DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 7/25/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-10 have been cancelled, claims 11-30 have been newly added. Currently claims 11-30 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the reflective portion bent from the reflective layer as required by the claims 11-30 and as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13-20, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20030219919 A1, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a lighting device (LED package 11, see figures 3a-3d) comprising:
a substrate (mount 2, see fig 3a);
a light source (LED chip 6, see fig 3d) disposed on the substrate (2);
a resin layer (resin 8, see fig 3d) sealing the light source (6);
a reflective layer (metal reflection mirror 5, see fig 3c) disposed between the substrate (2) and the resin layer (8);
a reflective portion (angled portion of 5) bent from the reflective layer (5) to face an emission surface (outer surface of 6) of the light source (6); and
a bonding portion (leveling layer 4, see fig 3d) disposed between the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) and the substrate (2), wherein a thickness of the bonding portion (4) is thicker than (evident from figure 3c) a thickness of the reflective layer (5).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches wherein the substrate (2) includes a bonding pad (extrusion 2a, see fig 3c) to which the bonding portion (4) is bonded.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches wherein an upper end (see upper end of 5) of the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is disposed higher than (evident from figure 3d) an upper surface of the light source (6).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches wherein the bonding portion (4) has a continuous (better seen in fig 3b) or discontinuous loop shape.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches wherein the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is bent toward an upper surface (see upper surface of 8) of the resin layer (8) in a region adjacent to a first surface (lower surface of 8) of the resin layer (8) facing the emission surface (outer surface of 6) of the light source (6).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches wherein a lower line of the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is a straight line or a curved shape (see curvature of 5) along a side surface (lower surface of 8) of the resin layer (8).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches wherein the bonding portion (4) is disposed in a circular or polygonal shape (as the device 11 is rectangular) around the light source (6).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches wherein the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is bent toward an upper surface (upper surface of 8) of the resin layer (8), wherein an end (lower end of 5) of the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is exposed to a side surface (lower surface of 8) of the resin layer (8).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches wherein the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) extends from the reflective layer (5) with a thickness equal (at least at a lower end of the reflective layer angled portion, as seen in fig 3c) to a thickness of the reflective layer (5).
Regarding claim 22, Wang teaches wherein a maximum thickness (below 6 and next to extrusion 2a, see fig 3c) of the bonding portion (4) is at least 1/2 of a vertical distance (although not labeled, it is clearly seen in figure 3c) between an upper end (see upper end of angled portion of 5) of the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) and an upper surface (upper surface of 6, see fig 3c) of the substrate (2).
Regarding claim 24, Wang teaches wherein the bonding pad (2a) is a pad (as seen in fig 3d) that is not electrically connected to the light source (6).
Claims 11, 18, 20-21, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuwabara et al. (US 20050067628 A1, hereinafter, “Kuwabara”).
Regarding claim 11, Kuwabara teaches a lighting device (light emitting diode 11, see figures 2-5) comprising:
a substrate (base substrate 12, see fig 2);
a light source (light emitting element 13, see fig 3) disposed on the substrate (12);
a resin layer (resin sealant 22, see fig 3) sealing the light source (13);
a reflective layer (metal film 26, see fig 4) disposed between the substrate (12) and the resin layer (22);
a reflective portion (see curved portion of 26) bent from the reflective layer (26) to face an emission surface (outer surface of 13) of the light source (13); and
a bonding portion (cup-shaped film body 25, see fig 4) disposed between the reflective portion (curved portion of 12) and the substrate (12), wherein a thickness of the bonding portion (25) is thicker than (evident from figure 4) a thickness of the reflective layer (26).
Regarding claim 18, Kuwabara teaches wherein the bonding portion (26) is disposed in a circular or polygonal shape (as clearly seen in fig 2) around the light source (13).
Regarding claim 20, Kuwabara teaches wherein the reflective portion (curved portion of 26) extends from the reflective layer (26) with a thickness equal (as clearly seen in fig 3) to a thickness of the reflective layer (26).
Regarding claim 21, Kuwabara teaches wherein the thickness of the bonding portion (25) is 1.5 to 5 times (although not labeled, the thicknesses of 25 and 26 are clearly seen in fig 4) the thickness of the reflective layer (26).
Regarding claim 23, Kuwabara teaches comprising a first region (middle region of 26) disposed between the reflective portion (curved portion of 26) and the substrate (12), wherein a portion of the resin layer or an air region (see empty region behind 26 and 12, better seen in fig 4) is disposed in the first region (middle regio of 26).
Regarding claim 27, Kuwabara teaches wherein the reflective portion (curved portion of 26) has a reflective pattern (Since the metal film 26 is formed by evaporation over the surface of the film body 25 which itself has a small surface roughness, see ¶ 31) disposed on an upper surface thereof, and wherein the bonding portion (25) supports a lower surface (lower surface of 26) of the reflective portion (curved portion of 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 21, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness of the bonding portion (4) is greater in thickness than the reflective layer (5).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness of the bonding portion is 1.5 to 5 times the thickness of the reflective layer.
However, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the bonding portion is purposely thicker to level the inner surface of the package, see ¶ 20, making it think at portions, and the reflecting layer is printed or added by evaporation onto the bonding portion, see ¶ 20, making it thin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the bonding region thicker than the reflective layer into the teachings of Wang, since the one of ordinary skill would have recognized such having a bonding portion is 1.5 to 5 times thicker than the reflective layer as being one of the many structures available in the prior art for leveling the inner surface of the package and provide a smooth reflective surface, selection of a specific one over another being an obvious matter of meeting the specific requirements of a given application. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure prover inner surface leveling and enhanced reflectivity.
Claims 12 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Suehiro et al. (US 20030201451 A1, hereinafter, “Suehiro”).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches a lighting device (11) comprising:
a substrate (2);
a light source (6) disposed on the substrate (2);
a resin layer (8) sealing the light source (6);
a reflective layer (5) disposed between the substrate (2) and the resin layer (8);
a reflective portion (angled portion of 5) bent from the reflective layer (5) disposed between the substrate (2) and the resin layer (8) to face a side surface (side surface of 6) excluding an emission surface (outer surface of 6) of the light source (6); and
a bonding portion (4) disposed between the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) and the substrate (2), wherein a thickness of the bonding portion (4) is thicker than a thickness of the reflective layer (5).
Wang does not teach an upper reflective layer disposed on the resin layer and facing the reflective layer;
Suehiro teaches a lighting device (light emitting diode 12, see fig 4) having a light source (light emitting element 2) disposed on a substrate (glass epoxy board 3), a resin layer (transparent epoxy resin 8) surrounded by a reflective layer (side reflecting member and white high reflection resist 9);
an upper reflective layer (counter reflective surface 16) disposed on the resin layer (8) and facing the reflective layer (7, 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the upper reflective layer as taught by Suehiro into the teachings of Wang in order to encourage light mixing within the resin layer before emission. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance a more homogeneous light output and reduced hot spots.
Regarding claim 29, Wang teaches wherein the substrate (2) includes a bonding pad (extrusion 2a, see fig 3a) to which the bonding portion (4) is bonded, wherein an upper end (upper end of 5) of the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) is positioned higher than (evident from figure 3d) an upper surface (upper surface of 3) of the light source (6), and wherein the bonding pad (2a) is a pad (as seen in fig 3d) that is not electrically connected to the light source (6).
Regarding claim 30, Wang teaches wherein the reflective portion (angled portion of 5) extends from the reflective layer (5) with a thickness equal (evident from figure 3c) to the thickness of the reflective layer (5), and wherein the thickness of the bonding portion (4) is in a range of 1.5 to 5 times the thickness (although not labeled the difference in thickness is evident from figure 3c) of the reflective layer (5).
Claims 12 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara in view of Suehiro.
Regarding claim 12, Kuwabara teaches a lighting device (light emitting diode 11, see figures 2-5) comprising:
a substrate (12);
a light source (13) disposed on the substrate (12);
a resin layer (22) sealing the light source (13);
a reflective layer (26) disposed between the substrate (12) and the resin layer (22);
a reflective portion (curved portion of 26) bent from the reflective layer (26) disposed between the substrate (12) and the resin layer (22) to face a side surface (side surface of 13) excluding an emission surface (outer surface of 13) of the light source (13); and
a bonding portion (25) disposed between the reflective portion (curved portion of 26) and the substrate (12), wherein a thickness of the bonding portion (25) is thicker than (evident from figure 3) a thickness of the reflective layer (26).
Kuwabara does not teach an upper reflective layer disposed on the resin layer and facing the reflective layer;
Suehiro teaches a lighting device (light emitting diode 12, see fig 4) having a light source (light emitting element 2) disposed on a substrate (glass epoxy board 3), a resin layer (transparent epoxy resin 8) surrounded by a reflective layer (side reflecting member and white high reflection resist 9);
an upper reflective layer (counter reflective surface 16) disposed on the resin layer (8) and facing the reflective layer (7, 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the upper reflective layer as taught by Suehiro into the teachings of Kuwabara in order to encourage light mixing within the resin layer before emission. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance a more homogeneous light output and reduced hot spots.
Regarding claim 30, Wang teaches wherein the reflective portion (curved portion of 26) extends from the reflective layer (26) with a thickness equal (evident from figure 3) to the thickness of the reflective layer (26), and wherein the thickness of the bonding portion (26) is in a range of 1.5 to 5 times (although not labeled the difference in thickness is evident from figure 4) the thickness of the reflective layer (26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-26 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 25, although Wang and Kuwabara teach the lighting device, as described in claims 11 and 13 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the bonding pad includes a plurality of bonding pads, and wherein the bonding portion has a phrality of bonding portions disposed on each of the plurality of bonding pads.
Regarding claim 25, although Wang and Kuwabara teach the lighting device, as described in claims 11 and 13 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the bonding portion is a solder ball, and wherein the bonding portion has a plurality of bonding portions having different thicknesses.
Regarding claim 28, although Wang teaches the lighting device, as described in claim 11 above, including a housing (opposed electrodes 3A and 3B) supporting the bottom of the substrate (2), wherein the housing (3a, 3b) including a side portion protruding higher than both sides of the resin layer (8); but the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the side portion of the housing reflects light reflected from the reflective portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tomoika Taizo (US 20080210964 A1) discloses a lighting device having a light source surrounded by a resin layer and a reflective layer. The reflective layer is attached to a substrate with a bonding portion. The device is simple to manufacture and cost efficient.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875