DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because “and said wall of said second exhaust pipe” in lines 3-4 should be --and an end of said wall of said second exhaust pipe--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (U.S. 2011/0225958).
Re claim 8:
Inoue discloses an exhaust gas conduit device (19, exhaust manifold - Para 50; 30, casing - Para 52 (see Figs. 1-9B)) for supplying exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine (1, engine body - Para 49) to a catalytic converter (20, reduction catalyst - Para 50) configured to treat the exhaust gas (see Fig. 1, and Paras 2 and 50), the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) comprising:
a first exhaust pipe (19) configured to be connected to the internal combustion engine (1) to receive the exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine (1)(see Fig. 1 and Para 50); and
a second exhaust pipe (30) connected to said first exhaust pipe (1) and configured to feed the exhaust gas to the catalytic converter (20)(see Figs. 1-9B);
said first exhaust pipe (19) extending at least partially into said second exhaust pipe (30) through a wall of said second exhaust pipe (30)(see Figs. 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, 7A, 8A, 9A).
Re claim 9:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein:
said first exhaust pipe (19) extends along a first longitudinal axis (Modified Fig. 7A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first longitudinal axis))(see Modified Fig. 7A above);
said second exhaust pipe (30) extends along a second longitudinal axis (L, axis - Para 53); and
said first longitudinal axis (Modified Fig. 7A above - A) extends at a predetermined angle relative to said second longitudinal axis (L), said predetermined angle being in a range between 60° and 120° (see Modified Fig. 7A above and Para 54 - “…the exhaust manifold 19 near the outlet (below, referred to as the “manifold outlet vicinity”) extends perpendicular to the axis L., that is, so that it extends perpendicular to the wall surface of the cone32...”).
Re claim 10:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 9 (as described above), wherein said predetermined angle is in a range between 80° and 100° (see Modified Fig. 7A above and Para 54 - “…the exhaust manifold 19 near the outlet (below, referred to as the “manifold outlet vicinity”) extends perpendicular to the axis L., that is, so that it extends perpendicular to the wall surface of the cone32...”).
Re claim 11:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 9 (as described above), wherein said predetermined angle is 90° (see Modified Fig. 7A above and Para 54 - “…the exhaust manifold 19 near the outlet (below, referred to as the “manifold outlet vicinity”) extends perpendicular to the axis L., that is, so that it extends perpendicular to the wall surface of the cone32...”).
Re claim 12:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 9 (as described above), wherein said first exhaust pipe (19) extends beyond said second longitudinal axis (L) of said second exhaust pipe (30) and into said second exhaust pipe (30)(see Modified Fig. 7A above).
Re claim 17:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein said first exhaust pipe (19) extends in a region (Modified Fig. 7A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of region of element 30)) within said second exhaust pipe (30)(see Modified Fig. 7A above), said region forming an exhaust gas mixing region (Modified Fig. 7A above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of mixing region; see Para 97)) in which the exhaust gas flowing from said first exhaust pipe (19) into said second exhaust pipe (30) mixes (see Modified Fig. 7A above and Para 97).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (U.S. 2011/0225958).
Re claims 13-14:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein said first exhaust pipe (19) extends into said second exhaust pipe (30) to such an extent that a clear width (Modified Fig. 7A above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of clear width between element E and element F)) between an end (Modified Fig. 7A above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of end of element 19)) of said first exhaust pipe (19) and said wall (Modified Fig. 7A above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of end of element 30 opposite element E)) of said second exhaust pipe (30) opposite said end (Modified Fig. 7A above - E) of said first exhaust pipe (19) is in a range between
Inoue fails to disclose the clear width being in a range between 5% and 50% of the diameter of the second exhaust pipe (claim 13); nor wherein said clear width is in a range between 10% and 30% of the diameter of said second exhaust pipe (claim 14).
Inoue teaches the diameter of the second exhaust pipe is a results effective variable that determines if the projecting part 60 acts as a choke (Para 99). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the diameter of the second exhaust pipe of Inoue in such a way that said first exhaust pipe extends into said second exhaust pipe to such an extent that a clear width between an end of said first exhaust pipe and said wall of said second exhaust pipe opposite said end of said first exhaust pipe be in a range between 5% and 50% of a diameter of said second exhaust pipe, or wherein said clear width is in a range between 10% and 30% of the diameter of said second exhaust pipe, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Re claims 15-16:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein:
said second exhaust pipe (30) is closed at an end (Modified Fig. 7A above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of end of element 30 opposite element 20)) opposite the catalytic converter (20)(see Modified Fig. 7A above); and
a clear width (Modified Fig. 7A above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of clear width between element E and element G)) between an end (Modified Fig. 7A above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of end of element 19)) of said first exhaust pipe (19) and said closed end (Modified Fig. 7A above - G) of said second exhaust pipe (30) is in a range between
Inoue fails to disclose the clear width being in a range between 1% and 30% of the diameter of said second exhaust pipe (claim 15), nor wherein said clear width is in a range between 5% and 15% of the diameter of said second exhaust pipe (claim 16).
Inoue teaches that the diameter of the second exhaust pipe is a results effective variable that determines if the projecting part acts as a choke (Para 99). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the diameter of the second exhaust pipe of Inoue in such a way that the clear width between an end of said first exhaust pipe and said closed end of said second exhaust pipe be in a range between 1% and 30% of a diameter of said second exhaust pipe, or wherein said clear width be in a range between 5% and 15% of the diameter of said second exhaust pipe, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (U.S. 2011/0225958), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Mitsukawa et al. (U.S. 2009/0165448).
Re claim 18:
Inoue discloses the exhaust gas conduit device (19, 30) according to claim 8 (as described above).
Inoue fails to disclose a two-wheel vehicle, comprising the exhaust gas conduit device.
Mitsukawa teaches a two-wheel vehicle (10, motorcycle - Para 35), comprising an exhaust gas conduit device (260, exhaust unit - Para 54 (see Fig. 6)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the exhaust gas conduit device of Inoue after that of Mitsukawa, thereby including the exhaust gas conduit device of Inoue in a two-wheel vehicle, as taught by Mitsukawa, for the advantage of being able to provide propulsion (Mitsukawa; see Figs. 1-2 and Para 83 - “…the rear wheel 205 is driven to rotate…”).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 9/25/26