DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 10/07/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 11 has been cancelled. Claims 1-10 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2026/0061807 A1 Hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a vehicle roof assembly (FIGS. 6 and 19, paragraphs 0098 and 0099, specifically the automobile sunroof sunshade curtain structure) comprising:
a vehicle glass (11 and 12, FIGS. 6 and 19, paragraph 0099, specifically the first and second light-transmitting layers of transparent glass) having a glass body assembly (11 and 12, FIG. 19, paragraph 0099) which has an outside facing a vehicle environment (11, FIG. 19, paragraph 0099, specifically the upper side of the first light-transmitting layer) and an inside facing a vehicle interior (12, FIG. 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the lower surface of the second light-transmitting layer from which the light is emitted), and
which has a light guide layer (12, FIG. 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the second light-transmitting layer within which the light propagates), a light source (61, FIGS. 18 and 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the light bar), the light of which is able to be coupled into the light guide layer (FIG. 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the light entering through a left or right side end surface of 12), and
a shading assembly (3, FIG. 6, paragraph 0099) which comprises at least one guide rail (21, FIGS. 8-10 and 19, paragraph 0099) for a shading element (31, FIGS. 6 and 10, paragraph 0099),
wherein the guide rail rests on the inside of the glass body assembly (FIG. 19, paragraphs 0099 and 0101, specifically the guide rails 21 provided below the left and right sides of 11 and joined to 11 and 12 by the edging 13) and delimits a receptacle space (22, FIG. 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the assembly space) for the light source, the receptacle space being delimited by the glass body assembly (FIG. 19, paragraph 0112, specifically the assembly space 22 between the guide rails 21 and the first light-transmitting layer 11); and
wherein the shading assembly comprises a roller blind web (31, FIGS. 6 and 10, paragraphs 0099 and 0108, specifically the curtain fabric wound onto the reel 32) which is guided in the guide rail (37, FIG. 10, paragraph 0109, specifically the elastic guide belts on the left and right sides of 31 disposed in each guide rail 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wang et al. (CN 214215450 U Hereinafter Wang; paragraph citations are to the CN publication, an English machine translation of which is provided with this action).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang fails to teach wherein the light source is fixed to the guide rail.
However, Wang teaches wherein the light source (20, FIGS. 2-4, paragraph 0030, specifically the light emitting device comprising the circuit board 202 and the LED elements 208) is fixed to the guide rail (10, FIGS. 2-4, paragraphs 0030, 0031 and 0039, specifically the circuit board 202 directly attached to the bottom exterior surface 104 of the channel 102 of the sunroof rail by gluing, screwing, pinning or riveting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fixed the light bar of Zhang directly to the guide rails of Zhang as taught by Wang, in order to omit a dedicated support member for the light source and thereby reduce the installation space and simplify the guide rail (Wang, paragraph 0032).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wang and Wenzel et al. (WO 2017/133894 A1 Hereinafter Wenzel; page and line citations are to the WO publication, an English machine translation of which is provided with this action).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang fails to teach wherein the light source comprises a board which is held on the guide rail by a retaining rib.
However, Wang teaches wherein the light source (20, FIGS. 2-4, paragraph 0030) comprises a board (202, FIGS. 3 and 4, paragraphs 0030 and 0033, specifically the flexible or rigid circuit board carrying the LED elements 208) which is held on the guide rail (10, FIG. 3, paragraphs 0031 and 0039, specifically the circuit board 202 directly attached to the bottom exterior surface 104 of the channel 102).
Wenzel teaches which is held on the guide rail (20, FIG. 2, page 9, lines 4-13; page 5, lines 1-4, specifically the receptacle 36 formed integrally on the extruded guide rail) by a retaining rib (page 3, line 30 to page 4, line 3; page 10, lines 27-28, specifically the lateral projection formed at the U-shaped opening of the receptacle 36 of the extruded guide rail 20, behind which the lighting element, which may be an LED strip per page 2, lines 21-24, is mounted and which retains it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the light bar of Zhang as the circuit board of Wang held on the guide rails of Zhang, in order to omit a dedicated support member and reduce the installation space (Wang, paragraph 0032), and to have held that board on the guide rail by the lateral projection of Wenzel, in order to allow the lighting element to be simply pushed into the guide rail and retained there (Wenzel, page 3, lines 26-30 to page 4, line 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Biecker (US 2026/0158994 Hereinafter Biecker).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the guide rail has at least one contact flange (21, FIG. 11, paragraph 0105, specifically the first end of each guide rail lying against the underside of the second light-transmitting layer 12) which by way of an opaque sealing element (16, FIG. 11, paragraph 0105, specifically the double-sided adhesive 16, which Zhang does not describe as opaque) rests on the glass body assembly (12, FIG. 11, paragraph 0105).
Zhang fails to teach an opaque sealing element.
However, Biecker teaches an opaque sealing element (24, FIGS. 1 and 2, Paragraph 0065, specifically the opaque adhesive bond fixing the light source holder 10 to the roof glazing 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the adhesive between the guide rails and the glass of Zhang opaque as taught by Biecker, in order to ensure that the light of the light source reaches the vehicle interior only via the light-guiding glass pane.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Biecker and Li et al. (US 11,718,223 B2 Hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Biecker fails to teach wherein the sealing element is formed by an adhesive tape or a foam material element.
However, Li teaches wherein the sealing element (col. 10, lines 49-54, specifically the adhesive or tape by which the elongate rigid support element 226 is first adhered to the interior main surface of the glass panel 2a) is formed by an adhesive tape (col. 10, lines 52-53) or a foam material element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the opaque adhesive joint of Zhang as modified by Biecker as an adhesive tape as taught by Li, since Li identifies a tape as a known alternative to an adhesive for adhering an elongate frame component to the interior main surface of a roof glass panel (Li, col. 10, lines 49-54).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Pasquarelli (WO 2021/198262 A1 Hereinafter Pasquarelli; paragraph citations are to its English-language U.S. national stage publication, US 2023/0118480 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang fails to teach wherein the light source comprises a LED strip, the light of which is directed in the direction of the glass body assembly.
However, Pasquarelli teaches wherein the light source (62, FIGS. 5 and 9, paragraphs 0064 and 0072) comprises a LED strip (62, FIGS. 5 and 9, paragraph 0064, specifically the LED bar comprising a plurality of LEDs across the length of the input coupling element 28), the light of which is directed in the direction of the glass body assembly (FIGS. 5 and 9, paragraphs 0058, 0064 and 0072, specifically the light coupled through 28 into the inner window pane body 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the LED bar of Pasquarelli as the light bar of Zhang, in order to couple the light into the light-conducting layer across a large surface with improved luminance and light homogeneity (Pasquarelli, paragraphs 0005 and 0064).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang fails to teach wherein the glass body assembly is provided with a light coupling structure.
However, Pasquarelli teaches wherein the glass body assembly (16 and 18, FIG. 2, paragraphs 0049 and 0051) is provided with a light coupling structure (28, FIGS. 2-9, paragraphs 0054 and 0055, specifically the bar-shaped prismatic input coupling element fixed to the window pane body assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the glass of Zhang with the input coupling element of Pasquarelli, in order to couple the light into the light-conducting layer across a large surface so that the light-conducting layer can be optimized in its dimensions with improved luminance and homogeneity (Pasquarelli, paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang fails to teach wherein the glass body assembly comprises a glass outer body and a glass inner body which by way of a lamination layer is attached to the glass outer body, and which forms the light guide layer, wherein the light coupling structure is disposed on the side of the glass inner body that faces the guide rail, or between the glass inner body and the glass outer body.
However, Pasquarelli teaches wherein the glass body assembly (16 and 18, FIG. 2, paragraph 0051) comprises a glass outer body (16, FIG. 2, paragraph 0049) and a glass inner body (18, FIG. 2, paragraph 0049) which by way of a lamination layer (20, FIG. 2, paragraph 0050) is attached to the glass outer body, and which forms the light guide layer (18, FIG. 2, paragraph 0049, specifically the inner window pane body forming a light-conducting layer), wherein the light coupling structure (28, FIG. 2, paragraphs 0007 and 0055, specifically the input coupling element attached directly to the inner side of the inner window pane body 18) is disposed on the side of the glass inner body that faces the guide rail (FIG. 2, paragraphs 0007 and 0051, specifically the inner side facing the vehicle interior, which in Zhang is the side facing the guide rails 21), or between the glass inner body and the glass outer body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the glass of Zhang as the laminated outer and inner window pane bodies of Pasquarelli with the input coupling element on the inner side of the inner body, in order to provide laminated safety glass in which the inner body serves as the light-conducting layer into which the light is efficiently coupled (Pasquarelli, paragraphs 0005 and 0007).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang fails to teach wherein the light coupling structure comprises a prism structure formed on a flexible strip.
However, Pasquarelli teaches wherein the light coupling structure (28, FIG. 4, paragraph 0062) comprises a prism structure (52, FIG. 4, paragraphs 0019 and 0062, specifically the rows of asymmetrical prisms) formed on a flexible strip (52, paragraph 0020, specifically the deflection structure provided as a separate structured film coated on the bar-shaped input coupling element 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the input coupling element of Zhang as modified with the prism film of Pasquarelli, in order to change the angle of incidence of the light to increase internal reflection in the light-conducting layer and further improve the input coupling (Pasquarelli, paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang fails to teach wherein the glass inner body on its side facing the lamination layer has a light decoupling structure.
However, Pasquarelli teaches wherein the glass inner body (18, FIG. 2, paragraph 0058) on its side facing the lamination layer (20, FIG. 2, paragraph 0050) has a light decoupling structure (paragraph 0058, specifically the print applied to the upper side of the inner window pane body that scatters the light in the direction of the vehicle interior).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the inner body of Zhang as modified with the scattering print of Pasquarelli on its side facing the lamination layer, in order to couple the propagating light out of the light-conducting layer toward the vehicle interior (Pasquarelli, paragraph 0058).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T EIDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2875