DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 Line 6 currently states:
“phase of the phases.”.
Should be changed to state:
--phase of the three phases.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/172793 in view of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 and evidence by EP 1147318. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of WO 2021/172793, in the file wrapper, and the English translation of EP 1147318 submitted with this office action are referenced hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1: WO 2021/172793 discloses the limitations: An axial gap-type electric motor (the electric motor is defined by the sum of its parts) comprising:
a rotor (30, ¶0106) rotatably supported in a fluid flow passage (fluid flow passage = P, ¶0115) between a pump cover 11 and a body case 12;
a stator 40 arranged in an upper space (upper space = space formed by elements 12 and 13; as seen in Fig 6 the stator is located in the part of the upper space defined by element 12) formed by the body case and an upper cover (upper cover = 13, Fig 6, ¶0099; the articulated upper space is formed by the body case 12 and the upper cover 13 as claimed) while facing the rotor arranged in the fluid flow passage (as seen in Fig 6 the stator faces the rotor 30 as claimed), the stator generating a rotating magnetic field to rotate the rotor (¶0198);
a heat dissipation part (12b, ¶0113-¶0116) near an upper portion of the stator to waterproof the stator (¶0113-¶0116) and integrating (i.e. connecting) the stator 40 with the body case and the upper cover (as seen in Fig 6, element 12b connects the stator 40 with the body case 12 and the upper cover as claimed). WO 2021/172793 is silent regarding the limitations: a heat dissipation molding part surrounding an upper portion of the stator to insulate the stator, wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part, wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor. The prior art of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 which is directed to an axial motor driven device (Fig 1) like WO 2021/172793, is noted.
Annotated Figure 1 of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 (Attached Figure Z)
However, Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 does disclose the limitations:
a heat dissipation molding part (heat dissipation molding part = resin 14 surrounding the stator 18, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0031, ¶0037, ¶0041-¶0044; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 244-255 and Line 491-501 that resin is known as having good thermal conductivity and makes it possible to transfer heat away from the stator) surrounding an upper portion of the stator (an upper portion of the stator = top surface of the stator 18 in Fig 2 which faces the rotor 10 as seen in Fig 1; as disclosed in ¶0031 and seen in Fig 1 the resin 14 covers/surrounds the top surface/ upper portion of the stator as claimed; also see Annotated Figure 1 of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 (Attached Figure Z) above) to waterproof and insulate the stator (¶0041 states that the resin 14 covers the stator 18, and ¶0008-¶0009 disclose that the resin covering the stator prevents gas from traveling from the chamber where the rotor is to the chamber where stator is housed even if there is a pressure difference between the two chambers; additionally since gas molecules are inherently smaller than water molecules, it follows that the resin encapsulation taught by Shimamoto would be able to waterproof the stator as claimed – since gas is unable to pass through the resin; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 487-501 that resin is an insulating material with good thermal conductivity in order to allow the pumped fluid to remove heat generated by the stator, thus the resin insulates the stator as claimed) and integrating the stator with the body case and the upper cover (body case = 34 of Shimamoto; since the structure of the resin fills the spaces between the stator 18 to the body case 34 as seen in Fig 1 of Shimamoto – it follows that in the combination of prior art the heat dissipation molding part/resin 14 of Shimamoto would connect/integrate the stator 40 of WO ‘793 to the body case 12 of WO ‘793 in the same manner as shown in Fig 1 of Shimamoto), wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part (as understood from Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the upper portion/top facing surface of stator 18 is securely surrounded (i.e. embedded) by the resin 14 of the heat dissipation molding part, also ¶0031 & ¶0008-¶0009 states that the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is covered with the resin, thus the stator is embedded in the resin),
wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part (air gap forming part = horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0037, Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z; since the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is part of the heat dissipation molding part (i.e. resin 14) – it follows that the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) forms the air gap forming part as claimed) on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor (as seen in Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is arranged on the front surface of stator 18).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the heat dissipation part 12b of WO 2021/172793 with the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 in order to decrease the distance between the rotor and the stator, allowing the size of the motor to be reduced and/or allowing an increase in the efficiency of the motor (¶0009).
Annotated Figure 6 of WO 2021/172793 (Attached Figure B)
Regarding Claim 8: WO 2021/172793 discloses the limitations: A water pump (the water pump is defined by the sum of its parts) comprising:
a pump cover 11 in which an inlet 11a through which a fluid is introduced and a side outlet 11b through which the introduced fluid is discharged (Fig 6) are connected through a fluid flow passage (fluid flow passage = P, ¶0115. ¶0108);
a cylindrical body case (12, ¶0113-¶0114) coupled to a lower portion of the pump cover (as seen in Fig 6);
an upper cover (upper cover = 13, Fig 6, ¶0099) coupled to seal a lower portion of the body case to form a space inside the body case (¶0099, Fig 6; space = space formed by elements 12 and 13; as seen in Fig 6 the stator is located in the space defined by the body case 12);
a rotor (30, ¶0106) rotatably supported (i.e. rotatably supported via shaft 60, ¶0109-¶0112) near the fluid flow passage inside the body case (as seen in Fig 6, the rotor is rotatably supported near the fluid flow passage P; and as seen in Annotated Figure 6 of WO 2021/172793 (Attached Figure B) above, part of the rotor 30 is located inside the body case 12);
an impeller (20, ¶0106) integrally formed with the rotor (¶0106) on an upper side of the rotor (as seen in Fig 6);
a stator 40 arranged below the fluid flow passage (as seen in Fig 6) inside the body case (as seen in Fig 6) to face the rotor (as seen in Fig 6) to generate a rotating magnetic field to rotate the rotor (¶0198); and
a heat dissipation part (12b, ¶0113-¶0116) near an upper portion of the stator (Attached Figure B) to waterproof the stator (¶0113-¶0116) and integrating (i.e. connecting) the stator 40 with the body case and the upper cover (as seen in Fig 6, element 12b connects the stator 40 with the body case 12 and the upper cover as claimed), a front surface of the stator facing the rotor (as understood from Fig 6 and Attached Figure B, a front surface of the stator faces rotor 30 as claimed). WO 2021/172793 is silent regarding the limitations: a heat dissipation molding part surrounding an upper portion of the stator to insulate the stator, wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part, wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor. The prior art of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 which is directed to an axial motor driven device (Fig 1) like WO 2021/172793, is noted.
However, Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 does disclose the limitations:
a heat dissipation molding part (heat dissipation molding part = resin 14 surrounding the stator 18, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0031, ¶0037, ¶0041-¶0044; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 244-255 and Line 491-501 that resin is known as having good thermal conductivity and makes it possible to transfer heat away from the stator) surrounding an upper portion of the stator (an upper portion of the stator = top surface of the stator 18 in Fig 2 which faces the rotor 10 as seen in Fig 1; as disclosed in ¶0031 and seen in Fig 1 the resin 14 covers/surrounds the top surface/ upper portion of the stator as claimed; also see Annotated Figure 1 of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 (Attached Figure Z) above) to waterproof and insulate the stator (¶0041 states that the resin 14 covers the stator 18, and ¶0008-¶0009 disclose that the resin covering the stator prevents gas from traveling from the chamber where the rotor is to the chamber where stator is housed even if there is a pressure difference between the two chambers; additionally since gas molecules are inherently smaller than water molecules, it follows that the resin encapsulation taught by Shimamoto would be able to waterproof the stator as claimed – since gas is unable to pass through the resin; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 487-501 that resin is an insulating material with good thermal conductivity in order to allow the pumped fluid to remove heat generated by the stator, thus the resin insulates the stator as claimed) and integrating the stator with the body case and the upper cover (body case = 34 of Shimamoto; since the structure of the resin fills the spaces between the stator 18 to the body case 34 as seen in Fig 1 of Shimamoto – it follows that in the combination of prior art the heat dissipation molding part/resin 14 of Shimamoto would connect/integrate the stator 40 of WO ‘793 to the body case 12 of WO ‘793 in the same manner as shown in Fig 1 of Shimamoto), wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part (as understood from Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the upper portion/top facing surface of stator 18 is securely surrounded (i.e. embedded) by the resin 14 of the heat dissipation molding part, also ¶0031 & ¶0008-¶0009 states that the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is covered with the resin, thus the stator is embedded in the resin),
wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part (air gap forming part = horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0037, Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z; since the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is part of the heat dissipation molding part (i.e. resin 14) – it follows that the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) forms the air gap forming part as claimed) on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor (as seen in Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is arranged on the front surface of stator 18).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the heat dissipation part 12b of WO 2021/172793 with the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 in order to decrease the distance between the rotor and the stator, allowing the size of the motor to be reduced and/or allowing an increase in the efficiency of the motor (¶0009).
Regarding Claim 15: WO 2021/172793 discloses the limitations: wherein a magnet 32 of the rotor 30 is an open structure exposed to the fluid (¶0115), and the magnet of the rotor is a ferrite magnet (¶0114-¶0115).
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/217868 in view of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 and evidence by EP 1147318. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of WO 2020/217868, in the file wrapper, and the English translation of EP 1147318 submitted with this office action are referenced hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 1 & 8: WO 2020/217868 discloses the limitations: A water pump comprising (the water pump is defined by the sum of its parts):
a pump cover (12a,12b,12c, Fig 1) in which an inlet 12a through which a fluid is introduced and a side outlet 12b through which the introduced fluid is discharged are connected through a fluid flow passage (fluid flow passage = passage from 12A to 12B in Fig 1);
a cylindrical body case (cylindrical body case = cylindrical portion of motor housing 20 which radially surrounds magnet 26 and stator 18 in Fig 1) coupled to a lower portion of the pump cover (lower portion of the pump cover = 12C; as understood from Fig 1 the pump cover is coupled to the body case as claimed);
an upper cover (upper cover = flat bottom portion of motor housing 20 indicated by element 20 in Fig 1) coupled to seal a lower portion of the body case to form a space inside the body case (lower portion of the body case = portion of the body case which radially surrounds windings 18B in Fig 1; the upper cover is integrally formed with the lower portion of the body case, thus it is sealingly coupled to the lower portion of the body case as claimed; space inside the body case = space where the stator 18 , stator core 18A, & windings 18B are located in Fig 1);
a rotor 16 rotatably supported near the fluid flow passage inside the body case (as seen in Fig 1, the magnet 26 of the rotor is rotatably supported on shaft 22 within recess 20A located inside the upper portion of the articulated body case);
an impeller 14 integrally formed with the rotor (Line 89-116, Line 158-170) on an upper side of the rotor (as seen in Fig 1 the impeller is integrally formed on an upper side of the magnet 26 of the rotor 16);
a stator 18 arranged below the fluid flow passage inside the body case (as understood from Fig 1) to face the rotor (Fig 1) to generate a rotating magnetic field to rotate the rotor (Line 41-50); and
an upper portion of the stator (upper portion of the stator = top half of the stator in Fig 1) and a front surface of the stator (front surface of the stator = top surface of the stator in Fig 1) facing the rotor (as seen in Fig 1).
Annotated Figure 1 of WO 2020/217868
Additionally, as noted by Applicant (see bottom of Page 15-Page 16 ¶1 of the REM filed on 07/22/2026 & the Annotated Figure 1 of WO 2020/217868 above) WO 2020/217868 has a partition wall between the stator and the rotor. WO 2020/217868 is silent regarding the limitations: a heat dissipation molding part surrounding an upper portion of the stator to waterproof and insulate the stator, and integrating the stator with the body case and the upper cover, wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part, wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor. The prior art of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 which is directed to an axial motor driven device (Fig 1) like WO 2020/217868, is noted.
However, Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 does disclose the limitations: a heat dissipation molding part (heat dissipation molding part = resin 14 surrounding the stator 18, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0031, ¶0037, ¶0041-¶0044; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 244-255 and Line 491-501 that resin is known as having good thermal conductivity and makes it possible to transfer heat away from the stator) surrounding an upper portion of the stator (an upper portion of the stator = top surface of the stator 18 in Fig 2 which faces the rotor 10 as seen in Fig 1; as disclosed in ¶0031 and seen in Fig 1 the resin 14 covers/surrounds the top surface/ upper portion of the stator as claimed; also see Annotated Figure 1 of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 (Attached Figure Z) above) to waterproof and insulate the stator (¶0041 states that the resin 14 covers the stator 18, and ¶0008-¶0009 disclose that the resin covering the stator prevents gas from traveling from the chamber where the rotor is to the chamber where stator is housed even if there is a pressure difference between the two chambers; additionally since gas molecules are inherently smaller than water molecules, it follows that the resin encapsulation taught by Shimamoto would be able to waterproof the stator as claimed – since gas is unable to pass through the resin; additionally the evidence of EP 1147318 teaches at Line 487-501 that resin is an insulating material with good thermal conductivity in order to allow the pumped fluid to remove heat generated by the stator, thus the resin insulates the stator as claimed), and integrating the stator with the body case and the upper cover (in the combination of prior art the heat dissipation molding part/resin 14 of Shimamoto would connect/integrate the stator 18 of WO ‘868 to the cylindrical portion of motor housing 20 (i.e. the body case) of WO ‘868 in the same manner as shown in Fig 1 of Shimamoto, since the structure of the resin fills the spaces between the stator 18 to the body case 34), wherein the upper portion of the stator is embedded inside the heat dissipation molding part (as understood from Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the upper portion/top facing surface of stator 18 is securely surrounded (i.e. embedded) by the resin 14 of the heat dissipation molding part, also ¶0031 & ¶0008-¶0009 states that the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is covered with the resin, thus the stator is embedded in the resin),
wherein the heat dissipation molding part forms an air gap forming part (air gap forming part = horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor, ¶0008-¶0009, ¶0037, Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z; since the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is part of the heat dissipation molding part (i.e. resin 14) – it follows that the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) forms the air gap forming part as claimed) on a front surface of the stator facing the rotor (as seen in Fig 1 & Attached Figure Z the horizontal extending resin structure in Fig 1 that covers the part of the stator that is opposed to the rotor is arranged on the front surface of stator 18).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the stator 18 and the partition wall separating the stator and the rotor of WO 2020/217868 with the heat dissipation molding part (resin 14) of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 in order to decrease the distance between the rotor and the stator, allowing the size of the motor to be reduced and/or allowing an increase in the efficiency of the motor (¶0009).
Regarding Claims 2 & 12: WO 2020/217868 as modified by Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 discloses the limitations: wherein the heat dissipation molding part is filled, between an inner circumference of the body case (WO ‘868 – inner circumference of the body case = surface radially outside of windings 18B in Fig 1) and an annular protrusion protruding from the center of the upper cover (WO ‘868 – annular protrusion – protrusion extending from the articulated upper cover that receives an end of shaft 22 in Fig 1; in the combination of prior art the resin/heat dissipating molding part 14 of Shimamoto would fill the space surrounding the stator of WO ‘868 which is defined by the articulated inner circumference and annular projection as seen in Fig 1 of WO ‘868) to define the fluid flow passage (i.e. to define a wall of the fluid flow passage which the fluid flows through), and includes insulating heat dissipation composite materials capable of increasing insulation and heat dissipation performance (Shimamoto US – resin 14 is formed from an insulating and waterproofing sealing material (as explained in the rejection of the independent claims, the resin material is able to seal & waterproof (since it is able to prevent passage of gas which would inherently also mean preventing / sealing against passage of larger water molecules); additionally in light of the evidence of EP 1147318 resin is also an insulating material), thus the material/resin of Shimamoto is an insulating heat dissipation composite material; additionally, the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of WO 2020/217868 as modified by Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 that would enable the heat dissipation composite material to increase insulation and heat dissipation performance. Thus, because the structure of WO 2020/217868 as modified by Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation).
Further Regarding Claims 2 & 12: Claims 2 & 12 recites the language:
“wherein the heat dissipation molding part is filled, from the upper portion of the stator”
Since the prior art of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 teaches filling the resin into the space surrounding the stator via injection hole 40a (¶0042-¶0046) – which is located in upper disc 40 above the upper portion of the stator as seen in Fig 2 of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008. It follows that in the combination of prior art, similar steps for filling the resin/heat dissipation molding part from above the stator would be taken.
Annotated Figure 1 of WO 2020/217868 (Attached Figure C)
Regarding Claim 14: WO 2020/217868 discloses the limitations:
a support shaft 22 having a lower end portion (i.e. end indicated by 22 in Fig 1) fixed to the upper cover (as seen in Fig 1, Line 76-78) through an annular protrusion 20B protruding from a center of the upper cover (Fig 1, Line 74-80);
a bearing housing (see Annotated Figure 1 of WO 2020/217868 (Attached Figure C) above) extending from a center of a rotor support (Attached Figure C)supporting the rotor to a point above the annular protrusion (Attached Figure C); and
a sleeve bearing (24, Attached Figure C) installed at an inner circumferential portion of the bearing housing (as understood from Attached Figure C) to rotatably support the rotor about the support shaft (Line 96-100, Line 117-136).
Claim(s) 7 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/172793 in view of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 and evidence by EP 1147318 as applied to claims 1 & 8 above, and further in view of Kim US 2019/0334393.
Regarding Claims 7 & 13: WO 2021/172793 in view of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claims 1 & 8. Additionally, WO 2021/172793 teaches: the rotor 30 and the stator 40 form an axial gap-type electric motor (¶0119-¶0121), and the electric motor comprises a BLDC motor (¶0195) having three-phases (¶0195). WO 2021/172793 does not disclose the limitations: the coils are connected by a Y-connection method, and the motor having a 12-pole-9 slot, or an 8-pole-6 slot structure, and the plurality of coils which are three-phase coils (U, V, W) are split into and wound on nine or six teeth and form a series connection circuit or parallel connection circuit for each phase of U, V, and W phases.
However Kim US 2019/0334393 does disclose the limitations: the coils are connected by a Y-connection method (¶0165), and the motor having an 8-pole-6 slot structure (¶0121), and the plurality of coils which are three-phase coils (U, V, W) are split into and wound six teeth (as seen in the figures) and form a parallel connection circuit (¶0095) for each phase of U, V, and W phases (¶0095).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the rotor and the stator of the axial gap motor of WO 2021/172793 with the 8-pole-6 slot structure in the Y-connected three phase motor of Kim US 2019/0334393 in order to increase the efficiency of the motor (¶0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 3-6, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 3: The prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or suggest the device recited in claim 3 in combination with all the limitations recited in independent claim 1.
It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the available prior art in the claimed manner is neither contemplated nor foreseeable without the benefit of the disclosure of the instant invention. Accordingly, claims 4-6 are allowable based on their dependency on allowable claim 3.
Regarding Claim 9: The prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or suggest the device recited in claim 9 in combination with all the limitations recited in independent claim 8.
It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the available prior art in the claimed manner is neither contemplated nor foreseeable without the benefit of the disclosure of the instant invention. Accordingly claims 10-11 are allowable based on their dependency on allowable claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 12-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally regarding the combination of WO 2020/217868 in view of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 and evidence by EP 1147318. The examiner notes that a PHOSITA would combine WO 2020/217868 with the teachings of Shimamoto US 2015/0381008 in order to decrease the distance between the rotor and the stator, allowing the size of the motor to be reduced and/or provide an increase in the efficiency of the motor (¶0009).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746