DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “second mold” in claim 49, “one or more loops in communication with the mold” in claim 46, and “heating the mold by inductively heating” in claim 45 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent. In this case, the claims are directed to a method; however, the abstract does not recite steps of the claimed method. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 38 and 49 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 38, “comprises an aluminum” should be changed to --comprises aluminum--.
Claim 49, “a second elevated temperature” should be changed to --the second elevated temperature-- because the second elevated temperature is introduced in claim 29.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly added claim 49 recites “heating to the first elevated temperature occurs in a first mold and heating to a second elevated temperature occurs in a second mold” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “heating to the first elevated temperature occurs in a first mold and heating to a second elevated temperature occurs in a second mold” in the application as filed (see MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06).
Claim(s) 35, 44-46 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the plurality of inorganic fibers are selected from glass fibers, ceramic fibers, carbon fibers, or some combination thereof” which is indefinite.
Claim 48 recites the limitation “an acetate (e.g., EVA or EMA)” which is indefinite. The phrase " e.g.," renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 48 has been examined below as if the exemplary limitation was not part of the claim.
Claims 44-46 recite the limitations “rapidly heating” and “rapidly cooling” which are indefinite. The term “rapidly” is a relative term which renders the limitations indefinite. The term “rapidly" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations have been examined below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, 38, 43, 45, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516).
Regarding claim 29, Walker ‘596 discloses a method of forming a heat shield (a method of forming a foam core composite comprising face sheets of different material and having heat shield functionality: Abstract, P0012-0014, 0017) comprising:
(i) layering a second foamable material layer onto a fiber-containing first layer (implicit teaching as the foamable material is the core/middle layer located in a mold and one of the face sheets can be a fibrous material sheet or a pre-preg sheet: P0012-0014, 0017);
(ii) heating the second foamable material layer at a first elevated temperature to cause initial foaming (P0018); …
(iv) arranging a third heat-reflecting material layer into contact with the second foamable material layer so that the heat-reflecting material layer is adapted to be adjacent to a heat source (implicit teaching as the foamable material is the core/middle layer located in the mold and the other face sheet can be an aluminum sheet capable of providing heat shield functionality via its inherent heat-reflecting properties and heat-reflecting layers are adapted in the art to be adjacent to a heat source to improve heat-reflecting and heat shielding: P0012-0014, 0017, 0032).
Walker ‘596 fails to disclose heating the second foamable material layer at a second elevated temperature to cause secondary foaming.
In an analogous art, foaming of foamable material to achieve foaming, adhesion, and forming (P0010-0011), Walker ‘516 discloses the technique of heating a foamable material at a first elevated temperature to cause initial foaming and heating the foamable material at a second elevated temperature to cause secondary foaming for the benefit(s) of providing self-supporting characteristic to the foamable material before the secondary foaming (P0004, claim 1).
Since Walker ‘596 teaches that the splitting of a step into two steps in his method is an obvious variant (P0037), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Walker ‘516 by splitting the heating step into two steps and heating the second foamable material layer at a second elevated temperature to cause secondary foaming for the benefit(s) of providing self-supporting characteristic to the second foamable material layer before the secondary foaming and improving foaming as suggested by Walker ‘516. See MPEP §§ 2143 I D, 2143 I G, 2144.04 IV C, and/or 2144 II.
Regarding claim 38, Walker ‘596 further teaches wherein the heat-reflecting layer comprises aluminum (P0017, 0032).
Regarding claim 43, Walker ‘596 further teaches wherein the heating steps occur in a mold (P0018).
Regarding claim 45, Walker ‘596 further teaches including rapidly heating the mold by inductively heating (P0018).
Regarding claim 48, Walker ‘596 further teaches wherein the second foamable material layer comprises an epoxy resin, an acetate, an acrylate or any combination thereof (P0021, 0026).
Claim(s) 30-31 and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Burgin (US 20140124972).
Regarding claims 30-31 and 34-36, Walker ‘596 further teaches to provide acoustic attenuation via face sheet selection (P0017), but the commination fails to disclose a step of layering an acoustic attenuation composite onto the heat shield located thereon.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation/shielding and sound insulation/attenuation (P0001-0002), Burgin discloses the technique of including an acoustic fibrous reinforcement layer (this reads on the claimed acoustic attenuation composite), heating and molding the acoustic fibrous reinforcement layer to form a shape that is complimentary with and in direct contact with heat shield layers, and applying/bonding the acoustic fibrous reinforcement layer to the heat shield layers (P0050-0071, 0095-0097, Figs. 1-2), wherein the acoustic fibrous reinforcement layer comprises an acoustic fibrous layer comprising a plurality of inorganic fibers selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, ceramic fibers, or carbon fibers (P0050-0051) for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of increasing sound absorbing/attenuating properties (P0001-0002, 0050). Burgin further teaches wherein the heat-reflecting layer comprises an aluminum (P0056).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Burgin by
including an acoustic attenuating composite comprising glass/inorganic fibers in direct contact with the heat shield for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of increasing sound absorbing/attenuating properties as suggested Burgin. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) and Burgin (US 20140124972) as applied to claims 31 above, and further in view of Mok (US 20220165242).
Regarding claims 32 and 33, the combination, as applied above, fails to disclose the acoustic attenuation composite comprising a perforated facing sheet located in direct planar contact with the fibrous acoustic layer.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation/shielding and sound insulation/attenuation (P0001, 0105), Mok discloses an acoustic attenuation composite comprising a perforated facing sheet (1002) located in direct planar contact with a fibrous acoustic layer (1004: P0086, Fig. 10) as a suitable material for reducing noise and/or enhancing acoustic behavior (P0001, 0086).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Mok by using a perforated facing sheet located in direct planar contact with a fibrous acoustic layer as the acoustic attenuation composite for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of reducing noise and/or enhancing acoustic behavior as suggested Mok. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of PARIPOVIC (US 20240018327).
Regarding claim 39, the combination, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the foamable material comprises a plurality of expandable microspheres.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation, PARIPOVIC discloses the technique of including a plurality of expandable microspheres in a foamable material for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of improving thermal insulation properties (abstract, P0001).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of PARIPOVIC by including a plurality of expandable microspheres in the foamable material for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of improving thermal insulation properties as suggested PARIPOVIC. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Kutluoglu (US 20150024187).
Regarding claim 40, the combination, as applied above, fails to disclose a step of recycling any of the heat-reflecting layer that does not receive the foamable material.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation,
Kutluoglu teaches the technique of recycling waste/trimmed materials (P0546-0548).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Kutluoglu by including a step of recycling waste/trimmed materials including any of the heat-reflecting layer that does not receive the foamable material for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of allowing recycling and improving cost as suggested Kutluoglu. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 41, 42, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Dodworth (US 20210023830).
Regarding claims 41, 42 and 47, Walker ‘596 is silent about the materials for the pre-preg sheet (P0017).
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation (P0171), Dodworth discloses using a polyurethane resin matrix material or an epoxy resin matrix material and glass fibers or carbon fibers as a suitable fiber reinforced material for facing sheets (claim 28, P0099) for the benefit(s) of structures yielding high heat insulation, high sound absorption, and high energy absorption (P0171).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Dodworth by using a polyurethane resin matrix material or an epoxy resin matrix material and glass fibers or carbon fibers as the fiber reinforced material for the pre-preg facing sheet for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of obtaining high heat insulation, high sound absorption, and high energy absorption as suggested Dodworth. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Yokokita (US 20190382548).
Regarding claims 44 and 46, Walker ‘596 further discloses heating the mold (P0018), but the combination does not disclose rapidly cooling the mold.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for forming composite structures yielding heat insulation (P0003), Yokokita teaches the technique of rapidly heating and rapidly cooling the mold by flowing water through one or more loops in communication with the mold for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of shortening the molding cycle (P0091, 0094-0095, 0100, Figs. 6-7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Yokokita by rapidly heating and rapidly cooling the mold by flowing water through one or more loops in communication with the mold for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of shortening the molding cycle as suggested Yokokita. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20140083596) in view of Walker (US 20080265516) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Kuo (US 20110193254).
Regarding claim 49, the combination does not disclose wherein heating to the first elevated temperature occurs in a first mold and heating to the second elevated temperature occurs in a second mold.
In analogous art, foaming of materials in stages, Kuo discloses the technique of heating a foamable material to a first elevated temperature in a first mold and heating to a second elevated temperature in a second mold (Abstract, Fig. 1, and corresponding description) for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of controlling foaming degree and improving shaping results (P0009-0010, 0023).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Walker ‘596 in view of Kuo by performing the heating to the first elevated temperature in a first mold and performing heating to the second elevated temperature in a second mold for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of controlling foaming degree and improving shaping results as suggested Kuo. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure.
Lotti (US 20150204065) discloses a relevant method (Abstract, Fig. 1, and corresponding description).
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743