DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits of application 19/152,974. Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 13, 16, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202018101149 U1 (DE ‘149).
Regarding claim 1, DE ‘149 discloses:
A lifting column (1) for lifting a vehicle (“Agricultural Vehicles”, title), the lifting column comprising:
a frame (10, 12, 14) comprising a ground support (10), and the frame being provided with a movable carrier (15) having an engagement element (18) that is configured for engaging the vehicle at a jack point (part of vehicle that contacts 18) when carrying the vehicle; and
a lifting mechanism with a drive (“For lifting and lowering a drive is provided which raises or lowers the load bearing means of the jack.” page 1, paragraph 3, lines 3-4 of the attached machine translation) which acts on the carrier and is configured for raising and/or lowering the carrier relative to the frame,
wherein the ground support comprises:
- two leg supports (22) that extend under the vehicle when lifting the vehicle, and wherein the two leg supports are configured for providing stability in a first direction (parallel to 22); and
- side supports (left and right sides of 21) configured for providing stability in a second direction (perpendicular to 22) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 2, DE ‘149 further discloses:
wherein the side supports (21) extend beyond the leg supports in a width direction of the lifting column (ends of 21 at each part 26 extend beyond each 22 in the width direction of 1).
Regarding claim 3, DE ‘149 further discloses:
wherein the side supports extend substantially parallel to the carrier (21 extend parallel to 17 of carrier 15) with the engagement element, and wherein the leg supports extend beyond the carrier (each 22 extends beyond each 18 in the direction away from the column).
Regarding claim 5, DE ‘149 further discloses:
wherein the leg supports (22) are positioned such that the leg supports are on one side (side toward the column) of the wheel (23) when lifting the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, DE ‘149 further discloses:
wherein the engagement element (18) can be extended and retracted relative to the frame (“The two lifting arms 18 are movable and lockable on the connection carrier 17 arranged so that the distance between the two lifting arms 18 can be adjusted.” page 3, last paragraph, lines 2-3) and/or wherein the engagement element can be raised and/or lowered relative to the carrier.
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘149 further discloses:
wherein the leg supports (22) are positioned on both sides of the carrier (left and right of carrier 15) and asymmetrically relative to the carrier (legs 22 are arranged such that one can be placed as shown in figure 1 and the other can be placed in recess 27, resulting in legs 22 being asymmetrical relative to 15).
Regarding claim 13, DE ‘149 further discloses:
further comprising a side-shift mechanism (26, 27) for the leg supports.
Regarding claim 16, DE ‘149 further discloses:
further comprising an adjustment mechanism (26, 27) that enables sideways adjustment of leg supports.
Regarding claim 20, DE ‘149 discloses:
A lifting system (figure 1) comprising at least one lifting column (1), wherein the lifting column comprising:
a frame (10, 12, 14) comprising a ground support (10), and the frame being provided with a movable carrier (15) having an engagement element (18) that is configured for engaging the vehicle at a jack point (part of vehicle that contacts 18) when carrying the vehicle; and
a lifting mechanism with a drive (“For lifting and lowering a drive is provided which raises or lowers the load bearing means of the jack.” page 1, paragraph 3, lines 3-4 of the attached machine translation) which acts on the carrier and is configured for raising and/or lowering the carrier relative to the frame,
wherein the ground support comprises:
- two leg supports (22) that extend under the vehicle when lifting the vehicle, and wherein the two leg supports are configured for providing stability in a first direction (parallel to 22); and
- side supports (left and right sides of 21) configured for providing stability in a second direction (perpendicular to 22) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 21, DE ‘149 discloses:
A method for lifting a vehicle, comprising the steps of:
providing a lifting system with at least one lifting column (1), wherein the lifting column comprising:
a frame (10, 12, 14) comprising a ground support (10), and the frame being provided with a movable carrier (15) having an engagement element (18) that is configured for engaging the vehicle at a jack point (part of vehicle that contacts 18) when carrying the vehicle; and
a lifting mechanism with a drive (“For lifting and lowering a drive is provided which raises or lowers the load bearing means of the jack.” page 1, paragraph 3, lines 3-4 of the attached machine translation) which acts on the carrier and is configured for raising and/or lowering the carrier relative to the frame,
wherein the ground support comprises:
- two leg supports (22) that extend under the vehicle when lifting the vehicle, and wherein the two leg supports are configured for providing stability in a first direction (parallel to 22); and
- side supports (left and right sides of 21) configured for providing stability in a second direction (perpendicular to 22) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction;
- positioning the lifting column relative to the vehicle (“The first lifting device 1 is typically arranged frontally to the agricultural utility vehicle,” page 4, lines 2-3); and
- engaging the vehicle at a jack point (portion of the agricultural vehicle that contacts arms 18) and lifting the vehicle.
Regarding claim 22, DE ‘149 further discloses:
further comprising the step of selecting and mounting an engagement element (lift arms 18 are selected and adjustably mounted along carrier 17).
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 4984657 A (Burns).
Regarding claim 1, Burns discloses:
A lifting column (10) for lifting a vehicle (“Small Tractors”, title), the lifting column comprising:
a frame (14, 16) comprising a ground support (16), and the frame being provided with a movable carrier (12) having an engagement element (32C) that is configured for engaging the vehicle at a jack point (part of vehicle that contacts 32C) when carrying the vehicle; and
a lifting mechanism with a drive (66) which acts on the carrier and is configured for raising and/or lowering the carrier relative to the frame,
wherein the ground support comprises:
- two leg supports (78) that extend under the vehicle when lifting the vehicle, and wherein the two leg supports are configured for providing stability in a first direction (parallel to 78); and
- side supports (82) configured for providing stability in a second direction (perpendicular to 78) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Burns further discloses:
wherein the side supports extend substantially parallel to the carrier (each 82 extends parallel to supports 22 of the carrier 12) with the engagement element, and wherein the leg supports extend beyond the carrier (each 78 extends beyond each 12 in the direction away from the column).
Regarding claim 4, Burns further discloses:
wherein the leg supports (78) are connected to each other at their free ends (each 78 is connected to the other at the ends away from lift column 14 by support 82).
Regarding claim 6, Burns further discloses:
wherein the carrier (12) is at least partly removable from the frame to enable changing the engagement element (“The open notches 104 also permit easy lifting and removal of the ramp structures 98 from the tubes when desired.” col. 6, lines 24-26, structures 98 are part of the carrier 12).
Claims 1, 10, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230016375 A1 (Rodewald et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Rodewald et al. disclose:
A lifting column (100) for lifting a vehicle (“Vehicle Lift”, title), the lifting column comprising:
- a frame (108, 104a, 104b, side supports, annotated figure 1a) comprising a ground support (104a, 104b, side supports), and the frame being provided with a movable carrier (106) having an engagement element (128a) that is configured for engaging the vehicle at a jack point (part of vehicle that contacts 128a) when carrying the vehicle; and
- a lifting mechanism with a drive (112) which acts on the carrier and is configured for raising and/or lowering the carrier relative to the frame,
Figure 1a of Rodewald et al., annotated by the Examiner
wherein the ground support comprises:
- two leg supports (104a, 104b) that extend under the vehicle when lifting the vehicle, and wherein the two leg supports are configured for providing stability in a first direction (left/right direction, figure 2); and
- side supports (side supports, annotated figure 1a) configured for providing stability in a second direction (left/right direction, figure 3) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Rodewald et al. further disclose:
wherein the carrier comprises a rotation axis (126a) to enable rotation of the carrier relative to the frame and wherein the rotation axis extends in a substantially vertical direction (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 12, Rodewald et al. further disclose:
further comprising a load sensor configured for determining the load that is carried by the carrier (paragraph [0056], lines 13-14, “load sensors identifying the load on the lifting member 122,”).
Regarding claim 14, Rodewald et al. further disclose:
further comprising a steering mechanism with two or more steering wheels (114).
Regarding claim 15, Rodewald et al. further disclose:
wherein the steering wheels are placed at a mutual distance that is larger than a width of a mast (108) of the frame (figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202018101149 U1 (DE ‘149) in view of US 2252534 A (Trotter).
Regarding claim 17, DE ‘149 teaches:
The lifting column according to claim 16.
DE ‘149 does not teach:
wherein the adjustment mechanism is configured for connecting a leg support to a side support with a gear assembly.
However, Trotter teaches:
A lifting device with leg supports (5) and side supports (left and right sides of 2, figure 1), and
wherein the adjustment mechanism (3, 25, 26) is configured for connecting a leg support to a side support with a gear assembly (screw 3 and gears 25, 26 adjust the position between the leg supports and side supports, moving leg supports 5 toward or away from each other along side supports 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a gear assembly adjustment mechanism as taught by Trotter in the lifting column of DE ‘149 to make the leg supports adjustable in multiple positions rather than the two positions taught by DE ‘149.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202018101149 U1 (DE ‘149) in view of DE 102007020041 A1 (Seeliger et al.) and further in view of FR 3100199 A1 (Laurens).
Regarding claim 18, DE ‘149 teaches:
The lifting column according to claim 16.
DE ‘149 does not teach:
further comprising a spring loaded adapter configured for engaging a vehicle, and a mirror configured for checking engagement with the vehicle.
However, Seeliger et al. teach:
A lifting column, and
further comprising a spring loaded adapter (1, figure 6) configured for engaging a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spring loaded adapter as taught by Seeliger et al. with the lifting column of DE ‘149 to automatically lock the position of the lift arms when under load. The lift arms of DE ‘149 are adjustable along the carrier, the spring loaded mechanism of Seeliger et al. provides “automatic, mechanical security between the support arm 1 and the support member 2” abstract of Seeliger et al., lines 4-5 of the attached machine translation.
DE ‘149 and Seeliger et al. do not teach a mirror.
However, Laurens teaches:
A device for checking engagement with a vehicle, and
a mirror (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mirror as taught by Laurens with the lifting column of DE ‘149 and Seeliger et al. for comfort of the operator of the lift during positioning of the vehicle. “In addition, the mirror part of the assistance device according to the invention allows an operator to observe the light print of the laser beam under the body while remaining in a standing position without having to contort himself.” Laurens, page 2 of the attached machine translation, lines 14-17.
Regarding claim 19, Seeliger et al. further teach:
wherein the adapter further comprising an axial play (vertically along spring 13) configured for allowing some movement of the column during positioning thereof (the column 10 moves relative to the adapter during positioning).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-3271006-A, US-4506866-A, US-4599034-A, US-5236065-A, US-5911408-A, US-20040146384-A1, US-7168904-B1, US-8282075-B2, US-20150232309-A1, US-9624077-B1, US-9868621-B2, US-10076931-B2, US-10676332-B2, US-20210122619-A1, US-20220073326-A1, US-11905151-B2, CN-104760904-A, and EP-3222577-A1 are cited to show vehicle lifts with support legs and at least one of wheels, pivotable carriers, and a method for lifting a vehicle.
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654