DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 19/150,235 filed 7/23/25. Claims 1-7 are pending with claims 1, 6, and 7 in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuji Xerox Co. Ltd. JP 2002-281275 A (as cited by applicant – hereinafter referred to as Fuji).
Fuji teaches:
Re: claim 1, A two-dimensional code ([0052]) for reading a first piece of information and a second piece of information as an information pair, the two-dimensional code comprising: a first code region in which the first piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally; and a second code region in which the second piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally, wherein the first code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to a predefined setting rule related to predefined constituent element information, and the second code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to the predefined setting rule related to the predefined constituent element information (fig. 1 and 8; [0067] – respective code regions have the same rank in relation to the number of cells constituting the code region therefore each code region is generated using a same rank set in accordance with a prescribed setting rule relating to information (number of cells) pertaining to a prescribed constituent element).
Re: claim 3, The two-dimensional code according to claim 1, wherein the predefined constituent element information is a number of cells that constitute a code region (fig. 1 and 8; [0067] – respective code regions have the same rank in relation to the number of cells constituting the code region therefore each code region is generated using a same rank set in accordance with a prescribed setting rule relating to information (number of cells) pertaining to a prescribed constituent element).
Re: claim 6, A two-dimensional code reading device (two-dimensional code reader201) that optically reads, as an information pair, a first piece of information and a second piece of information from a two-dimensional code including a first code region in which the first piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally, and a second code region in which the second piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally, wherein the first code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to a predefined setting rule related to predefined constituent element information, the second code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to the predefined setting rule related to the predefined constituent element information (fig. 1 and 8; [0067] – respective code regions have the same rank in relation to the number of cells constituting the code region therefore each code region is generated using a same rank set in accordance with a prescribed setting rule relating to information (number of cells) pertaining to a prescribed constituent element), and the two-dimensional code reading device is configured to treat, as the information pair, the first piece of information and the second piece of information respectively read from the first code region and the second code region generated by using ranks that have been set according to the predefined setting rule related to the predefined constituent element information ([0054]-[0059]; fig. 7).
Re: claim 7, A two-dimensional code reading method for optically reading, as an information pair, a first piece of information and a second piece of information by using a two-dimensional code reading device (two-dimensional code reader201) from a two-dimensional code ([0052]) including a first code region in which the first piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally, and a second code region in which the second piece of information is recorded with a plurality of types of cells arranged two-dimensionally, wherein the first code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to a predefined setting rule related to predefined constituent element information, and the second code region is generated by using a rank that has been set according to the predefined setting rule related to the predefined constituent element information (fig. 1 and 8; [0067] – respective code regions have the same rank in relation to the number of cells constituting the code region therefore each code region is generated using a same rank set in accordance with a prescribed setting rule relating to information (number of cells) pertaining to a prescribed constituent element), the two-dimensional code reading method comprising: treating, as the information pair, the first piece of information and the second piece of information respectively read from the first code region and the second code region generated by using ranks that have been set according to the predefined setting rule related to the predefined constituent element information ([0054]-[0059]; fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji Xerox Co. Ltd. JP 2002-281275 A (as cited by applicant – hereinafter referred to as Fuji) in view of Ito et al. US 2019/0205588 A1.
The teachings of Fuji have been discussed above.
Fuji fails to specifically teach:
Re: claim 2, the two-dimensional code according to claim 1, wherein the predefined setting rule includes that a rank divergent from a rank that is most suitable for recorded information is set.
Re: claim 4, The two-dimensional code according to The two-dimensional code according to wherein the predefined constituent element information is a mask pattern for rearranging cells arranged depending on recorded information so as to disperse light cells and dark cells.
However, Ito teaches:
Re: claim 2, wherein the predefined setting rule includes that a rank divergent from a rank that is most suitable for recorded information is set ([0081]-[0087]; fig.11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ito into the code of Fuji as an obvious matter of design choice to allow the predetermined information in the code region to be obtained using error correction and allow for the amount of information that is recorded in the code region to be increased ([0087]).
Re: claim 4, Fuji as modified by Ito additionally teaches the two-dimensional code according to The two-dimensional code according to wherein the predefined constituent element information is a mask pattern for rearranging cells arranged depending on recorded information so as to disperse light cells and dark cells (Ito – [0086]).
Re: claim 5, Fuji as modified by Ito additionally teaches the two-dimensional code according to The two-dimensional code according to wherein the predefined constituent element information is a compression method for recorded information (Ito- [0138]).
Contact Information
If all attempts to reach the examiner by telephone and email are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Pham, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-3689. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KRISTY A HAUPT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
KAH