DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plurality of gas release valves" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farzana (US 20120061923).
Regarding claim 1, Farzana discloses a gasket 10 Fig. 2 being made of a porous body of an elastomer. However, Farzana fails to explicitly disclose a functional limitation of sealing a 300° C gas. Nevertheless, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Regarding claim 2, Farzana discloses wherein the porous body 10 of the elastomer has a plurality of pores (Para. 0018), the plurality of pores including a pore having a diameter in a range from 10 pm to 30 pm, inclusive (Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 3, Farzana discloses wherein the plurality of pores, but fails to explicitly disclose where the pores include a pore having an aspect ratio of 1.3 or less, the aspect ratio being a ratio between a diameter a and a diameter b, the diameter a being a maximum diameter of a cross section of the porous body of the elastomer, the diameter b being a diameter in a direction perpendicular to the diameter a. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pore diameter ratio to any number of ranges (i.e. 1.3 or less) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 4, Farzana discloses wherein the plurality of pores but fails to explicitly disclose where the pores have another aspect ratio of 1.3 or less, the other aspect ratio being a ratio between a diameter c and a diameter d, the diameter c being a maximum diameter of another cross section perpendicular to the cross section of the porous body of the elastomer, the diameter d being a diameter in a direction perpendicular to the diameter c. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pore diameter ratio to any number of ranges (i.e. 1.3 or less) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Farzana discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a percentage of the pore having the aspect ratio of 1.3 or less in the cross section is 70% or more and a percentage of the pore having the other aspect ratio of 1.3 or less in the other cross section is 70% or more. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pore diameter ratio to any number of ranges (i.e. 1.3 or less) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Farzana discloses wherein the porous body 10 of the elastomer is a porous body but fails to explicitly disclose the specific material of a silicone elastomer. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) Regarding claim 7, Farzana discloses having: a pair of surfaces 12 facing away from each other; and at least one through hole penetrating the pair of surfaces Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 8, Farzana discloses a gasket 10, but fails to explicitly disclose the intended use of the gasket being attached so that a flow path between a gas release valve of each of a plurality of battery cells of a battery module and a gas release path, the gas release path forming a space to guide a gas released from the plurality of gas release valves. Nevertheless, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675