DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment filed on September 10, 2026, claims 26-40 are pending. Claims 26-28 are amended. New claims 29-40 are added. Claims 1-25 are canceled or were previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in light of the Amendments, see pgs. 6-8 of Remarks, filed September 10, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1-25 has been withdrawn in light of the canceled claims, amended claims and new claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26-40 on art rejections are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 20, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on July 2, 2026 and before prosecution has closed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-27, 34-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorlich et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0329510 A1.
Regarding claim 26, Gorlich discloses a smart device (Figs. 1-9, Summary, generally) comprising:
a touch screen (Figs. 1-5, touchscreen, #43; Detailed Description, [0035-0036]), wherein:
the touch screen is gridded into a plurality of grid units that is arranged along a
horizontal direction and a vertical direction (Figs. 1-5, touchscreen, #43; Detailed Description, [0035-0037]; Summary, [0005-0008]; See also claim 1 of Gorlich),
each grid unit of the plurality of grid units uniquely corresponds to a respective
virtual key (Figs. 1-5, virtual keypad, #20; Detailed Description, [0035-0037]),
each virtual keys comprise both numeric keys configured to input information and
function keys configured to process the input information (Figs. 1-5, virtual keys, #21; Detailed Description, [0035-0037], “The virtual keys 21 are arranged in the layout of a telephone keypad. The virtual key in the center with the digit 5 is a previously selected virtual key 22 that is visually highlighted. Horizontal and vertical swipe gestures, which will be explained below, can be used to move the selection from the digit 5 to any of the other virtual keys 21 in line with the arrows shown in FIG. 1”; See next Figs. 8-10 and Detailed Description, [0078-0083] on further function keys), and
the numeric keys are arranged in rows along the horizontal direction and in columns
along the vertical direction (Figs. 1-5, virtual keys, #21; Detailed Description, [0035-0037], “allows selection of virtual keys 21 of a virtual keypad 20, which is presented on the touchscreen 43, by means of horizontal and vertical swipe gestures. The virtual keys 21 are arranged in the layout of a telephone keypad. The virtual key in the center with the digit 5 is a previously selected virtual key 22 that is visually highlighted. Horizontal and vertical swipe gestures, which will be explained below, can be used to move the selection from the digit 5 to any of the other virtual keys 21 in line with the arrows shown in FIG. 1”);
a storage device (Fig. 13, data processing unit, #41; Detailed Description, [0082-0084], “. A data processing unit 41 has a microprocessor, a memory and an operating program 200.”; specifically the memory) ; and
a processor (Fig. 13, data processing unit, #41; Detailed Description, [0082-0084], “. A data processing unit 41 has a microprocessor, a memory and an operating program 200.”; specifically the microprocessor).
Regarding claim 27, Gorlich discloses the smart device comprising:
a Point of Sale (POS) device (Summary, [0011-0014], “The access system, the self-service terminal, the checkout system, the payment terminal, the automated teller machine, the credit transfer terminal…”);
a smartphone (Summary, [0011-0014], “…the smartphone…”);
a mobile PC (Summary, [0011-0014], “…the laptop and the personal computer…”); and
a pad device (Summary, [0011-0014], “…the tablet…”).
Regarding claim 34, Gorlich discloses wherein the touch screen is provided with a
plurality of sensing areas at an extremity of the rows of the numeric keys and at an extremity of
the columns of the number keys, and each sensing area of the plurality of sensing areas does not
overlap (Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “The swipe gestures and tap gestures can be effected at any points on the touch-sensitive surface 44 of the touchscreen 43…Independently of the presentation of the virtual keypad 20 on the touchscreen 43, the user can begin a swipe gesture 23 vertically from top to bottom at any point on the touch-sensitive surface 44, which by no means has to tally with the layout of the virtual keypad 20.”).
Regarding claim 35, Gorlich discloses wherein the function keys include a confirm key
that is configured to confirm an end of information input and exit an information input mode (Detailed Description, (Figs. 9-10, Detailed Description, [0078-0083], “The selected virtual key 22 with a confirm functionality is selected first and is read aloud to the user by a screen reader function. By means of a tap gesture, the user could confirm this selection, as a result of which the input telephone number is dialed, for example.”).
Regarding claim 36, Gorlich discloses wherein the function keys include a cancel key
that is configured to clear all data and exit an information input mode (Figs. 9-10, key, #21; Detailed Description, [0078-0083], “By means of a swipe gesture 23 to the right, the user in the example shown moves the selection to the virtual key with the abort symbol, as shown in FIG. 10. The now selected abort function is read aloud to the user by a screen reader function”; Examiner’s note—X key is the abort symbol).
Regarding claim 37, Gorlich discloses wherein the function keys include a delete key
configured to send different perception signals to a user depending up whether stored information
has been cleared (Figs. 9-10, key, #21; Detailed Description, [0078-0083], “By means of a swipe gesture 23 to the right, the user in the example shown moves the selection to the virtual key with the abort symbol, as shown in FIG. 10. The now selected abort function is read aloud to the user by a screen reader function”; Summary, [0013]; See also Detailed Description, [0041][102]; Examiner’s note—due to the claim dependency tree, the same key is used to read upon delete key of claim 37 and the cancel key of claim 36).
Regarding claim 38, Gorlich discloses wherein the function keys are touch buttons set
on a right side of the touch screen (Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “The swipe gestures and tap gestures can be effected at any points on the touch-sensitive surface 44 of the touchscreen 43…Independently of the presentation of the virtual keypad 20 on the touchscreen 43, the user can begin a swipe gesture 23 vertically from top to bottom at any point on the touch-sensitive surface 44, which by no means has to tally with the layout of the virtual keypad 20.”; See also Figs. 1-5 and keys on right side including digits 3, 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 40, Gorlich discloses a method (Figs. 1-10, generally, Summary) comprising:
performing, with a positioning device, a first touch slide along a horizontal direction on the
touch screen (Figs. 1-5, Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “A simple swipe gesture to the right or left is used to push the coin from the digit 5 to the digit 6 or digit 4.”);
performing, with the positioning device, a second touch slide along a vertical direction on
the touch screen (Figs. 1-5, Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “Accordingly, a swipe gesture upward or downward from the digit 5 reaches the digit 2 or the digit 8. Corresponding diagonal swipe gestures reach the digits 1, 9, 3 and 7.”); and
determining, with a security chip, a unique grid unit at an intersection of a row
corresponding to the first touch slide and a column corresponding to the second touch slide (Figs. 1-5, virtual keys, #21; Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “A metaphor used for operation is a coin that comes to rest on the virtual key with the digit 5 at the start of any digit input and that can be moved to the other virtual keys 21 by means of swipe gestures horizontally, vertically and diagonally. Theoretically, it will be possible to move the coin with any number of swipe gestures on the virtual keypad 20….When the coin is on the desired digit, input of the digit is confirmed by a two-finger tap, i.e. by simply tapping with two fingertips. Thereafter, the coin is again on the digit 5 and the next digit can be selected and confirmed. Input is completed with a long two-finger tap”);
determining a unique information key corresponding to the unique grid unit (Figs. 1-5, virtual keys, #21); and
using content of the unique information key as current input information (Figs. 1-5, virtual keys, #21; Detailed Description, [0035-0045], “A metaphor used for operation is a coin that comes to rest on the virtual key with the digit 5 at the start of any digit input and that can be moved to the other virtual keys 21 by means of swipe gestures horizontally, vertically and diagonally. Theoretically, it will be possible to move the coin with any number of swipe gestures on the virtual keypad 20….When the coin is on the desired digit, input of the digit is confirmed by a two-finger tap, i.e. by simply tapping with two fingertips. Thereafter, the coin is again on the digit 5 and the next digit can be selected and confirmed. Input is completed with a long two-finger tap”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorlich in view of Kim et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0181722 A1.
Regarding claim 28, Gorlich discloses every element of claim 26 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smart device includes a frame bracket fitted around an edge of the touch screen of the smart device, and a positioning device is arranged on the frame bracket.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor discloses a smart device includes a frame bracket fitted around an edge of the touch screen of the smart device (Kim, Fig. 1B, surfaces, #100a/100b; Detailed Description, [0052-0060]), and a positioning device is arranged on the frame bracket (Fig. 1B/1C; stylus pen, #144; Detailed Description, [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the smart device of Gorlich to include a frame bracket fitted around an edge of the touch screen of the smart device, and a positioning device is arranged on the frame bracket, as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these arts is to gain the advantages of a built-in stylus and providing a housing for the device as a whole (Detailed Description, [0040-0060]).
Regarding claim 29, Gorlich discloses every element of claim 26 but does not explicitly disclose wherein an embossed point is located on an outer edge of the touch screen of the smart device.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor discloses a smart device wherein an embossed point is located on an outer edge of the touch screen of the smart device (Figs. 3-4, areas, #311/312/313; point, #401; Detailed Description, [0058-0070], “In step S202, the terminal sets input buttons corresponding to the areas where the first touch inputs have been generated such that the user in a specific class can more accurately perform the Braille input. For example, the terminal generates an input button 411 in an area within a preset radius 400 based on a point 401 where the first touch input has been generated as illustrated in FIG. 4A. Further, with respect to a plurality of points 401, 402, 403, 404, 405, and 406 where the first touch inputs have been generated, the terminal generates a plurality of input buttons 411, 412, 413, 414, 415, and 416 in the same way. The input button 411 is variably generated on the touch screen display in accordance with the first touch input by the user, and may be implemented by a virtual button such as a UI element or an icon formed by a predetermined program command…. In step S202, the terminal may set and display the area corresponding to the input button to be distinguishable from a background screen of the terminal such that the user can easily identify the input button. In addition, the terminal may provide proper vibration feedback or voice feedback to the area corresponding to the input button so that the user can identify the input.”; See also Figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the smart device of Gorlich to include the teachings of Kim’s embossed point, in such a way to provide wherein an embossed point is located on an outer edge of the touch screen of the smart device. The motivation to combine these arts is to allow user in a specific class having poor sight to perform key input conveniently (See Kim, Detailed Description, [0050-0060]). The fact that both Gorlich and Kim teach alphanumeric virtual key input on a display device makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 30, Gorlich in combination with Kim discloses every element of claim 29 and Kim further discloses wherein an embossed point located at a left edge of the touch screen is aligned with rows of the numeric keys arranged in the plurality of grid units along the horizontal direction of the touch screen (Kim, Figs. 4-7; Detailed Description, [0050-0065]).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined Gorlich and Kim as described in claim 29.
Regarding claim 31, Gorlich in combination with Kim discloses every element of claim 29 and Kim further discloses wherein an embossed point located at an upper edge of the touch screen is aligned with the columns of the numeric keys arranged in the plurality of grid units along the vertical direction of the touch screen (Kim, Figs. 4-7; Detailed Description, [0050-0065]).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined Gorlich and Kim as described in claim 29.
Regarding claim 32, Gorlich in combination with Kim discloses every element of claim 29 and Kim further discloses wherein the embossed point is a touch-sensitive embossed point. (Figs. 3-4, areas, #311/312/313; point, #401; Detailed Description, [0058-0070]).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined Gorlich and Kim as described in claim 29.
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorlich in view of Kim, further in view of Bozzini et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0293694 A1.
Regarding claim 33, Gorlich in combination with Kim discloses every element of claim 29, but does not disclose wherein a size of an embossed point located at a center position is larger than a size of an adjacent embossed point located at a lateral position.
Bozzini, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a smart device (Bozzini, generally, Summary) wherein a size of an embossed point (Detailed Description, [0102, “The processor 20 may provide a haptical feedback, just as a response to a touch on the screen, at the same time. A tactile feedback system, in which the processor 20 rises/lowers the surface, gives the user the haptic feeling of pressing real buttons. In one embodiment, this tactile feedback system could be used to give the user a haptic feeling of touching the edge of the key. See FIG. 30 as an example. With the feedback, the user can adjust the position of a hit and hit more precisely.”) located at a center position is larger than a size of an adjacent embossed point located at a lateral position (See inter alia, Figs. 15-20, Deatiled Description, [0096-0105], “ FIG. 16 illustrates that the shape and size of a key can be dynamically adjusted based on the detected hit footprint….For example, the processor 20 collects the footprint of a second key from a predefined number of hits to the second key, all of the hits immediately following a hit to a first key, at least repositions or resizes or reshapes the second key (the adapted second key) according to the collected footprint…The adapted version is derived from the footprint of the first key with respect to the immediately last hit key. The adapted version may only have one of the position, the size and shape changed, or any two of them, or all of them.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the embossed points within the combination of Gorlich and Kim to include the teachings of Bozzini’s relative resizing, to provide wherein a size of an embossed point located at a center position is larger than a size of an adjacent embossed point located at a lateral position. The motivation to combine these arts is to adjust virtual keys to match habits of the user, which improves accuracy and ease of use (See inter alia, Bozzini, Detailed Description, [0087-0090]). The fact that Bozzini also discloses embossed points within virtual keyboards to provide haptic feedback, similar to Kim, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorlich in view of Deisher et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0117152 A1.
Regarding claim 39, Gorlich discloses every element of claim 26 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein an information input mode is set with a timeout duration between 300 seconds and 600 seconds.
Deisher, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a smart device which provides the suggestion of differing times and time-outs related to input modes (See Detailed Description, [0041-0050], “…the display region analyzer 126 and/or in response to receipt of the touch position data 200 from the touch controller 108. In particular, the display region sampler 201 samples a portion or region of the display screen corresponding to the location of the touch in substantially real-time (e.g., within milliseconds of the touch event)…. In some examples, the display region analyzer 126 receives the display region data 202 from the display controller 120 in substantially real-time. In other examples, the display region analyzer 126 receives the display region data 202 at a later time (e.g., periodically and/or aperiodically based on one or more settings). “).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the information input mode of Gorlich to include the suggestions of Deisher, and set the information input mode with a timeout duration between 300 seconds and 600 seconds. The motivation to modify to set a particular range of timeout periods is a matter of design choice, and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill within the art without further undue experimentation (See MPEP 2144.04). The fact that both Gorlich and Deisher disclose touch input devices with virtual keys makes this combination more easily implemented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626