DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 4-5 of claim 1, “an end forming portion formed at a height same as a height of an end of the cutting blade” should read “an end forming portion formed at a height equal to a height of an end of the cutting blade” for clarity; and in lines 1-2 of claim 3, “wherein the end forming portion has a height gradually decreasing toward a distal end” should read “wherein the height of the end forming portion gradually decreases toward a distal end” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kojima et al. (Pub. No. 2026/0158246).
Regarding claim 1, Kojima et al. discloses a balloon (2; FIG. 10) for use in a balloon catheter (1), wherein one or a plurality of cutting blades (41; [0057] 41 can cut straight through stenosis) is provided on an outer peripheral face of the balloon (FIG. 10: 41 are on the outer surface of 2) in parallel with a longitudinal direction of the balloon (FIG. 10: 41 are in the x-axis direction), and wherein an end forming portion (43) formed at a height equal to a height of an end of the cutting blade is provided at either end of the cutting blade in the longitudinal direction ([0095] 43 have the height of 41 at the point where they meet 41, and are on either side of each 41; FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Kojima et al. further discloses the end forming portion is formed so as to cover part of an end of a blade tip of the cutting blade (FIG. 10: each 43 covers the lateral ends of 41).
Regarding claim 3, Kojima et al. further discloses the height of the end forming portion gradually decreases toward a distal end (FIG. 10: 43 taper from 41 to 42 in both proximal and distal directions).
Regarding claim 4, Kojima et al. further discloses the cutting blade is attached to a base portion made of resin ([0099] the body 20, which includes 41, 42, and 43, is made of resin), and the end forming portion is molded integrally with the base portion ([0066] 43 is made by melting the resin between regions of 41 to make the low regions 42 and the transitions 43).
Regarding claim 5, Kojima et al. further discloses the cutting blade is divided into a plurality of parts in the longitudinal direction (FIG. 10: multiple 41 are lined up in the x-axis direction).
Regarding claim 7, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 1 (2; see rejection above).
Regarding claim 8, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 2 (2; see rejection above).
Regarding claim 9, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 3 (2; see rejection above).
Regarding claim 10, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 4 (2; see rejection above).
Regarding claim 11, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 5 (2; see rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. in view of Ikoma (Pub. No. 2025/0269152).
Regarding claim 6, Kojima et al. discloses the invention as claimed in claim 1, as discussed above. Kojima et al. is silent regarding the cutting blade includes metal blades and resin blades that are alternately disposed.
Ikoma teaches in the same field of endeavor of balloon catheters (Abstract), and discloses a cutting blade (17), where the cutting blade can include metal blades and resin blades that are alternately disposed ([0075] convex strip 17 may be made of metal or resin or a combination of both, and can vary between material designs) for the purpose of making the cracking or cutting open of a stenosis site easier while the balloon is inflated ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the cutting blade of Kojima et al. to have alternating metal and resin blades, as taught by Ikoma, for the purpose of making the cracking or cutting open of a stenosis site easier while the balloon is inflated.
Regarding claim 12, Kojima et al. further discloses a balloon catheter (1) comprising the balloon according to claim 5 (2; see rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kojima et al. (Pub. No. 2026/0047861) discloses a similar balloon catheter with a cutting blade (FIGs. 1-2); and Okamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,337,128) discloses a similar ballon catheter with a cutting blade (FIGs. 2A-2B).
/JAMES R MCGINNITY/Examiner, Art Unit 3771