DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/151,904 filed on 07/29/2025. Claims 16-30 are pending. Claims 1, 28, and 29 are independent claims.
Priority
Application claims the benefit of Application No. EP23153982.6 filed 01/30/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a plurality of said oil channel in claim 18 and a surface profiling in claim 27 must be shown or labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “ a plurality of said oil channel” render the claim indefinite. It is not clear how a plurality of said oil channel distributed in a circumferential manner. The drawing and specification Claim 18 depends on claim 16 and claim 16 recites an oil channel. It is suggested to change the limit of claim 16 “oil channel” to “a plurality of oil channels”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 19-21, 23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ming et al. (CN 205446657 U)(Machine translation relied upon as attached).
Regarding claim 16, Ming discloses a shaft-hub connection (fig. 1) for a planetary transmission (e.g. planetary gear train, see page 1, para 2 in background technique section), the shaft-hub connection comprising:
an inner hub element (e.g. 1);
an outer hub element (e.g. 2, fig. 1) connected via a spline toothing (see page 2, para 2 in detailed ways) In driving relationship with the inner hub element (1) about a main axis of rotation and surrounding the inner hub element (1) at an outer circumference, with the inner hub element and the outer hub element bearing against one another via a pairing of axial contact surfaces (see the annotated fig. A below); and
an oil channel (e.g. 8) formed by the Inner hub element (1) In a region of an axial position of the axial contact surfaces for oiling of the axial contact surfaces, said oil channel opening out radially within the axial contact surfaces via an outlet mouth.
Fig. A: Annotated fig. 1 of Ming
Regarding claim 17, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 16, wherein the oil channel (e.g. annular oil chamber 8, see page 2, para 2 in detailed ways section) opens out In a geometry which extends circumferentially on an inner circu
Regarding claim 19, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 16, wherein the oil channel (9) In the inner hub element (1) has a radial profile.
Regarding claim 20, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 16, wherein the axial contact surface (see fig. A above) of the inner hub element (1) is formed on a radial shoulder of the inner hub element, said oil channel opening out into a region of the radial shoulder.
Regarding claim 21, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 20, further comprising an abutment ring (6, fig. 1) forming the radial shoulder and attached coaxially to the inner hub element (1) at one end of the inner hub element.
Regarding claim 23, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 21, wherein the oil channel (9) is formed by a geometry which extends radially on an end face of the inner hub element (1).
Regarding claim 28, Ming discloses a transmission stage for a wind turbine (e.g. transmission and wind turbine, see page 1, para 1 in background technique section, fig. 1), the transmission comprising: a planetary stage (e.g. planetary gear train, see page 1, para 2 in background technique section); an outer hub element (e.g. 2, fig. 1) ; a shaft-hub connection (fig. 1) for providing a driving relationship between the planetary stage or multiple planetary stages and the outer hub element (2), the shaft-hub connection comprising:
an inner hub element (e.g. 1) connected via a spline toothing (see page 2, para 2 in detailed ways) In driving relationship with the outer hub element (2) for rotation of the inner and outer hub elements about a main axis of rotation with the outer hub element surrounding the inner hub element at an outer circumference, wherein the inner hub element and the outer hub element bear against one another via a pairing of axial contact surfaces (see the annotated fig. A below); and
an oil channel (e.g. 8) formed by the Inner hub element (1) In a region of an axial position of the axial contact surfaces for oiling of the axial contact surfaces, said oil channel opening out radially within the axial contact surfaces via an outlet mouth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming et al. (CN 205446657 U) in view of IWABUCHI et al. (US 20250003481 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 21, wherein the abutment ring (6) is held on the inner hub element (1) at the one end via a snap ring (7), but fails to disclose wherein the abutment ring is held on the inner hub element at the one end via a screw connection.
IWABUCHI teaches a shaft-hub disconnect (fig. 5, para 58) wherein the abutment ring (42) is held on the inner hub element (e.g. 15) via a screw connection (44A). (see paras 32 and 88)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ming by substituting the snap ring with a screw connection as taught by IWABUCHI so that it can maintain and secure the axial position of the inner hub relative to the upper hub. (see para 88 of IWABUCHI)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming et al. (CN 205446657 U) in view of SHERLOCK (US 20170321755 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Ming discloses the shaft-hub connection of claim 16, but fails to disclose a seal arranged between the inner hub element and the outer hub element with an axial offset to the oil channel.
SHERLOCK teaches a shaft-hub disconnect (figs.1- 5, para 45 and abstract) wherein a seal (e.g. 11, fig. 1) arranged between the inner hub element (1) and the outer hub element (5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ming by adding a seal arranged between the inner hub element and the outer hub element with an axial offset to the oil channel as taught by SHERLOCK so that it can maintain and secure the oil leaking out of the disconnect.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming et al. (CN 205446657 U) in view of JÖCKEL (US 20230392579 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Ming discloses a drive train for a wind turbine (e.g. transmission and wind turbine, see page 1, para 1 in background technique section, fig. 1) comprising a transmission comprising: a planetary stage (e.g. planetary gear train, see page 1, para 2 in background technique section); an outer hub element (e.g. 2, fig. 1) ; a shaft-hub connection (fig. 1) for providing a driving relationship between the planetary stage or multiple planetary stages and the outer hub element (2), the shaft-hub connection comprising:
an inner hub element (e.g. 1) connected via a spline toothing (see page 2, para 2 in detailed ways) In driving relationship with the outer hub element (2) for rotation of the inner and outer hub elements about a main axis of rotation with the outer hub element surrounding the inner hub element at an outer circumference, wherein the inner hub element and the outer hub element bear against one another via a pairing of axial contact surfaces (see the annotated fig. A below); and
an oil channel (e.g. 8) formed by the Inner hub element (1) In a region of an axial position of the axial contact surfaces for oiling of the axial contact surfaces, said oil channel opening out radially within the axial contact surfaces via an outlet mouth.
However, Mint fails to disclose a rotor shaft connected in a torque-transmitting manner to the transmission; and a generator connected in a torque-transmitting manner to the transmission.
JÖCKEL teaches drive train for a wind turbine (e.g. 1, figs.1-3, para 66) wherein a rotor shaft (4, fig. 1) connected in a torque-transmitting manner to the transmission (6, fig. 1); and a generator (e.g. 7, fig. 1) connected in a torque-transmitting manner to the transmission (e.g. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ming by adding a rotor and a generator as taught by JÖCKEL so that it can attain ac compact design and relatively high efficiency. (see para 5 of JÖCKEL)
Regarding claim 30, Ming/ JÖCKEL discloses a wind turbine (e.g. 1, fig. 1, para 66); JÖCKEL further discloses a nacelle (8, fig. 1, para 67); the drive train (2) of claim 29; and a multi-blade rotor (3) arranged on the nacelle in a rotatable manner and connected to the drive train (2) in a torque-transmitting manner. (see the rejection of claim 29)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25 and 27 are objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claim 16, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, set forth in this office action.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Claim 18 is objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C 112 (pre-AiA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this office action.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
DIETZ et al. (US 20230304475 A1) teaches a multi-chambered clutch actuation system for power take-off as shown in fig. 1.3.
HESSLING et al. (US 20230296169 A1) teaches a planetary gearbox includes a first planetary stage with a component, a sun gear, and a planet gear meshing with the sun gear via a toothing system, a second planetary stage, and a lubricant transfer device arranged between the first planetary stage and the second planetary stage. The lubricant transfer device includes a discharge component arranged in a co-rotating manner on a component of the second planetary stage, and a receiving component designed to receive lubricant and arranged in a co-rotating manner on the component of the first planetary stage. A lubricant conduit communicates with the lubricant transfer device and is configured to extend over an entire axial extent of a tooth engagement region of the sun gear of the first planetary stage radially within the toothing system of the sun gear with the planet gear of the first planetary stage.
Conclusion
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655