DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed September 02, 2026. The amendment to the specification and claims is hereby acknowledged. By the amendment, claims 1, 28 and 31 have been amended. With claims 14-15, 17-21, 23, 27, 29 and 30 being previously cancelled, claims 1-13, 16, 22, 24-26, 28 and 31 are presently pending.
The amendment to the claims noted above and the amendment to the specification are sufficient to overcome the objection to the specification, objection to the claims , the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections of claims 1-2, 4-13, 16, 22, 24-26 and 31 and the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection of claim 31 from the previous Office action. The objections and rejections specified in this paragraph are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections of claim 3 in page 9-10 of the response filed September 02, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection of claim 3 is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument directed to claims 1, 28 and 31 in view of the amendments to the clams have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The claims have essentially been amended to recite an inherent property or feature of the mechanism required to generate cavitation bubble cloud. Since Applicant does not rebut that previously cited Cain (US 20080319356 A1) discloses formation of cavitation bubble cloud, and the recited limitation are necessary required to generate a cavitation bubble cloud in view of [0291] - “… peak negative pressures are reported here. At the low duty cycle used in these experiments, very large peak negative pressures were required to generate spontaneous inertial cavitation adequate for the desired therapeutic effect”. Applicant attention is also directed to Lin et al., US 20150258352 A1 e.g., [abstract] “Methods and devices for producing cavitation in tissue are provided. In one embodiment, a low-frequency ultrasound pulse is transmitted into tissue, a high-frequency ultrasound pulse is transmitted into tissue, and a composite waveform is formed in the tissue that has a peak negative pressure value that exceeds an intrinsic threshold for cavitation in the tissue” and/or [0006] “… generation of these energetic bubble clouds only depends on where the peak negative pressure (P-) exceeds an intrinsic threshold for inducing cavitation in a medium (typically 26-30 MPa in soft tissue with high water content)”. That is, to generate a cavitation bubble cloud in Cain, the ultrasound pressure wave must necessarily have a peak negative pressure at or above the cavitation threshold of the tissue, else, cavitation bubble cloud in Cain would be nonexistent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 11-13, 16, 22, 24-26, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant cited Cain et al US 20100069797 A1 (“Cain”) in view of Desilets US 20060122509 A1 and as further evidenced by Lin et al., US 20150258352 A1 (“Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Cain discloses a method of treating a region of biological tissue of a patient in need thereof (performing pulsed cavitational ultrasound therapy on target tissue 108, [0068], Fig. 1), the method (performing pulsed cavitational ultrasound therapy on target tissue 108, [0068]) comprising: positioning an ultrasound pressure wave in a target volume of the region of biological tissue to form a cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume ("During the initiation step, cavitation nuclei are generated, placed, or seeded in the therapy volume, which is the portion of tissue to which the therapy is directed. The cavitation nuclei reduce the threshold for cavitation by subsequent therapy pulses", [0070]. "Initiation introduces cavitation threshold-reducing cavitation nuclei and can be accomplished with a therapy transducer using acoustic energy", [0076]. "Once initiated, each pulse produces a bubble cloud, or set of cavitationally active microbubbles, that, as indicated herein, produces part of the tissue therapy and produces microbubbles predisposing the volume to subsequent pulses. After initiation the process can progress with assurance that each pulse effectively participates in the therapy process", [0066]); and maintaining the cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume for a time period sufficient to produce homogenate within the target volume, wherein the homogenate is fractionated within nonhomogenized biological tissue in the region of biological tissue ("During the maintenance step, the presence of micro-nuclei in the therapy volume is actively maintained, assuring that subsequent therapy pulses will produce the appropriate tissue effect. In some embodiments, an appropriate tissue effect can include at least a portion of the final desired tissue fractionation",[0071]. "therapy process is the interaction of ultrasound on existing cavitation nuclei to produce sufficiently vigorous cavitation to mechanically subdivide tissue within the therapy volume", [0085]).
Although the method of Cain is applicable in body shaping and/or fat reduction, [0118], Cain does not explicitly disclose positioning the pressure wave in a second target volume of the region of biological tissue to form a second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume; and maintaining the second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume for a second time period sufficient to produce homogenate within the second target volume, wherein the second target volume differs from the first target volume. Desilets teaches in [0035], [0040] that it was known in the prior art to generate lesion fields sequentially, by jumping the transducer from one focal zone to the next, to produce a new lesion field at each position, as illustrated in Figs. 3 and 4 as a prior art known technique for destroying adipose tissue. In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an additional step of positioning the pressure wave in a second target volume of the region of biological tissue to form a second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume, and maintaining the second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume for a second time period sufficient to produce homogenate within the second target volume, wherein the second target volume differs from the first target volume, so as to allow for targeting of adipose tissue for destruction in a large volume as taught by Desilets in [0036].
In regards to wherein biological tissue of the first target volume has a cavitation threshold and the ultrasound pressure wave has a peak negative pressure at or above the cavitation threshold of the first target volume, examiner contends that these are inherent feature necessary present to generate the cavitation bubble cloud in Cain in view of [0291] - “… peak negative pressures are reported here. At the low duty cycle used in these experiments, very large peak negative pressures were required to generate spontaneous inertial cavitation adequate for the desired therapeutic effect”. Applicant attention is also directed to Lin et al., US 20150258352 A1 e.g., [abstract] “Methods and devices for producing cavitation in tissue are provided. In one embodiment, a low-frequency ultrasound pulse is transmitted into tissue, a high-frequency ultrasound pulse is transmitted into tissue, and a composite waveform is formed in the tissue that has a peak negative pressure value that exceeds an intrinsic threshold for cavitation in the tissue” and/or [0006] “… generation of these energetic bubble clouds only depends on where the peak negative pressure (P-) exceeds an intrinsic threshold for inducing cavitation in a medium (typically 26-30 MPa in soft tissue with high water content)”. That is, to generate a cavitation bubble cloud in Cain, the ultrasound pressure wave must necessarily have a peak negative pressure at or above the cavitation threshold of the tissue, else, cavitation bubble cloud in Cain would be nonexistent.
Regarding claim 2, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein the pressure wave is a composite pressure wave comprising a high frequency component wave and a low frequency component wave ("An effective acoustic approach is to use a separate acoustic transducer... to initiate, and then use the therapy transducer for the maintenance and therapy sub-processes. This would enable one to use high frequency ultrasound for initiation thus making use of the higher resolution of high frequency transducers or arrays. In this embodiment, initiation could aid in determining the outlines of the therapy volume with high spatial resolution. Therapy could then progress at lower frequencies using the therapy transducer or an array of transducers. For example, lower frequencies would propagate through some bone and air", [0077]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 2, Cain further discloses as discussed in [0077] lower frequency can cover the entire therapy field, when compared to high frequency, it follows that a trough of low frequency component is larger/wider than a trough of high frequency component. Cain further teaches in [0083] “sustaining sequences or pulses (of lower intensity, for example) can be interleaved between the therapy pulses to sustain the microbubble or nuclei population and characteristics necessary to allow the next therapy pulse to be effective”. In the event the high frequency wave component is interleaved with the low frequency component at the same focal zone, the high frequency component would be positioned in a trough or within each trough of the low frequency component or in a compression part, i.e., the focal zone of the low frequency component wave, owing to the low frequency component wave being characterized with a larger/wider trough.
Regarding claim 7, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein maintaining the cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume delivers a thermal dose to tissue that does not cause denaturation or coagulation within the target volume ("maintenance can be continued by ... thermal means", [0083], and does not cause denaturation or coagulation within the therapy volume).
Regarding claim 11, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein positioning the pressure wave in the target volume comprises applying an ultrasound beam to the target volume ("During the initiation step, cavitation nuclei are generated, placed, or seeded in the therapy volume, which is the portion of tissue to which the therapy is directed. The cavitation nuclei reduce the threshold for cavitation by subsequent therapy pulses", [0070]. "Initiation introduces cavitation threshold-reducing cavitation nuclei and can be accomplished with a therapy transducer using acoustic energy", [0076]).
Regarding claim 12, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 11, Cain further discloses wherein the ultrasound beam is a pulsed ultrasound beam ("Initiation introduces ... cavitation nuclei and can be accomplished with a therapy transducer using acoustic energy, usually high intensity pulses", [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 11, Cain further discloses a focus of the ultrasound beam is positioned in the target volume ("therapy transducer 102 ... focus ultrasound onto the target tissue 108", [0068], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses detecting an onset of cavitation, wherein the onset of cavitation is defined as a time t=0 when the cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume begins to form ("detecting initiation of said bubble cloud in the soft tissue in response to said initiation pulse sequence comprising detecting initiation of said bubble cloud in the soft tissue in response to said initiation pulse sequence using feedback techniques", Claim 21, Pg. 27. "feedback on the bubble cloud presence ... can be obtained by monitoring the therapy pulse backscatter from the bubble cloud ... The backscatter is monitored by ... a simple (and separate) monitoring transducer", [0073]).
Regarding claim 22, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein the pressure wave has a peak negative pressure of 10- 100 MPa ("Ultrasound treatment consisted of scanning the therapeutic transducer focus electronically over 42 locations ... one high intensity (>18 MPa peak negative pressure) 25 cycle burst was delivered", [0237]).
Regarding claim 24, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, as modified by Desilets teachings associated with Figs. 3 and 4, discrete lesion fields greater than 2 are disclosed, the method would thus include positioning the pressure wave in additional target volumes to form additional cavitational bubbles in the additional target volumes that differ from one another and from the first and second target volumes.
Regarding claim 25, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein the biological tissue comprises skin tissue ("Using the histotripsy process to break drug resistant barriers... skin... the feedback and monitoring processes of the present disclosure allow control of the tissue disruption process, enabling temporal disruption of tissues with minimal or no permanent tissue damage", [0122]), adipose tissue, connective tissue, or muscle tissue.
Regarding Claim 26, Cain in view of Desilets discloses the method of claim 1, Cain further discloses wherein the method provides an aesthetic effect ("Applications of the present disclosure can also provide utility in the art of cosmetic body shaping", [0120] when pulsed cavitational ultrasound is used in the art of cosmetic body shaping, it does not provide a medical or therapeutic effect).
Regarding claim 28 and 31, Cain discloses a system for treating a region of biological tissue of a patient in need thereof (apparatus 100 for performing pulsed cavitational ultrasound therapy on target tissue 108, [0068], Fig. 1), the system (apparatus 100, Fig. 1) is disclosed as comprising a "Computer Control and Data Collection 112" - Fig. 1, the computer reads on a control unit, and a computer storage medium storing computer readable instructions is an inherent feature of a computer), the system comprising: one or more ultrasound transducers (therapy transducer 102, Fig. 1) to provide an ultrasound pressure wave to a target volume in the region of biological tissue and to form a cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume ("During the initiation step, cavitation nuclei are generated, placed, or seeded in the therapy volume, which is the portion of tissue to which the therapy is directed. The cavitation nuclei reduce the threshold for cavitation by subsequent therapy pulses", [0070]. "Initiation introduces cavitation threshold-reducing cavitation nuclei and can be accomplished with a therapy transducer using acoustic energy", [0076]. "Once initiated, each pulse produces a bubble cloud, or set of cavitationally active microbubbles, that, as indicated herein, produces part of the tissue therapy and produces microbubbles predisposing the volume to subsequent pulses. After initiation the process can progress with assurance that each pulse effectively participates in the therapy process", [0066]); and a control device (computer control and data collection 112 and a separate sustaining transducer producing ultrasound to maintain the appropriate nuclei characteristics and population, [0083], Fig. 1) to maintain the cavitation bubble cloud in the target volume for a time period sufficient to produce homogenate within the target volume ("During the maintenance step, the presence of micro-nuclei in the therapy volume is actively maintained, assuring that subsequent therapy pulses will produce the appropriate tissue effect. In some embodiments, an appropriate tissue effect can include at least a portion of the final desired tissue fractionation", [0071]. "therapy process is the interaction of ultrasound on existing cavitation nuclei to produce sufficiently vigorous cavitation to mechanically subdivide tissue within the therapy volume", [0085]). Cain does not explicitly disclose positioning the pressure wave in a second target volume of the region of biological tissue to form a second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume; and maintaining the second cavitation bubble cloud in the second target volume for a second time period sufficient to produce homogenate within the second target volume, wherein the second target volume differs from the first target volume. However, this limitation would have been obvious for substantially similar rationale, in view of Desilets as discussed in claim 1 above. In regards to wherein biological tissue of the first target volume has a cavitation threshold and the ultrasound pressure wave has a peak negative pressure at or above the cavitation threshold of the first target volume, these are considered inherent features as discussed in claim 1 above, as evidenced by Lin.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain in view of Desilets as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DeBenedictis et al., US 20160089550 A1 (“DeBenedictis”).
Regarding claims 8-10, Cain in view of Desilets as discussed in claim 1 above does not explicitly disclose wherein maintaining the cavitational bubble delivers a thermal dose that causes denaturation or coagulation and the thermal dose is sufficient to thermally ablate all or substantially all tissue or forming a thermal coagulation zone around the first or second target volume. However, DeBenedictis in the same field of endeavor of altering tissue for aesthetic purposes ([abstract]) , teaches that conventional procedures in the art involve delivering energy or heating tissue using focused ultrasound energy, to ablate, coagulate or denature volumes of tissue to result in tissue tightening and other beneficial cosmetic effects ([0032], [0063]). In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the conventionally known technique to deliver a thermal dose to cause denaturization, coagulation or ablation of the first or second target volume, for the added benefit of reducing wrinkles, tighten tissue, lift tissue or other beneficial cosmetic effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art relevant to claim 3 are cited in the rejection of claim 1 above, both Cain and newly cited Lin in [0128] and Fig. 23 discusses aspects of a composite pressure wave comprising a high frequency component wave and low frequency component wave, but fails to disclose the specific equation recited in claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797