DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 19/153,747 filed 8/5/2025.
Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John Sidney Stewart, Pub No US 2003/0140348 (hereafter Stewart) in view of Etienne Gomez, Pub No US 2002/0087994 (hereafter Gomez).
Regarding Claim 1, Stewart discloses a management method implemented by a management device and comprising:
managing access to a portion of a television content item which has already been broadcast by a server on a first multicast broadcast channel [FIG.1: Discloses a server (broadcast system 100/controller 102); and para.0011: Discloses “responsive to a user request for performance of a selected multimedia presentation, playback of the beginning segment corresponding to the selected multimedia presentation can be commenced; recording of the selected multimedia presentation from the broadcast most recently started can be commenced;” and paras.0031-0034: Discloses “multiple broadcasts of the same presentation transmitted on the various channels” and with “Broadcast 1… Broadcast 2… Broadcast 3…” Each broadcast of a particular multimedia program occurs on a different channel; Thus, Stewart teaches managing user access to a selected portion of a television content item that has already begun broadcasting on a multiple broadcast channel.] wherein the managing comprises, during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel [para.0011: Discloses “responsive to a user request… recording of the selected multimedia presentation from the broadcast most recently started can be commenced”; and para.0039: Discloses “the most recent and currently occurring broadcast… ”; and para.0049: Discloses “for which broadcasting had begun prior to time TSTART.” Thus, Stewart teaches performing the management while the selected content item is still being broadcast on the first broadcast channel.];
the server receiving [para.0026: Discloses “the user interface 206 can communicate user commands to the multimedia system controller 202”; and para.0027: Discloses “subscriber communications unit 208 for communicating user requests to the multimedia broadcast system 100”; and para.0039: Discloses “When a request to view a program presentation is received, an authorization code can be generated by the authorization control system 110 and communicated to the corresponding subscriber multimedia system 200”; Thus, Stewart teaches the server (broadcast system 100/controller 102) receiving a user request identifying a selected multimedia presentation.],
Stewart does not explicitly disclose that the received information includes a selection datum, which is representative of a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast; nor does Stewart explicitly disclose extracting a portion of the content item on the basis of the selection datum; and broadcasting the extracted portion on a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Stewart). However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses the following:
the server receiving a selection datum, which is representative of a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast [para.0010: Discloses “responsive to a request for access to a selected one of said programs by said user,” and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest”; Thus, Gomez teaches the claimed selection datum because the user’s request identifies the selected program, and the server uses that received selection to identify the corresponding in-progress transmission having the shortest lead-in portion, thereby using the received request as the claimed selection datum.];
extracting a portion of the content item on the basis of the selection datum [para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest and storing said program in a buffer associated with the view box as it is transmitted,” and para.0013: Discloses “continuously splicing the in-progress transmission stored in the buffer to a conclusion of the beginning portion.” Thus, Gomez teaches extracting a portion of the selected content item based on the received selection datum because, after receiving the user’s selection, the server identifies the corresponding in-progress transmission and isolates the beginning portion of the selected program for storage and subsequent playback.]; and
broadcasting the extracted portion on a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel [para.0009: Discloses “repeatedly transmitting a set comprising a plurality of N video programs at staggered time intervals from a VOD server to a network; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval…” and para.0053: Discloses “Another embodiment (FIG. 4) offers the possibility for starting watching any of the N video program at any time…“ Thus, Gomez teaches providing the extracted beginning portion from a different staggered transmission of the selected program because the same program is transmitted multiple times at staggered intervals, allowing the selected beginning portion to be obtained from a transmission other than the original in-progress transmission, corresponding to the claimed second multicast broadcast channel distinct from the first channel.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Stewart with these features taught by Gomez in order to satisfy a user’s request for selected multimedia content without undue delay by making the selected content repeatedly available at fixed staggered time intervals, thereby predictably reducing the maximum delay before the requested content becomes available [Gomez: para.0003].
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 1, and Gomez further discloses wherein the broadcasting on the second channel is carried out in a loop [para.0009: Discloses “repeatedly transmitting a set comprising a plurality of N video programs at staggered time intervals from a VOD server to a network”; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval”; and para.0053: Discloses “Another embodiment (FIG. 4) offers the possibility for starting watching any of the N video program at any time…”. Thus, Gomez teaches carrying out the broadcasting on the second multicast broadcast channel in a loop because the same programs are repeatedly retransmitted at fixed staggered intervals, thereby continuously repeating the broadcast cycle.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 2, and Gomez further discloses wherein the instants for broadcasting on the second broadcast channel are spaced apart by a given duration [para.0003: Discloses “each video program is repeatedly made available at a fixed staggered time interval”; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval…”. Thus, Gomez teaches the instants for broadcasting on the second broadcast channel are spaced apart by a given duration because successive transmissions begin at uniform staggered time intervals.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 2, and Gomez further discloses wherein the loop broadcasting ceases when the broadcasting of the content item has ended on the first channel [para.0003: Discloses “each video program is repeatedly made available at a fixed staggered time interval”; and para.0011-0013: Discloses selecting an in-progress transmission and continuously splicing the transmission to the conclusion of the beginning portion; and para.0032: Discloses the specific transmission is stopped after the stored beginning portion is read out; and Figs. 1, 3, and 4 illustrate successive staggered transmissions that terminate upon completion of the program. Thus, Gomez teaches that loop broadcasting is performed only while the selected content item is being broadcast and ceases when broadcasting of that content item has ended.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 1, and Gomez further discloses wherein the second broadcast channel is deleted when rendering of the content item has ended on the first channel [para.0011-0013: Discloses selecting an in-progress transmission and continuously splicing the transmission to the conclusion of the beginning portion; and para.0032: Discloses that the specific transmission is stopped after the stored beginning portion is read out; and Figs. 1 and 4 illustrate that the temporary staggered transmission used to provide the beginning portion terminates once it is no longer needed. Thus, Gomez teaches, under broadest reasonable interpretation, deleting the second broadcast channel when rendering of the content item has ended on the first channel because the temporary staggered transmission is terminated and removed from use after it has served its purpose.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 1, and Gomez further discloses wherein, after playback of the content portion on the second channel, the playback of the content item continues via the first channel [para.0011: Discloses selecting the in-progress transmission of the selected program; and para.0012: Discloses outputting the previously stored beginning portion of the selected program; and para.0013: Discloses “continuously splicing the in-progress transmission stored in the buffer to a conclusion of the beginning portion”; and para.0032: Discloses the stored beginning portion is sliced to the end of the beginning portion while the portion of the program not yet transmitted is stored in the buffer; and Fig. 1 illustrates playback beginning with the stored beginning portion and then continuing with the in-progress transmission. Thus, Gomez teaches that, after playback of the content portion on the second channel, playback of the content item continues via the first channel.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 1, and Gomez further discloses wherein the selection datum comprises a datum which is able to locate a content extract [para.0010: Discloses “responsive to a request for access to a selected one of said programs by said user”; and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest”; and para.0012: Discloses selecting the previously stored beginning portion corresponding to the selected program; and para.0032: Discloses the request identifies the selected transmission and the corresponding beginning portion for playback. Thus, Gomez teaches, under broadest reasonable interpretation, a selection datum that is able to locate a content extract because the user’s request identifies the selected program and enables the system to locate the corresponding beginning portion (content extract) for output.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Stewart discloses a management device [FIG.2, para.0019: Discloses central processing unit 102 that communicate with other system components for broadcasting multimedia presentations.] comprising:
at least one processor [Fig.1, para.0019: Discloses “The system 100 includes a broadcast system controller 102… The broadcast system controller 102 can include a central processing unit and a system bus.” Thus, the broadcast system controller 102 corresponds to the management device, and the central processing unit corresponds to the processor.]; and
configure the management device to manage access to a portion of a television content item which has already been broadcast by a server on a first multicast broadcast channel [FIG.1: Discloses a server (broadcast system 100/controller 102); and para.0011: Discloses “responsive to a user request for performance of a selected multimedia presentation, playback of the beginning segment corresponding to the selected multimedia presentation can be commenced; recording of the selected multimedia presentation from the broadcast most recently started can be commenced;” and para.0039: Discloses “the most recent and currently occurring broadcast… ”; and para.0049: Discloses “for which broadcasting had begun prior to time TSTART.” Thus, Stewart teaches performing the management while the selected content item is still being broadcast on the first broadcast channel; and paras.0031-0034: Discloses “multiple broadcasts of the same presentation transmitted on the various channels” and with “Broadcast 1… Broadcast 2… Broadcast 3…” Each broadcast of a particular multimedia program occurs on a different channel; Thus, Stewart teaches managing user access to a selected portion of a television content item that has already begun broadcasting on a multiple broadcast channel.], wherein the managing comprises:
during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel, receiving content item which has been broadcast [para.0026: Discloses “the user interface 206 can communicate user commands to the multimedia system controller 202”; and para.0027: Discloses “subscriber communications unit 208 for communicating user requests to the multimedia broadcast system 100”; and para.0039: Discloses “When a request to view a program presentation is received, an authorization code can be generated by the authorization control system 110 and communicated to the corresponding subscriber multimedia system 200”; Thus, Stewart teaches receiving a request identifying a content item that has already begun broadcasting.];
Stewart does not explicitly disclose at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor; during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel, receiving a datum which is representative of a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast; extracting a portion of the content item on the basis of the datum which is representative of the selection; and broadcasting said portion on a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Stewart).
However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses the following:
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor [para.0066: Discloses “The system… further includes a buffer… and a processing unit 22 in which software… is stored. Such processing unit controls the various steps which have been defined hereinabove.” Thus, Gomez teaches instructions stored in memory that, when executed by the processor, performs the claimed multimedia management operations.”];
receiving a datum which is representative of a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast [para.0010: Discloses “responsive to a request for access to a selected one of said programs by said user,” and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest”; Thus, Gomez teaches the claimed selection datum because the received user request identifies the selected program, and the server uses the received selection to identify the corresponding in-progress transmission having the shortest lead-in portion, thereby using the received request as the claimed selection datum..];
extracting a portion of the content item on the basis of the datum which is representative of the selection [para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest and storing said program in a buffer associated with the view box as it is transmitted,” and para.0013: Discloses “continuously splicing the in-progress transmission stored in the buffer to a conclusion of the beginning portion.” Thus, Gomez teaches extracting a portion of the selected content item based on the received selection datum because, after receiving the user’s selection, the server identifies the corresponding in-progress transmission and isolates the beginning portion of the selected program for storage and subsequent playback.]; and
broadcasting said portion on a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel [para.0009: Discloses “repeatedly transmitting a set comprising a plurality of N video programs at staggered time intervals from a VOD server to a network; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval…” and para.0053: Discloses “Another embodiment (FIG. 4) offers the possibility for starting watching any of the N video program at any time…“ Thus, Gomez teaches providing the extracted beginning portion from a different staggered transmission of the selected program because the same program is transmitted multiple times at staggered intervals, allowing the selected beginning portion to be obtained from a transmission other than the original in-progress transmission, corresponding to the claimed second multicast broadcast channel distinct from the first channel.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Stewart with these features taught by Gomez in order to satisfy a user’s request for selected multimedia content without undue delay by making the selected content repeatedly available at fixed staggered time intervals, thereby predictably reducing the maximum delay before the requested content becomes available [Gomez: para.0003].
Regarding Claim 9, Stewart discloses a processor of the management device [Fig.1, para.0019: Discloses “The system 100 includes a broadcast system controller 102… The broadcast system controller 102 can include a central processing unit and a system bus.” Thus, the broadcast system controller 102 corresponds to the claimed management device, and the central processing unit thereof corresponds to the claimed processor.]. Stewart does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising code instructions, However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising code instructions which, when executed by a processor of the management device [para.0066: Discloses “The system… further includes a buffer… and a processing unit 22 in which software… is stored. Such processing unit controls the various steps which have been defined hereinabove.” Thus, Gomez teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising code instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform the claimed multimedia management operations.”], which, Stewart in view of Gomez teaches, wherein the code instructions, when executed by a processor of the management device, perform the management method defined in claim 1 as discussed above with respect to Claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for substantially the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Stewart teaches a server [FIG.1: Discloses a server (broadcast system 100/controller 102).] Stewart in view of Gomez further teaches comprising the management device as defined in claim 8 as discussed above with respect to Claim 8. Therefore, Stewart in view of Gomez teaches a server comprising the management device as defined in Claim 8. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for substantially the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 12, Stewart discloses a method implemented by a playback device and comprising:
managing access, by a playback device, to a portion of a television content item which has already been broadcast on a first multicast broadcast channel [para.0011: Discloses playback of the beginning segment can commence while recording the most recent broadcast; and para 0048-0052: Discloses subscriber multimedia system 200 plays the pre-recorded beginning segment and switches to the current broadcast; and Fig.2: Illustrates subscriber multimedia system 200; and Fig.5: Illustrates playback operations. Thus, Stewart teaches the playback device (subscriber multimedia system 200) managing access to a selected multimedia presentation that has already begun broadcasting.] wherein the managing comprises:
during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel, receiving a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast [para.0026: Discloses user interface 206 receives the user’s selection; and para.0027: Discloses subscriber communications unit communicates the request; and para.0039: Discloses request to view a presentation; and para,0049: Discloses broadcast already underway. Thus, Stewart teaches the playback device receiving a user selection of content that has already begun broadcasting.], followed by:
Stewart does not explicitly disclose sending an access request including a selection datum which is representative of the selection of the selected content portion; and receiving the content portion via a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel.
However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses the following:
sending an access request including a selection datum which is representative of the selection of the selected content portion [para.0010: Discloses “responsive to a request for access to a selected one of said programs by said user,” and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest.” Thus, Gomez teaches sending an access request including the claimed selection datum because the user’s request identifies the selected program, and the playback device sends that request to the server, which uses the received selection to identify the corresponding in-progress transmission having the shortest lead-in portion, thereby using the transmitted request as the claimed selection datum.]; and
receiving the content portion via a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel [para.0009: Discloses “repeatedly transmitting a set comprising a plurality of N video programs at staggered time intervals from a VOD server to a network”; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval”; and para.0053: Discloses “Another embodiment (FIG. 4) offers the possibility for starting watching any of the N video program at any time …” Thus, Gomez teaches receiving the selected content portion via a different staggered transmission of the selected program because the same program is repeatedly transmitted at staggered time intervals, allowing the playback device to receive the selected content portion from a transmission other than the original in-progress transmission, corresponding to the claimed second multimedia broadcast channel distinct from the first channel.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Stewart with these features taught by Gomez in order to satisfy a user’s request for selected multimedia content without undue delay by making the selected content repeatedly available at fixed staggered time intervals, thereby predictably reducing the maximum delay before the requested content becomes available [Gomez: para.0003].
Regarding Claim 13, a management device [FIG.2, para.0019: Discloses central processing unit 102 that communicate with other system components for broadcasting multimedia presentations.] comprising:
at least one processor [Fig.1, para.0019: Discloses “The system 100 includes a broadcast system controller 102… The broadcast system controller 102 can include a central processing unit and a system bus.”]; and
configure the management device to manage access to a portion of a television content item which has already been broadcast on a first multicast broadcast channel [FIG.1: Discloses a server (broadcast system 100/controller 102); and para.0011: Discloses “responsive to a user request for performance of a selected multimedia presentation, playback of the beginning segment corresponding to the selected multimedia presentation can be commenced; recording of the selected multimedia presentation from the broadcast most recently started can be commenced;” and para.0039: Discloses “the most recent and currently occurring broadcast… ”; and para.0049: Discloses “for which broadcasting had begun prior to time TSTART.” Thus, Stewart teaches performing the management while the selected content item is still being broadcast on the first broadcast channel; and paras.0031-0034: Discloses “multiple broadcasts of the same presentation transmitted on the various channels” and with “Broadcast 1… Broadcast 2… Broadcast 3…” Each broadcast of a particular multimedia program occurs on a different channel; Thus, Stewart teaches managing user access to a selected portion of a television content item that has already begun broadcasting on a multiple broadcast channel.], wherein the managing comprises:
Stewart does not explicitly disclose at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor; during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel, receiving a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast followed by sending an access request including a selection datum which is representative of the selection of the selected content portion and receiving the content portion via a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Stewart).
However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses the following:
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor [para.0066: Discloses “The system… further includes a buffer… and a processing unit 22 in which software… is stored. Such processing unit controls the various steps which have been defined hereinabove.” Thus, Gomez teaches instructions stored in memory that, when executed by the processor, performs the claimed multimedia management operations.”];
during the broadcasting of the content item on the first channel, receiving a selection of a portion of the content item which has been broadcast followed by sending an access request including a selection datum which is representative of the selection of the selected content portion and receiving the content portion via a second multicast broadcast channel which is distinct from the first channel [para.0010: Discloses “responsive to a request for access to a selected one of said programs by said user,” and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest”; Thus, Gomez teaches the claimed selection datum because the received user request identifies the selected program, and the server uses the received selection to identify the corresponding in-progress transmission having the shortest lead-in portion, thereby using the received request as the claimed selection datum; and para.0011: Discloses “selecting that in-progress transmission of the selected program for which a lead-in portion is shortest and storing said program in a buffer associated with the view box as it is transmitted,” and para.0013: Discloses “continuously splicing the in-progress transmission stored in the buffer to a conclusion of the beginning portion.” Thus, Gomez teaches extracting a portion of the selected content item based on the received selection datum because, after receiving the user’s selection, the server identifies the corresponding in-progress transmission and isolates the beginning portion of the selected program for storage and subsequent playback; and para.0009: Discloses “repeatedly transmitting a set comprising a plurality of N video programs at staggered time intervals from a VOD server to a network; and para.0038: Discloses “the starts of the N programs are evenly distributed inside a period equal to the staggered time interval…” and para.0053: Discloses “Another embodiment (FIG. 4) offers the possibility for starting watching any of the N video program at any time…“ Thus, Gomez teaches providing the extracted beginning portion from a different staggered transmission of the selected program because the same program is transmitted multiple times at staggered intervals, allowing the selected beginning portion to be obtained from a transmission other than the original in-progress transmission, corresponding to the claimed second multicast broadcast channel distinct from the first channel.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Stewart with these features taught by Gomez in order to satisfy a user’s request for selected multimedia content without undue delay by making the selected content repeatedly available at fixed staggered time intervals, thereby predictably reducing the maximum delay before the requested content becomes available [Gomez: para.0003].
Regarding Claim 14, Stewart discloses a playback device [para.0011: Discloses playback of the beginning segment can commence while recording the most recent broadcast; and para 0048-0052: Discloses subscriber multimedia system 200 plays the pre-recorded beginning segment and switches to the current broadcast; and Fig.2: Illustrates subscriber multimedia system 200; and Fig.5: Illustrates playback operations. Thus, Stewart teaches the playback device (subscriber multimedia system 200) managing access to a selected multimedia presentation that has already begun broadcasting.]. Stewart in view of Gomez further teaches comprising the management device as defined in claim 13. Therefore, Stewart in view of Gomez teaches a playback device comprising the management device as defined in Claim 13. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 15, Stewart discloses a processor of the management device [Fig.1, para.0019: Discloses “The system 100 includes a broadcast system controller 102… The broadcast system controller 102 can include a central processing unit and a system bus.” Thus, the broadcast system controller 102 corresponds to the claimed management device, and the central processing unit thereof corresponds to the claimed processor.]. Stewart does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising code instructions. However, in analogous art, Gomez discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising code instructions which, when executed by a processor of the management device [para.0066: Discloses “The system… further includes a buffer… and a processing unit 22 in which software… is stored. Such processing unit controls the various steps which have been defined hereinabove.” Thus, Gomez teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising code instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform the claimed multimedia management operations.”], which, Stewart in view of Gomez teaches, wherein the code instructions, when executed by a processor of the management device, perform the management method defined in claim 12 as discussed above with respect to Claim 12. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Stewart and Gomez discloses the management method as claimed in claim 1, and Stewart further discloses wherein the management device is implemented in the server [FIG.1 and para.0019: Discloses broadcast system controller 102 within system 100, wherein the broadcast system controller includes a central processing unit; thus, the broadcast system controller corresponds to the claimed management device and is implemented in the server (broadcast system 100).].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Douglas M. Dillon, (US 6,351,467) – Discloses multicast channels (col.8 lines 37-62), user selected content (col.20 lines 28-36), and storing received multicast content locally (claim 79), and later user access (claims 80 and 81).
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426