DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millward (U.S. Patent # 7,300,873).
In the case of claims 1 and 3, Millward teaches a compound which was incorporated into a precursor composition/thin-film forming raw material having the formula I (Column 2 Lines 17-44), which encompasses the formula (1) of the claims and has a synonymous structure to the claimed compound according to Page 4 Paragraphs 0015-0017 of the specification of the present application as originally filed.
Millward teaches a formula embodiment wherein M of the formula was lanthanum (La) and R1 and R2 were organic groups and E, which reads on R3 of the claims, of the formula was also an organic group (Column 4 Line 51 through Column 5 Line 3). Millward further teaches that organic groups included alkyl groups having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (Column 7 Lines 26-49), which were within the required ranges for claim 1. Millward further teaches an embodiment wherein x of the taught formula was 0 and n of the taught formula was 3 (Column 18 Lines 10-43).
Millward does not specifically teach that R1 and R2 represent different groups. However, Millward teaches that R1 and R2 were both independently selected organic groups and that an organic group was a hydrocarbon group which did not interfere with the formation of a metal oxide layer using the taught compound in a vapor deposition technique (Column 6 Lines 11-30).
Therefore, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have R1 and R2 different groups because having R1 and R2 be the same groups or different groups did not affect the formation of a metal oxide layer by vapor deposition.
As for claim 2, Millward teaches that R1 and R2 were branched alkyl groups having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (Column 7 Lines 43-49), which overlapped with the claimed range of 3 to 6 carbon atoms, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See section 2144.05.I of the MPEP.
In the case of claims 4-8, Millward teaches having used the taught compound as a precursor material to form a metal/lanthanum containing layer on a substrate (Abstract) wherein the metal/lanthanum containing layer was formed by a vapor deposition processes comprising vaporizing the raw material/precursor compound and introducing the vaporized material in the presence of a reactive gas and plasma into a chamber having a substrate (Column 12 Line 36 through Column 13 Line 11).
Conclusion
Claims 1 through 8 have been rejected. No claims were allowed.
/MICHAEL P WIECZOREK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712