DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 07/28/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0029] at line 6, the parking information storage unit is designated 18, in Figure 3 the parking information storage unit is designated 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"vehicle control unit" in claims 1, 3-6
"parking information storage unit" in claims 1, 2
"wheel stop position estimation unit" in claims 1, 2
"surrounding recognition unit" in claim 2
"object determination unit" in claim 2
"error amount estimation unit" in claims 3, 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKADA (US 20210179076 A1) in view of SCHOENHERR (DE 102015205142 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, NAKADA teaches A parking assistance system that includes a vehicle control unit configured to control a driving force and a braking force acting on a wheel to perform vehicle control for moving a vehicle including the wheel to a parking space (See at least paragraph [0050], “The parking assist system 1 includes the control device 15 and the external environment sensor 7”, paragraph [0051], “The control device 15 controls the powertrain 4, the brake device 5, and the steering device 6 so as to execute an autonomous parking operation to move the vehicle autonomously to a target parking position and park the vehicle at the target parking position and an autonomous unparking operation to move the vehicle autonomously to a target unparking position and unpark the vehicle at the target unparking position. In order to execute such operations, the control device 15 includes an external environment recognizing unit 41, a vehicle position identifying unit 42, an action plan unit 43, a travel control unit 44, a vehicle abnormality detecting unit 45, and a vehicle state determining unit 46”, and paragraph [0085], “Further, the action plan unit 43 controls the driving force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque. Thus, it is possible to prevent each wheel W from climbing over the vehicle stopper Z when the vehicle V reaches the target parking position P3. In another embodiment, the action plan unit 43 may control the brake force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque, or may control both the driving force and the brake force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque.”)-; and a wheel stop position estimation unit configured to estimate a position of a wheel stop in the parking space (See at least paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”), wherein based on an estimated wheel stop position which is the position of the wheel stop estimated by the wheel stop position estimation unit, the vehicle control unit sets a contact assumption area (See at least Fig. 4, paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).” The area R of Fig. 4 defines an area relative to the estimated position of the vehicle stopper in which the system detects the vehicle stopper and initiates parking control based on the estimated vehicle stopper position, corresponding to the contact assumption area.), which is an area where the wheel is allowed to come into contact with the wheel stop, on a side of the vehicle relative to the estimated wheel stop position, and performs pre-stop control for causing the vehicle to travel at a preset contact preparation speed in the contact assumption area (See at least paragraph [0077], “In a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance is equal to or more than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is No), the action plan unit 43 executes a driving force setting process, which will be described in detail later (step ST18). In another embodiment, the action plan unit 43 may execute the driving force setting process in a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is Yes). Alternatively, the action plan unit 43 may execute the driving force setting process regardless of the stopper distance. When step ST18 ends, the action plan unit 43 again determines whether the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (step ST17)” and paragraph [0078], “On the other hand, in a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is Yes), the action plan unit 43 limits the driving force of the vehicle V to a value less than a prescribed upper limit U and limits the backward movement speed (an example of the vehicle speed) of the vehicle V to a speed equal to or less than V3, which is lower than V2 (step ST19). The above upper limit U is set in consideration of the relationship between driving torque of each wheel W and climbing-over torque that enables each wheel W to climb over the vehicle stopper Z. More specifically, the upper limit U is set such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque if the driving force of the vehicle V is less than the upper limit U. The upper limit U may be set to a constant value regardless of the stopper distance, or may be set to gradually decrease as the stopper distance decreases.”), the wheel stop position estimation unit estimates the position of the wheel stop (See at least paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”), …the contact assumption area… (See at least Fig. 4, paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”).
NAKADA does not explicitly disclose, however, SCHOENHERR, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the parking assistance system further comprising: a parking information storage unit configured to store information on a registered parking space that is a specified parking space registered in advance (See at least paragraph [0006], “The driver assistance system is trained by the driver in the learning mode in that the driver drives the vehicle along the desired trajectory from the starting position to the target position during a learning drive. The term trajectory is understood here to mean a trajectory along which the vehicle moves during the driving maneuver. The vehicle is generally a motor vehicle, for example an automobile, which is operated with an internal combustion engine and/or an electric motor. In the application mode of the proposed method for driver assistance, the vehicle is guided to the target position along the trajectory that was previously trained in the learning mode”, paragraph [0007], “In order to use the application mode of the method, it is necessary for the vehicle to be located in the vicinity of the starting position previously defined in the learning mode. In this case, the vehicle position can be determined, for example, using satellite navigation. Additionally or alternatively, it is conceivable to determine the vehicle position with the aid of the environment sensors in the application mode of the method, wherein the vehicle position is determined using obstacles detected and stored in the learning phase. For this purpose, in the learning mode of the method, a surroundings map is created in which the positions of obstacles detected via the surroundings sensors are entered. In the application mode, a comparison can then be made between the environment map created in the learning mode and an environment map created during the application mode. If obstacles are detected during execution of the application mode, the current vehicle position may be expressed in relation to the detected obstacles”, paragraph [0011], “In order to recognize this during a later application mode, the marking is stored together with further details, such as the position of the obstacle. With the aid of the obstacles identified and stored in the learning mode, a map of the environment can be created. In the later application mode, the obstacles detected via the environment sensors can likewise be entered into a map, wherein the maps created in the learning mode and later in the application mode are compared and obstacles that are entered in both maps are detected again”, and paragraph [0040], “After reaching the target position 42, the trajectory 46, the starting position 40, the target position 42 and at least the positions of the en routeable obstacles 60 are stored.” The system stores information associated with a previously learned parking location for subsequent automatic parking, the previously learned parking location corresponding to the registered parking space registered in advance.); using the information stored in the parking information storage unit when a target parking space that is the parking space in which the vehicle is to be parked is the registered parking space (See at least paragraph [0007], “In order to use the application mode of the method, it is necessary for the vehicle to be located in the vicinity of the starting position previously defined in the learning mode. In this case, the vehicle position can be determined, for example, using satellite navigation. Additionally or alternatively, it is conceivable to determine the vehicle position with the aid of the environment sensors in the application mode of the method, wherein the vehicle position is determined using obstacles detected and stored in the learning phase. For this purpose, in the learning mode of the method, a surroundings map is created in which the positions of obstacles detected via the surroundings sensors are entered. In the application mode, a comparison can then be made between the environment map created in the learning mode and an environment map created during the application mode. If obstacles are detected during execution of the application mode, the current vehicle position may be expressed in relation to the detected obstacles”, paragraph [0011], “In order to recognize this during a later application mode, the marking is stored together with further details, such as the position of the obstacle. With the aid of the obstacles identified and stored in the learning mode, a map of the environment can be created. In the later application mode, the obstacles detected via the environment sensors can likewise be entered into a map, wherein the maps created in the learning mode and later in the application mode are compared and obstacles that are entered in both maps are detected again”, and paragraph [0033], “By comparing this map of the surroundings with the obstacles detected during the previous learning travel, the position of the vehicle 1 can be determined with respect to the known obstacles and thus, for example, a position of the vehicle 1 that is initially roughly determined by the GPS receiver 24 can be specified. After ascertaining the current position of the vehicle 1, the trajectory 46 defined in the learning mode is corrected in order to compensate for the difference between the current position of the vehicle 1 and the starting position 40 defined in the learning mode.” The system uses information stored for the previously learned parking location during a subsequent automatic parking maneuver, corresponding to using the information stored in the parking information storage unit when the target parking space is the registered parking space.), and the vehicle control unit reduces…to be smaller in a case where the target parking space is the registered parking space than in a case where the target parking space is not the registered parking space (See at least paragraph [0006], “The driver assistance system is trained by the driver in the learning mode in that the driver drives the vehicle along the desired trajectory from the starting position to the target position during a learning drive. The term trajectory is understood here to mean a trajectory along which the vehicle moves during the driving maneuver. The vehicle is generally a motor vehicle, for example an automobile, which is operated with an internal combustion engine and/or an electric motor. In the application mode of the proposed method for driver assistance, the vehicle is guided to the target position along the trajectory that was previously trained in the learning mode”, paragraph [0007], “In order to use the application mode of the method, it is necessary for the vehicle to be located in the vicinity of the starting position previously defined in the learning mode. In this case, the vehicle position can be determined, for example, using satellite navigation. Additionally or alternatively, it is conceivable to determine the vehicle position with the aid of the environment sensors in the application mode of the method, wherein the vehicle position is determined using obstacles detected and stored in the learning phase. For this purpose, in the learning mode of the method, a surroundings map is created in which the positions of obstacles detected via the surroundings sensors are entered. In the application mode, a comparison can then be made between the environment map created in the learning mode and an environment map created during the application mode. If obstacles are detected during execution of the application mode, the current vehicle position may be expressed in relation to the detected obstacles”, paragraph [0011], “In order to recognize this during a later application mode, the marking is stored together with further details, such as the position of the obstacle. With the aid of the obstacles identified and stored in the learning mode, a map of the environment can be created. In the later application mode, the obstacles detected via the environment sensors can likewise be entered into a map, wherein the maps created in the learning mode and later in the application mode are compared and obstacles that are entered in both maps are detected again”, paragraph [0033], “By comparing this map of the surroundings with the obstacles detected during the previous learning travel, the position of the vehicle 1 can be determined with respect to the known obstacles and thus, for example, a position of the vehicle 1 that is initially roughly determined by the GPS receiver 24 can be specified. After ascertaining the current position of the vehicle 1, the trajectory 46 defined in the learning mode is corrected in order to compensate for the difference between the current position of the vehicle 1 and the starting position 40 defined in the learning mode”, and paragraph [0040], “After reaching the target position 42, the trajectory 46, the starting position 40, the target position 42 and at least the positions of the en routeable obstacles 60 are stored.” The system uses previously stored obstacle information during a later application mode when returning to a previously learned parking location, thereby reducing the contact assumption area as the wheel stop position is already known from the stored parking information.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of NAKADA with the teachings of SCHOENHERR such that the parking assist system of NAKADA is further configured to utilize a parking information storage unit configured to store information on a registered parking space that is a specified parking space registered in advance; and use the information stored in the parking information storage unit when a target parking space that is the parking space in which the vehicle is to be parked is the registered parking space; and the vehicle control unit reduces…to be smaller in a case where the target parking space is the registered parking space than in a case where the target parking space is not the registered parking space, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0006], [0007], [0009], [0011], [0033], [0040].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent interruptions during automatic guidance by utilizing stored parking information from a previously learned parking location, thereby allowing the vehicle to continue parking without unnecessary stopping, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0020].).
Regarding Claim 2, NAKADA and SCHOENHERR teach The parking assistance system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. NAKADA teaches further comprising: a surrounding recognition unit configured to recognize information acquired by detecting surrounding of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 3B, paragraph [0038], “The external environment sensor 7 serves as an external environment information acquisition device for detecting electromagnetic waves, sound waves, and the like from the surroundings of the vehicle to detect an object outside the vehicle and to acquire surrounding information of the vehicle. The external environment sensor 7 includes sonars 18 and external cameras 19. The external environment sensor 7 may further include a millimeter wave radar and/or a laser lidar. The external environment sensor 7 outputs a detection result to the control device 15” and paragraph [0066], “During the driving process, the action plan unit 43 may acquire the travel direction image from the external cameras 19 and make the touch panel 32 display the acquired travel direction image on the left half thereof. For example, as shown in FIG. 3B, when the vehicle is moving backward, the action plan unit 43 may make the touch panel 32 display an image to the rear of the vehicle captured by the external cameras 19 on the left half thereof. While the action plan unit 43 is executing the driving process, the surrounding image of the vehicle (the own vehicle) in the look-down image displayed on the right half of the touch panel 32 changes along with the movement of the vehicle. When the vehicle reaches the target parking position, the action plan unit 43 stops the vehicle and ends the driving process.”); and an object determination unit configured to determine a positional relationship between a recognition object and the vehicle based on a recognition result of the surrounding recognition unit (See at least paragraph [0052], “The external environment recognizing unit 41 recognizes an obstacle (for example, a parked vehicle or a wall) that is present around the vehicle based on the detection result of the external environment sensor 7, and thereby obtains information about the obstacle. Further, the external environment recognizing unit 41 analyzes the images captured by the external cameras 19 based on a known image analysis method such as pattern matching, and thereby determines whether a vehicle stopper (wheel stopper) or an obstacle is present, and obtains the size of the vehicle stopper or the obstacle in a case where the vehicle stopper or the obstacle is present. Further, the external environment recognizing unit 41 may compute a distance to the obstacle based on signals from the sonars 18 to obtain the position of the obstacle” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”), …the wheel stop position estimation unit estimates the position of the wheel stop… (See at least paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar” and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”).
NAKADA does not explicitly disclose, however, SCHOENHERR, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the information stored in the parking information storage unit includes positional relationship information indicating a positional relationship between the recognition object provided in the registered parking space and a parking position registered in advance (See at least paragraph [0011], “In order to recognize this during a later application mode, the marking is stored together with further details, such as the position of the obstacle. With the aid of the obstacles identified and stored in the learning mode, a map of the environment can be created. In the later application mode, the obstacles detected via the environment sensors can likewise be entered into a map, wherein the maps created in the learning mode and later in the application mode are compared and obstacles that are entered in both maps are detected again” and paragraph [0040], “After reaching the target position 42, the trajectory 46, the starting position 40, the target position 42 and at least the positions of the en routeable obstacles 60 are stored.”), and when the target parking space is the registered parking space…based on the positional relationship between the recognition object and the vehicle determined by the object determination unit and the positional relationship information stored in the parking information storage unit (See at least paragraph [0007], “In order to use the application mode of the method, it is necessary for the vehicle to be located in the vicinity of the starting position previously defined in the learning mode. In this case, the vehicle position can be determined, for example, using satellite navigation. Additionally or alternatively, it is conceivable to determine the vehicle position with the aid of the environment sensors in the application mode of the method, wherein the vehicle position is determined using obstacles detected and stored in the learning phase. For this purpose, in the learning mode of the method, a surroundings map is created in which the positions of obstacles detected via the surroundings sensors are entered. In the application mode, a comparison can then be made between the environment map created in the learning mode and an environment map created during the application mode. If obstacles are detected during execution of the application mode, the current vehicle position may be expressed in relation to the detected obstacles”, paragraph [0011], “In order to recognize this during a later application mode, the marking is stored together with further details, such as the position of the obstacle. With the aid of the obstacles identified and stored in the learning mode, a map of the environment can be created. In the later application mode, the obstacles detected via the environment sensors can likewise be entered into a map, wherein the maps created in the learning mode and later in the application mode are compared and obstacles that are entered in both maps are detected again”, and paragraph [0033], “By comparing this map of the surroundings with the obstacles detected during the previous learning travel, the position of the vehicle 1 can be determined with respect to the known obstacles and thus, for example, a position of the vehicle 1 that is initially roughly determined by the GPS receiver 24 can be specified. After ascertaining the current position of the vehicle 1, the trajectory 46 defined in the learning mode is corrected in order to compensate for the difference between the current position of the vehicle 1 and the starting position 40 defined in the learning mode.” The system uses the stored positional relationship information with the currently determined positional relationship during a later application mode when returning to previously learned parking location.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of NAKADA with the teachings of SCHOENHERR such that the parking assist system of NAKADA is further configured to utilize a parking information storage unit configured to store information on a registered parking space that is a specified parking space registered in advance; and use the information stored in the parking information storage unit when a target parking space that is the parking space in which the vehicle is to be parked is the registered parking space; the vehicle control unit reduces…to be smaller in a case where the target parking space is the registered parking space than in a case where the target parking space is not the registered parking space; wherein the information stored in the parking information storage unit includes positional relationship information indicating a positional relationship between the recognition object provided in the registered parking space and a parking position registered in advance; and when the target parking space is the registered parking space…based on the positional relationship between the recognition object and the vehicle determined by the object determination unit and the positional relationship information stored in the parking information storage unit, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0006], [0007], [0009], [0011], [0033], [0040].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent interruptions during automatic guidance by utilizing stored parking information from a previously learned parking location, thereby allowing the vehicle to continue parking without unnecessary stopping, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0020].).
Regarding Claim 3, NAKADA and SCHOENHERR teach The parking assistance system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. NAKADA teaches further comprising: an error amount estimation unit configured to estimate an error amount of a position recognition system of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle control unit reduces the contact assumption area (See at least Fig. 3B, 3C, 4, paragraph [0038], “The external environment sensor 7 serves as an external environment information acquisition device for detecting electromagnetic waves, sound waves, and the like from the surroundings of the vehicle to detect an object outside the vehicle and to acquire surrounding information of the vehicle. The external environment sensor 7 includes sonars 18 and external cameras 19. The external environment sensor 7 may further include a millimeter wave radar and/or a laser lidar. The external environment sensor 7 outputs a detection result to the control device 15”, paragraph [0066], “During the driving process, the action plan unit 43 may acquire the travel direction image from the external cameras 19 and make the touch panel 32 display the acquired travel direction image on the left half thereof. For example, as shown in FIG. 3B, when the vehicle is moving backward, the action plan unit 43 may make the touch panel 32 display an image to the rear of the vehicle captured by the external cameras 19 on the left half thereof. While the action plan unit 43 is executing the driving process, the surrounding image of the vehicle (the own vehicle) in the look-down image displayed on the right half of the touch panel 32 changes along with the movement of the vehicle. When the vehicle reaches the target parking position, the action plan unit 43 stops the vehicle and ends the driving process”, paragraph [0071], “As the vehicle V continues moving backward, the vehicle V moves to a position where the external environment sensor 7 (an example of a distance acquiring unit) can detect an object present in a specific area R (an area hatched in FIG. 4), which is set in a downstream side part of the target parking position P3. Accordingly, the external environment sensor 7 tries to detect a vehicle stopper Z (which consists of a pair of wheel stoppers in FIG. 4) provided in the specific area R (step ST12). Such a trial to detect the vehicle stopper Z can be made by using any sensor included in the external environment sensor 7, such as the sonars 18, the external cameras 19, the millimeter wave radar, and the laser lidar”, and paragraph [0073], “In a case where the external environment recognizing unit 41 determines that the external environment sensor 7 detects the vehicle stopper Z in the specific area R (in a case where the determination in step ST13 is Yes), the external environment recognizing unit 41 calculates a distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z based on the position of the vehicle V detected by the vehicle position identifying unit 42 and the position of the vehicle stopper Z detected by the external environment sensor 7. Then, the action plan unit 43 starts a parking control of the vehicle V targeted at the vehicle stopper Z based on the distance between the vehicle V and the vehicle stopper Z calculated by the external environment recognizing unit 41 (step ST14).”).
NAKADA does not explicitly disclose, however, SCHOENHERR, in the same field of endeavor, teaches as an estimated error amount, which is the error amount estimated by the error amount estimation unit, decreases (See at least paragraph [0033], “By comparing this map of the surroundings with the obstacles detected during the previous learning travel, the position of the vehicle 1 can be determined with respect to the known obstacles and thus, for example, a position of the vehicle 1 that is initially roughly determined by the GPS receiver 24 can be specified. After ascertaining the current position of the vehicle 1, the trajectory 46 defined in the learning mode is corrected in order to compensate for the difference between the current position of the vehicle 1 and the starting position 40 defined in the learning mode.” The system uses the stored positional relationship information to improve the accuracy of the vehicle position determination during the later application mode, thereby reducing the estimated error amount.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of NAKADA with the teachings of SCHOENHERR such that the parking assist system of NAKADA is further configured to utilize a parking information storage unit configured to store information on a registered parking space that is a specified parking space registered in advance; and use the information stored in the parking information storage unit when a target parking space that is the parking space in which the vehicle is to be parked is the registered parking space; the vehicle control unit reduces…to be smaller in a case where the target parking space is the registered parking space than in a case where the target parking space is not the registered parking space; and as an estimated error amount, which is the error amount estimated by the error amount estimation unit, decreases, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0006], [0007], [0009], [0011], [0033], [0040].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent interruptions during automatic guidance by utilizing stored parking information from a previously learned parking location, thereby allowing the vehicle to continue parking without unnecessary stopping, as taught by SCHOENHERR (See paragraph [0020].).
With respect to claim 5, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 3, which is commensurate in scope with claim 5, claim 3 reciting the same limitations as claim 5 and differing only in their respective dependencies from claims 1 and 2.
Regarding Claim 4, NAKADA and SCHOENHERR teach The parking assistance system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. NAKADA teaches wherein the vehicle control unit limits the driving force acting on the wheel to a preset contact preparation driving force or less in the contact assumption area (See at least paragraph [0077], “In a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance is equal to or more than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is No), the action plan unit 43 executes a driving force setting process, which will be described in detail later (step ST18). In another embodiment, the action plan unit 43 may execute the driving force setting process in a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is Yes). Alternatively, the action plan unit 43 may execute the driving force setting process regardless of the stopper distance. When step ST18 ends, the action plan unit 43 again determines whether the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (step ST17)”, paragraph [0078], “On the other hand, in a case where the action plan unit 43 determines that the stopper distance becomes less than the prescribed distance X (in a case where the determination in step ST17 is Yes), the action plan unit 43 limits the driving force of the vehicle V to a value less than a prescribed upper limit U and limits the backward movement speed (an example of the vehicle speed) of the vehicle V to a speed equal to or less than V3, which is lower than V2 (step ST19). The above upper limit U is set in consideration of the relationship between driving torque of each wheel W and climbing-over torque that enables each wheel W to climb over the vehicle stopper Z. More specifically, the upper limit U is set such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque if the driving force of the vehicle V is less than the upper limit U. The upper limit U may be set to a constant value regardless of the stopper distance, or may be set to gradually decrease as the stopper distance decreases”, and paragraph [0085], “Further, the action plan unit 43 controls the driving force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque. Thus, it is possible to prevent each wheel W from climbing over the vehicle stopper Z when the vehicle V reaches the target parking position P3. In another embodiment, the action plan unit 43 may control the brake force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque, or may control both the driving force and the brake force of the vehicle V such that the driving torque of each wheel W is smaller than the climbing-over torque.”).
With respect to claim 6, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 4, which is commensurate in scope with claim 6, claim 4 reciting the same limitations as claim 6 and differing only in their respective dependencies from claims 1 and 2.
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666