DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line(s) 2-4, “a computer system comprising a first computer terminal processing server and a second computer terminal” seems to be a grammatical error. Examiner recommends amending it to read -- a computer system comprising a first computer terminal, processing server, and a second computer terminal --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Subject Matter Free of Prior Art
Claim(s) 2-13 are allowable over prior art because the prior art of record fail to expressly teach or suggest, either alone or in combination, the features found within the dependent claims. Because the prior art does not teach or disclose the above features in the specific manner and combinations recited in claims 2-13, claims 2-13 are hereby deemed to be allowable over prior art.
However, the claims are still rejected under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claims as a whole, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter which do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the following analysis:
Claim 1 is drawn to a method which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., method).
Independent claim 1 recites a. Generating a first report, referred to as the expert report, for the medical procedure…; b. …generating at least a second report, referred to as the simplified report, on the basis of the first report; …; d. …generating a digital identifier associated with the patient and with said medical procedure, allowing the patient to access said first and second reports...
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations noted above, as drafted, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people…following rules or instructions), but for the recitation of generic computer components. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to collect data, analyze the data, and provide outputs (i.e., reports) based on the analysis accordingly in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The rules or instructions are the claimed steps as indicated supra. That is, other than reciting generic computer components (discussed infra), the claim amounts to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people following rules or instructions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites additional elements (i.e., a computer system comprising a first computer terminal processing server and a second computer terminal; The processing server transmitting the first and second reports at least to the first computer terminal). Looking to the specifications, a computer system having computer terminals, processing server is described at a high level of generality (¶ 0017-0021), such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Also, although the claims add “The processing server transmitting the first and second reports at least to the first computer terminal,” using a server to transmit data to a computer terminal only provides the output data for the performed abstract idea, and as such, amounts to insignificant extrasolution activity (i.e., post-solution activity), which does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claim. See: MPEP § 2106.05(g). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Reevaluated under step 2B, the additional elements noted above do not provide “significantly more” when taken either individually or as an ordered combination. The use of a general purpose computer or computers (i.e., a computer system having computer terminals, processing server) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and does not impose any meaningful limitation on the computer implementation of the abstract idea, so it does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, the limitations of “The processing server transmitting the first and second reports at least to the first computer terminal” is determined to constitute well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions; receiving or transmitting data over a network has been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. See: MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. The combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology and their collective functions merely provide a conventional computer implementation of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than a recitation of generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, as the courts have found in Parker v. Flook; similarly, the current invention merely limits the claimed calculations to the healthcare industry which does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claim. Therefore, there are no limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-13 include all the limitations of the parent claims and further elaborate on the abstract idea discussed above and incorporated herein.
Claims 2, 5-6, 11 further define the analysis and organization of data for the performance of the abstract idea and do not recite any additional elements. Thus, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not provide “significantly more.”
Claim 3 further recites the additional elements of “the processing server includes a memory wherein are stored, for each report template in the library, at least one predefined set of a plurality of rules for transforming a response in said report into another response and/or at least one predefined grid for selecting responses from the set of responses in said report.” Claim 4 recites “for each report template of the library, are stored in the memory of the processing server: at least one predefined set of a plurality of rules for transforming one question-response pair of said report into another question-response pair and/or at least one predefined grid for selecting question- response pairs from the set of question-response pairs of said report.” Claim 7 recites “for each report template in the library, at least one predefined set of a plurality of transformation rules and/or at least one predefined selection grid associated with a first comprehension level and at least one predefined set of a plurality of transformation rules and/or at least one predefined selection grid associated with a second comprehension level are stored in the memory of the processing server.” Claim 8 recites “the processing server includes a memory wherein at least one lexicon comprising a plurality of predetermined keywords and at least one dictionary associating each keyword in the lexicon with a definition of said keyword are stored.” Claim 9 recites “wherein at least one first dictionary associated with a first comprehension level and at least one second dictionary associated with a second comprehension level are stored in the memory of the processing server.” The recitation of a “memory” is described at a high level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components, and storing data in memory only provides the input data for the performance of the abstract idea, and as such, amounts to insignificant extrasolution activity (i.e., mere data gathering), which does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claim. See: MPEP § 2106.05(g). Also, functional limitations further define the analysis and organization of data for the performance of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. Thus, the claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Reevaluated under step 2B, the recitation of a “memory” still amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components, and storing data in memory is determined to constitute well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions; storing and retrieving information in memory has been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. See: MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Also, functional limitations further define the analysis and organization of data for the performance of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. Thus, the claims as a whole do not provide “significantly more.”
Claim 10 further recites the additional elements of “the processing server includes a computing unit capable of implementing at least one machine learning algorithm trained,” which is only used to generally apply the abstract idea without placing any limits on how the machine learning algorithm functions (i.e., no details about how the function is accomplished) and only recite the outcome of the abstract idea, and thus, provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, and merely indicates a field of use or technological environment (i.e., machine learning) in which the judicial exception is performed. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Also, functional limitations further define the analysis and organization of data for the performance of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. Thus, the claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not provide “significantly more.”
Claim 12 further recites the additional elements of “wherein the second computer terminal is equipped with a software application comprising an interface.” Claim 13 further recites the additional elements of “wherein said software application includes an interface,” which is described at a high level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Also, functional limitations further define the analysis and organization of data for the performance of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. Thus, the claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not provide “significantly more.”
Although the dependent claims add additional limitations, they only serve to further limit the abstract idea by reciting limitations on what the information is and how it is received and used. These information characteristics do not change the fundamental analogy to the abstract idea groupings and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond the abstract idea. Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore, the claims when taken as a whole are ineligible for the same reasons as the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. US 2022/0270729 A1 (hereinafter referred to as "SALIMAN") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. US 2011/0191245 A1 (hereinafter referred to as "Ricciardi").
Regarding (original) claim 1, SALIMAN teaches a method for generating reports for a medical procedure performed on a patient by a healthcare professional; the method being implemented by a computer system comprising a first computer terminal processing server and a second computer terminal (SALIMAN: figure 1a, i.e., system 100 includes “User device” 124, “Server” 102, “Patient Device” 126; ¶ 0026), the method comprising the following steps:
a. Generating a first report, referred to as the expert report, for the medical procedure on the first computer terminal (SALIMAN: figure 3a, i.e., “Receive patient criteria” 310 for “report”; ¶ 0054; ¶ 0056, i.e., “patient criteria may be received. Patient criteria may include…medical procedures performed”);
b. The processing server automatically generating at least a second report, referred to as the simplified report, on the basis of the first report (SALIMAN: ¶ 0075);
c. The processing server transmitting the first and second reports at least to the first computer terminal (SALIMAN: figure 1a, “Server” 102 transmits reports from “Reporting Module” 122 to “User Device” 124; ¶ 0026);
Yet, SALIMAN does not explicitly teach, but Ricciardi teaches, in the same field of endeavor,
d. The processing server and/or the first terminal generating a digital identifier associated with the patient and with said medical procedure, allowing the patient to access said first and second reports via the second computer terminal (Ricciardi: ¶ 0028, i.e., “A novel EPID 308 is assigned to each patient”; ¶ 0029, i.e., “The EPIDs 308 are read into the patient identifier decoding software 402, located on the PCP system 108, and the original PID 304 is recreated. The PID 304 may be used as a key to look up additional identifying information from the EMR database 302”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include The processing server and/or the first terminal generating a digital identifier associated with the patient and with said medical procedure, allowing the patient to access said first and second reports via the second computer terminal, as taught by Ricciardi, within the system of SALIMAN, with the motivation of “provide more useful information to third parties such as pharmaceutical companies, medical device companies and physicians about the effects and risks of particular treatments, while minimizing the risk of disclosing patient-identifying information to third parties” (Ricciardi: ¶ 0030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0268543 A1 teaches generating a consolidated report with an original report related to a healthcare episode and displaying both reports simultaneously.
WO 2018/065613 A1 teaches creating report summaries by automatically emphasizing and/or de-emphasizing items in a view of a medical report that might be of interest to the user according to pre-defined templates.
“Creating genetic reports that are understood by nonspecialists: a case study” teaches producing reports with a patient-friendly generic report template and modifying it for specific scenarios.
/EMILY HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683