DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a shaft and gear…configured to rotate integrally with the rotating electrical machine” in lines 3-4. As disclosed in the specification, the stator (22) of the rotating electrical machine (20) does not rotate. Only the rotor (21) of the rotating electrical machine rotates. It is unclear to the Examiner how the stator of the rotating electrical machine can rotate integrally with the shaft and gear if the stator is a stationary part of the device. It is assumed that the shaft and the gear rotate with the rotor of the rotating electrical machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KASAHARA et al. (US 2022/0320953) in view of NAKADERA et al. (EP 3279515 A1).
Regarding claim 4, KASAHARA discloses a unit (1) comprising: a rotating electrical machine (2); a shaft (22) and a gear (71) coaxially disposed with the rotating electrical machine and configured to rotate integrally with the rotating electrical machine; a differential gear (shown in the figures, but not labeled) connected downstream of the shaft; a differential case (to which ring gear 74 is connected) configured to accommodate the differential gear; and a grounding body (6, Fig. 7) in contact with the shaft (22), and the gear (71) is located between the rotating electrical machine (2) and the grounding body (6).
KASAHARA does not disclose the grounding body has a portion that overlaps the differential case when viewed in a radial direction.
NAKADERA teaches (sees Fig. 3 and 15) the grounding body (70, at the end of shaft 59) has a portion that overlaps the differential case (@ 28) when viewed in a radial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the layout of the unit disclosed by KASAHARA such that the grounding body would have a portion that overlaps the differential case when viewed in a radial direction, as taught by NAKADERA since it has been held that where the prior art teaches that rearranging the elements of an invention, only involves routine skill in the art. And a person of ordinary skill in the art, would relocate the differential housing of KASAHARA to the other side of the gear (71) for better packaging and/ or weight distribution.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KASAHARA et al. (US 2022/0320953) in view of NAKADERA et al. (EP 3279515 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of AIKAWA et al. (US 7,990,004 B2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KASAHARA- NAKADERA discloses a distal end of the shaft (22) located between the grounding body (6) and the gear (71), but does not disclose this end not being supported by a bearing.
AIKAWA teaches a unit having a shaft (57) having a distal end (@ 77) that is not supported by a bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit disclosed by the combination of KASAHARA- NAKADERA such that the distal end of the shaft would not be supported by a bearing, as taught by AIKAWA, since the location of a bearing is a matter of design choice. The art teaches that in a transmission system having an electric motor, an idle shaft, and a differential, one of ordinary skill has the option of having a bearing at the distal end (shown in KARAHARA), or not having a bearing at the distal end (taught by AIKAWA. Both inventions allow for the transmission of torque from the motor to the differential. The placement of the bearing is a decision that is made based on loads, speeds, packaging constraints, etc.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KASAHARA-NAKADERA-AIKAWA discloses a sealing member (A, in the annotated Figure 1 below) located between the grounding body and the gear.
Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 15 of NAKADERA
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655