DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one
invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive
concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in
a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only
when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of
the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical
features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of
the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single
general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are
claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR
1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims
to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the
claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said
product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out
the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said
product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-14 are drawn to an apparatus
Group II, claims 15-20 are drawn to a method
The groups of invention listed above do not relate to a single general inventive
concept under PC Rule 13.1 because, under PCT 13.2, they lack the same or
corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention a posteriori because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical features of an inflatable balloon and a plurality of electrical conductors, these features are not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Zarins (US 20080255642 A1) who discloses an inflatable balloon (304) and a plurality of electrical conductors (306 a’, 306 b’) (pa. 0064, 0086 & Fig. 8B).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected
invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one
or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim
remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a)
must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that
identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required
under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product and method claims.
Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all
product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn method claims
that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be
considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must
include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process
invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the
product/apparatus claims and the rejoined method claims will be withdrawn, and the
rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37
CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for
patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all
claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper
restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and method claims may be
maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an
allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04.
Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the method claims
should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the
product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note
that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply
where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent
issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
During a telephone conversation with Nihal Parkar on 10/05/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zarins (U.S. Application No. 20080255642 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zarins discloses a medical device (700) comprising:
an elongated support member (302) (pa. 0086 & Fig. 8B);
an inflatable balloon (304) at a distal portion of the elongated support member (pa. 0064-0065, 0086); and
a plurality of electrical conductors (combination of proximal electrode 306 a’, distal electrode 306 b’, and a plurality of extensions) (pa. 0086-0087, 0081) extending longitudinally along the balloon, the plurality of conductors configured to deliver electrical energy to an atrial septum of a patient (pa. 0053, 0065), the electrical conductors being radially spaced apart from one another to form a multicuspid opening in the atrial septum by delivery of the electrical energy (see Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 2, Zarins discloses wherein the electrical conductors lie along an outer surface of the inflatable balloon, extending from a distal end of the inflatable balloon to a proximal end of the inflatable balloon (See Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 3, Zarins discloses wherein when the balloon is inflated the electrical conductors are configured to lie apart from a distal surface of the balloon such that the electrical conductors do not contact a portion of the distal surface of the balloon (See Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 4, Zarins discloses wherein when the balloon is inflated the electrical conductors are configured to lie apart from a proximal surface of the balloon such that the electrical conductors do not contact a portion of the proximal surface of the balloon (See Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 7, Zarins discloses wherein the electrical conductors comprise a flexible material (pa. 0083) such that the electrical conductors expand in a radial direction when the inflatable balloon is inflated (pa. 0079, 0086).
Regarding claim 9, Zarins discloses wherein the inflatable balloon is a cryoablation balloon configured for cryoablating tissue with a cryogenic agent (pa. 0136).
Regarding claim 10, Zarins discloses wherein the inflatable balloon is configured to be at least partially filled with a cooling agent for cooling surrounding blood or tissue when the electrical conductors are energized (pa. 0066).
Regarding claim 13, Zarins discloses wherein the elongated support member comprises a guidewire lumen extending through its length such that the elongated support member can be guided via a guidewire (G) (pa. 0082 & Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 14, Zarins discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors are each insulated along their length (via non-conductive connectors 318), being at least partially exposed at one or both of a distal surface of the inflatable balloon or a proximal surface of the inflatable balloon (pa. 0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarins as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (U.S. Application No. 20220370120 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zarins discloses a guidewire (G) extending through the elongated support member (pa. 0082 & Fig. 8B).
However, Zarins does not disclose a puncturing element at a distal tip of the elongated support member, the puncturing element configured to puncture the atrial septum.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elongated support member (112) with a guidewire (132) extending through, wherein the guidewire is configured to function as a puncturing element configured to puncture through tissue of a patient to enable advancement of the elongated support member through the tissue (pa. 0043 & Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guidewire of Zarins to function as a puncturing element, as described by Yang, in order to enable advancement of the elongated support member through the tissue.
Regarding claim 6, Zarins discloses wherein at least one of the electrical conductors extends to a distal tip of the elongated support member (see Fig. 8B), as well as a guidewire (G) extending through the elongated support member (pa. 0082 & Fig. 8B).
However, Zarins does not disclose wherein the at least one of the electrical conductors is configured to provide electrical energy to the distal tip for puncturing the atrial septum.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elongated support member (112) with a guidewire (132) extending through, wherein the guidewire is configured to function as a puncturing element configured to puncture through tissue of a patient to enable advancement of the elongated support member through the tissue. Specifically, the guidewire may be a conductor and may be configured to be electrified and/or heated (pa. 0043 & Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guidewire of Zarins to function as a conductive puncturing element that can be electrified and/or heated, as described by Yang, in order to enable advancement of the elongated support member through the tissue.
Examiner notes that the resultant combination yields at least one of the electrical conductors (a combination of proximal electrode 306 a’, distal electrode 306 b’, and a plurality of extensions as already set forth in independent claim 1, as well as the modified guidewire of Zarins which is now configured to be electrified and/or heated) to extend to a distal tip of the elongated support member and be configured to provide electrical energy to the distal tip for puncturing the atrial septum.
Regarding claim 11, Zarins discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors consists of electrical conductors radially spaced apart (see Fig. 8B).
However, Zarins does not disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors consists of three electrical conductors radially spaced apart by about 120º such that the multicuspid opening is a tri-leaflet opening.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches expandable members (124) (analogous to the electrical conductors of Zarins) may be circumferentially positioned about elongated support member (112) every 120 degrees, e.g., three expandable members may be evenly spaced about elongated member such that multi-cuspid valvular shunt is formed (pa. 0059).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number and the spacing of the electrical conductors of Zarins to be three electrical conductors radially evenly spaced apart by about 120º, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of forming a multi-cuspid valvular shunt.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarins as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bloom (U.S. Application No. 20150045787 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Zarins discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors consists of electrical conductors radially spaced apart (see Fig. 8B).
However, Zarins does not disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors consists of four electrical conductors radially spaced apart by about 90º such that the multicuspid opening is a four-leaflet opening.
Bloom, in the same field of endeavor, teaches electrodes (106) that are spaced apart by 90 degrees from one another around the circumference of an inner catheter (102) (pa. 0024 & Fig. 2A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number and the spacing of the electrical conductors of Zarins to be four electrical conductors radially evenly spaced apart by about 90º, as taught by Bloom, for the purpose of forming a multicuspid opening with a four-leaflet opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject
matter: regarding claim 8 the Zarins (U.S. Application No. 20080255642 A1) reference fails to teach the medical device of claim 8 as a whole.
The Zarins reference discloses a medical device (700) comprising an elongated support member (302) (pa. 0086 & Fig. 8B), an inflatable balloon (304) (pa. 0064-0065, 0086), and a plurality of electrical conductors (pa. 0086-0087, 0081). While other embodiments of Zarins, such as Figures 8A or 9E, disclose proximal and distal balloons separated by a portion of the elongated support member, which could be interpreted as a distal lobe and a proximal lobe with a waist between the distal lobe and the proximal lobe, none of the embodiments of Zarins teach wherein the electrical conductors are configured to expand in a radial direction away from the waist when tension is applied to the electrical conductors.
Other pertinent art found not previously cited in prior Office Actions include DeSimone (US 20180296264 A1), Kapur (US 20130274728 A1), and Wittenberger (US 20020007180 A1).
DeSimone teaches a device with a proximal and distal balloon with a middle portion in between (Figs. 2 and 12). The middle portion is configured to radially expand and longitudinally extend (pa. 0047). However, DeSimone is completely silent on the exact mechanisms that drives such expansion of the middle portion; therefore, it is unclear if the middle portion experiences any tension in order to expand.
Kapur teaches an apparatus with a proximal and distal balloons with a conductive mesh extending in between (Figs. 4A-4B), wherein the conductive mesh is coupled to the proximal and distal balloons (pa. 0025). However, the mesh is not configured to actually expand, but rather is lifted or moved radially, and does not experience any tension forces.
Lastly, Wittenberger teaches a medical device with proximal and distal balloons with an expansion chamber extending between (see Figs. 3-5). However, the chamber is coupled the balloons and is expanded when the balloons are inflated with a fluid. Therefore, Wittenberger is similarly deficient and does not teach all the limitations of claim 8.
Therefore, there is no motivation (either in these references or elsewhere in the art) for making such specific and significant modifications thereto to arrive at claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson (US 20140018794 A1) teaches systems for nerve modulation.
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794