In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-19 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The application is a U.S. National Phase Application of PCT International Application No. PCT/us2024/014385 filed on February 5, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 31, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vlasov et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200004346.
Consider claim 1 Vlasov teaches a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Vlasov figures 1-4C and paragraphs 0004-0008), comprising:
a frame body (see Vlasov figure 3B-C, element 317 and paragraph 0034);
an immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3B, element 300 and paragraph 0033, 0036 where a resistance profile can provide a ratcheting feedback to a user without the need for any movement of electropermanent magnet 300.), statically mounted on the frame body and provided with a rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322 and paragraph 0035),
wherein the immobile inner wheel is provided with an immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314), and the immobile piece is formed with external teeth projecting outwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314);
a rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 302, figure 4A, element 302 - the tactile ribbed layer), rotatably sleeved on the rotating shaft and provided with a rotating piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 302 and paragraph 0035-0036),
wherein the rotating piece is formed with internal teeth projecting inwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304, figure 4A, element 304), and the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 304) and the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 316) correspond to each other in an offset manner (see Vlasov figure 4A and paragraph 0036 where magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low); and
a magnetic object (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 306, 308), connected to the immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 314) for magnetic conduction,
wherein the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 316) of the immobile piece magnetically attract the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304) of the rotating piece (see Vlasov paragraph 0033-0037 specifically for example paragraph 0036 where a magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low.).
Consider claim 2, Vlasov teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3A, element 300) is provided with a cavity (see Vlasov figure 4A, the cavity between elements 314 where magnets 306 and 308 are located), and the magnetic object is accommodated inside the cavity (see Vlasov figure 3A, element 300) is provided with a cavity (see Vlasov figure 4A, the cavity between elements 314 where magnets 306 and 308 are located).
Consider claim 8, Vlasov teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the magnetic object is a permanent magnet or an electromagnet ( see Vlasov figure 4A-B, element 306, 308; paragraph 0033 where electropermanent magnet is a permanent magnet).
Consider claim 18, Vlasov teaches a mouse (see Vlasov figures 1-4C and paragraphs 0004-0008), comprising:
a housing (see Vlasov figure 1, element 102; paragraph 0029), provided with an accommodating space; and
a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module accommodated inside the accommodating space (see Vlasov figure 1, element 150), the magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Vlasov figures 1-4C and paragraphs 0004-0008), comprising:
a frame body (see Vlasov figure 3B-C, element 317 and paragraph 0034);
an immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3B, element 300 and paragraph 0033, 0036 where a resistance profile can provide a ratcheting feedback to a user without the need for any movement of electropermanent magnet 300.), statically mounted on the frame body and provided with a rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322 and paragraph 0035),
wherein the immobile inner wheel is provided with an immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314), and the immobile piece is formed with external teeth projecting outwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314);
a rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 302, figure 4A, element 302 - the tactile ribbed layer), rotatably sleeved on the rotating shaft and provided with a rotating piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 302 and paragraph 0035-0036),
wherein the rotating piece is formed with internal teeth projecting inwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304, figure 4A, element 304), and the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 304) and the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 316) correspond to each other in an offset manner (see Vlasov figure 4A and paragraph 0036 where magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low); and
a magnetic object (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 306, 308), connected to the immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 314) for magnetic conduction,
wherein the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 316) of the immobile piece magnetically attract the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304) of the rotating piece (see Vlasov paragraph 0033-0037 specifically for example paragraph 0036 where a magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 12-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vlasov et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200004346 in view of Kao, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180210562.
Consider claim 4, Vlasov teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches movement of electropermanent magnet 300.) by means of the rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322 and paragraph 0035)
Vlasov is silent regarding a clamping block. In the same field of endeavor, Kao teaches a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Kao figure 3, element 10) wherein an immobile inner wheel (see Kao figure 6, element 30, figure 8, element 30 and paragraph 0036) is further provided with a clamping
block (see Kao figure 3, figure 6 - the downward extension of 30), and the immobile inner wheel (see Kao figure 6, element 30, figure 8, element 30; paragraph 0036) is statically mounted on a frame body (see Kao figure 3-4 -the base frame) by means of the rotating shaft (see Kao figure 3, element 12) and the clamping block (see Kao figure 3, figure 6-the downward extension of 30) together so as allow users to operate a scroll wheel more precisely (see Kao paragraph 0033).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified the immobile inner wheel of Vlasov with the clamping block of Kao to stabilize the immobile inner wheel with the frame body so as allow users to operate a scroll wheel more precisely.
Consider claim 5, Vlasov as modified by Kao teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the frame body (see Kao figure 3-4 -the base frame) is provided with a clamping recess (see Kao figure 3-4 - the recess at the bottom of the base frame for receiving the downward extension of 30), and the clamping block of the immobile inner wheel is clamped inside the clamping recess (see Kao figure 3-4 - the recess at the bottom of the base frame for receiving the downward extension of 30).
Consider claim 6, Vlasov as modified by Kao teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 4A-4C - the outer layer attached to 302; paragraph 0036 - the tactile ribbed layer) is provided with an accommodating chamber (see Vlasov figure 4A-4C - the interior chamber of the outer layer attached to 302) and a shaft hole (see Vlasov 4A-4C – the shaft hole of the outer layer attached to 302) in corresponding communication with the accommodating chamber,
the immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3A, element 300, figure 3C, element 300; paragraph 0033) is accommodated inside the accommodating chamber, and one end of the rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322; paragraph 0035) passes through the shaft hole and is inserted in the frame body (see Vlasov figure 3B-C, element 317; paragraph 0034).
Consider claim 7, Vlasov as modified by Kao teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the rotating piece (see Vlasov figure 3A, figure 3C-4C element 302) is located inside the accommodating chamber (see Vlasov figure 4A-4C - the interior chamber of the outer layer attached to 302) and and is fixed to the rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 4A-4C - the outer layer attached to 302; para (0036] - the tactile ribbed layer).
Consider claim 10, Vlasov teaches a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Vlasov figures 1-4C and paragraphs 004-008), comprising:
a frame body (see Vlasov figure 3B-C, element 317 and paragraph 0034);
an immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3B, element 300 and paragraph 0033, 0036 where a resistance profile can provide a ratcheting feedback to a user without the need for any movement of electropermanent magnet 300.), statically mounted on the frame body and provided with a rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322 and paragraph 0035),
wherein the immobile inner wheel is provided with an immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314), and the immobile piece is formed with external teeth projecting outwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314);
a rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 302, figure 4A, element 302 - the tactile ribbed layer), rotatably sleeved on the rotating shaft and provided with a rotating piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 302 and paragraph 0035-0036),
wherein the rotating piece is formed with internal teeth projecting inwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304, figure 4A, element 304), and the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 304) and the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 316) correspond to each other in an offset manner (see Vlasov figure 4A and paragraph 0036 where magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low); and
a magnetic object (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 306, 308),
wherein the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304) of the rotating piece magnetically attract the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 316) of the immobile piece (see Vlasov paragraph 0033-0037 specifically for example paragraph 0036 where a magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low.).
Vlasov is silent regarding a magnetic object connected to the rotating piece for magnetic conduction. In the same field of endeavor, Kao teaches a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Kao figure 3;, element 10) comprising: a magnetic object (see Kao figure 4, element 21, figure 8, element 21), connected to the rotating piece (see Kao figure 4, element 11, figure 8, element 11) for magnetic conduction.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have substituted the location of the magnetic object, based on the teaching of Kao, as a routine substitution of a known equivalent type of locations of the magnetic object for performing the same function.
Claims 12-16 recite similar claim limitations as claims 4-8, and thus are rejected under similar rational as claims 4-8 detail above.
Consider claim 19, Vlasov teaches a mouse (see Vlasov figure 1, element 100), comprising:
a housing (see Vlasov figure 1, element 102, paragraph 0029), provided with an accommodating space; and
a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module accommodated inside the accommodating space (see Vlasov figure 1, element 150), the magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module, comprising:
a frame body (see Vlasov figure 3B-C, element 317 and paragraph 0034);
an immobile inner wheel (see Vlasov figure 3B, element 300 and paragraph 0033, 0036 where a resistance profile can provide a ratcheting feedback to a user without the need for any movement of electropermanent magnet 300.), statically mounted on the frame body and provided with a rotating shaft (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 322 and paragraph 0035),
wherein the immobile inner wheel is provided with an immobile piece (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314), and the immobile piece is formed with external teeth projecting outwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 314);
a rotating outer wheel (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 302, figure 4A, element 302 - the tactile ribbed layer), rotatably sleeved on the rotating shaft and provided with a rotating piece (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 302 and paragraph 0035-0036),
wherein the rotating piece is formed with internal teeth projecting inwards and arranged in a circle (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304, figure 4A, element 304), and the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 304) and the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 316) correspond to each other in an offset manner (see Vlasov figure 4A and paragraph 0036 where magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low); and
a magnetic object (see Vlasov figure 4A, element 306, 308),
wherein the internal teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 304) of the rotating piece magnetically attract the external teeth (see Vlasov figure 3C, element 316) of the immobile piece (see Vlasov paragraph 0033-0037 specifically for example paragraph 0036 where a magnetic flux emitted from radially protruding teeth 316 interacts with the ferromagnetic material making up teeth 304. In the depicted position, each of teeth 304 are positioned between two adjacent radially protruding teeth 304, which results in a resistance to rotation of ferromagnetic wheel 302 in either direction being low.).
Vlasov is silent regarding a magnetic object connected to the rotating piece for magnetic conduction. In the same field of endeavor, Kao teaches a magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module (see Kao figure 3;, element 10) comprising: a magnetic object (see Kao figure 4, element 21, figure 8, element 21), connected to the rotating piece (see Kao figure 4, element 11, figure 8, element 11) for magnetic conduction.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have substituted the location of the magnetic object, based on the teaching of Kao, as a routine substitution of a known equivalent type of locations of the magnetic object for performing the same function.
Claim(s) 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vlasov et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200004346 in view of Young et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150138093.
Consider claim 9, Vlasov teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Vlasov is silent regarding wherein the rotating outer wheel is further surrounded by a rubber ring.
In the same field of endeavor, Young teaches scroll wheel module (see Young figure 3A-B) wherein a rotating outer wheel (see Young figure 3A, element 310) is further surrounded by a rubber ring (see Young figure 3B, element 311; paragraph 0036 - rubber) so as to provide a non-slip surface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have added a rubber ring as disclosed by Young to the rotating outer wheel of Vlasov so as to increase the frictional force between a user's finger and the rotating outer wheel using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim 17 recites similar claim limitations as claim 9, and thus is rejected under similar rational as claim 9 detail above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 3 “ The magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module according to claim 1, wherein the immobile inner wheel is formed with lateral teeth projecting from a lateral side thereof, and the external teeth mesh with the lateral teeth. ”
Claim 11 “ The magnetic attraction type scroll wheel module according to claim 10, wherein the immobile inner wheel is formed with lateral teeth projecting from a lateral side thereof, and the external teeth mesh with the lateral teeth. ”
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Vlasov et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200004346 (figures 1-4C)
Kao, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180210562 (figures 1-18)
Lin et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180267629 (figure 1A-B, element 122a)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including wherein the immobile inner wheel is formed with lateral teeth projecting from a lateral side thereof, and the external teeth mesh with the lateral teeth.
These features find support at least at figure1 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claims 3, 11 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McLoughlin et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20202224352 (multi-mode scroll wheel), Keltz et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200005977 (peripheral interface wheel)
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625