DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2022/0061485 by Rodriguez (Here forth “Rodriguez”).
Regarding claim 1, Rodriguez discloses a card holder, comprising: a case, inside which a space for stacking one or more cards is formed; a base connected to a bottom end of the case, a through hole being formed in one side of the base (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez);
a pushing member configured to be slidably assembled to the base via the through hole (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez);
an elastic element capable of exerting a force to reset the pushing member in a sliding direction of the pushing member (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez);
a stepped component hinged to the pushing member at one end of the stepped component (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez), a step cooperating with the card being arranged on the other end of the stepped component, a chute being arranged in a middle of the stepped component and throughout a direction perpendicular to the sliding direction (Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Rodriguez);
a first shaft passing through an interior of the chute and fixed to the base (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez);
wherein in response to the pushing member sliding toward an interior of the base, the stepped component rotates around the pushing member under a constraint of a relative sliding cooperation between the chute and the first shaft, such that the step pushes one or more cards out of a top end of the case (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez and Abstract of Rodriguez).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez
Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Rodriguez
Regarding claim 2, Rodriguez discloses wherein the stepped component comprises a first arm and a second arm that are connected to each other to form an obtuse angle at a joint of the first arm and the second arm (Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Rodriguez), the first arm is hinged to the pushing member at one end of the first arm (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 and 5 of Rodriguez), the chute located at the other end of the first arm extends in a length direction of the first arm (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez), the second arm is connected to the first arm at one end of the second arm, and the step is located at the other end of the second arm (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 and 5 of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 3, Rodriguez discloses wherein the pushing member comprises a limiting mechanism configured to abut against and cooperate with the first arm to limit a terminal angle of a rotation of the stepped component around the pushing member (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 6, Rodriguez further discloses wherein the elastic element is a torsion spring comprising a first torsion arm fixed to the pushing member, and a second torsion arm fixedly connected to a side wall of the base that is away from the through hole (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez and US Publication 2014/0014676 by Minson (Here forth “Minson”).
Regarding claim 4, Rodriguez discloses a hinge between the stepped component and the pushing member (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez).
Rodriguez does not expressly disclose a blocking plate.
Minson discloses a similar card holder that teaches wherein the limiting mechanism is a blocking plate [Not taught: arranged inside the pushing member], a hinge between the stepped component and the pushing member is spaced apart from the blocking plate (Examiner Annotated Fig 2A of Minson and Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez, when modifying Rodriguez, the hinge is spaced apart from the blocking plate); the blocking plate is located on one side of the hinge that is away from the elastic element (Examiner Annotated Fig 2A of Minson, when modifying Rodriguez, the blocking plate is on the side of the hinge away from the elastic element), and configured to limit the rotation of the stepped component when the stepped component is at the position of the terminal angle (Examiner Annotated Fig 2A of Minson, when modifying Rodriguez, the stepped component rest on the blocking plate).
Examiner Annotated Fig 2A of Minson
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Rodriguez and Minson before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the card holder of Rodriguez to include a blocking plate, as taught by Minson, to advantageously provide a rest for the arm to prevent it from moving further than is required of it.
Minson does not expressly disclose a blocking plate arranged inside the pushing member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the blocking plate located within the pushing member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 7, Rodriguez further discloses wherein the first torsion arm comprises a first bending portion at an end of the first torsion arm (Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Rodriguez, first and second bending portions are the end portions of the torsion arms), and [Not taught: the pushing member comprises a support lug into which the first bending portion is plugged, and a first baffle, such that the first torsion arm is clamped between the first baffle and the support lug].
Examiner Annotated Fig 5A of Rodriguez
Rodriguez does not expressly disclose the pushing member having a support lug that attaches to the first bending portion so the first torsion arm is clamped between the first baffle and support lug, and the second torsion arm attached between a second baffle and bottom wall
Minson further discloses a similar card holder that teaches the pushing member comprises a support lug into which the first bending portion is plugged, and a first baffle, such that the first torsion arm is clamped between the first baffle and the support lug (Examiner Annotated Fig 5A of Minson, the concept of attaching torsion arms with support lugs and baffles is being taught; when modifying the modified Rodriguez to have the first torsion arm and second torsion arm, the first torsion arm is clamped between a first baffle and support lug attached to the pushing member and the second torsion arm is between the second baffle and bottom wall; the second torsion arm comprises a second bending portion at an end of, and the base comprises a second baffle with a notch through which the second torsion arm passes, such that the second bending portion is clamped between the second baffle and a bottom wall of the base).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Rodriguez and Minson before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the card holder of Rodriguez to include the concept of support lug and first baffle and second baffle, and apply them to where the first and second torsion arms meet the pushing member and stepped component respectively , as taught by Minson, to advantageously allow the cards to retract protectively within the card holder when the button is not being pressed.
Regarding claim 8, Rodriguez as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the second torsion arm comprises a second bending portion at an end of, and the base comprises a second baffle with a notch through which the second torsion arm passes, such that the second bending portion is clamped between the second baffle and a bottom wall of the base (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 7; Examiner Annotated Fig 5A of Minson).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez.
Regarding claim 5, Rodriguez discloses wherein the stepped component [Not taught: comprises a mounting hole] throughout a direction perpendicular to the sliding direction, and the pushing member [Not taught: comprises a second shaft] which passes through the mounting hole, such that the stepped component is hinged to the pushing member (2nd Examiners Annotated Fig 1 of Rodriguez, the mounting hole is located on the pushing member and the second shaft is located on the stepped component, the second shaft passes through the mounting hole and the mounting hole is perpendicular to the sliding direction; as the stepped component is indirectly attached to the pushing member through the connection of parts, and there exists a hinge between a portion of the stepped component and pushing member, the stepped component is hinged to the pushing member).
2nd Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Rodriguez
Rodriguez does not expressly disclose the mounting hole on the stepped component and the second shaft on the pushing member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the mounting hole on the stepped component and the second shaft on the pushing member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of US Publication 2018/0338593 by Canneman (Here forth “Canneman”).
Regarding claim 9, Rodriguez further discloses wherein the base comprises a bottom wall, a front side wall and a rear side wall (2nd Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Rodriguez); [Not taught: each of an inner wall surface of the bottom wall, an inner wall surface of the front side wall and an inner wall surface of the rear side wall comprises a rib extending in the sliding direction of the pushing member, such that the base is slidably connected to an outer wall surface of the pushing member through the rib].
Rodriguez does not expressly disclose the sidewalls of the base comprising a rib such that the base is slidably connected to the outer wall surface of the of the pushing member through the rib.
Canneman discloses a similar card holder base that teaches an inner wall surface of the bottom wall, an inner wall surface of the front side wall and an inner wall surface of the rear side wall comprises a rib extending in the sliding direction of the pushing member, such that the base is slidably connected to an outer wall surface of the pushing member through the rib (Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Canneman).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Canneman
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Rodriguez and Canneman before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the card holder of Rodriguez to have the base be detachable and include a rib on the base, as taught by Canneman, to advantageously strengthen the area around the edge and replace the part.
Regarding claim 10, Rodriguez does not expressly disclose a support table.
Canneman discloses wherein the base comprises a support table at a top end of the base, and a front side and a rear side of the step abut against and cooperate with the support table, respectively (Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Canneman; the support table comprises a positioning edge along a circumference of the support table, and the inner wall surface of the case comprises a positioning slot that matches the positioning edge).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Rodriguez and Canneman before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the card holder of Rodriguez to have the base be detachable and include support table, as taught by Canneman, to advantageously strengthen the area around the base and protect the parts within the base and replace the part.
Regarding claim 11, Rodriguez as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the support table comprises a positioning edge along a circumference of the support table, and the inner wall surface of the case comprises a positioning slot that matches the positioning edge (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 10, Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Canneman).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez and Canneman in view of US Publication 2021/0228168 by Kitchen (Here forth “Kitchen”).
Regarding claim 12, Rodriguez as modified does not expressly disclose a plurality of buckles on the positioning edge.
Kitchen discloses a similar card holder that teaches wherein the positioning edge comprises a plurality of buckles, and the inner wall surface of the case comprises a plurality of clamping slots corresponding to the plurality of buckles (Fig 1 of Kitchen, the concept of buckles and clamping slots being used to secure card holder parts can be applied to the base of the card holder of the modified Rodriguez).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Kitchen
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the card holder of Kitchen by substituting the friction fit parts for buckle and clamping slots. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 III). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of Foreign Publication CN206238669 by Lai (Here forth “Lai”).
Regarding claim 13, Rodriguez does not expressly disclose an anti-loosening member.
Lai discloses a similar card holder that teaches wherein the card holder further comprises an anti- loosening member for increasing a frictional force between the card and the case (Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Lai); and the anti- loosening member is arranged on at least one inner wall surface of the case in a horizontal direction(Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Lai, a side of the anti-loosening member that faces the card is a friction surface, and an end of the friction surface that faces the top end of the case forms an arc-shaped guide surface; Fig 9 of Lai, the friction surface comprises a plurality of protrusions which are integrally manufactured and molded with the anti-loosening member).
Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Lai
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Rodriguez and Lai before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the card holder of Rodriguez to include an anti-loosening member, as taught by Lai, to advantageously prevent cards from slipping out.
Regarding claim 14, Rodriguez as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein a side of the anti-loosening member that faces the card is a friction surface, and an end of the friction surface that faces the top end of the case forms an arc-shaped guide surface (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 13, Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Lai).
Regarding claim 15, Rodriguez as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the friction surface comprises a plurality of protrusions which are integrally manufactured and molded with the anti-loosening member (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 13, Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Lai).
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733