DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because they contain photocopies of photographs. Pursuant to MPEP 608.02(VII) and 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b), black and white photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, only if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention, which the examiner contends does not apply to the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12-13, 16, 18-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friederichs et al. (2021/0095564).
With regard to claim 1, Friederichs discloses a pick tool comprising a holder body (40) comprising a shank (10); a strike body (30) attached to an end of the holder body opposing the shank (fig. 1); and a wear protection body (20) comprising an upper surface (fig. 2), a lower surface (fig. 1), and a throughhole (25) extending from the upper surface to the lower surface through which the shank of the holder body is inserted (figs. 1-2); wherein a ratio of a diameter of the shank adjacent the throughhole of the wear protection body to a thickness of the wear protection body is less than 1.5 (para 0036; wherein a thickness of the wear body is 7mm results in a 2.5mm shank diameter resulting in 0.35 ratio).
With regard to claim 7, Friederichs further discloses the throughhole of the wear protection body is circular (fig. 5).
With regard to claim 8, Friederichs further discloses the wear protection body comprises a cut-out portion (24) adjacent to the throughhole or at a periphery.
With regard to claim 12, Friederichs further discloses the holder body further comprises a head portion from which the shank depends, wherein the strike body is attached to an end of the head portion and the shank depends from an opposing end of the head portion (figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 13, Friederichs further discloses the upper surface of the wear protection body abuts or is adjacent to an under-side of the head portion of the holder body (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, Friederichs further discloses the wear protection body comprises an annular disc (figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 18, Friederichs further discloses the wear protection body comprises: an upper portion which comprises a sloped surface (via 24); a central portion which comprises the disc (figs. 5-6); and a lower portion which comprises a sloped surface (via 21.2).
With regard to claim 19, Friederichs further discloses the sloped surface of the lower portion is inclined towards the central portion (fig. 6).
With regard to claim 21, Friederichs further discloses the ratio of the diameter of the central portion to the maximum diameter of the lower portion is in a range of about 3 to 1 (figs. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (2008/0036274) in view of Wirtgen Group (“Cold Recycling and Roil Stabilizing Picks – Generation Z”).
With regard to claims 1-2, Hall discloses a pick tool comprising a holder body (300) comprising a shank (301); a strike body (201) attached to an end of the holder body opposing the shank (figs. 2-3, 10-12); and a wear protection body (305) comprising an upper surface (fig. 12), a lower surface (fig. 12), and a throughhole (fig. 12) extending from the upper surface to the lower surface through which the shank of the holder body is inserted (figs. 12).
Hall discloses the thickness of the wear protection body is variable (eg. figs. 11-12; para 0036) to include up to 1 inch (approx. 25mm) however fails to explicitly state the diameter of the shank and therefore fails to explicitly state a ratio of a diameter of the shank adjacent the throughhole of the wear protection body to a thickness of the wear protection body is from about 1.0 to about 1.45.
Wirtgen discloses pick tools with shank diameters of 20mm, 22mm, 25mm (pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hall and utilize a standard pick tool with a shank diameter of 20mm, 22mm, or 25mm (and therefore have a ratio of a diameter of the shank adjacent the throughhole of the wear protection body to a thickness of the wear protection body is from about 1.0 to about 1.45) as taught by Wirtgen, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the predictable result of milling though material with commonly available equipment.
With regard to claim 3, Hall, as modified, further discloses the wear protection body has a Rockwell C hardness of 40-60 (Hall, paras 0036-0037).
With regard to claim 5, Hall, as modified, further discloses the diameter of the shank adjacent the throughhole of the wear protection body is from about 10mm to about 25mm (Wirtgen, pgs. 2-3).
With regard to claim 6, Hall, as modified, further discloses the thickness of the wear protection body is from about 10 mm to about 40 mm (Hall, para 0036).
With regard to claim 7, Hall, as modified, further discloses the throughhole of the wear protection body is circular (Hall; fig. 4).
With regard to claims 8-9, Hall, as modified, further discloses the wear protection body comprises a cut-out portion that is a bevel (Hall, 700, para 0037) adjacent to the throughhole or at a periphery.
With regard to claim 10, Hall, as modified, further discloses the largest linear dimension of the upper surface of the wear protection body and the largest linear dimension of the lower surface of the wear protection body are different (Hall; figs. 7, 12).
With regard to claim 11, Hall, as modified, further discloses the wear protection body comprises a chamfer, curved surface or stepped surface between the upper and lower surfaces (Hall; figs. 7, 12).
With regard to claim 12, Hall, as modified, further discloses the holder body further comprises a head portion from which the shank depends, wherein the strike body is attached to an end of the head portion and the shank depends from an opposing end of the head portion (Hall; fig. 3).
With regard to claim 13, Hall, as modified, further discloses the upper surface of the wear protection body abuts or is adjacent to an under-side of the head portion of the holder body (Hall; fig. 12).
With regard to claim 15, Hall, as modified, further discloses a shape of the under-side of the head portion of the holder body corresponds to a shape of the upper surface of the wear protection body (Hall; fig. 12).
With regard to claim 16, Hall, as modified, further discloses the wear protection body comprises an annular disc (Hall, fig. 4).
With regard to claim 17, Hall, as modified, further discloses the wear protection body comprises a polygonal disc (Hall, figs. 8-9).
With regard to claim 23, Hall, as modified, further discloses the strike body comprises a strike tip formed of a superhard material (Hall; para 0033).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (2008/0036274) in view of Wirtgen Group (“Cold Recycling and Roil Stabilizing Picks – Generation Z”), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kraemer et al. (2018/0073359).
With regard to claim 14, Hall, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the upper surface of the wear protection body comprises an annular depression or an annular protrusion, and the under-side of the head portion of the holder body comprises a corresponding annular protrusion or annular depression.
Kraemer discloses a pick tool (eg. figs. 1-4) wherein the upper surface of the wear protection body (47) comprises an annular depression (eg. 31/32) or an annular protrusion, and the under-side of the head (13) portion of the holder body comprises a corresponding annular protrusion (eg. 13.2) or annular depression.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify further modify Hall and utilize complementary engagement of the wear body as taught in Kraemer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the components are aligned/centered as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
07/10/2026