DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file. Claims 1 – 7 are entitled to a priority date of May 19, 2023.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests applicant amend the title to include a pneumatic apparatus driven when compressed air pressure exceeds predetermined level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamichi et al. (hereafter “Nakamichi” – WO 2022/004237).
With regards to Claim 1:
Nakamichi discloses a compressed air energy storage device (Figures 1- 8) comprising:
a compressor (see Figure 2, charging section 100 including compressors 11, 12, 13, and 14) that is driven by an electric motor (compressors individually driven by respective motors 15);
a pressure accumulation tank (storage tank 30) that stores compressed air compressed by the compressor;
an expander (see Figure 3, expanders 23, 24) that is driven by the compressed air stored in the pressure accumulation tank;
a generator (see Figure 3, each expander individually drives respective generators 25) that is driven by the expander; and
a pneumatic pressure supply pipe (see Figure 3, pipes 60, 61) that supplies the compressed air to a pneumatic apparatus (see, Figure 3, expanders 21, 22) driven by a pneumatic pressure, wherein
the compressor compresses air to a pressure exceeding a predetermined pressure set higher than a pneumatic usage pressure for driving the pneumatic apparatus, compressed air whose pressure exceeds the predetermined pressure is supplied to the expander to generate electric power, and compressed air whose pressure is equal to or lower than the predetermined pressure is supplied to the pneumatic apparatus via the pneumatic pressure supply pipe (see Figures 4 – 8 and Paragraphs 52, 62, 72 – 81, a pressure sensor 31 determines pressure at the tank – depending on the pressure, a usage stage calculation unit 42 determines in how many stages the compressed air from the tank can be expanded – an example pressure P2 is shown in Figure 8, leading to determination that the number of stages is 3, with the pressure being higher than a “usage pressure” for expansion in only two stages, see Paragraph 75 – as such, valves 64a, 62a open to allow expanders 23, i.e. the “expander” to receive compressed air for power generation via their respective generators 25, see Paragraph 62 – if the measured pressure at the tank is lower, then the valves 62a, 64a close and valves 61a and 65a open such that compressed air from tank 30 bypasses expanders 23 and directs compressed air only to the recited “pneumatic apparatuses” above, i.e. expander stages 22 and 21, via pipe 61 for power generation).
With regards to Claim 3:
Nakamichi discloses the pneumatic pressure supply pipe includes a pipe (see Figure 3, pipes 61, 65, 60, 66) for connecting the pressure accumulation tank and the pneumatic apparatus to each other.
With regards to Claim 4:
Nakamichi discloses the expander includes a high pressure expander (see Figure 3, expander 24) driven by compressed air from the pressure accumulation tank and a low pressure expander (see Figure 3, expander 23) driven by compressed air discharged from the high pressure expander, and the pneumatic pressure supply pipe includes a pipe (pipes 62, 61) for connecting a pipe (pipe 64) connecting the high pressure expander to the low pressure expander to the pneumatic apparatus (see Figure 3, pipe 64 connects high pressure expander 24 to low pressure expander 23, pipes 62, 61 connect pipe 64 to “pneumatic apparatus” expander 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamichi et al. (hereafter “Nakamichi” – WO 2022/004237) in view of Kim et al. (hereafter “Kim” – US 2009/0200805).
With regards to Claim 7:
Nakamichi does not explicitly disclose a water supply pump that is connected to the pressure accumulation tank and raises a tank pressure of the pressure accumulation tank is provided. Kim (Figure 1) teaches a compressed air energy storage system including a pressure accumulation tank (31), wherein a water supply pump (pump 331) that is connected to the pressure accumulation tank and raises a tank pressure of the pressure accumulation tank is provided (Paragraph 31: “when the compressed air 36 in the first storage tank 31 is supplied to the turbine 40 by day, the pressure sensor 313 senses the decrease of the pressure in the first storage tank 31 and opens the hydraulic pump/motor unit 331 such that the storage water 34 in the second storage tank 32 is transferred to the first storage tank 31, thus uniformly maintaining the pressure in the first storage tank 31”). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, the addition of a water pump to maintain a pressure in the tank during discharge that would have otherwise fallen is known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakamichi to add a water supply pump and associated ancillary components as shown in Kim to the tank of Nakamichi in order to better maintain tank pressure during discharge.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additional References
Please see attached PTO-892 form for additional references which are made of record but not relied upon for the current grounds of rejection.
Kubo (US 2018/0171832) – see Figure 1, tank 8 and valves 30a-30c splitting output of tank 8 to plurality of turbines 11 in a manner similar to that of Nakamichi, with one of the turbines being the “expander” and another turbine being the “pneumatic apparatus”.
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Sunday, June 7, 2026