DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objection
Claims 1, 8, 10 and 13 are objected for the following reason:
Claim 1 is objected to: because NFT should be in parenthesis. All other independent claims have similar issues.
Claims 1 and 10 recites “can be” that is not a positive recitation.
Appropriate correction is required in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 15 recites “a machine readable medium”. Under a recent precedential opinion, the scope of the recited “machine readable medium” encompasses transitory media such as signals or carrier waves, whereas the specification is silent in defining the machine readable medium as non-transitory. The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be amended to either “A non-transitory machine readable medium” or “a machine readable device” to make the claim statutory under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PIRKER ET AL., "velink - A Blockchain-based Shared Mobility Platform for Private and Commercial Vehicles utilizing ERC-721 Tokens", 2021 IEEE 5th International Conference on Cryptography, Security and Privacy, Downloaded on January 25, 2024, pp. 62-67. (herein after Pirker).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Pirker teaches a method/system for verifying a right to use an object through non-fungible token, NFT (Abstract, verifying a right to use a shared vehicle using ERC-721 tokens… figs. 1, 4), comprising: a circuitry configured to:
receive a public key presented by a user (section IV-C: The user sends the wallet address, derived from the corresponding public key, via Bluetooth to the vehicle.);
access a cryptocurrency wallet set up for the object, wherein an NFT associated with the object is included in the cryptocurrency wallet (sec. IV. B., transfer of user public key to vehicle…The address of the vehicle is derived from the public key and hereafter referred to as wallet address. This wallet contains the vehicle token);
verify whether the user has a right to use the object based on the public key (section IV-C: The vehicle is responsible for checking the permissions of the user. The CheckPermission(...) function of the smart contract is triggered with wallet addresses of user and vehicle as input parameters. User parameters such as driving license or permitted vehicle types are checked, …fig. 4: smart contract verifies right to use based on the public key); and
allow access to the object if the verification is successful, otherwise reject access to the
object(section IV-C: In case of success, the transaction hash is returned and the vehicle gets unlocked. section IV-D: VehicleLock: … sets the status to locked).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 103 over Pirker in view of Zhou et al. “A Decentralized Car-Sharing Control Scheme Based on Smart Contract in Internet-of-Vehicles”, herein after Zhou.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 15, Pirker teaches a method/system/medium for granting a right to use an object through non-fungible token, NFT (see abstract, granting rights to use a shared vehicle using ERC-721 tokens), comprising:
a circuitry configured to transfer an NFT associated with the object from a first cryptocurrency address to a second cryptocurrency address in a cryptocurrency wallet set up for the object on a condition that a right to use the object is granted to a user (fig. 4 and section IV-C: sending of vehicle token from smart contract address to wallet address of the vehicle HSM; section IV B-C: transfer of public key of vehicle corresponding to wallet address to smart contract); and
wherein the right to use the object can be verified based on the public key associated with the second cryptocurrency address (IV B-C & fig. 4: smart contract verifying right to use based on public key).
Pirker teaches public key directly transferred to the smart contract for verification but fails to teach a transfer a public key associated with the second cryptocurrency address to the user.
Zhou teach a circuit configured to transfer a public key associated with the second cryptocurrency address to the user (Section III 1-3: vehicle access request to smart contract by tenant… Before using the car-sharing services, owners, tenants, and vehicles need to register in the cloud server and be assigned account addresses, public and private keys, and digital certificates. …The public and private keys are used for encryption and verification of messages transmitted in the blockchain network. …Each interaction among entities needs to be signed by the sender’s private key. Then, the receiver verifies the signature of the received message according to the sender’s public key to ensure its integrity. See further figs. 1 & 3);
transferring a public key associated with the second cryptocurrency address ( Zhou teaches owners, tenants, and vehicle need to register… and assigned/transferring account address, public and private keys, and digital certificates… distribution/assignment of public keys to participants in the car sharing system … ) to a user to whom the right to use the object is granted (tenants…registered… public and private keys…” and “access request”… “permission add” or “permission delete”… a tenant based vehicle sharing system with granted and revoked access rights.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pirker’s public key directly transferred to the smart contract for verification in the vehicle token access control system in view of Zhou’s blockchain based vehicle access control and public key verification to permit temporary transfer and verification of vehicle use rights via blockchain credentials.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method/system. Pirker further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to transfer the NFT from the second cryptocurrency address to the first cryptocurrency address in the cryptocurrency wallet on return of the object or expiration of the right to use the object (section III B., For locking the vehicle again, the procedure is equivalent, except two differences. First, the LockVehicle(...) function is called instead of the UnlockVehicle(...) function. Second, the vehicle token parameters are set respectively … Section III D., VehicleLock: Equivalent to VehicleUnlock, but sets the status to locked and clears current user … post-use restoration of the token/vehicle state on return or expiration).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method/system. Zhou further teaches a circuitry configured to receive a payment from the user on the second cryptocurrency address ( section III 2 b. Transfer: The tenant transfers money to the owner based on unit price and usage time; table III: transfer is listed as one of the smart contract function … section III B 4., Once the request is accepted, the tenant needs to call the Transfer function to transfer a specific amount of money to the owner.).
Regarding claim 5, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method. Pirker further teaches wherein the object includes the cryptocurrency wallet and a software module running on a system in the object verifies the right to use the object by checking whether the second cryptocurrency address in the cryptocurrency wallet includes the NFT (section IV B., The result is an ERC-721 token, hereafter referred to as vehicle token, owned by the vehicle itself. … The address of the vehicle is derived from the public key and hereafter referred to as wallet address. This wallet contains the vehicle token. To proof the possession of the vehicle (token), … section IV C., The vehicle is responsible for checking the permissions of the user.).
Regarding claim 6, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method. Pirker further teaches wherein the public key is used as an access code to unlock the object (section IV C., The user sends the wallet address, derived from the corresponding public key, via Bluetooth to the vehicle….. In case the user is authenticated as an authorized user, the transaction for vehicle. … When selecting the corresponding Bluetooth device in the smart phone application, a write request, including the public wallet address of the user, is triggered. Use of a public key derived credential as the access input to the unlocking process).
Regarding claim 7, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method. Pirker further teaches wherein the object is a rental vehicle or a shared vehicle shared among a plurality of users (title: A Blockchain-based Shared Mobility Platform for Private and Commercial Vehicles utilizing ERC-721 Tokens…. Section I., Shared mobility services are expanding).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Pirker teaches a method/system. Pirker further teaches the circuitry is configured to: transfer the NFT associated with the object from a first cryptocurrency address … on a condition that a right to use the object is granted to a user (abstract, section IV D.,: a blockchain-based shared mobility platform… section IV B., The result is an ERC-721 token, hereafter referred to as vehicle token, owned by the vehicle itself. T … section IV C., In case the user is authenticated as an authorized user, the transaction for vehicle… The vehicle is responsible for checking the permissions …);
transfer the NFT from the second cryptocurrency address to the first cryptocurrency address [in the cryptocurrency wallet on return of the object or expiration of the right to use the object] (section IV D., VehicleLock: Equivalent to VehicleUnlock, but sets the status to locked and clears current user….section IV C., For locking the vehicle again, the procedure is equivalent).
Pirker fails to explicitly teach the below limitations however, Zhou teaches to a second cryptocurrency address in the cryptocurrency wallet (section III B., Permission add: After the money transfer, the identity of a tenant and corresponding rights are added to the permission list; … Access request: The tenant issues a vehicle access re quest to the smart contract. Then, the smart contract judges whether to accept the request; section III B 4:, once the request is accepted, the tenant needs to call the transfer function to transfer a specific amount of money to the owner… then the policy add function is called by the smart contract to add the tenant’s account address and corresponding rights into the permission list); and
cryptocurrency wallet on return of the object or expiration of the right to use the object (section III B., Permission delete: Once the vehicle lease time expires, the smart contract automatically invokes this function to delete the tenant from the permission list; … section III B 4. state recovery: Once the lease time expires, the smart contract calls the Policy delete function to delete the permission of this tenant. Then, the vehicle re-enters the idle state and calls the Stateupdatefunction. …).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Pirker’s with Zhou to implement a blockchain based grant and revoke mechanism for shared vehicle access, because Zhou teaches adding a tenant’s rights to a permission list after payment and deleting those rights upon lease expiration, which would have predictably enhanced Pirker’s NFT based access control by supporting temporary use rights and revocation when use ends.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 103 over Pirker in view of Zhou further in view of .
VaultOx “Hierarchically Deterministic Wallets — The Concepts” (from IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Pirker in view of Zhou teaches the method. Zhou further teaches wherein each cryptocurrency address in the cryptocurrency wallet is associated with a pair of private and public keys, the object is associated to a specific [root seed], and private keys associated with the object are generated by a [hierarchical deterministic tree (HDT) using the root seed] (section III 3., Before using the car-sharing services, owners, tenants, and vehicles need to register in the cloud server and be assigned account addresses, public and private keys, and digital certificates … section III B., The public and private keys are used for encryption and verification of messages transmitted in the blockchain network…. Each interaction among entities needs to be signed by the sender’s private key. Then, the receiver verifies the signature of the receive message according to the sender’s public key to ensure its integrity. I).
Pirker in view of Zhou fails to teach root seed and hierarchical deterministic tree (HDT).
VaultOx teaches root seed and private keys generated by hierarchical deterministic tree (HDT) using the root seed (pages 2-3 & 7-8: Hierarchical deterministic wallets described under BIP-0032 … Generate a seed byte sequence S… Use parse256(IL) as master secret key… By evaluating CKDpriv(m,i)…, CKDpriv can be applied to those as well. To shorten notation, BIP-0032 defined CKDpriv(CKDpriv(CKDpriv(m,3H),2),5) … master key generation from seed S and hierarchical derivation from master or root key … Hierarchical deterministic wallets…derived from a single root…. CKDpriv…. computes a child extended private key …).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine VaultOx’s hierarchical deterministic wallet/key derivation teachings with Pirker’s blockchain based shared mobility token access control system, in view of Zhou’s decentralized car sharing permission management scheme, because VaultOx teaches generating wallet addresses and private keys from a single root seed through hierarchical deterministic derivation, while Pirker teaches teaches using blockchain wallet addresses and ERC-721 vehicle tokens to control access to a shared vehicle and Zhou teaches a decentralized grant and revoke permission workflow for vehicle use rights. The combination would have predictably improved the management of vehicle associated blockchain credentials by enabling deterministic generation of object related keys and addresses, while preserving Pirker’s token based access control framework and Zhou’s temporary authorization and expiration based revocation of use rights.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240086915 A1 Systems And Methods For Token-based Asset Ownership
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497