DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (Claims 1 – 11) in the reply filed on (5 – 28 – 2026) is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the wrong type of restriction practice was applied, namely that shared technical features amongst the claims where not properly analyzed. While examiner agrees that shared technical features amongst the claims where not properly analyzed. This is ultimately not found persuasive because as detailed below, Kurachi et al. (JPH 07192951 A, hereinafter Kurachi) provides for teach shared technical features amongst the claims.
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1 – 11, drawn to a device for at least partially manufacturing at least one component of a transformer system.
Group II, claim(s) 12 – 15, drawn to a method for at least partially manufacturing at least one component of a transformer system.
(Groups I & II) lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of
A device for at least partially manufacturing at least one component of a transformer system, including:
at least one mold configured to at least partially house at least one insulating material configured to at least partially insulate at least one conductor; and
at least one heating element configured to be coupled to the at least one mold and
configured to heat the at least one insulating material to at least partially cure the at least one insulating material,
when the at least one insulating material is arranged at least partially in the at least one mold,
wherein the at least one heating element is flexible and/or bendable.
These technical features are not special technical features as they do not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Kurachi et al. (JPH 07192951 A, hereinafter Kurachi).
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches (Fig. 1) shows a cross-sectional view of the process of casting a molded coil with epoxy resin. The casting mold 2 has a resin casting port 2a on its upper surface, and the coil 1, which is the element to be cast, is assembled inside it. ([0020]) adds In manufacturing resin-cast products, the coil 1 is first placed inside the casting mold 2, and then the coil 1 inside the casting mold 2 is heated and dried using heating means such as air drying in a drying oven, electric drying by passing an electric current through the coil 1, or a combination of both. Subsequently, an epoxy resin is injected as the casting resin 10 through the casting port 2a of the casting mold 2. Where the coil provide for and act as applicant’s at least one at least one conductor, while the casting resin 10 provide for and act as the insulating material configured to at least partially insulate at least one conductor.
([0019]) teaches that the current control device 5 measures the mold temperature through the temperature measuring device 7 and controls the current flowing through the Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0024]) adds that grouping multiple heat pipes 8 in this manner and combining each with a metal plate 3 and a Peltier element 4 to control the temperature of the casting mold 2, the temperature of the casting mold 2 can be controlled quickly and precisely, similar to the embodiment described in (Fig. 1), thereby suppressing localized heating due to the heat generated during curing of the resin 10. Where the Peltier elements 4 along with the heat pipes 8 attached to the casting mold 2 provide for and acts as at least one heating element configured to be coupled to the at least one mold.
([0009]) teaches that the temperature of the casting mold is controlled using these Peltier elements to cure the resin. ([0031]) adds that moreover, the resin inside the casting mold can be cured uniformly in a short time, thus shortening the manufacturing time and improving work efficiency.
([0020]) adds that an epoxy resin is injected as the casting resin 10 through the casting port 2a of the casting mold 2. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the casting resin 10 is depicted to be within the mold, including at least partially in the at least one mold.
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0023]) adds that the mold temperature sensed by a temperature sensor (not shown) and sets the temperature of the Peltier element 4 so that the casting mold 2 has a desirable temperature distribution via the metal plate 3 and heat pipe 8. Where the at least one heat pipe provides for and acts as a component of the one heating element (i.e., Peltier element 4 and heat pipe 8) that may undergo elastic deformation i.e., the heat pipe 8 are understood to be flexible and/or bendable. Accordingly, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Consequently, Invention II (Claim(s) 12 – 20) is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on (5 – 28 – 2026).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the device 10 may further include at least one thermal insulating element (not shown) configured to at least partially thermally insulate at least one or more sections of the at least one mold 12, and not shown is that the at least one conductor 54 may be configured to be connected to at least one voltage power and/or at least one load, e.g., via at least one connector (not shown), as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “flexible” and/or “bendable” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “flexible” and/or “bendable” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, “flexible” and/or “bendable” will be understood to be elastically deformable and/or have a bend in its design.
The terms “flat-type” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “flat-type” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, “flat-type” will be understood to be a plate or sheet.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “flat-type”, and the claim also recites “a strip heating element” and/or “a band heating element” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 4 & 6 – 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurachi et al. (JPH 07192951 A, hereinafter Kurachi).Regarding claim 1,
A device for at least partially manufacturing at least one component of a transformer system, including:
at least one mold configured to at least partially house at least one insulating material configured to at least partially insulate at least one conductor; and
at least one heating element configured to be coupled to the at least one mold and
configured to heat the at least one insulating material to at least partially cure the at least one insulating material,
when the at least one insulating material is arranged at least partially in the at least one mold,
wherein the at least one heating element is flexible and/or bendable.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches (Fig. 1) shows a cross-sectional view of the process of casting a molded coil with epoxy resin. The casting mold 2 has a resin casting port 2a on its upper surface, and the coil 1, which is the element to be cast, is assembled inside it. ([0020]) adds In manufacturing resin-cast products, the coil 1 is first placed inside the casting mold 2, and then the coil 1 inside the casting mold 2 is heated and dried using heating means such as air drying in a drying oven, electric drying by passing an electric current through the coil 1, or a combination of both. Subsequently, an epoxy resin is injected as the casting resin 10 through the casting port 2a of the casting mold 2. Where the coil provide for and act as applicant’s at least one at least one conductor, while the casting resin 10 provide for and act as the insulating material configured to at least partially insulate at least one conductor.
([0019]) teaches that the current control device 5 measures the mold temperature through the temperature measuring device 7 and controls the current flowing through the Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0024]) adds that grouping multiple heat pipes 8 in this manner and combining each with a metal plate 3 and a Peltier element 4 to control the temperature of the casting mold 2, the temperature of the casting mold 2 can be controlled quickly and precisely, similar to the embodiment described in (Fig. 1), thereby suppressing localized heating due to the heat generated during curing of the resin 10. Where the Peltier elements 4 along with metal plate 3 attached to the casting mold 2 provide for and acts as at least one heating element configured to be coupled to the at least one mold.
([0009]) teaches that the temperature of the casting mold is controlled using these Peltier elements to cure the resin. ([0031]) adds that moreover, the resin inside the casting mold can be cured uniformly in a short time, thus shortening the manufacturing time and improving work efficiency.
([0020]) adds that an epoxy resin is injected as the casting resin 10 through the casting port 2a of the casting mold 2. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the casting resin 10 is depicted to be within the mold, including at least partially in the at least one mold.
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0023]) adds that the mold temperature sensed by a temperature sensor (not shown) and sets the temperature of the Peltier element 4 so that the casting mold 2 has a desirable temperature distribution via the metal plate 3 and heat pipe 8. Where the at least metal plate 3 acts as a component of the one heating element (i.e., Peltier element 4 and metal plate 3) that may undergo elastic deformation and/or have a bend in its design i.e., the metal plate 3 is understood to be flexible and/or bendable.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the at least one mold includes at least one mold wall and
the at least one heating element is arranged to conduct heat to the at least one mold wall.
Kurachi teaches the following:
& b.) ([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0010]) adds that a heat pipe can be attached to the casting mold, and the temperature of the casting mold can be controlled by a Peltier element via this heat pipe.As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 3), the at least one mold includes at least one mold wall such that the Peltier element(s) 4 via the metal plate(s) 3 are found to be arranged on the mold walls and are configured to conduct heat to the at least one mold walls.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein the at least one heating element is configured to be arranged on at least one outer surface of the at least one mold wall.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the at least one heating element is configured as a flat-type heating element, in particular a strip heating element or a band heating element.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the metal plates 3, provides for the at least one heating element is configured as a flat-type heating element in particular a strip heating element, i.e., a strip of metal.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Including a plurality of the at least one heating element configured to heat a plurality of sections of the at least one insulating material
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 3), a plurality of the metal plates 3 provide for the at least one heating element configured to heat a plurality of sections of the at least one insulating material.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Further including
at least one controller configured to adjust at least one temperature of at least one portion of the at least one heating element and/or at least one temperature of the least one insulating material and/or at least one heating duration of the at least one heating element.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches that the temperature of the casting mold can be controlled by detecting the temperature of the casting mold with a temperature sensor and controlling the current supplied to the Peltier element. ([0019]) teaches that the current control device 5 measures the mold temperature through the temperature measuring device 7 and controls the current flowing through the Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. Where the current control device 5 provides for and acts as applicant’s at least one controller configured to adjust at least one temperature of at least one portion of the at least one heating element and/or at least one temperature of the least one insulating material and/or at least one heating duration of the at least one heating element.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the at least one controller is configured to adjust and/or control the at least one temperature and/or the at least one heating duration according to one or more temperatures profiles and/or one or more heating duration profiles, respectively.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches that the temperature of the casting mold can be controlled by detecting the temperature of the casting mold with a temperature sensor and controlling the current supplied to the Peltier element. ([0019]) teaches that the current control device 5 measures the mold temperature through the temperature measuring device 7 and controls the current flowing through the Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. Where the current control device 5 provides for and acts as applicant’s at least one controller configured to adjust and/or control the at least one temperature and/or the at least one heating duration according to one or more temperatures profiles and/or one or more heating duration profiles, respectively.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the at least one controller and/or the at least one heating element is/are configured to selectively heat a plurality of sections of the insulating material, in particular independently from each other, in particular such that the plurality of sections of the insulating material are heated to different temperatures and/or for different heating durations.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0023]) teaches that the current control device 5 controls the current flowing to the Peltier element 4 based on the mold temperature sensed by a temperature sensor (not shown) and sets the temperature of the Peltier element 4 so that the casting mold 2 has a desirable temperature distribution via the metal plate 3 and heat pipe 8. Namely, the current control device 5 controls is/are configured to selectively heat a plurality of sections of the insulating material, in particular independently from each other, in particular such that the plurality of sections of the insulating material are heated to different temperatures and/or for different heating durations.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the at least one controller and/or the at least one heating element is/are configured to apply different amounts of heat and/or different heating durations to a plurality of sections of the insulating material.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0023]) teaches that the current control device 5 controls the current flowing to the Peltier element 4 based on the mold temperature sensed by a temperature sensor (not shown) and sets the temperature of the Peltier element 4 so that the casting mold 2 has a desirable temperature distribution via the metal plate 3 and heat pipe 8. Namely, the current control device 5 controls the temperature of the Peltier element 4 to apply different amounts of heat and/or different heating durations to a plurality of sections of the insulating material.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the at least one heating element is configured to be powered electrically.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0023]) teaches that the Peltier element 4 is connected to a DC power supply 6 controlled by a current control device 5, similar to the embodiment shown in (Fig. 1). The current control device 5 controls the current flowing to the Peltier element 4 based on the mold temperature sensed by a temperature sensor (not shown) and sets the temperature of the Peltier element 4 so that the casting mold 2 has a desirable temperature distribution via the metal plate 3 and heat pipe 8. Namely, the Peltier element 4 is understood to be configured to be powered electrically.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
B.) Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Kurachi in view of Hisateru Akachi (US 4921041 A, hereinafter Akachi)Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further including
at least one stabilizing element configured and arranged relative to the at least one heating element to store and/or distribute at least a portion of the heat generated by the at least one heating element,
in particular wherein the at least one stabilizing element is made of at least one ceramic material.
Kurachi teaches the following:
([0019]) teaches that Peltier element 4 based on the measured value, thereby controlling the temperature of each of the metal plates 3 attached to the casting mold 2 to an appropriate temperature so that the temperature distribution of the mold becomes a desirable temperature distribution. ([0010]) teaches alternatively a heat pipe can be attached to the casting mold, and the temperature of the casting mold can be controlled by a Peltier element via this heat pipe 8. As illustrated in (Fig. 1 – 3), the at least one heating element is configured to be arranged on at least one outer surface of the at least one mold wall. Where the heat pipe 8 provides for and acts as applicants stabilizing element configured and arranged relative to the at least one heating element to store and/or distribute at least a portion of the heat generated by the at least one heating element.
Regarding Claim 5, Kurachi is silent on the heat pipes / stabilizing element being fabricated of at least one ceramic material. In analogous art for a mold comprising a loop-type heat pipe is disclosed in which a heat carrying fluid, preferably a bi-phase non-condensative fluid, circulates in a loop form in itself under its own vapor pressure at a high speed within an elongate pipe so as to repeat vaporization and condensation, thus carrying out a heat transfer, (Abstract) , Akachi suggests details regarding (C), and Statement Regarding (D), and in this regard, Akachi teaches the following:
& b.) (Col. 13, lines 3 – 7) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 10) a predetermined part of the heat insulating portion of the loop-type container in which the metallic pipe of the heat insulating portion is cut out and separated into two pipes which are linked with a ceramic pipe 61 made of such an electrically insulating material as a ceramic. As such, heat pipe is understood to comprise a ceramic material.Furthermore, applicant’s stabilizing element configured to the at least one heating element to store and/or distribute at least a portion of the heat generated by the at least one heating element is understood to be a functional limitation. Accordingly, due to the heat pipes comprising the same structure and placement as applicant’s stabilizing agent, i.e., arranged relative to the at least one heating element and made of at least one ceramic material. The case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method/apparatus for manufacturing of Kurachi. By modifying the heat pipes to comprise a ceramic material, as taught by Akachi. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement heat pipes to comprise a ceramic material as it allows for a pipe that is fabricated from an electrically insulating material, (Col. 13, lines 3 – 7). Additionally, the use of a known material, i.e. ceramics, in a known environment heat pipes, for its intended use, regulating temperature and being an electrically insulating material, provides for the recitation of known material case law. Where the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lanoue et al. (US 20030058076 A1) An internal heating method for drying, gelling and final curing of epoxy resin insulation systems used for encapsulating dry type cast distribution transformer coils is disclosed. The internal method uses a Direct-Current (DC) power source to control and supply DC current to resistively heat the transformer coil encapsulated with a liquid resin under vacuum in a mold. DC current is applied to a given coil based on its conductor cross-sectional area and its epoxy resin quantity to achieve a specified temperature for drying, gelling and final curing. The temperature, controlled by DC resistive heating is maintained for a given period for each step.
Mosch et al. (US 5232043 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that in a device for identifying the solid-liquid-interface of a melt while withdrawing the poured full ceramic mold 6 from the heater 7, 8 which at least partially encloses the casting mold 6, the mold 6 is at least partially enclosed by two receiving loops 4, 5 disposed in the inside of the heater 7, 8 and a polarizing transmitting loop 13;
Sven Droste et al. (US 20180056551 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A method and a system for heating of a casting mold, in particular for heating of casting molds for cosmetic products, is described. The system comprises at least an inductor for generating of at least one alternating magnetic field and at least one casting mold, wherein the casting mold consists substantially of a plastic material or an elastomer and is permeated with at least one additive, wherein the additive may be inductively heated.
Grange et al. (US 20180193906 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An installation for manufacturing a part by implementation of a Bridgman method includes in particular a mold intended to receive a melted material and a thermal screen movable with respect to the mold intended to be positioned in front of the solidification front during the directional solidification.
Athavale et al. (US 20170330671 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) The present disclosure envisages an arrangement for maintaining desired temperature conditions on and within a transformer housing of an encapsulated transformer. The arrangement comprises at least one insulation plate disposed proximal to a transformer core and coil assembly of the encapsulated transformer such that the insulating element is in surface contact with a potting compound of the encapsulated transformer and adapted to substantially contain the heat emanating from the transformer core and coil assembly, thereby maintaining desired temperature conditions on and within the transformer housing.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743