DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on July 25, 2025. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a traveling direction acquisition unit and a sound source localization calculation unit in claim 1; a route planning unit in claim 3; a volume adjustment unit in claim 7; a sound generation unit in claim 13; and an angle difference calculation unit and a notification sound output unit in claim 17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 16, the phrase “the sensor information” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 6 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed
invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The following rejection is based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. (See 84 Fed. Reg. 50 (Jan. 7, 2019).
Does claim 1 fall into one of four of the statutory categories? Yes. The preamble of claim 1 recites an information processing apparatus. The body of claim 1 recites at least one physical element that forms part of the claimed information processing apparatus. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus
Does claim 19 fall into one of the statutory categories? Yes. The preamble of claim 19 recites a method, and the body of the claim 19 positively recites a series of method steps. Therefore, claim 19 is directed to a process.
Does claim 20 fall into one of the statutory categories? Yes. The preamble of claim 20 recites a program causing a computer to perform a series of steps. The body of claim 20 positively recites the series of steps performed by the computer. Therefore, claim 20 is directed to an apparatus.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Do claims 1 – 3, 5 and 14 – 20 recite a judicial exception? Yes. The claims recite the limitations of
calculates a position away from the user by a predetermined distance in the traveling direction as sound source localization of a notification sound that performs guidance of movement in the traveling direction (see Claims 1, 19 and 20);
calculates a position away from the user by the predetermined distance in the traveling direction with reference to a position and orientation of a head of the user as sound source localization of the notification sound (see Claim 2);
plans a movement route to a destination (see Claim 3);
calculates a position away from the user by a predetermined distance in the traveling direction of the next course as the sound source localization of the notification sound that performs guidance of movement to the next course (see Claim 5);
calculates a position on a boundary between a warning area and a dangerous area as the sound source localization of a warning sound (see Claim 14);
calculates a planar area along the boundary between the warning area and the dangerous area as the sound source localization of the warning sound (see Claim 15);
specifies an area having a risk on a basis of the sensor information and sets the warning area and the dangerous area (see Claim 16); and
calculates an angle difference between an orientation of a head of the user and the traveling direction (see Claim 17).
The calculating, planning and specifying limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performances of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a sound source localization calculation unit, a route planning unit, and an angle difference calculation unit” nothing in the claim precludes the calculating, planning and specifying steps from practically being performed in the human mind and/or visually. For example, but for reciting “a sound source localization calculation unit, a route planning unit, a volume adjustment unit, and an angle difference calculation unit”, the claims encompass the user to manually and/or visually perform the aforementioned steps. As such, these limitations are considered mental processes.
Step 2A – Prong 2
Do claims 1 – 3, 5 and 14 – 20 integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claim 2 and 14 – 16 are directed specifically to the abstract idea. , However, claims 1, 3, 5, 17 and 18 – 20 each recite one additional element: acquiring a traveling direction of a course of a user (see Claims 1, 19 and 20); acquiring a plurality of courses divided along the movement route, and acquiring a direction along the course as the traveling direction of the course for each of the divided courses (see Claim 3); acquiring a traveling direction of a next course following the course (see Claim 5); outputting the notification sound that performs guidance of movement in the traveling direction in a case where the angle difference is an angle within a notification target range (see Claim 17); and outputting the notification sound as a pulse sound (see Claim 18).
The sound source localization calculation unit, the traveling direction acquisition unit, and the notification sound output unit in the aforementioned steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic calculation, acquisition or notification unit gathering, transmitting or outputting an electronic representation of data). These generic calculation, acquisition or notification limitation are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, claims 1 – 3, 5 and 14 – 20 are directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Do claims 1 – 3, 5 and 14 – 20 provide an inventive concept? No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. Claims 1 – 3, 5 and 14 – 20 are ineligible.
As to claims 4 and 6,
the additional elements recited in these claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Therefore, claims 1 – 6 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0192707 A1 to Nakatsuka et al. (herein after “Nakatsuka et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claims 1, 19 and 20,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication discloses an information processing apparatus (see FIG. 1 and ¶33) comprising:
a traveling direction acquisition unit (102) that acquires a traveling direction of a course of a user (see ¶34, where “[the] position detecting unit 101 can detect the current position with GPS (Global Positioning System) . . . When using GPS, signals from a plurality of satellites are input to acquire latitudinal and longitudinal information of the user”; see also ¶35, where “[the] determining unit 102 determines a traveling direction based on the current position detected by the position detecting unit 101 and a destination of the user”); and
a sound source localization calculation unit (104) that calculates a position away from the user by a predetermined distance in the traveling direction as sound source localization of a notification sound that performs guidance of movement in the traveling direction (see ¶38, where “[the] sound generating unit 104 generates a sound based on the traveling direction determined by the determining unit 102”; see also ¶42, where “[the] sound can be a sound other than voices, such as a beeping sound. The retrieved sound can be combined with the head-related transfer function to generate a sound such that the sound is heard from the traveling direction. The output direction of the sound can be "top" and "bottom" as well as "forward", "back", "left", and "right". For example, if an ascending slope is located diagonally forward right, the direction can be somewhat upward in the diagonally forward right direction”). (Emphasis added.)
As to claim 2,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication discloses the sound source localization calculation unit calculating a position away from the user by the predetermined distance in the traveling direction with reference to a position and orientation of a head of the user as sound source localization of the notification sound. (See ¶38 and ¶42.)
As to claim 3,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication discloses a route planning unit (103) that plans a movement route to a destination, wherein the traveling direction acquisition unit acquires a plurality of courses divided along the movement route, and acquires a direction along the course as the traveling direction of the course for each of the divided courses. (See ¶36, where “[the] route determining unit 103 obtains a traveling route for a user based on a relationship between the destination and the current position.”)
As to claim 4,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication discloses a distance from the user to the sound source localization of the notification sound is constant regardless of a position of the user. (See ¶42, where “[the] retrieved sound can be combined with the head-related transfer function to generate a sound such that the sound is heard [from a distance from the user in] the traveling direction.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Nakatsuka et al. publication in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0321175 A1 to Kondo (herein after “Kondo publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claim 14,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
the sound source localization calculation unit calculating a position on a boundary between a warning area and a dangerous area as the sound source localization of a warning sound.
Calculating a position on a boundary between a warning area and a dangerous area as the sound source localization of a warning sound is old and well-known, as demonstrated by the Kondo publication who discloses an acoustic guiding system that distinguishes between a safe region and dangerous zone when guiding pedestrians. (See ¶53.)
Such disclosure suggests the sound source localization calculation unit calculating a position on a boundary between a warning area and a dangerous area as the sound source localization of a warning sound.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify the Nakatsuka et al. publication so that the sound source localization calculation unit calculating a position on a boundary between a warning area and a dangerous area as the sound source localization of a warning sound, as suggested by the Kondo publication, in order to facilitate guiding pedestrians, such as visually impaired people, walking on a road or crossing safely by only their ears.
As to claim 15,
the Nakatsuka et al. publication, as modified by ¶53 of the Kondo publication, is considered to disclose the sound source localization calculation unit calculating a planar area along the boundary between the warning area and the dangerous area as the sound source localization of the warning sound.
As to claim 16 (as best understood based on the 112(b) rejection discussed herein above),
the Nakatsuka et al. publication, as modified by ¶53 of the Kondo publication, is considered to disclose the sound source localization calculation unit specifies an area having a risk on a basis of the sensor information and sets the warning area and the dangerous area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note(s): The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
In addition, disclosures in a reference must be evaluated for what they would fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Snow, 471 F.2d 1400, 176 USPQ 328 (CCPA 1973) and In re Boe, 355 F.2d 961, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Specifically, in considering the teachings of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only the specific teachings of the reference, but also the inferences that one skilled in the art would reasonably have been expected to draw from the reference. See In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968) and In re Shepard, 319 F.2d 194, 138 USPQ 148 (CCPA 1963). Likewise, it is proper to take into consideration not only the teachings of the prior art, but also the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Luck, 476 F.2d 650, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973). Specifically, those of ordinary skill in the art are presumed to have some knowledge of the art apart from what is expressly disclosed in the references. See In re Jacoby, 309 F.2d 513, 135 USPQ 317 (CCPA 1962).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODNEY A. BUTLER whose telephone number is (313)446-6513. The examiner can normally be reached on weekdays, Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anne M. Antonucci can be reached on weekdays, Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (313) 446-6519. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Electronic Communications
Prior to initiating the first e-mail correspondence with any examiner, Applicant is responsible for filing a written statement with the USPTO in accordance with MPEP § 502.03 II. All received e-mail messages including e-mail attachments shall be placed into this application’s record.
/RODNEY A BUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666