DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response to Response to Election/Restriction for application 19153346 filed on 08/03/2026. Claims 1-8, 11-17 and 21-23 are presented for examination, of which claims 16, 17 and 21-23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign priority document, Application No. KR10-2023-0015142, filed in Korea on 02/03/2023, has been received.
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0175750 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a three-dimensional image display method (Lee, Figs. 3 and 14) comprising:
an eye position data collection operation of collecting actual eye position data of a user (Lee, Fig. 14, obtain eye position information of user within system 1405);
a virtual display panel preparation operation of preparing a virtual display panel having an augmented reality display specification (Lee, Fig. 14, determine pose information of system 1430 and determine object and pose of object based on pose information of system 1435; Lee, [0056], augmented reality content);
a virtual barrier calculation operation of calculating a virtual barrier based on the actual eye position data and the virtual display panel (Lee, Fig. 14, calculate virtual viewpoints of user with respect to optical system based on eye position information and optical system information; Lee, [0085], parallax barrier);
a virtual display panel pixel assignment operation of assigning pixels of the virtual display panel to correspond to an actual viewpoint of the user, based on the actual eye position data and the virtual barrier (Lee, [0111], assign pixel based on virtual ray based on viewpoint);
a rendering operation of rendering stereo content corresponding to the actual viewpoint of the user (Lee, Fig. 14, render 3D image based on virtual viewpoints and stereo image); and
a display operation of displaying a three-dimensional image based on the assigned pixels and the stereo content (Lee, Fig. 14, output 3D image to user through optical system).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the actual eye position data is collected using an eye-tracking camera (Lee, [0021], a camera configured to generate eye position information of the user within the system).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the actual viewpoint comprises a left eye viewpoint and a right eye viewpoint (Lee, [0075], left and right viewpoint), and
the pixel assignment operation assigns a pixel corresponding to the left eye viewpoint and a pixel corresponding to the right eye viewpoint (Lee, [0075], pixel value assigned based on the viewpoints).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the actual viewpoint comprises a left eye viewpoint and a right eye viewpoint (Lee, [0075], left and right viewpoint), and
the stereo content comprises paired data of content corresponding to the left eye viewpoint and content corresponding to the right eye viewpoint (Lee, [0057], stereo image combines the left and right eye images to create a depth).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the augmented reality display specification comprises a virtual image distance (d) and a viewing angle (θ) (Lee, [0109]-[0110], angles and distances).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the virtual display panel has a first parameter (Lee, [0175], size of the screen), and
the virtual barrier calculation operation calculates a second parameter of the virtual barrier from the augmented reality display specification, the first parameter, and the actual eye position data (Lee, Fig. 14, determine pose information of system 1430 and determine object and pose of object based on pose information of system 1435; Lee, Fig. 14, generate stereo image based on frustum information and object set within graphic space coordinate system 1445 and render 3D image based on virtual viewpoints and stereo image 1450; Lee, [0175], virtual screen also take into consideration of screen size).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a three-dimensional image display device (Lee, Fig. 1, system 100 with HUD 113 to generate 3d graphic) comprising:
a processor (Lee, Fig. 1, processor 112); and
a memory having computer-readable instructions stored thereon (Lee, Fig. 13, memory 1330; Lee, [0129], program),
wherein the processor is configured, when the instructions are executed by the processor, to:
calculate a virtual barrier based on collected actual eye position data of a user and a virtual display panel having an augmented reality display specification (Lee, Fig. 14, determine pose information of system 1430 and determine object and pose of object based on pose information of system 1435; Lee, [0056], augmented reality content; Lee, Fig. 14, calculate virtual viewpoints of user with respect to optical system based on eye position information and optical system information; Lee, [0085], parallax barrier);
assign pixels of the virtual display panel to correspond to an actual viewpoint of the user, based on the actual eye position data and the virtual barrier (Lee, [0111], assign pixel based on virtual ray based on viewpoint);
render stereo content corresponding to the actual viewpoint of the user (Lee, Fig. 14, render 3D image based on virtual viewpoints and stereo image); and
display a three-dimensional image based on the assigned pixels and the stereo content (Lee, Fig. 14, output 3D image to user through optical system).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches the augmented reality display specification comprises a virtual image distance (d) and a viewing angle (θ) (Lee, [0109]-[0110], angles and distances).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches the virtual display panel has a first parameter (Lee, [0175], size of the screen), and
the virtual barrier calculation calculates a second parameter of the virtual barrier from the augmented reality display specification, the first parameter, and the actual eye position data (Lee, Fig. 14, determine pose information of system 1430 and determine object and pose of object based on pose information of system 1435; Lee, Fig. 14, generate stereo image based on frustum information and object set within graphic space coordinate system 1445 and render 3D image based on virtual viewpoints and stereo image 1450; Lee, [0175], virtual screen also take into consideration of screen size).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, what each of the respective first parameter and second parameter comprises of in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0087191 A1 to Edwards discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically adjusting display to display virtual object based on an eye position data of a user, see Figs. 3 and 9.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0087247 A1 to Edwards discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically adjusting display to display virtual object based on an eye position data of a user, see Figs. 3 and 9.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0420428 A1 to Usukura discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically adjusting display to display virtual object based on an eye position data of a user, see Figs. 4-6.
/DONG HUI LIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629