DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 9/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that closing a respective individual cells (24) is not the same as providing a closed external side of the three dimensional lattice cell structure that prevents forced air from escaping through the external side and forces the ambient fluid to flow to the end of the structure, has been carefully considered but is not found to be persuasive. Reference to Brodeur et al. discloses (figures 1-2 and figure A) a closed external side (labeled in figure A), the closed external side is formed by a solid wall of the casing so that all the ambient air does not escape from the closed side and guiding the air to exit the heat exchanger elsewhere.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “the heat exchanger includes one or more fan inlets positioned at the upper half of the casing” renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it is not clear whether applicant is claiming that the heat exchanger includes ore or more inlet, and the heat exchanger is positioned at the upper half of the casing or the heat exchanger includes one more fan inlets, and the one or more fan inlet is positioned at the upper haft of the casing.
Claims 20-28 are further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which the one or more fan inlet is positioned at the upper half of the casing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brodeur et al. (US 20230314094A1). Regarding claim 20, Brodeur discloses (figure 1 and figure 2) a tank for a heat generating electric component, comprising a casing (14) including an interior side, an exterior side, a top portion, a bottom portion, and an intermediate portion between the top portion and the bottom portion; a heat exchanger (12) comprising a three dimensional lattice cell structure (22, paragraphs 56 and 61) integral with the casing (14) in at least the intermediate portion and extending outwardly from the exterior side, the heat exchanger (12) configured to conduct a dielectric cooling fluid (16) from the casing at the exterior side of the casing for heat exchange with an ambient fluid, and back toward the casing (14) to cool the heat generating electric component; wherein the casing includes an upper half and a lower haft, and the heat exchanger includes one or more fan inlets (see figure A) positioned at the upper half of the casing (similar to figure 1 of the applicant, the fan inlet 186 is positioned outside corresponding to the upper half of the casing), the one or more fan inlet being configured to receive a flow of the ambient fluid generated by one or more fans (38); wherein the dimensional lattice cell structure includes a closed external side to keep the ambient fluid inside the three dimensional lattice cell structure (the side integrated with the casing as shown in figure A). Regarding claim 21, Brodeur further discloses (figure A and figure 1) the casing (14) includes a length from the top portion to the bottom portion, and the three dimensional lattice cell structure is integral with the casing along substantially the length of the casing (paragraph 61). Regarding claim 22, Brodeur discloses (figure 1 and A) a fan (38) arrangement comprising one or more fans arranged to generate the flow of the ambient fluid.
Regarding claim 23, Brodeur further discloses (figure 1) that the heat exchanger includes a dielectric cooling fluid inlet (30) in the upper half of the casing and a dielectric cooling fluid outlet (32) in the lower half of the casing.
Regarding claim 25, Brodeur further discloses that the three dimensional lattice cell structure is a triply periodic minimal surface structure. (see figure A, and paragraph 56)
Regarding claim 26, Brodeur further discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 57) that the triply periodic minimal surface structure includes a wall that divides cooling fluid passages (26 and 28) therein.
Regarding claim 27, Brodeur further discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 57) that the wall that divides cooling fluid passages is configured to conduct the dielectric cooling fluid therethrough, and the cooling fluid passages that the wall divides an ambient fluid cooling fluid passage (26).
Regarding claim 28, Brodeur discloses (figure 2 and paragraph 56) that the lattice structure (22) is a triply periodic minimal surface, which is same with the structure as claimed to increase the heat transfer surface area of the heat exchanger, which can perform to yield a surface heat flux greater than 600 W/m2 at a flow rate of the flow of the ambient fluid greater than 50 m3/h. It is known in the art that the heat flow rate is proportional to the flow rate of the flow according to the heat flux formula:
Q= mass flow rate *(density of the fluid) * (differential temperature).
Therefore, the lattice surface of Broeur which has the same structure as disclosed, is able to achieve 600 w/m2 at a sufficient high flow rate greater than 50m3/h..
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 1 with limitation shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodeur et al. (US 20230314094A1) in view of Avery et al. (US 4,413,674A). Brodeur et al. substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the heat exchanger includes dielectric cooling fluid inlet and dielectric cooling fluid outlets through out substantially the length of the casing. Brodeur et al discloses (figure 1) a single inlet (30) and a single outlet (32). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain a multiple of inlets and outlets, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co. 193 USpQ8. Moreover, reference to Avery et al. also discloses (figures 2 and 3) a transformer that has a heat exchanger (panels 21) includes cooling fluid inlets and cooling fluid outlets (99, 101, 103) through substantially the length of the casing (13) for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer performance of the heat exchanger.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763