows an ID of an object for which the name is already learned, then the name of the object is answered. …) the overall control unit grasps the correspondence between the name and the object on a basis of matching between the identifier output from the name object registration unit and the identifier output from the image evoking unit. (Nakano - [0137] The lexical acquisition dialogue expert writes the relation between the acquired words and the object ID in a global context and adds the acquired words to the finite state grammar for speech recognition. ; [0138] When an object search request is recognized, the object search expert obtains the object ID from the recognition result and sends the object search request to the image study/recognition module and moves the robot through a route specified in advance. …)
Claim 7:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an instruction analysis unit that analyzes content of the instruction text. (Nakano - [0117] In order to demonstrate the effectiveness of the suggested architecture, a dialogue robot was structured. This robot can learn a name of an object by a dialogue and can move to find the object when receiving an instruction to search the object based on the name. ; [0118] A task of the suggested architecture is to allow a robot that performs dialogues of various domains to learn a name of an object in the dialogues with a person. Specifically, it is assumed that there is a lexical acquisition dialogue domain as one domain of the so-called multi domain dialogue. …)
Claim 11:
Nakano teaches the following limitations:
An information processing method comprising: extracting a registered object from a captured image and outputting an identifier corresponding to the extracted object;
(Nakano - [0136] When a speech for teaching a name of an object is inputted and this expert is activated, this expert requires the image study/recognition module to perform an image study. Then, the image study/recognition module determines whether the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past or not. When the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module returns the ID of the object. …) registering a correspondence between a name of the object and the identifier; and (Nakano - [0139] When a speech for asking a name of an object is recognized, an image study request is sent to the image study/recognition module. When the returned result shows an ID of an object for which the name is already learned, then the name of the object is answered. …) grasping a correspondence between the name included in an instruction text and the object included in the captured image on a basis of the identifier and (Nakano - [0021] However, when considering a scene when a domestic robot is actually used, it is required to detect a speech that teaches a name in a natural spoken dialogue to extract the name of an object in the speech to link the name to the object. ; [0136] … When the object it sees is the same as the one memorized in the past, the image study/recognition module returns the ID of the object. …) causing an operation on the object instructed by the instruction text to be executed. (Nakano - [0117] In order to demonstrate the effectiveness of the suggested architecture, a dialogue robot was structured. This robot can learn a name of an object by a dialogue and can move to find the object when receiving an instruction to search the object based on the name. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano
(US 20100332231 A1) as modified by Kawamoto (US 20140157156 A1)
Claim 4:
Nakano does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kawamoto teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the object is displayed in the captured image so as to be able to be uniquely specified.
(Kawamoto - [0109] Further, the robot 22 moves in the room 36 and calculates a score that indicates a degree that the object is the target, that is, a degree that the object is a subject to be processed by the robot 22, based on the captured image obtained by capturing the object with the built-in camera. In addition, an identifier for identifying (a function indicating) whether the object is the target is used to calculate the score.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakano to include a method of captured image containing the target as taught in Kawamoto. This method provides a way of ensuring that the correct object is visually highlighted for the operator which in turn ensures that the object is accurately named, identified, and processed according the intent of the operator.
Claim 8:
Nakano does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kawamoto teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 7,wherein, in a case where the operation on the object instructed by the instruction text is specified by the instruction analysis unit, (Kawamoto - [0246] Next, FIG. 19 shows a configuration example of the robot 22. ; [0247] The robot 22 includes a communicating unit 61, a camera 62, a distance sensor 63, a microphone 64, a speaker 65, a control unit 66, a driving unit 67, and a storage unit 68. ; [0248] The communicating unit 61 receives instruction information, feedback information, and specified range information from the instructing device 21 and supplies the information to the control unit 66. ; [0249] The communicating unit 61 transmits the robot recognition information from the control unit 66 to the instructing device 21.) the overall control unit causes the operation on the object to be executed on a basis of an analysis result of the instruction analysis unit. (Kawamoto - [0255] Further, the control unit 66 controls the driving unit 67 based on the instruction information from the communicating unit 61 and autonomously performs the behavior instructed by the user. That is, for example, the control unit 66 controls the driving unit 67 to allow the robot 22 to autonomously search, as a target, an object belonging to a category indicated by category information included in the instruction information. ; [0299] Further, the score calculating processing, for example, ends when the robot 22 finds the target and brings the object to the user.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakano to include a method of interpreting and processing incoming instructions as taught in Kawamoto. Providing a method of interpreting and processing incoming instructions from the operator ensures that the robot accurately behaves according the intent of the operator.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano
(US 20100332231 A1) as modified by Kiuchi (US 20250196331 A1)
Claim 9:
Nakano does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kiuchi teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the overall control unit causes a robot including a manipulator to execute the operation on the object.
(Kiuchi - [0027] As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 20 includes a robot arm 201, an imaging device 202 (an example of a capturing means), and a drive mechanism 203 (an example of a drive means). The robot arm 201 grasps a physical object in accordance with an operation of the drive mechanism 203. The imaging device 202 captures the physical object in the tray T. For example, the imaging device 202 captures a plurality of types of physical objects (e.g., products) packaged by a packaging member with transparency, a barcode or a tag indicating a physical object attached to a physical object, or the like. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakano to include a manipulator on the robot that is being instructed as taught in Kiuchi. Providing a manipulator for the robot allows the machine to interact with real world objects and act in accordance to the intent of the operator.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano
(US 20100332231 A1) as modified by Kiuchi (US 20250196331 A1) in view of Kawamoto (US 20140157156 A1)
Claim 10:
Nakano in combination with Kiuchi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kawamoto teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the instruction text is generated by performing voice recognition on a voice uttered by a user of the robot.
(Kawamoto -[0101] Further, a method for instructing the robot 22 is not limited to the above-mentioned method that uses the instructing device 21. For example, if the robot 22 may recognize a voice of the user by the voice recognition, the user may indicate the target using a voice. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakano and Kuichi to include a means of receiving instruction via voice recognition as taught in Kawamoto. Providing a means of receiving instructions from the operator via voice recognition allows instructions to be conveyed by an operator with minimal programming experience and also allows for operator and robot to react to changing circumstances with greater flexibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Horowitz (US 20230191608 A1) describes using machine learning to recognize variant objects by identifying an object as a variant of an object type by inputting sensed data associated with the object into a modified machine learning model corresponding to the variant of the object type, wherein the modified machine learning model corresponding to the variant of the object type is generated using a machine learning model corresponding to the object type; and generating a control signal to provide to a sorting device that is configured to perform a sorting operation on the object.
Aoyama (US 20040215463 A1) describes a learning system, a learning method, and a robot apparatus, the name of an object is obtained from the user through a dialog with the user. The object is identified based on the detection results of the predetermined plural different features of the object and the learning results of the respective features of the known object previously stored.
Sun (US 20210024297 A1) describes a system for sorting moving objects. The system comprises a light source, an image capturing device, a controlling and processing device, and an object sorting device. Particularly, the controlling and processing device is configured to decide a first setting parameter so as to apply a parameter adjustment to the light source, and is also configured to decide a second setting parameter so as to apply a parameter adjustment to the image capturing device. After deciding an object classifier based on the first setting parameter, the second setting parameter, and object images received from the image capturing device, the object sorting device is controlled to apply an object sorting process to the objects.
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657