DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “N” which appears to be “N…wherein N is an integer number greater than 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Buckley et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0383771 (hereinafter Buckley).
Consider claim 84, Buckley teaches a method of driving a display device comprising a variable-wavelength LED ([0052], color-shifting uLED), the variable-wavelength LED being driveable to emit light at emission wavelengths within an emission wavelength range of the variable-wavelength LED in response to discrete electrical driving conditions supplied to the variable-wavelength LED ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0052], color-shifting uLED), the method comprising the steps of: adjusting the wavelength of a first primary of a set of two or more primaries, each primary having an associated wavelength and luminance ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0052], color-shifting uLED and red, green and blue), and adjusting the luminance of the other primaries in the set of two or more primary wavelengths to maintain a white-balance condition with the adjusted first primary ([0054], white point), optionally in which the step of adjusting the wavelength of the first primary comprises adjusting the duty cycle of electrical driving conditions supplied to drive the first primary ([0053], PWM and duty cycle), and/or in which the step of adjusting the luminance of the other primaries comprises adjusting the duty cycle of electrical driving conditions supplied to drive the other primaries ([0053], PWM and duty cycle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 62-75, 77-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley.
Consider claim 62, Buckley teaches a method of driving a display device comprising a variable-wavelength LED ([0052], color-shifting uLED) , the variable-wavelength LED being a pixel of the device, or one of a plurality of subpixels of a device pixel ([0056], pixel), the display device being programmed to operate using a palette of N available primary emission wavelengths λP ([0054], N number of primary colors and color shifting curve), wherein each of the N available primaries is a wavelength emittable by the variable-wavelength LED [0052], [0054], the variable-wavelength LED being driveable to emit light at any of the N available primary emission wavelengths within an emission wavelength range of the variable-wavelength LED in response to N respective subfields of driving conditions ([0054] [0071], sequentially displayed colors), the method comprising the steps of: identifying an output signal to be displayed by a pixel, or a subpixel, of the display device, the output signal having an output chromaticity and output luminance Lo ([0055], color and brightness. [0054], intensities); selecting a set of the N available primary emission wavelengths which are combinable to form the output signal, the set of selected primary emission wavelengths comprising a long primary emission wavelength and one or more shorter primary emission wavelengths having wavelengths shorter than the long primary emission wavelength ([0054], red, green and blue colors), and each of the selected primary emission wavelengths being driven by a subfield of driving conditions with a respective duty cycle ([0053], PWM and duty cycle); in response to an image-adjustment signal, altering the wavelength of the long selected primary emission wavelength ([0052-0055], color shifting curve (e.g. shifting for the red color)), and altering the duty cycles of the driving conditions which drive the shorter primary emission wavelengths ([0052-0055], PWM to control the brightness (e.g. PWM for blue or green color)); and driving the variable-wavelength LED [0056] and optionally one or more separate LED subpixels of the display device to emit the selected primary emission wavelengths, so that the light emitted at the selected primary emission wavelengths forms an adjusted output signal [0052-0055].
Buckley does not appear to specifically mention longest primary emission wavelength.
However, Buckley teaches in [0052] and [0055], given appropriate driving signals, the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve 404. It is notable that the “primary colors” are not limited to red, green, and blue colors but can be any suitable colors (e.g., along the color shifting curve) that can be produced by the CS-μLEDs. In addition, red color is considered the longest primary emission wavelength as known in the art (see for example, Wikipedia, visible spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter a particular wavelength with the benefit that a particular CS-μLEDs may emit light with different colors ranging from red color 401 to green color 402, and blue color 403, following a color-shifting curve 404 in the chromaticity diagram 400 when the applied current density increases across a pre-determine range. In addition, the three CS-μLEDs that are associated with a same pixel location could produce 130 pre-determined colors of particular brightness levels corresponding to the 130 possible combinations of the primary colors as suggested in [0052] and [0057].
Consider claim 63, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 63. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the step of altering the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength (e.g. red) comprises replacing the longest primary emission wavelength with an alternative primary emission wavelength from the palette of N available primary emission wavelengths ([0052] and [0055], given appropriate driving signals, the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve 404. It is notable that the “primary colors” are not limited to red, green, and blue colors but can be any suitable colors (e.g., along the color shifting curve) that can be produced by the CS-μLEDs. [0054], N number of primary colors).
Consider claim 64, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which in response to an image-adjustment signal requesting increased luminance, adjusting the set of selected primary emission wavelengths by decreasing the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve (e.g. bright red (and corresponding wavelength around 650) in relation to dark red (and corresponding wavelength around 720); see for example, Wikipedia, visible spectrum)), and increasing the duty cycles of the driving conditions driving the shorter primary emission wavelengths ([0053], the CS-μLEDs as controlled by the PWM signals may operate in an ON/OFF mode to generate the visual effect of different brightness levels of the emitted light. For example, a longer duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a higher brightness level. A shorter duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a lower brightness level), optionally in which the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength is decreased by replacing the longest primary emission wavelength with a shorter-wavelength primary emission wavelength from the palette of N available primary emission wavelengths.
Consider claim 65, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which in response to an image-adjustment signal requesting reduced luminance, adjusting the set of selected primary emission wavelengths by increasing the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve (e.g. bright red (and corresponding wavelength around 650) in relation to dark red (and corresponding wavelength around 720); see for example, Wikipedia, visible spectrum)), and decreasing the duty cycles of the driving conditions driving the shorter primary emission wavelengths ([0053], the CS-μLEDs as controlled by the PWM signals may operate in an ON/OFF mode to generate the visual effect of different brightness levels of the emitted light. For example, a longer duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a higher brightness level. A shorter duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a lower brightness level), optionally in which the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength is increased by replacing the longest primary emission wavelength with a longer-wavelength primary emission wavelength from the palette of N available primary emission wavelengths.
Consider claim 66, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the selected primary emission wavelengths define a displayable area of the colour gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), and in which the step of altering the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength adjusts the displayable area of the colour gamut to an adjusted displayable area of the colour gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve).
Consider claim 67, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 66. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the image-adjustment-signal is a luminance- adjustment signal instructing the device to adjust the output luminance Lo to reach an adjusted output luminance Lo' ([0053], the CS-μLEDs as controlled by the PWM signals may operate in an ON/OFF mode to generate the visual effect of different brightness levels of the emitted light. For example, a longer duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a higher brightness level. A shorter duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a lower brightness level), optionally in which the output chromaticity is inside the displayable area of the colour gamut, but the step of altering the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength means that the output chromaticity is outside the adjusted displayable area of the colour gamut, wherein the method comprises the step of adjusting the output chromaticity of the output signal to an adjusted output chromaticity which is inside the adjusted displayable area of the colour gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve).
Consider claim 68, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the image-adjustment-signal is a gamut- adjustment signal instructing the device to adjust the output chromaticity to reach an adjusted output chromaticity ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), optionally in which in response to an image-adjustment signal requesting an increase in the displayable area of the colour gamut, adjusting the set of selected primary emission wavelengths by increasing the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength, and decreasing the duty cycles of the driving conditions driving the shorter primary emission wavelengths.
Consider claim 69, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 68. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the adjusted output chromaticity is outside the displayable area of the colour gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), and the method comprises altering the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength so that the adjusted output chromaticity is inside the adjusted displayable area of the colour gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), optionally comprising the step of decreasing the output luminance Lo in order to increase the displayable area of the colour gamut.
Consider claim 70, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of altering the duty cycles of the driving conditions driving the shorter primary emission wavelengths ([0053], the CS-μLEDs as controlled by the PWM signals may operate in an ON/OFF mode to generate the visual effect of different brightness levels of the emitted light. For example, a longer duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a higher brightness level. A shorter duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a lower brightness level) to maintain a white-balance condition with the altered wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength ([0054], The intensities of these red, green, and blue colors may be set in respective values that allow the three colors to produce a D65 white point 405 in combination. [0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), optionally in which maintaining the white balance-condition of the output signal comprises controlling the luminances of the shorter primary emission wavelengths, so that the combined wavelengths and luminances of the selected primary emission wavelengths are complementary and sum to a standard illuminant white point.
Consider claim 71, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the variable-wavelength LED is a device subpixel which is driven to emit the longest primary emission wavelength ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0056], each pixel location corresponding to an image pixel may be associated with three CS-μLEDs from the three display panels), and in which the one or more shorter primary emission wavelengths are provided by driving a second LED subpixel ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0056], each pixel location corresponding to an image pixel may be associated with three CS-μLEDs from the three display panels).
Consider claim 72, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the selected primary emission wavelengths are varied between display frames ([0071], the display system may display two or three primary colors with particular brightness sequentially in time and produce the desired color corresponding to the combination of these two or three sequentially displayed colors), the selected primary emission wavelengths being variable within the palette of N available primary emission wavelengths ([0054], N number of primary colors).
Consider claim 73, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of selecting a set of three primary emission wavelengths from the N available primary emission wavelengths [0059], and driving the display device to emit light at the three selected primary emission wavelengths, so that the output signal is a combination of light emitted at the three selected primary emission wavelengths ([0059], the system may control three CS-μLEDs of the respective display panels that are associated with that particular pixel location to produce three primary colors with pre-determined luminance values that are controlled by setting the PWM value. These three primary colors with particular luminance values, in combination, may produce the identified pre-determined color that may be used as an approximation of the desired color with the desired brightness level), optionally comprising a step of selecting a set of three primary wavelengths for each display frame, the three selected primary emission wavelengths being combinable to display the output signal for each respective display frame.
Consider claim 74, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of identifying the output signal to be displayed comprises receiving a signal indicating the output chromaticity and output luminance which is to be displayed by the pixel or subpixel during a display frame ([0079], frame, color and brightness).
Consider claim 75, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62.
Buckley does not appear to specifically disclose the step of shortening the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength by between 10 nm and 65 nm, or between 20 nm and 50 nm, and/or in which the step of adjusting the duty cycles of the one or more shorter primary emission wavelengths comprises increasing the duty cycles by between 10% and 95%.
However, Buckley teaches adjusting or shifting colors and adjusting PWM or duty cycles in [0052-0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to provide a particular adjustment in order to provide a plurality of colors and/or luminance as suggested by Buckley in [0052]. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Consider claim 77, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches in which the display device is a field-sequential display, and in which the driving method is a field-sequential driving method for driving a display device [0071], optionally in which the variable-wavelength LED is driven using field-sequential control to emit a plurality of selected primary emission wavelengths in respective sequential subframes of a display frame.
Consider claim 78, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches driving the variable-wavelength LED with a first subfield of driving conditions for a first duty cycle to emit a first primary emission wavelength λp1 of the device, with a first luminance L1 ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0053], PWM or duty cycle); driving the variable-wavelength LED, or a separate LED subpixel of the display device, with a second subfield of driving conditions for a second duty cycle to emit a second primary emission wavelength λp2 of the device, with a second luminance L2 ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0053], PWM or duty cycle), so that the light emitted at the first and second primary emission wavelengths forms an output signal with an output chromaticity and output luminance Lo ([0052] and [0054], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), the output signal fulfilling a white-balance condition ([0054], the intensities of these red, green, and blue colors may be set in respective values that allow the three colors to produce a D65 white point 405 in combination); adjusting the first subfield of driving conditions to adjust the wavelength of the first primary emission wavelength λp1 to an adjusted first primary wavelength λp1’, so that driving the variable- wavelength LED to emit the adjusted first primary wavelength λp1’ for the first duty cycle results in an adjusted first luminance L1'([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve. [0053], PWM or duty cycle); and adjusting the second duty cycle to control the second luminance L2 ([0053], PWM or duty cycle), to maintain the white-balance condition of the output signal ([0054], white point), optionally in which the second duty cycle is adjusted to control the second luminance L2 without adjusting the second primary emission wavelength λp2.
Consider claim 79, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 78. In addition, Buckley teaches the first primary emission wavelength λp1 is the longest of the primary emission wavelengths λp1 of the device ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve (e.g. red)), optionally in which the second primary emission wavelength λp2 is shorter than the first primary emission wavelength λp1, and the second duty cycle is shorter than the first duty cycle.
Consider claim 80, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 78. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of, when the output luminance Lo is below a threshold minimum luminance, shortening the wavelength of the first primary emission wavelength to increase the first luminance L1 ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve (e.g. bright red in relation to dark red (below threshold); see for example, Wikipedia, visible spectrum)), and increasing the second duty cycle to increase the second luminance L2 of the second primary emission wavelength and maintain the white-balance of the output ([0054], the intensities of these red, green, and blue colors may be set in respective values that allow the three colors to produce a D65 white point 405 in combination. [0053], a longer duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a higher brightness level), optionally comprising the step of, when the output luminance Lo is below a threshold luminance, increasing the output luminance Lo by shortening the wavelength of the first primary emission wavelength so that λp1’ < λp1 and the first duty cycle produces an increased first luminance such that L1' > L1, in which the step of adjusting the second duty cycle.
Consider claim 81, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 78. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of, in response to an input signal to reduce output luminance Lo to increase the displayable are of the color gamut ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve), lengthening the wavelength of the first primary emission wavelength λp1 so that λp1’ > λp1 and the first duty cycle produces a reduced first luminance such that L1’< L1 ([0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve, (e.g. bright red in relation to dark red; see for example, Wikipedia, visible spectrum), in which the step of adjusting the second duty cycle comprises shortening the second duty cycle to reduce the second luminance L2 ([0053], a shorter duty cycle of the PWM signals may generate a visual effect corresponding to a lower brightness level).
Consider claim 82, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 78. In addition, Buckley teaches the variable-wavelength LED is a device pixel which is configured to emit a set of two primary emission wavelengths within the emission range of the variable-wavelength LED ([0071], two or three primary colors, two or three sequentially display colors. Frame including three display panels), and the method comprises driving the variable-wavelength LED in a field-sequential manner, in which the first and second subfields of driving conditions are supplied to the variable-wavelength LED in discrete sequential subframes of a display frame [0071], so that the variable-wavelength LED emits the first primary emission wavelength λp1 and the second primary emission wavelength λp2 in respective subframes [0071].
Consider claim 83, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62. In addition, Buckley teaches the step of selecting first, second and third primary emission wavelengths which are red (R), green (G) and blue (B) primary emission wavelengths respectively [0054], and in which the three corresponding driving subfields are such driving conditions as drive the variable- wavelength LED to emit R, G and B respectively [0054], [0071], optionally in which the variable-wavelength LED emits red light in response to the first driving subfield, green light in response to the second driving subfield, and blue light in response to the third driving subfield.
Claim(s) 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley as applied to claim 62 above, and further in view of Tani et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0345376 (hereinafter Tani).
Consider claim 76, Buckley teaches all the limitations of claim 62.
Buckley does not appear to specifically disclose in which the duty cycle which drives the longest primary emission wavelength is not adjusted when the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength is adjusted, optionally in which the longest primary emission wavelength is driven with a 100% duty cycle.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Tani teaches display device and duty control in figures 3-5 and further teaches the duty driving is omitted when video variation is determined to be less than threshold. Thus, the combination teaches in which the duty cycle which drives the longest primary emission wavelength is not adjusted (Tani: duty driving is omitted; Buckley: [0052], the CS-μLEDs may emit any colors of particular brightness levels along the color shifting curve (e.g. bright red or dark red)) when the wavelength of the longest primary emission wavelength is adjusted (bright red or dark red) optionally in which the longest primary emission wavelength is driven with a 100% duty cycle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to omit duty driving as taught by Tani in order to reduce unnecessary power consumption as suggested in [0090].
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621