Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 9/15/2026, wherein claim 1 was amended, claims 6-20 are new. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The term “support materials” in claim 10 renders the claim indefinite. What is the underlying structure of the support materials? Are these materials ribs? If so, are the ribs a different material? The specification fails to further elaborate on the underlying structure of the support materials. The drawings do not provide much clarity on the structure of the support materials. For example figure 1 and 2 do not show a thickness present at the cross-section, this would mean that the support structures are not ring shaped items (protruding ribs). Based on the drawings, it would appear that the support materials are columns. However, this may contradict the gas passage being radially continuous (though this phrase receives a 112b rejection below). This also contradicts the claim language of “support materials distributed in a radial direction and a circumferential direction”. As a 3-dimensional object, the materials would be distributed all over. Overall the shape and configuration of the support materials are unclear.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “wherein the gas passage is a radially continuous space extending along the inner tank roof from a central part of the inner tank roof to the vicinity of an outer edge of the inner tank” in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite. What are the limitations of the term "radially continuous"? This specification doesn’t appear to outright define the term radially continuous. [0025] appears to use the phrase, however, doesn’t provide a definition and a portion of [0025] appears to contradict the embodiment of figure 5 (which is latter claimed). Earlier in the claim, it states “a gas passage provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part”. This would include feature 45 as part of the gas passage. In fact, this statement implies that 45 (without R1) could alone be considered the gas passage. However 45 alone would not reach the vicinity of an outer edge of the inner tank. Regardless the exit point of 45 appears to be required within the gas passage. Further, the area of the center of the inner roof part is open on both horizontal ends, meaning that the gas passage is not defined by bounds. With this view, the actual radius of the gas passage changes from the center to the outer edge. Would the present inventions variations in radius for the gas passage contradict the term radially continuous? It is noted however that gas can flow freely from around S3 to an edge of the inner tank roof (within 43). However, is this considered radially continuous? Lastly the embodiment of figure 1 features “support materials” 72 or other embodiments feature fences 205 that are distributed in the radial and circumferential direction. Wouldn’t these also change the radius of the gas passage R1? As such the phrase shall be broadly interpreted such that gas can flow freely from the center of the inner tank roof (including a starting point within the roof/inner tank) to an outer edge of the inner tank roof (including within the roof/tank). Alternatively, this could be interpreted as the gas passage being from the entry point of a pipe (like 45) to a vicinity of an outer edge (near the outer edge of 45 connected to pipe), at least from the language of claim 1. Further the term “central part” can have broad terms of interpretation, similar to central portion. Additionally, in figure 1, insulation 57a is located over the outer edge of the tank. Therefore the vicinity of the outer edge of the tank shall be broadly interpreted. Further, the entirety of the area between the inner and intermediate tank is taught to be gas permeable, for example the insulation and partition are gas permeable features. The gas passage is not the bounds of a limited area in which gas can only pass through. Overall it is unclear the limitation “radially continuous” is placing on the gas passage. Further, particular definitions (a singular radius for the entire gas passage) would contradict seemingly all embodiments. Dependent claim 20 discusses a width increase from the center to the a radially outer side of the gas passage. How is this considered radially continuous. Claims 2-20 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Egami (JP 2022186098 A).
With respect to claim 1, Egami discloses a multiple shell liquefied hydrogen storage tank for storing liquefied hydrogen, the liquefied hydrogen storage tank comprising: an inner tank (3) including an inner tank roof (top) and an inner tank side plate (bottom/side) to define a storage space for the liquefied hydrogen; an intermediate tank (4) including an intermediate tank roof (top of 4) above the inner tank roof (top of 3) and an intermediate tank side plate (bottom/side of 4) outside the inner tank side plate; an outer tank (5) that houses the intermediate tank inside the outer tank; a heat insulation space (space between top of 3 and 4) including a roof space part between the inner tank roof and the intermediate tank roof, and a side space part (space between sides of 3 and 4) between the inner tank side plate and the intermediate tank side plate; a heat insulation material (93) disposed in the heat insulation space; a communication pipe (21) that penetrates the inner tank roof; and a gas passage (space/passage within 21 connecting to 63) provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part, wherein the gas passage is a radially continuous space extending along the inner tank roof from a central part (21, can broadly be considered part of a central portion of the ceiling, does not require absolute center) of the inner tank roof to the vicinity of an outer edge of the inner tank (exiting area of 21 can be considered in the vicinity of the edge the outer edge of the inner tank that forms the communication pipe).
Examiner Note: “a gas passage provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part.“ can be broadly interpreted. The only positive structural language is “a gas passage provided in the roof space part”. The other portion of the claim is intended function. Technically insulation powder or any material with pores can allow for gas to flow between these features. For example, the insulating material is taught on pages 3-4 [0017] as perlite or glass wool which allows gas to flow to the side part.
With respect to claim 2, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the gas passage (21) is formed in a lower area of the roof space part that is in contact with the inner tank roof.
Examiner Note: Lower area is up to viewer interpretation. For example, the gas passage is not at the apex and therefore can be considered a lower area relative to the apex.
With respect to claim 4, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the heat insulation material includes a powdered heat insulation (perlite consider only the side space part) material disposed in the side space part, and a shield (other portion of the insulation) is provided at a radially outer end of the gas passage to prevent the powdered heat insulation material from flowing into the gas passage.
Examiner Note: Perlite is taught on pages 3-4 [0017]. Note the powdered heat insulation is considered to be only the perlite in the side space part. The shield is considered to be the insulation/perlite in the top portion, which includes a radially outer end of the gas passage. The presence of the shield inhibits the powdered heat insulation (the side part insulation) from flowing into the glass passage.
With respect to claim 5, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the heat insulation material includes a fixed-shape heat (pages 3-4 [0017] ) insulation material disposed along a lower surface of the intermediate tank roof (4), and the gas passage is formed below the fixed-shape heat insulation material. (the passage is inherently below the insulation)
Examiner Note: Present application describes glass wool as capable of being the fixed-shape material.
With respect to claim 12, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 4, wherein the powdered heat insulation material includes at least one of perlite and glass bubbles. (pages 3-4 [0017])
With respect to claim 17, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 5, wherein a height of the fixed-shape heat insulation material (can consider insulation height from intermediate tank to 83) is shorter than a distance from the inner tank roof to the intermediate tank roof such that a gap is formed between a bottom surface of the fixed- shape heat insulation material and the inner tank roof (essentially gap from inner tank to 83).
Claim(s) 1-5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Egami (AU 2022234069 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Egami discloses a multiple shell liquefied hydrogen storage tank for storing liquefied hydrogen, the liquefied hydrogen storage tank comprising: an inner tank (3) including an inner tank roof (top) and an inner tank side plate (bottom/side) to define a storage space for the liquefied hydrogen; an intermediate tank (4) including an intermediate tank roof (top of 4) above the inner tank roof (top of 3) and an intermediate tank side plate (bottom/side of 4) outside the inner tank side plate; an outer tank (5) that houses the intermediate tank inside the outer tank; a heat insulation space (space between top of 3 and 4) including a roof space part between the inner tank roof and the intermediate tank roof, and a side space part (space between sides of 3 and 4) between the inner tank side plate and the intermediate tank side plate; a heat insulation material (93) disposed in the heat insulation space; a communication pipe (81) that penetrates the inner tank roof; and a gas passage (space/passage within 81) provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part (allows gas entry into insulation which is made of glass permeable materials such perlite and glass wool), wherein the gas passage is a radially continuous space extending along the inner tank roof from a central part (3 around to 81) of the inner tank roof to the vicinity of an outer edge of the inner tank (can consider outer edge of 34 as outer/exterior edge of the inner tank).
Examiner Note: “a gas passage provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part.“ can be broadly interpreted. The only positive structural language is “a gas passage provided in the roof space part”. The other portion of the claim is intended function. Technically insulation powder or any material with pores can allow for gas to flow between these features. For example, the insulating material is taught on pages 3-4 [0017] as perlite or glass wool which allows gas to flow to the side part. Lastly due to the 112 rejection above, one can broadly interpret the gas passage as gas is capable of movement throughout the area between the inner and intermediate tank.
With respect to claim 2, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the gas passage is formed in a lower area of the roof space part that is in contact with the inner tank roof. (gas permeable material used for 93, meaning that there is a gas passage connected to the inner tank roof.)
With respect to claim 3, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 2, wherein the gas passage is formed below a partition wall (83) that vertically partitions the roof space part, and the heat insulation (93) material includes a powdered heat insulation material (page 5 [0019]) disposed above the partition wall.
With respect to claim 4, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1 , wherein the heat insulation material includes a powdered heat insulation material (page 5 [0019]) disposed in the side space part, and a shield (82) is provided at a radially outer end of the gas passage to prevent the powdered heat insulation material from flowing into the gas passage.
With respect to claim 5, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the heat insulation material includes a fixed-shape heat (pages 5 [0019] ) insulation material disposed along a lower surface of the intermediate tank roof (4), and the gas passage is formed below the fixed-shape heat insulation material. (the passage is inherently below the insulation)
Examiner Note: Present application describes glass wool as capable of being the fixed-shape material.
With respect to claim 10, Egami discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 3, wherein the partition wall is supported above the inner tank roof by support materials distributed in a radial direction and a circumferential direction. (can considered downward protrusion portion of 83 as the support materials and horizontal portion of 83 as the partition wall. As a 3 dimensional object, this feature exists in all three directions.)
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 6-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 2195077 A).
With respect to claim 1, Brown discloses a multiple shell liquefied hydrogen storage tank for storing liquefied hydrogen, the liquefied hydrogen storage tank comprising: an inner tank (17) including an inner tank roof (top) and an inner tank side plate (bottom/side) to define a storage space for the liquefied hydrogen; an intermediate tank (8) including an intermediate tank roof (top of 8) above the inner tank roof (top of 7) and an intermediate tank side plate (bottom/side of 8) outside the inner tank side plate; an outer tank (6) that houses the intermediate tank inside the outer tank; a heat insulation space (space between 37 and 17) including a roof space part between the inner tank roof and the intermediate tank roof, and a side space part (space between sides of 7 and 8) between the inner tank side plate and the intermediate tank side plate; a heat insulation material (40, 46) disposed in the heat insulation space; a communication pipe (44) that penetrates the inner tank roof; and a gas passage (space/passage within 44 connecting to 45) provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part , wherein the gas passage is a radially continuous space extending along the inner tank roof from a central part (top portion of 17 towards 44, can broadly be considered part of a central portion of the ceiling, does not require absolute center) of the inner tank roof to the vicinity of an outer edge of the inner tank (exiting area of 44 can be considered in the vicinity of the edge the outer edge of the inner tank that forms the communication pipe)
Examiner Note: “a gas passage provided in the roof space part to allow gas to flow between an upper opening of the communication pipe and the side space part.“ can be broadly interpreted. The only positive structural language is “a gas passage provided in the roof space part”. The other portion of the claim is intended function. Technically insulation powder or any material with pores can allow for gas to flow between these features.
With respect to claim 2, Brown discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the gas passage (space/passage within 44/45) is formed in a lower area of the roof space part that is in contact with the inner tank roof.
With respect to claim 5, Brown discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the heat insulation material includes a fixed-shape heat (page 2 col 2 lines 69-70) insulation material disposed along a lower surface of the intermediate tank roof (37), and the gas passage is formed below the fixed-shape heat insulation material. (the passage is inherently below the insulation)
With respect to claim 6, Brown discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the communication pipe (44) penetrates a central part of the inner tank roof, and the upper opening of the communication pipe opens into a central part of the gas passage (can be considered central with respect to the longitudinal axis).
Examiner Note: As stated in the 112b, the bounds of the gas passage are unclear.
With respect to claim 7, Brown discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 1, wherein the communication pipe includes the upper opening (top of 44) that opens into the heat insulation space and a lower opening (bottom of 44) that opens into a vapor phase space formed in an upper part of the inner tank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2195077 A) in view of Loveday (US 2677938 A).
With respect to claim 3, Brown discloses the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 2, wherein the gas passage is formed below a partition wall (45) that vertically partitions the roof space part, and the heat insulation material (46). Brown failed to disclose of the heat insulation material includes a powdered heat insulation material disposed above the partition wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely liquified gas storage, Loveday taught of the usage of perlite powder due to its very low resistance to flow of gas and vapor and it is economical (column 7 lines 60-75). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat insulation of Brown to be a powder such as perlite as taught by Loveday due to its economic value and physical properties.
With respect to claim 11, the references disclose the liquefied hydrogen storage tank according to claim 3, Brown further discloses wherein the partition wall (45) is supported in a suspended state from a lower surface of the intermediate tank roof (8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 13-16, 18-20 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 8 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 3. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the partition wall covers substantially an entire upper surface of the inner tank roof.
Claim 9 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 3. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the partition wall is impermeable to the powdered heat insulation material and permeable to gas.
Claim 13 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 4. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the shield includes an upper end of a cotton-like heat insulation material disposed along the inner tank side plate, the upper end covering the radially outer end of the gas passage.
Consequentially, claims 14-15 are rejected to due to their dependencies on previously rejected claim 4 however they also depend upon the allowable subject matter from claim 13 due to dependencies on claims 13.
Claim 16 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 5. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the fixed-shape heat insulation material includes element heat insulation materials attached to the lower surface of the intermediate tank roof.
Claim 18 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 5. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the heat insulation material includes a powdered heat insulation material disposed in the side space part, and a fence that surrounds the communication pipe and partitions the gas passage in a radial direction is disposed in the gas passage, the fence being permeable to gas and impermeable to the powdered heat insulation material.
Claim 19 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 1. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the gas passage is formed by a cavity inside a hollow member that extends along the inner tank roof from the central part of the inner tank roof to the vicinity of the outer edge of the inner tank.
Consequentially, claims 20 is rejected to due to their dependencies on previously rejected claim 19 however they also depend upon the allowable subject matter from claim 19 due to dependencies on claims 19.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP-2022186098-A OR AU-2022234069-A1 OR US-2195077-A OR US-2677938-A OR US-3101861-A OR US-3207354-A OR US-3147877-A OR US-2777295-A OR US-2871669-A OR US-20240060604-A1 OR US-20250333238-A1 OR US-20240151354-A1 OR US-20160137272-A1 OR US-20100078439-A1 OR US-20090283176-A1 OR US-20250074695-A1 OR US-20210086978-A1 OR US-4694663-A OR US-5038456-A OR US-3566824-A OR US-4989750-A OR US-3903824-A
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant believes the amended material overcomes the prior art rejection. Upon further review of the language, the amendments do not overcome the prior art. Specifically, the gas passage starting "The amended material leaves a few questions such as, what does “radially continuous” mean? Is there a definition that all claimed embodiments meet? Therefore making interpretation difficult.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735