DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is subject to objection because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 13, the second clause is grammatically awkward. It is recommended the clause be amended to “wherein the drive chip is bonded to a side of the bonding portion facing away from the flat portion[[,]] and the conductive layer covers the drive chip.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0393936 A1 (Bok) in view of US 2021/0247871 A1 (Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Bok teaches a display module (Abstract, Figs. 8-9), comprising: a display panel comprising a light-emitting side (Fig. 9 at 100) and a backlight side (Fig. 9 at SUB and below) arranged opposite to each other (Fig. 9); a Near Field Communication (NFC) module located on the backlight side of the display panel ([278], [296]: antenna area APA may contain coil shape, which may be used for near filed communication; Fig. 8 at APA according to Fig. 9).
Bok does not expressly teach an electrostatic shielding layer located on the backlight side of the display panel, wherein the electrostatic shielding layer comprises a first hollowed-out region, an orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region on the display panel and an orthogonal projection of the NFC module on the display panel at least partially overlap with each other. Kim teaches that an electrostatic shielding layer (Fig. 7B at CP) comprises a first hollowed-out region (Fig. 7B at TP), an orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region on the display panel and an orthogonal projection of the NFC module on the display panel at least partially overlap with each other (Fig. 7B at ANT, TP). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Bok by the teaching of Kim is present as both teach mobile display devices with patch antennas. The motivation is to improve signal quality. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Bok and Kim teach mobile display devices with patch antennas, while Bok teaches that a coil antenna for near field communication may be used instead of a radio patch antenna. Because Bok teaches using a coil NFC antenna instead of a patch antenna, located on the backlight side of the display panel, and Kim teaches that the shield and antenna overlap (Fig. 7B), the combination of the antenna taught by Bok with the shield taught by Kim renders obvious an electrostatic shielding layer located on the backlight side of the display panel, wherein the electrostatic shielding layer comprises a first hollowed-out region, an orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region on the display panel and an orthogonal projection of the NFC module on the display panel at least partially overlap with each other.
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein the electrostatic shielding layer further comprises an electrostatic shielding region surrounding the first hollowed-out region, the orthogonal projection of the antenna on the display panel is within the orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region on the display panel (Fig. 7B). Bok teaches the NFC module ([278], [296]). For the rationale explained above, the combination of Bok and Kim further renders obvious wherein the electrostatic shielding layer further comprises an electrostatic shielding region surrounding the first hollowed-out region, the orthogonal projection of the NFC module on the display panel is within the orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region on the display panel.
Regarding claim 3, Bok further teaches wherein the display panel comprises a center region and a peripheral region surrounding the center region (Figs. 8, 9: the center region may be defined to be very small). For the rationale explained above, the combination of Bok and Kim further renders obvious that an orthogonal projection of the electrostatic shielding region on the display panel at least partially covers the peripheral region.
Regarding claim 4, Bok further teaches a heat dissipation layer coupled to the backlight side of the display panel ([273]; Fig. 9 at PB).
Regarding claim 12, Bok further teaches wherein the display panel is a flexible display panel comprising a flat portion (Fig. 9 at SUB), a bending portion (Fig. 8 at BA2), and a bonding portion (Fig. 8 at PDA2, Fig. 9 at 360) connected in sequence (Figs. 8, 9), the bonding portion is bent to the backlight side of the flat portion through the bending portion (Fig. 9 at SUB, 360), the heat dissipation layer is coupled to the backlight side of the flat portion ([273]; Fig. 9 at PB). For the rationale explained above (Kim teaches the shield is placed to overlap the antenna, which is combined with the embodiment of Figs. 8-9 of Bok), the combination of Bok and Kim renders obvious the electrostatic shielding layer is connected to a side of the heat dissipation layer facing away from the flat portion; the display module further comprises a spacer (the antenna/near field module may be considered a spacer) located between the bonding portion and the electrostatic shielding layer.
Regarding claim 14, Bok teaches a display module (Abstract, Figs. 8-9), comprising: a display panel comprising a light-emitting side (Fig. 9 at 100) and a backlight side (Fig. 9 at SUB and below) arranged opposite to each other (Fig. 9); a heat dissipation layer coupled to the backlight side of the display panel ([273]; Fig. 9 at PB), the heat dissipation layer comprises a first region and a second region surrounding the first region ([273]; Fig. 9 at PB); and a Near Field Communication (NFC) module ([278], [296]: antenna area APA may contain coil shape, which may be used for near filed communication; Fig. 8 at APA according to Fig. 9), wherein at least a part of an orthogonal projection of the NFC module on the heat dissipation layer is within the first region ([278], [296]: antenna area APA may contain coil shape, which may be used for near filed communication; Fig. 8 at APA according to Fig. 9: the first region may be defined to overlap with the orthogonal projection).
Bok does not expressly teach an electrostatic shielding layer located on a side of the heat dissipation layer facing away from the display panel, and an orthogonal projection of the electrostatic shielding layer on the heat dissipation layer is within the second region. Kim teaches an electrostatic shielding layer (Fig. 7C at CP-1) that partially overlaps an antenna. The suggestion to modify the teaching of Bok by the teaching of Kim is present as both teach mobile display devices with patch antennas. The motivation is to improve signal quality. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Bok and Kim teach mobile display devices with patch antennas, while Bok teaches that a coil antenna for near field communication may be used instead of a radio patch antenna. Because Bok teaches using a coil NFC antenna instead of a patch antenna, located on the backlight side of the display panel, and Kim teaches that the shield and antenna partially overlap (Fig. 7C), the combination of the antenna taught by Bok with the shield taught by Kim renders obvious an electrostatic shielding layer located on a side of the heat dissipation layer facing away from the display panel, and an orthogonal projection of the electrostatic shielding layer on the heat dissipation layer is within the second region.
Regarding claim 15, Bok further teaches a display device, comprising the display module (Abstract; Figs. 8, 9).
Regarding claim 16, Bok further teaches a display device, comprising the display module (Abstract; Figs. 8, 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 13 are subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the formal objection to claim 13 is successfully addressed.
Claims 5-11 and 13, subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected claim, would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because the prior art cited to reject the aforementioned base and intervening claims does not subsequently teach or render obvious the dependent claims indicated as otherwise allowable in the full context of the claims. Nor does any observed additional prior art in combination with the cited prior art render obvious the dependent claims indicated as being allowable in the full context of the claims.
Conclusion
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624