Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending and examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show horizontal bar (120) above panel mounts (110) and a post (130) coupled to a lower part of the horizontal bar (120) as described in the specification and claim 2 (see applicant’s fig. 2 and applicant’s specification, page 8, para [0040]-[0042]). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In applicant’s specification, (page 8, para [0040]-[0042]), applicant states the horizontal bar (120) is above panel mounts (110) and connected to the post (130). In figs. 2 and 3, applicant shows the horizontal bar (120) below the panel mounts (110). The examiner does not see a structural component that could be interpreted as a horizontal bar that is above the panel mounts (110), let alone above the panel mounts and connected to the post. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Worden et al. (US 2024/0204714)
Regarding claim 1, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus for tracking a solar altitude (see abstract), comprising:
a support unit (shown in figs. 10-12) supporting and holding a solar panel (15-18) from below (shown in fig. 1);
an angle adjustment unit (see applicant’s specification page 8, para [0044], i.e., angle adjustment unit 200 may include an angle adjustment member 210, an actuator 220, an actuator driver 230) (see Worden fig. 10, drive arm (98), actuator (100), motor (104)) provided on a part of the support unit (shown in fig. 10, stationary structural member (22)) and configured to move the solar panel vertically according to the solar altitude (see para [0011]); and
a controller (node controller (118), see para [0057]) provided on a part of the support unit (shown in fig. 13) and connected to the angle adjustment unit for controlling operation of the angle adjustment unit (see para [0011]) (see para [0039]-[0042], [0051]-[0054]). Applicant’s fig. 3 and Worden fig. 10, marked-up and shown below for convenience:
For rejection of claim 2, see drawing objection and rejection under 35 USC 112 above.
(Rejection of claim 2 based on wording in applicant’s specification and claim 2)
Regarding claim 2, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 1. wherein the support unit includes:
a panel mount (26) providing a space for receiving the solar panel (12-14);
a horizontal bar (110, 112, support (e.g., purlin) member, fig. 11, para [0054]) positioned above the panel mount (26) to allow for angle adjustment of the panel mount (26); and
a post (22) coupled to a lower portion of the horizontal bar (through panel mount) for supporting the horizontal bar (110, 112).
(Alternatively, rejection of claim 2 based on applicant’s drawings, figs. 2 and 3)
Regarding claim 2, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the support unit includes:
a panel mount (110, 112, support (e.g., purlin) member, fig. 11, para [0054]) providing a space for receiving the solar panel (12-14);
a horizontal bar (26) positioned above below the panel mount (110, 112) to allow for angle adjustment of the panel mount (110, 112); and
a post (22) coupled to a lower portion of the horizontal bar for supporting the horizontal bar.
Regarding claim 5, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a solar position detector (current sensor (1804)) provided on a part of the support unit (see schematic fig. 15, wherein current sensor (1804) is shown as a component of node controller (118), which is mounted on horizontal bar (26), as shown in fig. 13, and therefore both the node controller and current sensor are provided on a part of the support unit) and connected to the controller for tracking the position of the sun in real time (see schematic fig. 15 and para [0007], [0057] and [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the angle adjustment unit (see claim 1, (98, 100, 104)) adjusts the angle of the support unit according to the solar altitude tracked in real time by the solar position detector (see figs. 13, 15 and para [0007], [0057] and [0062]-[0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worden et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kresse et al. (US 2019/0296686).
Regarding claim 3, Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the angle adjustment unit includes:
an angle adjustment member (98) having one end rotatably coupled to a rotation member (bearings 28/29, rotationally coupled by rotatable shaft 26) provided on the horizontal bar (26) for adjusting the angle through vertical movement (see para [0051]-[0053]);
an actuator (100) having an upper portion coupled to the other end the of angle adjustment member (98) and a lower portion coupled (by actuator mount clamp 106) to the post (22) for adjusting the angle of the angle adjustment members vertically (see para [0011], [0039]-[0042], [0051]-[0054]).
an actuator driver (motor 104) connected to the actuator to supply power (see para [0052]).
Worden does not disclose the angle adjustment unit comprises a plurality of angle adjustment members, a plurality of actuators, coupled to a plurality of posts, nor does Worden disclose an extension bar extending to a predetermined length from the other end of the angle adjustment member provided with the actuator driver, connecting the plurality of angle adjustment members and being coupled to the panel mount.
Kresse is analogous art to Worden as Kresse discloses an angle adjustment unit (articulation unit 100) comprising an angle adjustment member (34), an actuator (102, see fig. 7), wherein the angle adjustment unit is rotatable coupled to a post (see para [0050]-[0058]).
Kresse discloses the angle adjustment unit comprises a plurality of adjustment members, a plurality of actuators, connected to a plurality of posts (shown in fig. 3).
Kresse discloses an extension bar (150) extending to a predetermined length from the other end of the angle adjustment member provided with the actuator driver (shown in fig. 7), connecting the plurality of angle adjustment members (shown in figs. 3-4) and being coupled to the panel mount (by 152, shown in fig. 4a) (see para [0082]).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e., the plurality of actuation units connected by a connection bar as disclosed by Kresse with the actuation units of Worden), according to known methods (as disclosed by Kresse), wherein the result is predictable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worden et al. and Kresse et al. as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Corio (US 2018/0254740)
Regarding claim 4, modified Worden discloses a solar power generation apparatus according to claim 3, but does not disclose the apparatus further comprises:
a torque limiter provided on a part of the actuator driver to control operation of the actuator driver.
Corio is analogous art to Worden as Corio discloses a tracking solar array (see abstract). Corio discloses an apparatus with a motor (15) and gear driver (16), wherein the gear (actuator) driver comprises a torque limiter (see para [0071] and [0101]-[0102], see “motor brake” or other).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e., the torque limiter, e.g., motor brake), according to known methods (as disclosed by Corio), wherein the result is predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jacobs et al. (US 2022/0029576).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721