DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
image acquisition means (15);
audio acquisition means (16);
electric power supply means (20);
electronic processing means (17); and
means of a connection cable (28);
serialization device (27); and
deserialization device (29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 1, the term "possible" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUDLOW, (From IDS: US 2009/0307828) in view of SHAU et al., (US 2022/0146860).
Regarding claim 1: LUDLOW teaches sports goggles [¶0014 teaches: Wearer's of goggles, such as ski goggles] (10) comprising a frame (11) with an anatomical and ergonomic shape [¶0014 teaches: provide a goggle with a camera, which is comfortable to wear], one or more lenses [¶0025 teaches: Another feature of a ski goggle is its special lens. A double lens system with vacuum in between is typically used to prevent fogging.] (12) externally attached to said frame (11) [See Fig. 1, Elements 106 and 104], a possible internal padding (13) attached to said frame [¶0025 teaches: In order to make the goggle comfortable for the user, the part of the goggle that lies on the face of the user is provided with a flexible padding or soft cushioning material 12, typically made of foamed plastic, foamed rubber or very soft plastic material which is cemented or otherwise secured to the frame.] (11), and a possible adjustment strap (14) attached at the ends to said frame (11) in order to adjust the adhesion of the sports goggles (10) to the face [¶0027 teaches: An elastic head band strap 20 attaches to both sides of the frame 10 to secure the goggle to the wearer's head or back of a helmet.], wherein they comprise image acquisition means [¶0029: A miniature digital camera 200 is secured inside the frame 102 using a special housing 205 built to receive the camera, as illustrated in FIG. 4. The lens, the lens cover, the digital imager and the converter are imbedded in top-front 102 of the frame.].
However, it does not appear that LUDLOW explicitly teaches an audio acquisition means (16) associated with said frame.
In a related field of endeavor, SHAU teaches an audio acquisition means (16) associated with said frame [Abstract teaches: video and audio devices associated with the headwear].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SHAU’s teaching of an audio acquisition means into LUDLOW’s sports goggles for the benefit, as taught by SHAU, of teleconferencing capabilities. [SHAU, Summary of the Preferred Embodiments]
In addition, LUDLOW teaches an electronic processing means (17) for processing data acquired by said image and audio acquisition means [¶0029 teaches: The first side connector 201 has electrical connectors to connect to a camera control box] (15, 16), connected to electric power supply means [¶0029 teaches: The top portion of the frame is also designed to receive electrical wirings from the digital camera to the sides of the frame to electrically connect the camera to the control box and the battery back (typically a lithium battery) located on the strap. The present embodiment includes an opening 208 on the top portion of the frame that can receive the electrical wiring 240.] (20), wherein at least said image acquisition means (15) are positioned in such a way as to be disposed in proximity to the eye zone, or in the visual field, of said user, in order to acquire images that have a visual perspective comparable to the visual perspective of the user [¶0034 teaches: the wearer can watch the image that is captures. The lens can then be adjusted to change the field of view of the camera. The camera's field of view is set to image wearer's front eye view.].
Regarding claim 2: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 1.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein said image acquisition means (15) comprise one or more image acquisition sensors (15a) and said audio acquisition means [¶0036 teaches: Most digital cameras come with video and audio options] (16) comprise at least one microphone (16a), wherein said electronic processing means (17) comprise at least one image processing device (25) and a program processor (26) operatively connected to each other [¶0031 teaches: The control and power unit can be directly connected to the wiring, without a special receiving place on the strap. The strap will then have a pocket for the control unit to slide in.].
Regarding claim 3: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein in that said electronic processing means (17) also comprise a serialization device (27) and a deserialization device (29) connected to each other by means of a connection cable [¶ 0033 teaches: The control box 400 comprises of a rechargeable battery 410, preferably a lithium battery, a data storage device 420, such as a SD card of a digital camera or a phone camera, a USB port 430 to download the images as well as recharging the battery unit, a display screen, such as a liquid crystal display (LCD), 440, and other standard control button known to the art. Both internal memory and external memory devices are commonly used in digital cameras, and the same can be incorporated within the present goggle]. (28) and to one or more other electronic processing means [¶0035 teaches: Additionally, the control box may include a mini-transmitter/receiver removable connected to the box. This system can be used to remotely transmit images to remote location.] (17).
Regarding claim 4: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein in that one or more of said electronic processing means (17) can be disposed in an external container (30) that is separate from said frame [¶0031 teaches: The digital camera is connected to a control and power unit placed on the strap 300. The control and power unit can be located anywhere on the strap which is convenient for the wearer. The strap is both mechanically, using any mechanical means (one shown in FIG. 5 at 310 and 311) and electronically 320 connected to the frame. In the present embodiment, the strap has a built-in pocket to receive the control/power unit. Once the control/power unit is clicked into position, it is electrically connected to the imager on the goggle frame.] (11) and/or from said padding (13), wherein said power supply means (20) can also be positioned in said container [¶0023 teaches: FIG. 7 illustrates the digital camera control unit comprising the electronics for the digital camera, battery pack, storage device port and the USB port.] (30).
Regarding claim 5: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 4.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein said container (30) is removably attached on said adjustment strap (14), in correspondence with a rear zone thereof, opposite to said frame [¶0023 teaches: FIG. 7 illustrates the digital camera control unit comprising the electronics for the digital camera, battery pack, storage device port and the USB port; also see fig 6 showin removable attached element 360] (11).
Regarding claim 8: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein at least said image processing device (25) and said program processor (26) are associated with said frame (11) and/or with said padding (13) and are positioned in a suitable housing seating (31), wherein said power supply means (20) are also positioned in said housing seating ([¶0023 teaches: FIG. 7 illustrates the digital camera control unit comprising the electronics for the digital camera, battery pack, storage device port and the USB port] (31).
Regarding claim 9: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, LUDLOW teaches wherein at least one image acquisition sensor (15a) is positioned in correspondence with an upper central zone (Z1) of said frame (11) [¶0025 teaches: The present invention can be used with any type of conventional goggle, in particular with a ski goggle. One embodiment of the present invention, illustrated in FIG. 1, is a ski goggle with a built-in camera; See Fig. 1, Element 102; and ¶0029 teaches: A miniature digital camera 200 is secured inside the frame 102 using a special housing 205 built to receive the camera, as illustrated in FIG. 4.].
Regarding claim 10: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, SHAU teaches wherein at least one image acquisition sensor (15a) is positioned in correspondence with a lower central zone (Z2) of said frame (11) [¶0038 teaches: A right-eye-side camera (CR) is placed on or near the bottom of the right viewing window (WR), and a left-eye-side camera (CL) is placed on or near the bottom of the left viewing window (WL), as shown in FIG. 3(a). These cameras (CR, CL) can also be placed in many other locations, such as on or near the top of the viewing windows (WR, WL), or on or near the sides of the viewing windows (WR, WL).].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 1 [See teaching above.]
Regarding claim 11: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, SHAU teaches wherein one or more image acquisition sensors (15a) are positioned in correspondence with one or more external lateral zones (Z3) of said frame (11), to the side of the user's eyes, wherein, in order to achieve a stereoscopic vision in video recording, at least two image acquisition sensors (15a) are positioned specularly in said external lateral zones (Z3) [¶0038 teaches: The geometry of these cameras (CR, CL) allows users to view three-dimensional video images of working areas with the video display devices (SR, SL), with accurate and natural depth perception.].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 1. [See teaching above.]
Regarding claim 12: the essence of the claim is taught above in rejection of claim 2.
In addition, SHAU teaches wherein one or more image acquisition sensors (15a) are positioned in correspondence with one or more lower lateral zones (Z4) of said frame (11), under the user's eyes [¶0038 teaches: A right-eye-side camera (CR) is placed on or near the bottom of the right viewing window (WR), and a left-eye-side camera (CL) is placed on or near the bottom of the left viewing window (WL), as shown in FIG. 3(a).] , wherein, in order to achieve a stereoscopic vision in video recording, at least two image acquisition sensors (15a) are positioned specularly in said lower lateral zones [¶0038 teaches: The geometry of these cameras (CR, CL) allows users to view three-dimensional video images] (Z4)
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 1. [See teaching above.]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in an attached PTO-892 and that are not relied upon for the claim rejections detailed above. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In particular, HAGLUND, (US 6,717,737) teaches an imaging device adapted to be worn by a user having goggles, receive light, and convert the received light into video signals amenable for recordation by the recording device;
KRAUTER, (US 2011/0072564) teaches Sports goggles for use with a sports helmet have a frameless lens or a frame for receiving a lens or several lens segments or lenses. At least one flexible and elastic fastening strap is connected to each side of the frameless lens or the frame, respectively.;
SHAU et al., (US 2021/0067764) teaches ergonomic protective eyewear; and
GREEN (US Patent No US 6,295,064) teaches eyewear with headgear retention devices.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/MARNIE A MATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485