DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, line 1, it is not clear as to what applicant’s invention includes in that the figures disclose an inflatable vest. However, claim 1, line 1, claims “An airbag” that is for “ a safety arrangement”. The Specification lists many other airbag uses such as the airbag being for use in an automobile or motorcycle. The present invention appears to be to an inflatable garment or vest. Therefore, it appears that the airbag should be claimed as being for a garment or a vest that is to be worn by a wearer that is riding within or on a vehicle.
IN claim 5, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for “The entire extent”. In claim 5, line 4, there is no antecedent basis for “The structure of said layers”.
In claim 6, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for “The structure pf said layers”.
In claim 7, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for “the structure of said layers”.
In claim 16, line 3. There is no antecedent basis for “The structure of said layers”.
However, the claims, as best understood, have been examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,8, 10-15 and 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by Yanagisawa (US 2022/0232910 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Yanagisawa discloses an airbag in figure 1 of airbag device 51’, for a safety arrangement, the air bag comprising a pair of super imposed fabric layers of 6A, 6B of inner wall 10A, inner panel 21, outer wall 10b, outer panel 22’, interconnected by a peripheral seam to define an inflatable chamber in para. (0026) and is formed into a bag inflatable into a substantially board shape by joining circumferential edges of the inner wall 10a and outer wall 10b together and wherein a receipt of inflating gas between the fabric layers, the peripheral seam defining at leas part of a periphery of the inflatable chamber, wherein the airbag further comprises an integrated fabric socket as in figs. 6A, 6B and an opening formed in the airbag at 15’, defined between super imposed respective edge regions as in figures 6A and 6B, of the fabric layers externa, to the inflatable chamber, the fabric socket being configured to releasably receive and engage an anchor in figures 6A and 6B of a hook and loop fastener 30’ as in para. (0033) for anchoring the airbag in a desired position for use.
In regard to claim 2, the airbag in figure 1 at 51’ according to claim 1 and further wherein the fabric socket at 15 in figure 6A comprises a cavity 15 around which said edge regions of the fabric layers are interconnected to define a socket, the cavity having an opening distal to the inflatable chamber across which said edge regions of the fabric layers are unconnected. (See Yanagisawa et al paras. (0031-0033).
In regard to claim 3, Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ as claimed in claim 3 and wherein the said edge regions as in para. 6A are interconnected by stitching formed around said cavity as in para. (0031)-(0033) and in figs. 6A and 6B.
In regard to claim 4, Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’according to claim 2 and wherein said fabric layer is woven and comprises a plurality of yarns, wherein yarns of one of said layer area interwoven with yarns of the other said layer to interconnect said edge regions of the fabric layers around said cavity and thereby define the socket as disclosed in para. (0028- second sentence).
In regard to claim 8 Yanagisawa discloses the airbag 51’ according to claim 2 and wherein the said opening is defined between the edges of said respective edge regions of the fabric layers as in figs. 6a and 6 B.
In regard to claim 9 Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag at 51’ according to claim 2 and further wherein the cavity extends inwardly from said opening 16 in figure 6A towards the inflatable chamber at 10 .
In regard to claim 10, Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag at 51’ according to claim 2 wherein said cavity has a shape whose width , measured substantially parallel to said super imposed fabric layers is greater proximate said inflatable chamber than across said opening at 15.
In regard to claim 11 Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ according to claim 1 provided in combination with an anchor , the hook and loop fastener, releasably engaged within the fabric socket at 15 in figure 6A.
On regard to claim 12 Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ according to claim 11 wherein said anchor of the hook and loop fastener is provided at the end of a mounting strap or tether which extends out of the fabric socket 12 and away from said edge regions of the fabric layers as in figure 6A.
In regard to claim 13 Yanagisawa et la discloses the airbag as in claim 11 at 51’, wherein said anchor is entirely received within said fabric socket so as to be hidden from view between said super imposed edge regions of the fabric layers as in fig. 1.
In regard to claim 14 Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ according to figure 1 as claimed in claim 1 comprising a plurality of fabric sockets. As in fig. 5.
In regard to claim 15, Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ according to claim 1 provided in the for of a wearable protection device for protection of at least a body of the wearer that is a protective vest as in fig. 1 at 10.
In regard to claim 17 Yanagisawa et al discloses the airbag 51’ as claimed in claim 12 and further wherein said anchor hook and loop fastener is entirely received within said fabric socket 15 in fig. 6A so as to be hidden from view between said super imposed edge regions of the fabric layers. As in figures 6A and 6B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose the yarns of one of the fabric layers as being interwoven with yarns of the other fabric layer to define said peripheral seam as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art references cited disclose various protective airbags for use as a wearable garment while traveling in or on a motor vehicle.
/GLORIA M HALE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732