DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 7/25/2025 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in GB on 1/26/2023.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Title Objections
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Status of Application
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1 and 19 are independent.
Non-Final Office Action
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Office has found herein that certain claims contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f). Each such limitation will be discussed in turn as follows:
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claims 1-18 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “operable to” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since Claims 1-18 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claims 1-18 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claims 1-18 all recite a detector operable to detect. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The detector or one or more of the detectors may be in-built detectors. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a sensor. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a camera. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a microphone. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a GPS locator. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a clock. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a temperature sensor. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a receiver. One or more of the receivers may be operable to receive an input from an external device. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be an orientation sensor. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be an altitude sensor. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be a pressure sensor. The or each pressure sensor may be operable to detect the presence of a person in one or more of the seats of the vehicle. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be an anemometer. The detector or one or more of the detectors may be an olfactory sensor” [Specification, Page 7].
Claims 1-18 all recite an identification unit operable to identify each element. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The identification unit 3, memory unit 4 and orchestration unit 5 form part of the computing of the vehicle. The identification unit 3 processes the indications received during a 'signal processing' step, determining the parameter or parameters making up the indication” [Specification, Page 21]. (Generic computer)
Claims 1-18 all recite a rendering unit operable to create a virtual space representing the environment. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The identification unit 3, memory unit 4 and orchestration unit 5 form part of the computing of the vehicle. The identification unit 3 processes the indications received during a 'signal processing' step, determining the parameter or parameters making up the indication” [Specification, Page 21]. (Generic computer)
Claims 1-18 all recite an association unit operable to apply a respective emanating field to each identified element within the virtual space. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The identification unit 3, memory unit 4 and orchestration unit 5 form part of the computing of the vehicle. The identification unit 3 processes the indications received during a 'signal processing' step, determining the parameter or parameters making up the indication” [Specification, Page 21]. (Generic computer)
Claims 1-18 all recite one or more ambient output devices operable to set the internal ambient environment of the vehicle. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The ambient output devices 6 comprises a plurality of types of outputs, each type of output comprising a plurality of units. The types of outputs and units which comprise them include the following: ambient lighting devices such as an LED strip comprising LEDs, a dashboard lighting comprising LEDs and an LED ceiling panel comprising LEDs; an audio system comprising stereo units, a video screen comprising pixels; an olfactory system comprising olfactory actuators. The ambient output devices 6 thereby conveys a signal of a plurality of identified features at the same time.” [Specification, Page 26].
Claims 1-18 all recite an orchestration unit operable to determine any emanating fields. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The identification unit 3, memory unit 4 and orchestration unit 5 form part of the computing of the vehicle. The identification unit 3 processes the indications received during a 'signal processing' step, determining the parameter or parameters making up the indication” [Specification, Page 21]. (Generic computer)
Claims 10 and 15 recites a memory unit operable to store. In the specification, the corresponding structure found was “The identification unit 3, memory unit 4 and orchestration unit 5 form part of the computing of the vehicle. The identification unit 3 processes the indications received during a 'signal processing' step, determining the parameter or parameters making up the indication” [Specification, Page 21]. (Generic computer with a memory)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Specification Objections
Pages 8 and 13 of the specification have typos that need to be corrected. Page 8 line 19 and Page 13, line 7, state “The or each detector may be operable” and this appears to be a typographical error that needs to be corrected.
This Office suggests going through the specification and looking for similar errors as the above-mentioned errors, as the above list was exemplary in nature and by no means exhaustive. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 states “wherein the one or more ambient output devices comprise ambient lighting devices and/or speakers” yet Claim 1, in which Claim 7 depends on states “one or more ambient output devices operable to set the internal ambient environment of the vehicle and these two limitations fail to clearly capture the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. Based on the 112b, the ambient output devices, could be a display, where displays have a screen, with a processor, memory, thus setting, can be loosely understood to be carried out by the devices, yet if the output devices, as stated in Claim 7, are lights or speakers, how is the setting carried out? Further, if Claim 7 no longer requires the display, is the virtual space now, just software where nothing id displayed? If so, stating a virtual space is merely code used with software. As currently presented, Claim 7 fails to clearly recite the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter, therefore its indefinite. The Office is going to interpret any system that has buffers and warns it users with lights or sounds as reading on this. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus (apparatus). Therefore, Claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 19 is directed to an process (method). Therefore, Claim 19 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Claims 1 and 19 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and Claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejections.
Claim 1 recites: An ambient output system for a vehicle comprising:
a. a detector operable to detect a plurality of elements of an environment external to the vehicle;
b. an identification unit operable to identify each element;
c. a rendering unit operable to create a virtual space representing the environment external to the vehicle, the rendering unit operable to populate the virtual space with the vehicle and each identified element;
d. an association unit operable to apply a respective emanating field to each identified element within the virtual space, the respective emanating field being based on the identity, and each emanating field emanating from the identified element, and within the virtual space, to an associated range;
e. one or more ambient output devices operable to set the internal ambient environment of the vehicle; and
f. an orchestration unit operable to determine any emanating fields the vehicle is within in the virtual space and set the output of the one or more ambient output devices at least partially based on any emanating field or emanating fields the vehicle is within.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. Specifically, the “identify, apply, set, and determing” steps encompass a user to identify possible buffer zone issues for objects. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “units within a generic computer”, the examiner submits that these limitations are an attempt to generally link additional elements to a technological environment. In particular, the “computer” is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the identify, apply, set, and determing steps, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea. Additionally, the computer is claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity and do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. Furthermore, the examiner submits that the recitations of identifying and determining a buffer zone around and object is a mere definition that does not necessarily impose any meaningful limits on performing the steps in the human mind, as it only gathers data and comes up with rules where a user could in fact perform this mentally or using paper and pencil. In addition to that, the examiner submits that receiving sensor data and using a computer, are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer to perform the process. In particular, the identifying and determining steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the determining step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computerr or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent Claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the apparatus, the computer amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of receiving sensor data and identifying buffers, and determinizing buffers, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of receiving the sensor data and determining buffers are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the background recites that the sensors from which the data is acquired/received are all conventional sensors, as is the computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Further Claim 19 are not patent eligible for the same reasons.
Dependent Claims 2-18 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements, if any, in the dependent claims are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as with Claims 1 and 19.
Office Note: In order to overcome this rejection, the Office suggests further defining the limitations of the independent claims, for example linking the claimed subject matter to a non-generic device and controlling a vehicle with the buffer zones. Limitations such as these suggested above would further bring the claimed subject matter out of the realm of abstract idea and into the realm of a statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Branscombe et al. (United States Patent Publication 2019/0287407).
With respect to Claim 1: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system for a vehicle comprising” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (provide feedback to the drivers, such as a visual alert on the display or audio alert in the cab of the haul truck)];
“a. a detector operable to detect a plurality of elements of an environment external to the vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0044, 0063, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (osition sensor 302 may be assisted by a number of external devices that are mounted around various objects in the mining environment to assist in determining a location and an orientation of the vehicle. For example, a number of radar, LIDAR, laser, or other object-detection systems could be installed at the entrance to a crusher bay or other equipment disposed around the mining environment. These externally-mounted systems may be mounted on any vehicles within the mining environment (e.g., shovels, haul trucks, pick-up trucks, etc.). The externally-mounted systems allow for peer-to-peer aggregation of vehicle positional data within the mining environment allowing for more accurate information that may be acquired from sensors mounted on a single vehicle)];
“b. an identification unit operable to identify each element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0048, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (To begin a navigation maneuver, navigation aid 322 may be configured to access position sensor 302 and distributed objects database 304 to identify a listing of potential target destinations)];
“c. a rendering unit operable to create a virtual space representing the environment external to the vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (calculate a bounding box that may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle. The bounding box may be a rectangle or other shape that encompasses the entire vehicle body. In some embodiments, the controller 416 may access distributed objects database 304 to retrieve attributes of the vehicle, such as length or width of the vehicle, and display the bounding box on a display device that may include a map of the mining environment)];
“the rendering unit operable to populate the virtual space with the vehicle and each identified element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (calculate a bounding box that may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle. The bounding box may be a rectangle or other shape that encompasses the entire vehicle body. In some embodiments, the controller 416 may access distributed objects database 304 to retrieve attributes of the vehicle, such as length or width of the vehicle, and display the bounding box on a display device that may include a map of the mining environment)];
“d. an association unit operable to apply a respective emanating field to each identified element within the virtual space” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (Inform zones 705 and 707 provide a projected zone indicating where the vehicles may be in the future relative to one another, using the current and previous position and movement data of the vehicles)];
“the respective emanating field being based on the identity” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (Inform zones 705 and 707 provide a projected zone indicating where the vehicles may be in the future relative to one another, using the current and previous position and movement data of the vehicles)];
“and each emanating field emanating from the identified element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (Inform zones 705 and 707 provide a projected zone indicating where the vehicles may be in the future relative to one another, using the current and previous position and movement data of the vehicles)];
“and within the virtual space, to an associated range” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (Inform zones 705 and 707 provide a projected zone indicating where the vehicles may be in the future relative to one another, using the current and previous position and movement data of the vehicles)];
“e. one or more ambient output devices operable to set the internal ambient environment of the vehicle; and” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (provide feedback to the drivers, such as a visual alert on the display or audio alert in the cab of the haul truck)];
“f. an orchestration unit operable to determine any emanating fields the vehicle is within in the virtual space and set the output of the one or more ambient output devices at least partially based on any emanating field or emanating fields the vehicle is within” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (For example, if inform zone 705 and 707 intersect or otherwise at least partially overlap, as in FIG. 7b, the system may trigger a feedback device to alert the drivers the zones overlap, and a contention or collision event could be possible. In this example, the vehicles continue to encroach upon one another, and warning zones 709, 711 overlap, as in FIG. 7c, the system may trigger a feedback device to warn the drivers of imminent contention of collision. In some embodiments, the feedback device may be configured to provide different type or intensity of alerts depending on if it is an inform or warning alert. For example, if a warning alert is triggered, the feedback device may be louder, brighter, or provided with more urgency than the inform alert, as the warning zone indicates more imminent danger)].
With respect to Claim 2: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the emanating field associated with at least one of the identified elements is a non-circular emanating field” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0082-0087 with Figures 7a-7c (Haul trucks 803-805 are stationary, and therefore the inform 807 and warning 809 zones are shaped similar to the bounding box of the vehicle with a fixed buffer. In FIG. 8a, haul truck 801, in motion, has inform 811 and warning 813 zones whose shapes are determined by the movement of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 3: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 2 wherein the non-circular emanating field comprises a major axis aligned with a heading of the respective identified element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0082-0087 with Figures 7a-7c (Haul trucks 803-805 are stationary, and therefore the inform 807 and warning 809 zones are shaped similar to the bounding box of the vehicle with a fixed buffer. In FIG. 8a, haul truck 801, in motion, has inform 811 and warning 813 zones whose shapes are determined by the movement of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 4: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 3 wherein the non-circular emanating field is an oval or is the same shape as an outer edge of the respective identified element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0082-0087 with Figures 7a-7c (Haul trucks 803-805 are stationary, and therefore the inform 807 and warning 809 zones are shaped similar to the bounding box of the vehicle with a fixed buffer. In FIG. 8a, haul truck 801, in motion, has inform 811 and warning 813 zones whose shapes are determined by the movement of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 5: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the vehicle comprises a vehicle emanating field in the virtual space” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (calculate a bounding box that may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle. The bounding box may be a rectangle or other shape that encompasses the entire vehicle body. In some embodiments, the controller 416 may access distributed objects database 304 to retrieve attributes of the vehicle, such as length or width of the vehicle, and display the bounding box on a display device that may include a map of the mining environment)];
“and the orchestration unit is operable to determine any emanating fields the vehicle is within by determining any emanating fields of identified elements which overlap with the vehicle emanating field” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0058, 0082-0085 with Figures 7a-7c (For example, if inform zone 705 and 707 intersect or otherwise at least partially overlap, as in FIG. 7b, the system may trigger a feedback device to alert the drivers the zones overlap, and a contention or collision event could be possible. In this example, the vehicles continue to encroach upon one another, and warning zones 709, 711 overlap, as in FIG. 7c, the system may trigger a feedback device to warn the drivers of imminent contention of collision. In some embodiments, the feedback device may be configured to provide different type or intensity of alerts depending on if it is an inform or warning alert. For example, if a warning alert is triggered, the feedback device may be louder, brighter, or provided with more urgency than the inform alert, as the warning zone indicates more imminent danger)].
With respect to Claim 6: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 5 wherein the vehicle emanating field comprises a major axis aligned with a heading of the vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0082-0087 with Figures 7a-7c (Haul trucks 803-805 are stationary, and therefore the inform 807 and warning 809 zones are shaped similar to the bounding box of the vehicle with a fixed buffer. In FIG. 8a, haul truck 801, in motion, has inform 811 and warning 813 zones whose shapes are determined by the movement of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 7: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the one or more ambient output devices comprise ambient lighting devices and/or speakers” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0036, 0049, 0082-0087 with Figures 7a-7c (a display of the target speed, a series of lights showing the degree of overlap between inform or warning zones, or an audible alert that changes frequency or volume as the inform/warning zones overlap)].
With respect to Claim 8: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the orchestration unit is operable to use a set of conditions associated with an emanating field in which the vehicle is within to set the output of the one or more ambient output devices” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 9: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the orchestration unit is operable to set the output of the one or more ambient output devices based on a combination of a plurality of sets of conditions, each set of conditions being associated with a respective emanating field which the vehicle is within” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 10: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 9 wherein the orchestration unit is operable to set the output of the one or more ambient output devices based on a combination of a plurality of sets of conditions, one set of conditions being a default set of conditions and the rest of the plurality of sets of conditions each being associated with a respective emanating field which the vehicle is within” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 14: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein, for one or more elements corresponding to emanating fields the vehicle is within in the virtual space, the orchestration unit is operable to determine the position of the one or more elements relative to the vehicle and adjust a set of conditions corresponding to each of the one or more elements based on the position of each respective element relative to the vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 15: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 comprising a memory unit operable to store a list of ranges of emanating fields associated with identities” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (For example, the database may store information describing the type of vehicle, its size (e.g., a description of the outer perimeter or profile of the vehicle) and capacity, its current status (e.g., loaded or unloaded, in use or not in use, etc.), weight, and velocity. For each vehicle, the database may also store information describing the operator of the vehicle (e.g., the operator's experience level, current assignment, shift status, etc)];
“and wherein the association unit is operable to look-up in the memory unit
the range associated with the identity of each element and set the range of the emanating field for each element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)].
With respect to Claim 16: Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to Claim 1 comprising a memory unit operable to store a list of shapes of emanating fields associated with identities, and wherein the association unit is operable to look-up in the memory unit the shape associated with the identity of each element and set the shape of the emanating field for each element” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (For example, the database may store information describing the type of vehicle, its size (e.g., a description of the outer perimeter or profile of the vehicle) and capacity, its current status (e.g., loaded or unloaded, in use or not in use, etc.), weight, and velocity. For each vehicle, the database may also store information describing the operator of the vehicle (e.g., the operator's experience level, current assignment, shift status, etc)].
With respect to Claim 17: Branscombe discloses “A vehicle comprising the ambient output system of Claim 1” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c].
With respect to Claim 18: Branscombe discloses “A vehicle according to claim 17 wherein the ambient output system comprises two or more ambient output devices provided spaced around the vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (In some embodiments, the feedback could be provided by screen 320 or user interface 324 of system 300 of FIG. 3, or other components of system 300. The feedback mechanism may include one or more alert (e.g., visual, audible, tactile, haptic, or otherwise) to indicate to the operator that the vehicle is approaching contention or collision conditions. This could also include notifications that indicate the operator should either speed up or slowdown in order to avoid the situation)].
With respect to Claim 19: all limitations have been examined with respect to the system in Claim 1. The method taught/disclosed in Claim 19 can clearly perform on the system of Claim 1. Therefore Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Branscombe et al. (United States Patent Publication 2019/0287407) in view of Mason (United States Patent Publication 2019/0004692).
With respect to Claim 11: While Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 10 further comprising a memory unit operable to store a list of priority ratings associated with each element, and wherein the association unit is operable to look-up m the memory unit the priority rating associated with each element and associate each priority rating with the respective emanating field, wherein the orchestration unit is operable to compare the conditions of the plurality of sets of conditions” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)];
Branscombe does not specifically state what happens when conflicting settings occur.
Mason, which is also an alerting system teaches “a memory unit operable to store a list of priority ratings associated with each element” [Mason, ¶ 0026 and 0043 (in some embodiments, with varying priorities and/or trigger conditions) to match against a request for communication with an entity in order to provide real time and dynamically updating sets of alerts for that entity)];
“and wherein the association unit is operable to look-up m the memory unit the priority rating associated with each element and associate each priority rating with the respective item” [Mason, ¶ 0026 and 0043 (in some embodiments, with varying priorities and/or trigger conditions) to match against a request for communication with an entity in order to provide real time and dynamically updating sets of alerts for that entity)];
“wherein the orchestration unit is operable to compare the conditions of the plurality of sets of conditions and” [Mason, ¶ 0026 and 0043 (in some embodiments, with varying priorities and/or trigger conditions) to match against a request for communication with an entity in order to provide real time and dynamically updating sets of alerts for that entity)];
“a. when two or more conditions for a particular output setting of the one or more ambient output devices conflict, the orchestration unit is operable to select the conflicting one or more conditions with the highest priority rating to put into effect and disregard the conflicting one or more other conditions; and” [Mason ¶ 0026 (higher priority alert rules can override lower priority alert rules)];
“b. when two or more conditions for a particular output setting of the one or more ambient output devices do not conflict, the orchestration unit is operable to put the non-conflicting two or more conditions into effect” [Mason ¶ 0026 (to the extent that the alert rules do not conflict with one another, they can supplement one another (e.g., the non-conflicting results of the alert rules can be implemented). In one embodiment, alert rules 201 may be associated with one or more add alerts 206)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mason into the invention of Branscombe to not only include using a display with lights and sounds from alerts of objects to create attention events for the use based on outside vehicles as Branscombe discloses but to also account for multiple alerts and have priority rules for such alerts as taught by Mason with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Mason into Branscombe to create a more robust system that account for multiple objects with multiple alerts at the same time and allow the system to react to priority of the alerts [Mason, ¶ 0026]. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements alerting users based on triggers and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Branscombe et al. (United States Patent Publication 2019/0287407) in view of Gibbons et al. (United States Patent Publication 2002/0102961).
With respect to Claim 12: While Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 9 wherein the identification unit is operable to identify if an external element is a vehicle and to label an element as a vehicle, and the orchestration unit is operable to detect if one or more elements are labelled as a vehicle and, if one or more elements are labelled a vehicle, set the output of the one or more ambient output devices based only on sets of conditions associated with elements labelled as a vehicle” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)];
Branscombe does not specifically state what happens if one of the vehicles is an emergency vehicle, rather diggers, and haulers.
Gibbons, which is also an alerting system teaches “wherein the identification unit is operable to identify if an external element is an emergency services vehicle (EMS vehicle)” [Gibbons, ¶ 0018 and 0041];
“and to label an element as an EMS vehicle” [Gibbons, ¶ 0018 and 0041];
“and the orchestration unit is operable to detect if one or more elements are labelled as EMS vehicle and, if one or more elements are labelled as EMS vehicle, set the output of the one or more ambient output devices based only on sets of conditions associated with elements labelled as EMS vehicle” [Gibbons, ¶ 0018 and 0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gibbons into the invention of Branscombe to not only include using a display with lights and sounds from alerts of objects to create attention events for the use based on outside vehicles as Branscombe discloses but to also account for emergency vehicles within a distance or buffer as taught by Gibbons with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Gibbons into Branscombe to create a more robust system that account for account not only for vehicles and objects but emergency vehicles as well, thus allowing for safety for the emergency vehicles to pass [Gibbons, ¶ 0004]. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements alerting users based on triggers and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Branscombe et al. (United States Patent Publication 2019/0287407) in view of Seo et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/0269052).
With respect to Claim 13: While Branscombe discloses “An ambient output system according to claim 1 wherein the identification unit is operable to determine virtual images for collision avoidance” [Branscombe, ¶ 0005, 0045, 0082-0087, 0099 with Figures 7a-7c (The project zones may be recalculated to continuous update the size and shape of the projected zones as the vehicles continues to operate within the mining environment (or come to a stop). The zones may be re-calculated at a relatively high frequency (e.g., more often than every 5 seconds or every second) to ensure that the projected zones are accurate given the current state of the vehicle)];
Branscombe does not specifically state adjusting the display based on time of day.
Seo, which is also an attention calling system teaches “wherein the identification unit is operable to determine a time of day and the orchestration unit is operable to set the output of the one or more output devices at least partially based on the time of day” [Seo, ¶ 0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the invention of Branscombe to not only include using a display with lights and sounds from alerts of objects to create attention events for the use based on outside vehicles as Branscombe discloses but to also account for the time of day for the output devices as taught by Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Seo into Branscombe to create a more robust system by lowering the conspicuity of the virtual image [Seo, ¶ 0045]. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements alerting users based on triggers and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
Conclusion
/JESS WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c