DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment, filed 10/29/2025, has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 10/29/2025.
Claims 1-12, 15-22 are pending in this application. In the Preliminary Amendment, claims 13, 14 were canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statement, filed 08/06/2025, has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Claim 15 recites “A graphical user interface...” but do not describe any
hardware to execute each of the claimed steps, which is necessarily required for a system claim to be statutory. Accordingly, these claims are rejected as non-statutory for failing to disclose such hardware.
Claims 1-12, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 12, 15 recite a method/system/GUI, comprising: “receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates…”.
These limitations are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting "a processor, memory", nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. For example, but for the
"a processor, memory" language, “receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates …” in the context of this claim encompasses steps that can be performed mentally, with the aid of pen and paper to analyze information, gathering data and organizing data.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite additional element – using a processor, memory" to “receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates …”, these limitations amount to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g).
“receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates…”; these limitation are mere generic transmissions and presentations of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 12, 15 merely recite a system, graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a processor, memory; GUI for performing steps of claim 1.
“The processor, memory, GUI" are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates …) such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount
to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. Considered separately and as an ordered combination, the claimed elements do not recite additional elements that: improve a computer itself; improve another technology or technical field; improve to the functioning of the computer itself.
The limitations “receiving a selection…; grouping two or more display templates…; receiving a selection…; creating a connection…; populating the tow or more display templates …” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-11;16-22 merely add further details of the abstract steps recited in claims 1, 12 without including an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the abstract idea to a particular
technological environment. Therefore, dependent claims 2-11;16-22 are also directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Interpretation — 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word
“means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (i.e., configured to…) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a graphical user interface in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mishchenko (US Pub No. 20220187496).
As to claims 1, 12, Mishchenko teaches a computer-implemented method of associating geodata with a collection of display templates, the method comprising (i.e. FIG. 22 shows an example of a method 2200 that can include an access block 2210 for accessing data, a generation block 2220 for generating structured shape information using the data, and a transmission block 2230 that, responsive to receipt of an command, provides for transmitting a visualization data stream (e.g., using at least a portion of the structured shape information), [0253]; As an example, a method can include accessing volumetric data that includes volumetric data of a geologic model, volumetric data of a seismic survey, or volumetric data of a geological model and volumetric data of a seismic survey, [0257]):
receiving a selection of two or more display templates configured to graphically represent geodata (i.e. FIG. 10, the user 1010 may utilize the HID 1003 to cause the client device 1010 to transmit one or more project and/or data selections 1022, which may be directed to and received by one or more data stores 1042 and 1044, [0172]; one or more features that allow the user 1001 to select a level of resource utilization, [0175]; acquiring various types of data, which may include seismic data as a type of data and one or more other types of geophysical data, [0121]; Stratigraphy involves the study of the history, composition, relative ages and distribution of strata, and the interpretation of strata to elucidate Earth history for one or more purposes, [0142]; Rocks that were formed during the periods of geologic time can be called systems and bear the same names as those of the periods, [0143]; Rock-stratigraphic units can be divided into groups, formations, members, and beds, [0144]);
grouping the two or more display templates into a display template collection (i.e. a visualization process can implement one or more of various features that can be suitable for one or more web applications. For example, a template may involve use of the JAVASCRIPT object notation format (JSON) and/or one or more other languages/formats, [0169]; FIG. 9 shows an example of a system 900 that includes a workspace framework and visualization features 940, [0168]; a template feature that can be actuated to commence a process for generating a template for visualizations as may be applied to one or more of the applications of the computational frameworks 810, [0163]; FIG. 11 shows an example of a system 1100 for the Open Graphics Library (OpenGL framework), which is a cross-language, cross-platform application programming interface (API) for rendering 2D and 3D vector graphics and FIG. 11 shows an example of a system 1110 for the GL Transmission Format (GLTF or .gltf) framework, [0200]); a workflow may aim to drill into an environment, for example, to form a bore defined by surrounding earth (e.g., rock, fluids, etc.), [0122]); FIG. 3 also shows a diagram 380 that illustrates various types of waves as including P, SV an SH waves ... interpretation of S-waves may allow for determination of rock properties such as fracture density and orientation, Poisson's ratio and rock type, for example, by crossplotting P-wave and S-wave velocities, and/or by other techniques, [0077]);
receiving a selection of a first database object comprising the geodata (i.e. The model simulation layer 180 may be configured to model projects ... upon completion of a modeling session, a user may store a project. At a later time, the project can be accessed and restored using the model simulation layer 180, which can recreate instances of the relevant domain objects, [0050]; an approach can use a materials array as a collection of JSON material objects where, for example, a material object contains information about colors and texture map, [0202]; Such models may take into consideration a variety of different inputs, including offset well data, seismic data, pilot well data, other geologic data, [0166]); Stratigraphy involves the study of the history, composition, relative ages and distribution of strata, and the interpretation of strata to elucidate Earth history for one or more purposes, [0142]; Rocks that were formed during the periods of geologic time can be called systems and bear the same names as those of the periods, [0143]); FIG. 10, the user 1010 may utilize the HID 1003 to cause the client device 1010 to transmit one or more project and/or data selections 1022, which may be directed to and received by one or more data stores 1042 and 1044, [0172]);
creating a connection between the display template collection and the first database object to enable the geodata to be retrieved from the first database object to the display template collection (i.e. Fig. 10 ... a provision block 1072 for provisioning resources, a processing block 1074 for processing data and/or information, and a render block 1076 for generating visualization data, which may be a single visualization or a time series visualization, [0174]; an interactive manner using the client device 1010 as in communication with various resources ... optionally in combination with seismic data for the geologic region, to cause a model building framework to generate or move a layer in a 3D model where the layer may correspond to a horizon or other geologic structure as indicated by the data from the imaging tool, [0176]; The coupling of sensors providing information on the course of a well trajectory, in real time or near real time, with, for example, one or more logs characterizing the formations from a geological viewpoint, can allow for implementing a geosteering method. Such a method can include navigating a subsurface environment, for example, to follow a desired route to reach a desired target or targets, [0107]); and
populating the two or more display templates within the display template collection with the geodata retrieved from the first database object (i.e. a library of indicia for various facies or lithologies may be utilized for purposes of data population, rendering with markings, rendering with actual rock images, [0204]; a command may cause resources of a cloud platform to halt streaming of a visualization data stream to provide priority to a new visualization data stream, [0185]; a method can include loading properties and then calling for processing of a region using the properties, [0192]; a framework ... associated features such as features of the STUDIO FIND search functionality ... a module for structuring search results, [0150]; As shown in FIG. 21, the various windows include various types of windows of at least one computational framework, [0249]; to create an isochore map ... isopachs or contours that make up an isopach map can be rendered to a display to show the stratigraphic thickness of a rock unit, [0145]; a system can provide for effective visualization computation “on the fly”, for example, of a tile or a brick or another type of visual element with “real time” performance (e.g., low latency performance). As an example, a cloud platform service can provide for visualizations of one or more earth models, [0211]).
As per claim 15, Mishchenko teaches a graphical user interface, GUI, configured to display geodata, comprising:
a display template section area comprising a display template collection, the display template collection comprising two or more display templates configured to graphically represent geodata (i.e. interpretation of S-waves may allow for determination of rock properties such as fracture density and orientation, Poisson's ratio and rock type, for example, by crossplotting P-wave and S-wave velocities, and/or by other techniques, [0077]); As an example, the web app 1012 may include one or more features that allow the user 1001 to select a level of resource utilization ... upon selection of a projection and/or data per the projection and/or data selection 1022, the block 1060 may respond automatically to allow for extensibility of provisioning per the provision block 1072 such that the user 1001 does not experience undesirable latency when interacting with the project and/or data, [0175]; the visualization area 850 can include one or more of a multi-resolution rendering feature, a streaming feature, an update feature, and a learning tool feature. Such features may provide for rendering various types of visualizations, optionally for workflow specific tasks (e.g., interpretation, quality control, field control, data management, etc.), [0164]); and
a database object selection area comprising a list of database objects available for selection (i.e. FIG. 10, the user 1010 may utilize the HID 1003 to cause the client device 1010 to transmit one or more project and/or data selections 1022, which may be directed to and received by one or more data stores 1042 and 1044 ... As to the commands 1024, these may be menu commands, for example, from selections made as to one or more menus of one or more graphical user interfaces rendered to the display 1018 of the client device 1010, [0172]);
wherein the GUI is configured such that, in response to selection of a database object from the list of database objects, the geodata is retrieved from the database object and populated within the two of more display templates of the display template collection (i.e. a library of indicia for various facies or lithologies may be utilized for purposes of data population, rendering with markings, rendering with actual rock images, [0204]; a command may cause resources of a cloud platform to halt streaming of a visualization data stream to provide priority to a new visualization data stream, [0185]; a method can include loading properties and then calling for processing of a region using the properties, [0192]; a framework ... associated features such as features of the STUDIO FIND search functionality ... a module for structuring search results, [0150]; As shown in FIG. 21, the various windows include various types of windows of at least one computational framework ... windows can be arranged and/or controlled according to a template created using a windows builder panel of a framework that can generate and save specifications for how windows are to be rendered (e.g., arranged, styled, etc.), [0249]).
As to claims 2, 16, Mishchenko teaches:
displaying one or more display templates of the display template collection (i.e. a template feature that can be actuated to commence a process for generating a template for visualizations as may be applied to one or more of the applications of the computational frameworks 810, [0163]; a system such as the system 1000 of FIG. 10 can handle large data types (e.g., seismic cube, earth model, etc.) where interpretations, analyses, [0225]).
As to claims 3, 17, Mishchenko teaches each display template in the display template collection is configured to display a different type of geodata (i.e. Stratigraphy involves the study of the history, composition, relative ages and distribution of strata, and the interpretation of strata to elucidate Earth history for one or more purposes. The comparison, or correlation, of separated strata can include study of their lithology, fossil content, and relative or absolute age, or lithostratigraphy, biostratigraphy, and chronostratigraphy, [0142]; Rocks that were formed during the periods of geologic time can be called systems and bear the same names as those of the periods. Hence, rocks of the Permian System were deposited during Permian time or in the Permian Period; rocks of the Cambrian System were formed during the Cambrian Period, etc. It can be useful to assign rocks to smaller divisions. Rocks that are placed within a major division of a system are said to constitute a series, which may be called lower, middle, upper, or which may be given a geographic name. In parts of the geologic section, nomenclature can be utilized to assign strata to still smaller divisions, and hence stages can be used as smaller and/or more local divisions within a series. [0143]).
As to claims 4, 18, Mishchenko teaches:
populating a first display template in the dis play template collection with a first type of geodata from the first database object (i.e. A rock-stratigraphic unit or simply stratigraphic unit is a subdivision of rocks that can be delimited on the basis of lithologic characteristics. Rock-stratigraphic units can be divided into groups, formations, members, and beds. A formation is the fundamental unit in this division. A group is the next higher ranking unit and may include two or more formations. A member is a subdivision of a formation. A bed tends to be used as the smallest subdivision in rock-stratigraphic classification, [0144]); and
populating a second display template in the display template collection with a second type of geodata from the first database object (i.e. As to some examples of terms that can be utilized in assessing stratigraphy, consider true vertical thickness, which is the thickness of a bed or rock body measured vertically at a point. As an example, values of true vertical thickness in an area can be plotted and contours drawn to create an isochore map. Another term is true stratigraphic thickness, which is the thickness of a bed or rock body after adjusting for the dip of the bed or body and, for example, deviation of a well that penetrates it. The values of true stratigraphic thickness in an area can be plotted and contours drawn to create an isopach map. An isopach map is a contour map that can connect points of approximately equal thickness. For example, in such a map, isopachs or contours that make up an isopach map can be rendered to a display to show the stratigraphic thickness of a rock unit (e.g., as opposed to the true vertical thickness). Isopachs can be defined as showing the true stratigraphic thicknesses such as the thickness perpendicular to bedding surfaces, [0145]).
As to claims 5, 19, Mishchenko teaches populating the two or more display templates within the display template collection with geodata comprises associating geodata with one or more display object comprises with the two or more display templates (i.e. As an example, a workflow may involve forward modeling and/or inverting (e.g., an inversion). Forward modeling may progress from an earth model of acoustic impedance and an input wavelet to a synthetic seismic trace while an inversion may progress from a recorded seismic trace to an estimated wavelet and an earth model of acoustic impedance. As an example, forward modeling can take a model of formation properties (e.g., acoustic impedance as may be available from well logs) and combine such information with a seismic wavelength (e.g., a pulse) to output one or more synthetic seismic traces while inversion can commence with a recorded seismic trace, account for effect(s) of an estimated wavelet (e.g., a pulse) to generate values of acoustic impedance for a series of points in time (e.g., depth), [0123]).
As to claims 6, 20, Mishchenko teaches:
receiving a selection of a second database object comprising geodata (i.e. Stratigraphy involves the study of the history, composition, relative ages and distribution of strata, and the interpretation of strata to elucidate Earth history for one or more purposes. The comparison, or correlation, of separated strata can include study of their lithology, fossil content, and relative or absolute age, or lithostratigraphy, biostratigraphy, and chronostratigraphy, [0142]; FIG. 10, the user 1010 may utilize the HID 1003 to cause the client device 1010 to transmit one or more project and/or data selections 1022, which may be directed to and received by one or more data stores 1042 and 1044, [0172]);
creating a connection between the display template collection and the second database object to enable the geodata to be retrieved from the second database object (i.e. the model may be built and/or edited on-the-fly. For example, consider viewing data from the imaging tool on the display 1018 and/or on another display, optionally in combination with seismic data for the geologic region, to cause a model building framework to generate or move a layer in a 3D model where the layer may correspond to a horizon or other geologic structure as indicated by the data from the imaging tool. As another example, consider a core sample that is onsite where the user 1001 may capture an image of the core sample using a camera of the client device 1010 and render the image to the display 1018, where the image may optionally be transmitted to remote resources for processing to identify various layers. In such an example, the user 1001 can perform various interactions with the client device 1010 to further a model building and/or model editing workflow, [0176]); an
populating the two or more display templates within the display template
collection with geodata from the second database object (i.e. consider a logging operation that acquires data as to stratigraphy of a geologic region via an imaging tool where the user 1001 may be onsite and can view the data (e.g., borehole images, etc.) and build and/or edit a model of the geologic region based on an interpretation of the stratigraphy ... rendered to the display 1018, can be compared with layering in the core sample. In such an example, the user 1001 may orient an image of the core sample to directly compare it to the portion of the seismic data and then label the seismic data to cause a model building framework to generate a portion of an earth model (e.g., a layer or layers), [0176]).
As to claims 7, 21, Mishchenko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising displaying the geodata from the first database object and the second database object in a same object (i.e. rendered to the display 1018, can be compared with layering in the core sample. In such an example, the user 1001 may orient an image of the core sample to directly compare it to the portion of the seismic data and then label the seismic data to cause a model building framework to generate a portion of an earth model (e.g., a layer or layers), [0176]; Stratigraphy involves the study of the history, composition, relative ages and distribution of strata, and the interpretation of strata to elucidate Earth history for one or more purposes. The comparison, or correlation, of separated strata can include study of their lithology, fossil content, and relative or absolute age, or lithostratigraphy, biostratigraphy, and chronostratigraphy, [0142]).
As to claims 8, 22, Mishchenko teaches the computer-implemented method
of claim 1, wherein the first database object and/or second database object is associated with a geological entity comprising one of: a borehole, a groundwater well, a climate measurement station, a soil container, or a water container (i.e. As an example, an operation can be a seismic survey that utilizes equipment to acquire a seismic data set as measured and recorded with reference to a particular area of the Earth, for example, to evaluate a subsurface formation. A seismic survey can be acquired using one or more of surface, ocean/sea bottom, marine, borehole, land or other technology ... Seismic data can be visualized by processing and rendering to a display where an interpreter can identify and select boundaries that can are representative of structure(s) in the Earth (e.g. reflectors, etc.), [0032]).
As per claim 9, Mishchenko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the geodata comprises data obtained from a plurality sources (i.e. After a borehole is formed by drilling, a formation is exposed via the borehole, which provides an opportunity to utilize one or more logging tools to acquire measurements (e.g., via sensors) that can be processed to determine properties of the formation (e.g., rock properties, fluid properties, etc.), [0034]; interpretation of S-waves may allow for determination of rock properties such as fracture density and orientation, Poisson's ratio and rock type, for example, by crossplotting P-wave and S-wave velocities, and/or by other techniques, [0077]).
As per claim 10, Mishchenko teaches the computer-implemented method
of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an instruction to refresh the connection between the display template collection and the first database object (i.e. As shown in FIG. 10, one or more converters may operate in a relatively local manner with respect to data stores ... data in the context of earth modeling, interpretation, etc., can be large (e.g., terabytes), which can confound real time (e.g., low latency) rendering of multidimensional visualizations, [0212]);
in response to receiving the instruction, retrieving updated geodata from the first database object (i.e. the model building method 220 includes a data acquisition block 224 and a model geometry block 228. Some data may be involved in building an initial model and, thereafter, the model may optionally be updated in response to model output ... data for modeling may include one or more of the following: depth or thickness maps and fault geometries and timing from seismic, remote-sensing, electromagnetic, gravity, outcrop and well log data, [0056]); and
replacing the geodata populated within the two or more display templates of the display template collection with the updated geodata (i.e. As an example, the visualization area 850 can include one or more of a multi-resolution rendering feature, a streaming feature, an update feature, and a learning tool feature. Such features may provide for rendering various types of visualizations, optionally for workflow specific tasks (e.g., interpretation, quality control, field control, data management, etc.), [0164]).
As per claim 11, Mishchenko teaches the computer-implemented method
of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an instruction to print a report comprising the display template collection (i.e. As an example, information may be input from a display (e.g., a touchscreen), output to a display or both. As an example, information may be output to a projector, a laser device, a printer, etc. such that the information may be viewed. As an example, information may be output stereographically or holographically, [0281]); and
printing the report, wherein the report comprises the geodata from the first database object displayed within the two or more display templated of the display template collection (i.e. As to a printer, consider a 2D or a 3D printer. As an example, a 3D printer may include one or more substances that can be output to construct a 3D object. For example, data may be provided to a 3D printer to construct a 3D representation of a subterranean formation. As an example, layers may be constructed in 3D (e.g., horizons, etc.), geobodies constructed in 3D, etc. As an example, holes, fractures, etc., may be constructed in 3D (e.g., as positive structures, as negative structures, etc.), [0281]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dupont et al. (US Pub. 2021/0102457) – discloses updating a table using
incremental and batch updates using an atomic batch update operation that
comprises copying partitions of the source table into a respective new partition in the target table.
Albinali et al. (US Pub. 2021/0189840) discloses methods for multiscale sectors based hydrocarbon reservoir simulation that include dividing a full-field reservoir model into regions and sub-regions, and iteratively assessing and reconnecting models of the sub-regions and regions in a sequential manner to generate an adjusted full-field model.
/MIRANDA LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153