DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2018-098999A, Eguchi.
Regarding claim 1
Eguchi teaches a solar power generation apparatus (corresponding to solar power generation device 10) for tracking a solar altitude and direction [Fig. 3, paras., 0006, 0020 and 0024], comprising:
a support unit (corresponding to mounting frame 30) supporting and holding a solar panel (20) from below [Fig. 3 and para. 0024];
an angle adjustment unit (corresponding to drive unit 40) provided on a part of the support unit (30) and configured to move the solar panel (20) vertically according to the solar altitude (the drive unit 40 comprises linear actuator 41 and changes the position of the solar panel 20) [Fig. 3, paras. 0024 and 0034-0035]; and
a controller (50) provided on a part of the support unit (the controller 50 is provided on the support column 31 of the mounting frame 30) and connected to the angle adjustment unit (40) for controlling operation of the angle adjustment unit (the controller 50 controls the linear actuator 41 or the rotary actuator 42 to change the orientation of the solar panel 20 so that the light-receiving surface 20A of the solar panel 20 faces the position of the sun detected by the light sensor 60( [Fig. 3, paras. 0024—0025 and 0039].
Fig. 3
Regarding claim 2
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, wherein the support unit (30) includes:
a panel receiving module (corresponding to module support member 32) providing a space for receiving the solar panel (module support member 32 supports the solar panel) [Fig. 3 and para. 0026];
a horizontal bar (corresponding to left and right axis members 35) to which the panel receiving module (32) is hingedly coupled at an upper portion to allow for angle adjustment of the panel receiving module (32) (left and right axis members 35 support the upper and lower support members 34 so that they can swing freely with the left and right direction as the axial direction) [Figs. 2-3 and para. 0029];
a post (corresponding to support column 31) coupled to a lower portion of the horizontal bar (35) to support the horizontal bar (35) (left and right axis members 35 are fixed to the upper end of the support column 31) [Figs. 2-3, para. 0025]; and
a pair of braces symmetrically inclined and connected from the post (31) toward the horizontal bar (35) to provide supporting force [see Fig. 2 below].
Fig. 2
Regarding claim 3
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, wherein the angle adjustment unit (40) includes:
a protruding bar (corresponding to support bracket 36) having one end coupled to the post (31) and formed to protrude by a predetermined length [Fig. 3 and para. 0030];
a protruding bar support (see annotated Fig. 3 below) connected to the protruding bar (36) and the post (31) in an inclined state to support the protruding bar (36) [Fig. 3];
an actuator (corresponding to linear actuator 41) installed at the other end of the protruding bar (36) and connected to the panel receiving module (32) to adjust a vertical angle of the panel receiving module (32) (drive unit 40, acting as a driving means, changes the orientation of the solar panel 20) [Fig. 3 and paras. 0034-0035]; and
an actuator driver connected to the actuator (41) to provide power to the actuator (the linear actuator 41 is driven) [paras. 0035-0036].
Fig. 3
Regarding claim 4
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, further comprising:
a slew drive (corresponding to rotating actuator 42) coupled to a lower portion of the support unit (30) and rotating the support unit (30) under the control of the controller (50) [Fig. 3, paras. 0025, 0034 and 0037-0039].
Regarding claim 6
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, further comprising:
a solar position detector (corresponding to light sensor 60) provided on a part of the support unit (30) and connected to the controller (50) for tracking the position of the sun in real time (controller 50, acting as a control means, controls the linear actuator 41 or the rotary actuator 42 to change the orientation of the solar panel 20 so that the light-receiving surface 20A of the solar panel 20 faces the position of the sun detected by the light sensor 60) [Fig. 3 and para. 0039].
Regarding claim 7
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, wherein the angle adjustment unit (40) adjusts the angle of the support unit (30) based on the solar altitude tracked in real time by the solar position detector (60) (controller 50 has the function of controlling the linear actuator 41 or the rotary actuator 42 so that it faces the position of the sun detected by the light sensor 60) [para. 0042].
Regarding claim 8
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, wherein the slew drive (42) rotates the support unit (30) according to the direction of the sun tracked in real time by the solar position detector (60) (controller 50 has the function of controlling the linear actuator 41 or the rotary actuator 42 so that it faces the position of the sun detected by the light sensor 60) [para. 0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-8 above, and further in view of US 20170160372 A1, Corio.
Regarding claim 5
Eguchi teaches the solar power generation apparatus as set forth above, wherein the slew drive (42) includes:
a slewing unit (corresponding to the rotating actuator structure coupled to a lower portion of the support unit and rotating the support unit (the rotating part 31B is connected to the base part 31A so as to be rotatable about the vertical axis via a rotating actuator 42) [Figs. 2-3, paras. 0025 and 0037];
a slewing unit driver connected to the slewing unit (42) and providing power for operation of the slewing unit (42) (the rotation actuator is driven so that the rotating part 31B can rotate in ±1° increments relative to the base 31A) [paras. 0037-0038 and 0045].
Eguchi does not teach a torque limiter provided on one side of the slewing unit driver and regulating operation of the slewing unit driver.
Corio teaches a solar power generation device wherein a driving unit comprising a torque limiter on one side of the driving unit and regulating the operation of a slewing unit driver (motor 15) [Figs. 3-5, paras. 0070-0071].
The torque limiter acting as a torsional force relief valve that minimizes the hinge moments and eliminates any significant dynamic forces that may be induced by the wind on mechanical systems such as PV tracking structures [para. 0007].
The torque limiter also acts as an overload relief from the input force of the drive motor if the array cannot move due to an obstruction such as an unbalanced heavy snow load, snow drift, or sand dune, or if one or more of the linked gear sets are at an extreme limit stop condition [para. 0008].
Eguchi and Corio are analogous inventions in the field of solar power generation apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slew drive of Eguchi to comprise a torque limiter, as in Corio, in order to minimize hinge moments, eliminate any significant dynamic forces that may be induced by the wind on mechanical systems such as PV tracking structures, and to provide an overload relief from the input force of the drive motor if the array cannot move due to an obstruction [Corio, paras. 0007-0008].
Conclusion
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721