Applicant’s Response
In the response date 04/09/2026, the Applicant amended claims 1, 3 and 4, and argued against the rejections in the Non-Final Rejection dated 01/12/2026.
In light of the claim amendments dated 04/09/2026, the examiner withdraws the previous claim objections set forth in the Non-Final office action dated 01/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al (U.S Pub 2019/0309217) (“Patil”) in view of Yoshikawa et al (U.S Pub 2017/0335653) (“Yoshikawa”).
Regarding Claim 1, Patil discloses a method for fracturing (Abstract; paragraphs [0001] and [0025]) a rock multi-directionally, the method comprising:
forming a borehole #104 in a rock (Figure 1; [0057]);
introducing a first fluid to the borehole (Abstract; [0028]; Page 7, paragraph [0058] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses introducing a first treatment fluid into a wellbore); and
introducing a second fluid to the borehole (Page 5, paragraph [0028] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses wherein a second treatment fluid is introduced).
Patil, however, fails to expressly disclose introducing and pressurizing a second fluid to the borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole, and allowing the first fluid to close the fractured portions and continuously introducing and pressurizing the second fluid to the borehole even after the fractured portions are generated, and generating a fractured portion in a direction different from the fractured portion of the rock.
Yoshikawa teaches the methods of introducing and pressurizing a fracturing fluid (paragraph [0002]) to the borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]) and allowing the first fluid to close the fractured portions (Page 2, paragraph [0044] and [0045] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yoshikawa teaches introducing diverting agents that are used to close cracks in the fractured portions downhole); and continuously introducing and pressurizing the second fluid to the borehole even after the fractured portions are generated, and generating a fractured portion in a direction different from the fractured portion of the rock (Abstract; [0005]; Page 2, paragraph [0034] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yoshikawa teaches introducing and pressurizing a fracturing fluid with pressure in an ore chute passageway in which the cracks are newly formed and/or cracks grow further in multiple areas downhole) for the purpose of effectively pressurizing a fluid (i.e., fracturing fluid) filled in an ore chute downhole in order to form cracks and/or to further grow the cracks downhole (Abstract; paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Patil of introducing and pressurizing a second treatment fluid to a borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole, as taught by Yoshikawa, because doing so would help to effectively pressurize the fracturing fluid filled in an ore chute downhole to form cracks and/or further grow the cracks downhole.
Regarding Claim 2, Patil discloses the method for fracturing a rock multi-directionally according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid is a functional fluid (Abstract; Page 2, paragraphs [0014] and [0015] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses wherein the first treatment fluid can be drilling fluids, spacer fluids, lost circulation fluids, fracturing fluids, diverting fluids and/or completion fluids).
Regarding Claim 3, Patil in view of Yoshikawa teach the method for fracturing a rock multi-directionally according to claim 1, wherein continuously introducing and pressurizing the second fluid to the borehole is repeated (Yoshikawa: paragraphs [0048] and [0087] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yoshikawa teaches wherein the fluids are introduced again with pressure to form a further increased number of cracks).
Regarding Claim 4, Patil discloses a device for fracturing a rock (Abstract; paragraphs [0001] and [0025]) multi-directionally, the device comprising:
a fluid introduction pressurization unit configured to introduce and pressurize a first fluid (Abstract; [0028]; Page 7, paragraph [0058] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses introducing a first treatment fluid into a wellbore) and a second fluid into the borehole (Page 5, paragraph [0028] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses wherein a second treatment fluid is introduced).
Patil, however, fails to expressly disclose:
a drilling unit configured to drill a borehole in the rock and a control unit for the fluid introduction pressurization unit configured to continuously operate the fluid introduction pressurization unit even after fractured portions are generated around the borehole of the rock in a direction perpendicular to the borehole by the fluid introduction pressurization unit and perform control to repeat fracturing around the borehole of the rock.
Yoshikawa teaches the methods of incorporating a drilling unit configured to drill a borehole in the rock (Abstract; Page 3, paragraphs [0042] and [0043]) and a control unit for the fluid introduction pressurization unit configured to continuously operate the fluid introduction pressurization unit even after fractured portions are generated around the borehole of the rock in a direction perpendicular to the borehole (Abstract; [0005]; Page 2, paragraph [0034] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yoshikawa teaches introducing and pressurizing a fracturing fluid with pressure in an ore chute passageway in which the cracks are newly formed and/or cracks grow further in multiple areas downhole) by the fluid introduction pressurization unit and perform control to repeat fracturing around the borehole of the rock (paragraphs [0048] and [0087] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yoshikawa teaches wherein the fluids are introduced again with pressure to form a further increased number of cracks) for the purpose of effectively pressurizing a fluid (i.e., fracturing fluid) filled in an ore chute downhole in order to form cracks and/or to further grow the cracks downhole (Abstract; paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Patil of incorporating a drilling unit and introducing and pressurizing a first and second treatment fluid to a borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a specific direction, as taught by Yoshikawa, because doing so would help to effectively pressurize the fracturing fluid filled in an ore chute downhole to form cracks and/or further grow the cracks downhole.
Regarding Claim 5, Patil discloses the device for fracturing a rock multi-directionally according to claim 4, wherein the first fluid is a functional fluid (Abstract; Page 2, paragraphs [0014] and [0015] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses wherein the first treatment fluid can be drilling fluids, spacer fluids, lost circulation fluids, fracturing fluids, diverting fluids and/or completion fluids).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/09/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues wherein the combination of references Patil and Yoshikawa fail to disclose and/or teach “methods for fracturing a rock by introducing and pressurizing a second fluid to the borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole,” as recited on pages 4-5 of the Applicant’s arguments/remarks dated 04/09/2026.
Upon further consideration of the Applicant’s arguments/remarks above, the examiner finds the arguments unpersuasive. Reference Patil discloses methods for fracturing (Abstract; paragraphs [0001] and [0025]) a rock multi-directionally by introducing a first fluid to the borehole (Abstract; [0028]; Page 7, paragraph [0058] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses introducing a first treatment fluid into a wellbore) and a second fluid to the borehole (Page 5, paragraph [0028] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Patil discloses wherein a second treatment fluid is introduced). The examiner brings in secondary reference Yoshikawa to teach the methods of introducing and pressurizing a fracturing fluid (paragraph [0002]) to the borehole to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]) and allowing the first fluid to close the fractured portions (Page 2, paragraph [0044] and [0045]). Reference Yoshikawa teaches introducing and pressurizing a fracturing fluid with pressure in an ore chute passageway in which the cracks are newly formed and/or cracks grow further in multiple areas downhole and also in various directions as illustrated in Figures 1A and 1B. Although reference Yoshikawa does not expressly illustrate wherein the fractured portions around the borehole are in a direction perpendicular to the borehole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to introduce and pressurize a fluid to a borehole downhole in order to generate fractured portions around the borehole in a direction perpendicular to the borehole, as instantly recited by the Applicant for Independent claims 1 and 5.
In light of the arguments presented above, the rejection stands as previously set forth.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674