DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim element(s):
1. body-tracking means configured to sense
is/are a means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function:
1. sense
Applicant is required to:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be a means (or step) plus function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f); or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant is required to clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, the claimed machine learning is not described in a way to convey possession because it is described in the disclosure in a generic manner.
Regarding claim 20, “body-tracking means configured to sense” is indefinite as per 112(f) above.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, “body-tracking means configured to sense” is indefinite as per 112(f) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12, and 17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan (US 2010/0112533, of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Chan discloses an electronic device comprising circuitry and method configured to generate a vestibular stimulus based on motion sequences included in control information and to perform vestibular stimulation based on the vestibular stimulus ([0052]: “to deliver current to the vestibular system of the user in response to the control signals”).
Regarding claim 5, Chan discloses that the circuitry is further configured for the user to perform motion rehearsal and/or accustomization based on vestibular stimulation ([0059]: “provides stimulation to the user to alter or induce the user’s motion. Once the user’s motions are altered, the user’s body may be trained to perform such motions. Such training may be done in a repetitious manner whereby motions are induced over and over after the user is prompted to perform the motions).
Regarding claim 12, Chan discloses that the circuitry is configured to track position or posture of a user with body trackers to estimate the pose of the user ([0047]: “Sensor 220 may be any variety of sensors including accelerometers, strain gauges gyros, MEMS gyros, current sensors, magnetic field sensors, velocity sensors, angular orientation sensors, etc.”).
Regarding claim 17, Chan discloses the circuitry is further configured to cause a video display apparatus to display, to the user, video information associated with the motion sequences ([0062]: “video output”).
Regarding claim 18, Chan discloses that the circuitry is further configured to stimulate, with the vestibular stimulus, at least one semicircular canal of the user's vestibular system; or at least one otolithic organ of the user's vestibular system; or at least one semicircular canal and at least one otolithic organ of the user's vestibular system ([0043]: “semicircular canal”, “otolithic”).
Regarding claim 19, Chan discloses the circuitry is further configured to stimulate the user's vestibular system by at least one of a direct current stimulation ([0052]: currently is directly applied to the subject).
Regarding claim 20, Chan discloses that the circuitry comprises an EEG device or body-tracking means configured to sense the user reaction ([0047]: “Sensor 220 may be any variety of sensors including accelerometers, strain gauges gyros, MEMS gyros, current sensors, magnetic field sensors, velocity sensors, angular orientation sensors, etc.”).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Chan discloses that the circuitry is provided in one or more individual head-mounted casings, or is incorporated into headphones (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2010/0112533, of record).
Regarding claims 2-6, while Chan does not explicitly disclose that the control information includes timing information, that the motion sequences include information on sequences of intended stimuli that controls the generation of the vestibular stimulus, that motion sequences can be selected by a user input or based on user preference information, and that the motions sequences describe a difficult and/or technical motion and the motion is a sports motion. However, Chan does teach that a user undergoing rehab will have desired motions and that the system of Chan will account for motions which contain ‘timing information’ that will be associated with vestibular stimulation ([0059]: “walking” is a sports motion that may be difficult). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the rehabilitation elements of Chan, as to provide robust association of intended movements and vestibular stimulation.
Regarding claim 7, while Chan does not explicitly disclose that the motion sequences are obtained by inertial measurement of the movement and/or the acceleration of the motion of an athlete, Chan teaches that a user’s motion is accounted for by a variety of inertial sensors ([0047]: “Sensor 220 may be any variety of sensors including accelerometers, strain gauges gyros, MEMS gyros, current sensors, magnetic field sensors, velocity sensors, angular orientation sensors, etc.”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the measurements of Chan, as to provide accurate and robust measurements of a user’s motion.
Regarding claim 15, Chan does not explicitly disclose that the motion sequences are obtained during a training process in advance. However, Chan does teach acquiring a motion sequence a priori ([0016]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply a previously obtained motion sequence, as to provide motion data that was acquired in a past session.
Regarding claim 16, Chan does not explicitly disclose that motion sequences are obtained by machine learning. The use of machine learning would have been obvious in that it offers enhanced recognition of pertinent signals and patterns. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply machine learning to a motion sequence, as to provide a robust motion sequence.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2010/0112533, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ralston (US 2022/0257149, of record).
Regarding claim 8, Chan does not explicitly disclose that the vestibular stimulation is a calibrated vestibular stimulation. However, Ralston teaches calibrating electro vestibular stimulation signals that are applied to a subject ([0152]; [0223]: “calibrate EVS pulses of varying amplitudes and frequences to the postural responses they evoke”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the calibration of Ralston to the system of Chan, as to provide a properly calibrated system.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Chan does not explicitly disclose that the calibration is obtained from a user and/or machine learning. However, Ralston teaches calibrating electro vestibular stimulation signals that are applied to a specific subject ([0152]; [0223]: “calibrate EVS pulses of varying amplitudes and frequences to the postural responses they evoke”). The use of machine learning would have been obvious in that it offers enhanced recognition of pertinent signals and patterns. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the calibration of Ralston to the system of Chan, as to provide a properly calibrated system.
Regarding claim 11, Chan does not explicitly disclose generating vestibular stimulus at various levels of intensity. However, Ralston teaches that vestibular stimuli may be at varying amplitudes and frequencies ([0223]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the varying levels of intensity as taught by Ralston to the system of Chan, as to provide control over the intensity of current applied to a subject.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2010/0112533, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Bierer (US 2012/0226187).
Regarding claim 13, Chan does not explicitly disclose that the circuitry is configured to further control the generation of the vestibular stimulus based on an eye movement. However, Bierer teaches setting vestibular activation levels based upon recordings of eye movements ([0046]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the eye movement recording of Bierer to the system of Chan, as to provide robust correlation between eye movement and vestibular stimulation.
Regarding claim 14, Chan does not explicitly disclose that the circuitry is further configured to interrupt the stimulation based on the eye movement. However, Bierer teaches setting vestibular activation levels based upon recordings of eye movements, wherein the stimulation is controlled so as to not produce adverse effects, such as vertigo ([0046]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the eye movement recording of Bierer to the system of Chan, as to provide robust and controlled vestibular stimulation.
Conclusion
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793