DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figs. 2 and 3, it is very difficult to delineate between the first part and the second part of the coupling, due to the small size of the drawings and the shading. Applicant is required to amend the figures such that it is easy to discern the first and second parts and their respective components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the warm gas channel" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It seems that claim 23 is to depend from claim 21.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the warm gas channel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 30 seeks to define the coupling of the method claim 28, yet the coupling is already directly defined in claim 28.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takami et al (US 2018/187821 A1).
As to claim 16 and with reference to the following annotated figure, Takami et al discloses a coupling for liquefied gas comprising a first part and a second part to be coupled to each other by insertion of the first part into the second part (see [0036]), each part comprises an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling (see [0036]), the coupling further comprises a warm seal and a cold seal wherein the coupling further comprises a warm gas inlet arranged to receive a heated gas flow for heating the warm seal.
As to claim 17, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the warm seal and the cold seal are arranged to seal the interface between the first part and the second part forming a space between the parts located between the warm seal and the cold seal, wherein the warm seal is arranged to seal the space from the outside atmosphere and the cold seal is arranged to seal the liquefied gas conduit from the space. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 19, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the coupling comprises more than one warm seal. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 20, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the warm gas inlet is in fluid connection with the outside atmosphere through the interface between the first part and the second part. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure and [0036], [0045], [0046].
As to claim 21, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the warm gas inlet is fluidly connected to a warm gas channel (10; [0036]) delimited at one side of an intermediate part arranged between the warm gas channel and the warm seal, wherein the intermediate part is heated by the heated gas flow. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 22, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 21, wherein the intermediate part is arranged such that the intermediate part heats the warm seal. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 23, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the warm gas channel further comprises an outlet position arranged at the open end of the interface between the first part and the second part. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 24, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 23, wherein the outlet position is the opening to the outside atmosphere formed in the interface between the first and second coupling parts. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 25, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the coupling is a vacuum insulated coupling (see [0042]). Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 26, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, wherein the coupling is a coupling for transfer of cryogenic liquefied gas. Refer to [0033] - [0036].
As to claim 27, Takami et al discloses the coupling part for a coupling according to claim 16, comprising an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling, wherein with the first part and second parts interconnected the coupling comprises a warm seal and a cold seal in the coupling part further comprise a warm gas inlet adapted to receive a heated gas, and wherein the warm gas inlet is connected to a warm gas channel heating part of the coupling such that the warm seal is indirectly heated. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 28, Takami et al discloses a method in a coupling for liquefied gas comprising a first part (4) and a second part (3) to be coupled to each other by insertion of the first part into the second part [0036], each part comprises an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling [0036], the coupling further comprises a warm seal and a cold seal in the coupling further comprise a warm gas inlet and method comprises the step of: supplying a heated gas flow to the warm gas inlet (see [0036], [0045], [0046]). Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 29, Takami et al discloses the method according to claim 28, wherein the heated gas flow enters the coupling at the warm gas inlet, flows through the warm gas channel, and leaves the coupling in the interface between the first part and the second part. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 30, Takami et al discloses the method according to claim 28 wherein the coupling is a coupling for liquefied gas comprising a first part and a second part to be coupled to each other by insertion of the first part into the second part, each part comprises an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling, the coupling further comprises a warm seal and a cold seal wherein the coupling further comprises a warm gas inlet arranged to receive a heated gas flow for heating the warm seal. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure and the foregoing 112(d) rejection.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami et al in view of Carns et al (US 2009/0127848)
As to claim 18, Takami et al discloses the coupling according to claim 16, except that the coupling further comprise a leak detection seal arranged between the warm seal and the outside atmosphere forming a leak detection space between the warm seal and the leak detection seal.
However, Carns et al teaches a flanged, double-walled, vacuum-insulated pipe fitting with a leak sensor port. As shown in Fig. 13 and described in paragraphs [0050] - [0060], a leak detection port (238) is disposed between two seals (240, 242). An outer leakage collection conduit is attached to the leak detection space (238).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Takami et al such that the coupling further comprise a leak detection seal arranged between the warm seal and the outside atmosphere forming a leak detection space between the warm seal and the leak detection seal, as taught by Carns et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to establish a protection against, indicator for, and collection means for leaks between the warm seal and the outside atmosphere.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gustafson discloses a cryogenic fluid coupling, including a warm seal and a cold seal.
Lange et al discloses a plug-in coupling for cryogenic lines, including a warm seal and a cold seal.
Light et al discloses a liquid cryogen pumping system.
Box et al discloses a detachable high-pressure, vacuum-insulated coupler.
Lambert discloses a cryogenic coupling device.
Tocha discloses a coupling for connecting vacuum-insulated line ends.
Kopplin et al discloses an insulated pipe coupling, including a warm seal and a cold seal.
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679