DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 were filed with the Preliminary Amendment dated 07/29/2025
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: rigid force transfer element in claims 1, 3, and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 4,450,375 (“Siegal”).
With regard to claim 1, Siegal discloses a piezoelectric valve (10; abstract; Figs 1-5), comprising: a valve body (12) comprising an inlet duct (14) for a pressurized fluid, an outlet duct (16) for the pressurized fluid, and a valve seat (29) that puts the inlet duct (14) and the outlet duct (16) in fluid communication; and a piezoelectric plate (28; col. 2, lines 37-40), suitable for deforming (compare Figs 2 and 3) when actuated, housed in the valve body (12; see Figs 2-3); wherein: an inner chamber (22) communicating with the valve seat (29) and the outlet duct (16) is provided in the valve body (12) (see Fig 2); a sealing membrane (24) is housed in the inner chamber (22), the sealing membrane (24) having a shutter portion (portion of 24 adjacent 29, see annotated Figs) facing the valve seat (29) and being at least partially arranged about (“partially arranged about” is met because 24 is around at least one side of 28, see Fig 2) the piezoelectric plate (28) so as to avoid contact between the piezoelectric plate (28) and the pressurized fluid circulating in the piezoelectric valve (col. 2, lines 39-43); the piezoelectric plate (28) has a distal plate portion (portions of 48a/b near end) operatively connected to the sealing membrane (24) by at least one rigid force transfer element (sphere 30), the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) being movable between a first position (Fig 2 position in which closed; col. 3, lines 54-57), in which the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) causes, by the at least one rigid force transfer element (30), a deformation of at least the shutter portion (see annotated Figs) of the sealing membrane (24) to close the valve seat (29) (see Fig 2), and a second position (Fig 3 shows an open position), in which the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) allows at least the shutter portion (see annotated Figs) to remain in an undeformed state in which the shutter portion is detached from the valve seat (29) (see Fig 3).
With regard to claim 4, Siegal discloses that the at least one rigid force transfer element (30) is a sphere (see Fig 2) positioned with possibility of translation (translation shown in Figs 2 and 3) between the distal plate portion (portion at 48a/b near end) and the shutter portion of the sealing membrane (24) (see annotated Figs).
With regard to claim 5, Siegal discloses that the inlet (14) and outlet (16) ducts and the valve seat (29) are obtained or included in an outer portion (20) of the valve body (12) (see figs 1 and 2 showing 20 is an outer part of 12), wherein the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) is housed in an inner portion (inner portion of 12, see Figs 2 and 5) of the valve body (12) forming, with the outer portion (20), the inner chamber (22) (See Fig 2), wherein at least one element seat (46) is obtained or housed within the piezoelectric valve (10) (see Fig 5), wherein the at least one rigid force transfer element (30) is received with possibility of translation in the at least one element seat (46) (see Figs 2 and 3), and wherein the sealing membrane (24) is sealingly fit with shape coupling (“shape coupling” is broadly recited and met by the contouring of 24) onto the inner portion of the valve body (12) (see Fig 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,450,375 (“Siegal”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6,173,744 (“Frisch”).
With regard to claim 2, Siegal discloses that when the piezoelectric plate (28) is not electrically actuated (biased closed, col 3, lines 54-66), the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) remains in the first position (closed), and wherein, when the piezoelectric plate (28) is electrically actuated, the distal plate portion (48a/b near end) switches from the first position (closed) to the second position (open) (col. 3, lines 54-66), overcoming a force of the pusher spring element.
Siegal discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the distal plate portion is biased by a pusher spring element to remain in the first position; and that when the piezoelectric plate is electrically actuated, the distal plate portion switches from the first position to the second position, overcoming a force of the pusher spring element.
Frisch discloses a piezoelectric valve with a piezoelectric plate (7), similar to that of Siegal, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a piezoelectric valve to include an end portion of the piezoelectric plate (left end of 7) biased by a pusher spring element (spring 15, col. 3, lines 45-49) to remain in the first position; and that when the piezoelectric plate is electrically actuated, the distal plate portion switches from the first position to the second position, overcoming a force of the pusher spring element (see Fig 1 of Frisch).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pusher spring element, such as taught by Frisch, to the piezoelectric plate of Siegal, for the purpose of to ensure the biased position of the piezoelectric valve (see Frisch at Fig 1 and col. 3, lines 45-49).
With regard to claim 6, Siegal discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the valve seat is obtained at an end of a nozzle sealingly inserted into a nozzle seat provided in the valve body and fluidically communicating with the inlet duct and the inner chamber.
Siegal discloses that the valve seat is a nozzle form integral with the valve body (see Fig 2).
Frisch discloses a piezoelectric valve with a piezoelectric plate (7), similar to that of Siegal, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a piezoelectric valve to include a valve seat (4) is obtained at an end of a nozzle (6) sealingly inserted into a nozzle seat (opening in 1 in which 6 is inserted, see annotated Fig 1) provided in the valve body (1) and fluidically communicating with the inlet duct (duct at 4) and the inner chamber (2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a nozzle in a nozzle seat for the valve seat as taught by Frisch in place of the valve seat of Frisch, since the valve seats are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 7, (claim 7 depends from claim 2) the combination of Siegal and Frisch discloses the pusher spring element is a flexural spring (15, see Figs 1 and 2) extending alongside the piezoelectric plate (7 of Frisch, 28 of Siegal) and a distal end of the flexural spring engages the distal plate portion (distal end of spring 15 of Frisch contacts a distal portion of the piezoelectric plate 7).
With regard to claim 8, (claim 8 depends from claim 7) the combination of Siegal and Frisch discloses the pusher spring element (15) is made of an electrically conductive material and is electrically connected to a pole of the piezoelectric plate (col. 4, lines 25-27; “The contact spring 15 presses against the points of application and establishes electrical contact with the outer electrodes”; see Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “the distal plate portion is positioned between two rigid force transfer elements equal to each other and engaging two respective opposite portions of the sealing membrane, so that, when the distal plate portion is in the second position, a resultant of forces exerted by the pressurized fluid present in the inner chamber onto the distal plate portion is substantially zero” (claim 3) in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
The closest prior art references of record are U.S. Pat. No. 4,450,375 (“Siegal”) and U.S. Pat. No. 4,629,926 (“Siegal 926”). However, neither Siegal nor Siegal 926 discloses the distal plate portion is positioned between two rigid force transfer elements equal to each other and engaging two respective opposite portions of the sealing membrane. Siegal and Siegal 926 only disclose a single rigid force transfer element on one side of the sealing membrane. It would not have been obvious to modify Siegal or Siegal 926 to add a second rigid force transfer element that is equal to the first and engaging opposite portions of the sealing membrane without improper hindsight reasoning or without improperly changing the principle of operation of either reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 4,629,926 and U.S. Pat. No. 4,771,204 each disclose a piezoelectric valve with a single rigid force transfer element.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753