DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a disclosure approval section that receives, from a service server, a request for an approval for disclosure of data regarding a first user… and that accepts the disclosure approval input by a second user who is different from the first user; a provision processing section that performs processing to provide the service server with the data, and an approval information recording section that records disclosure approval information regarding the disclosure approval in a history recording system in a network in claim 1.
wherein the disclosure approval section individually approves disclosure of the pieces of data of different types in claim 3.
wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a purpose for which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed in claim 4.
wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a period of time for which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed in claim 5.
wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a user to which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed in claim 6.
wherein the provision processing section acquires the disclosure- approval-target data from the database and supplies the acquired data to the service server in claim 7.
wherein the provision processing section reports the target for the disclosure approval to the service server, and causes the service server to acquire the disclosure-approval-target data from the database in claim 8.
the disclosure approval section individually approves disclosure of the pieces of data of the different types in claim 14.
terminal apparatus including a disclosure approval section that receives, from the service server, a request for an approval for disclosure of data regarding a first user, … and that accepts the disclosure approval input by a second user who is different from the first user, a provision processing section that performs processing to provide the service server with the data, … and an approval information recording section that records disclosure approval information regarding the disclosure approval in a history recording system in a network in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-8 and 14 recite the limitation "disclosure-approval-target data. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-14 recite the limitation “the plurality of second users”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Independent claims 1, 15, and 16 recite the limitations “a provision processing section that performs processing to provide the service server with the data, which is a target for the disclosure approval”, “the provision processing section performing processing to provide the service server with the data, which is a target for the disclosure approval”, and “a provision processing section that performs processing to provide the service server with the data, which is a target for the disclosure approval” respectively. It is currently unclear what the claim term “which is a target for the disclosure approval” is referring to as it could refer to the recited provision processing section, the service server, or the data.
Dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a software program per se. As described in MPEP § 2106, subsection III, Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks Examiners to evaluate the question: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? As independent claim(s) 15 comprise(s) An information processing program that causes a control circuit of a terminal apparatus to operate as a disclosure approval section, a provision processing section, and an approval information recording section; this embodiment(s) does not fall into one of the statutory categories because they are directed toward software per se and thus concludes the eligibility analysis.
The Examiner suggests reciting a system comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium which contains instructions that when executed by the processor perform the enumerated limitations of the claims. This suggestion would place the claimed embodiment into one of the statutory categories (e.g., a processor and a non-transitory medium with executable instructions are products of manufacture).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latorre et. al. (US Publication No. US 2020/0211409 A1) hereinafter Latorre.
Regarding Claims 1, 15, and 16:
Claim 1. Latorre discloses a terminal apparatus (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), comprising: a disclosure approval section that receives, from a service server, a request for an approval for disclosure of data regarding a first user (Latorre [0077] “When an authorized individual/organization or a group of individuals/ organizations want access to some data of any individual, a request will be made to the system. If the source of the request doesn't have access rights for accessing the required data of such individual, the system will ask the individual or the designated legal guardians or approved contacts for emergencies to obtain that permission”), the data being accumulated in a database (Latorre [0047] “The data of the individual is securely encrypted and locally stored in one or more electronic devices of one or more users (the individual and other legal guardians) such as mobile phones, smart watches, tablets and/or computers, and is managed by the user or by one or more verified legal guardians (registered and associated with such individual in the system)”; [0079] databases storing personally identifiable information), and that accepts the disclosure approval input by a second user who is different from the first user (Latorre [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”); a provision processing section that performs processing to provide the service server with the data, which is a target for the disclosure approval (Latorre [0109] “Assigning access rights to the source(s) of the request of the required data of the individual's profile, carried out by the individual themselves, by the legal guardian(s) or by one or more designated emergency contacts, and send the required information in plain text (public data) or generate a re-encryption key by the system (emergency data) or by the individual or the legal guardian (private data) to be de-ciphered by the source(s) of the request, send the data requested and register the data exchange transaction”); and an approval information recording section that records disclosure approval information regarding the disclosure approval in a history recording system in a network (Latorre [0078] and [0101-0102] blockchain enumerated, [0110] “store and certify the data in the cloud system(s) and distributed ledger technologies”, [0112] send information over networks).
Claims 15 and 16 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales. Latorre further discloses an information processing program that causes a control circuit of a terminal apparatus to operate as a disclosure approval section, a provision processing section, and an approval information recording section (Latorre [0071], [0121] “Each of the steps described herein can be performed using a general purpose computing device, e.g., a personal computer, personal digital assistant, and/or computing device that is in communication with a network, e.g., internet, intranet, or extranet, that includes a memory and a set of instructions, that is, logic, specifically scripted to perform the functions, steps, communications, and data manipulations described herein. As the present invention is not limited to any specific instruction set, e.g., code, usable to implement one or more aspects of the present invention, and as those skilled in the art are well aware of the ways to instruct such a computing device to implement such functions, steps, communications, and data manipulations, further details of such specific instruction sets will not be provided here so as to not obscure the present invention.”, claim 1). Latorre further discloses an information processing system, comprising: a service server; and a terminal apparatus including a disclosure approval section… a provision processing section… and an approval information recording section (Latorre [0071], claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the disclosure approval section individually approves disclosure of the pieces of data of different types (Latorre [0082] different types of data, [0099] “Likewise, the user may decide on the information to which their authorize the access and/or the transfer of data, as well as the type of data that is shared (public, anonymised and/or private data). The system allows classifying and selecting the type of information according to the origin (device, application or health profile of the individual) as well as depending on the type of event (informative, warning, risk, device errors . . .). This allows a greater and better monitoring of the health of the individual and the search for common patterns in the appearance, treatment and solution of health problems in a group of individuals”; [0100] the teacher/health professional can analyze the actual health data but the anonymized version is shared with other participants to facilitate medical research), and the disclosure approval information further includes information indicating the type of the piece of data (Latorre [0082] different types of data, [0099] “Likewise, the user may decide on the information to which their authorize the access and/or the transfer of data, as well as the type of data that is shared (public, anonymised and/or private data). The system allows classifying and selecting the type of information according to the origin (device, application or health profile of the individual) as well as depending on the type of event (informative, warning, risk, device errors . . .). This allows a greater and better monitoring of the health of the individual and the search for common patterns in the appearance, treatment and solution of health problems in a group of individuals”; [0100] the teacher/health professional can analyze the actual health data but the anonymized version is shared with other participants to facilitate medical research).
Regarding Claim 4:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a purpose for which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed, and the disclosure approval information further includes information indicating the purpose (Latorre [0082] different types of data, [0099] “Likewise, the user may decide on the information to which their authorize the access and/or the transfer of data, as well as the type of data that is shared (public, anonymised and/or private data). The system allows classifying and selecting the type of information according to the origin (device, application or health profile of the individual) as well as depending on the type of event (informative, warning, risk, device errors . . .). This allows a greater and better monitoring of the health of the individual and the search for common patterns in the appearance, treatment and solution of health problems in a group of individuals”; [0100] the teacher/health professional can analyze the actual health data but the anonymized version is shared with other participants to facilitate medical research).
Regarding Claim 6:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a user to which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed, and the disclosure approval information further includes information indicating the user (Latorre [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”).
Regarding Claim 7:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the provision processing section acquires the disclosure- approval-target data from the database, and supplies the acquired data to the service server (Latorre [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”).
Regarding Claim 8:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the provision processing section reports the target for the disclosure approval to the service server, and causes the service server to acquire the disclosure-approval-target data from the database (Latorre [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”).
Regarding Claim 9:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the database is provided to at least one of a wearable device worn by the first user, a mobile device that communicates with the wearable device, the terminal apparatus that communicates with the wearable device or the mobile device, or at least one storage apparatus, in a network, that communicates with the wearable device, the mobile device, or the terminal apparatus (Latorre [0111] wearable and various other devices anticipated).
Regarding Claim 10:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the history recording system in the network is a blockchain (Latorre [0078] and [0101-0102] blockchain enumerated, [0110] “store and certify the data in the cloud system(s) and distributed ledger technologies”, [0112] send information over networks).
Regarding Claim 11:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the data regarding the first user is vital data of the first user (Latorre [0099] health data anticipated).
Regarding Claim 12:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the second user is a supervisor of the first user (Latorre [0074] various public or private organizations and position levels).
Regarding Claim 13:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the service server records the second user or a plurality of the second users in association with the first user (Latorre [0074], [0085] “the unified identification protocol also allows selecting contacts to save the different parts of the backup and their replications. The contacts will have to approve that these parts are saved in their device, but only the user will know in how many parts the information has been divided and how many times each part is replicated (preferences are stored in the user profile)”, [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”), and when the service server records the plurality of the second users, the service server records the plurality of the second users in association with priorities (Latorre [0074], [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”), and transmits the request for the disclosure approval, the request being made to the second user selected according to an order of priority (Latorre [0077] “When an authorized individual/organization or a group of individuals/ organizations want access to some data of any individual, a request will be made to the system. If the source of the request doesn't have access rights for accessing the required data of such individual, the system will ask the individual or the designated legal guardians or approved contacts for emergencies to obtain that permission.”; [0085] “Optionally, the user may also allow certain emergency contacts that the user has established to recover a backup of their data in the system in case of accident and destruction of the user's device, so that emergency and health services can access user health data in these situations (preferences for emergencies are stored in the system)”, [0095] further example of emergency contacts being sent the information specifically).
Regarding Claim 14:
Latorre further discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein when the service server records a plurality of the second users (Latorre [0074] “Each of one can have one or more identifiers associated to the multipurpose identifier. Additionally, individuals can have associated distinct public/private identifiers from different entities (legal, academic, work, health and other organization identities), position level and permissions information, roles and access control lists (ACLS) and, additionally, different data compartments in their profile such as official identities, preferences for each organization, medical data, professional competences, etc.; the data of the individual is securely encrypted and stored locally in one or more electronic devices (mobile phone, smart watch, tablet, computer, . . . ) and self-managed by the individual or by one or more verified legal guardians, registered and associated with such individual in the system”, [0085] “the unified identification protocol also allows selecting contacts to save the different parts of the backup and their replications. The contacts will have to approve that these parts are saved in their device, but only the user will know in how many parts the information has been divided and how many times each part is replicated (preferences are stored in the user profile)”), the service server records the plurality of the second users in association with priorities for each of the pieces of data of different types (Latorre [0074] “Each of one can have one or more identifiers associated to the multipurpose identifier. Additionally, individuals can have associated distinct public/private identifiers from different entities (legal, academic, work, health and other organization identities), position level and permissions information, roles and access control lists (ACLS) and, additionally, different data compartments in their profile such as official identities, preferences for each organization, medical data, professional competences, etc.; the data of the individual is securely encrypted and stored locally in one or more electronic devices (mobile phone, smart watch, tablet, computer, . . . ) and self-managed by the individual or by one or more verified legal guardians, registered and associated with such individual in the system”, [0085] “the unified identification protocol also allows selecting contacts to save the different parts of the backup and their replications. The contacts will have to approve that these parts are saved in their device, but only the user will know in how many parts the information has been divided and how many times each part is replicated (preferences are stored in the user profile)”, [0090] “The individual, after reading or receiving said request through the application in the mobile device, will be able to carry out the necessary verifications to check the received request, as, for example, to verify if the device or the organization/staff making the request is reliable and/or if they are previously authorized by the individual to access said data. Then, if the person approves the request, the data requested and additional information (for example, the keys for re-encryption or decryption) will be sent and/or will be shown to the source (s) of the request for processing, by using JWTs or other embodiments.”; [0109] legal guardian may approve access rights “Certification of the data in the profile of the individual and of the access rights approved by the individual or by the legal guardian (s) in one or more distributed ledger technologies accessible by the different systems”), and transmits the request for the disclosure approval, the request being made to the second user selected according to an order of priority set for the type of the piece of disclosure-approval-target data (Latorre [0074], [0090], [0109]), the disclosure approval section individually approves disclosure of the pieces of data of the different types, and the disclosure approval information further includes information indicating the type of the piece of data (Latorre [0099-0100] user decides the information to which they authorize the access and/or transfer of “Likewise, the user may decide on the information to which their authorize the access and/or the transfer of data, as well as the type of data that is shared (public, anonymised and/or private data). The system allows classifying and selecting the type of information according to the origin (device, application or health profile of the individual) as well as depending on the type of event (informative, warning, risk, device errors . . .). This allows a greater and better monitoring of the health of the individual and the search for common patterns in the appearance, treatment and solution of health problems in a group of individuals”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latorre in view of Curbera et. al. (US Publication No. US 2018/0082024 A1) hereinafter Curbera.
Regarding Claim 2:
Latorre discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), … information used to identify the first user (Latorre [0085] contacts disclosed “the unified identification protocol also allows selecting contacts to save the different parts of the backup and their replications. The contacts will have to approve that these parts are saved in their device, but only the user will know in how many parts the information has been divided and how many times each part is replicated (preferences are stored in the user profile)”), information used to identify the second user (Latorre [0085] contacts disclosed “the unified identification protocol also allows selecting contacts to save the different parts of the backup and their replications. The contacts will have to approve that these parts are saved in their device, but only the user will know in how many parts the information has been divided and how many times each part is replicated (preferences are stored in the user profile)”), and information used to identify the service server (Latorre [0074] identifiers disclosed, [0077] “When an authorized individual/organization or a group of individuals/ organizations want access to some data of any individual, a request will be made to the system. If the source of the request doesn't have access rights for accessing the required data of such individual, the system will ask the individual or the designated legal guardians or approved contacts for emergencies to obtain that permission. Once the source of the request has obtained the access rights for the required data, the system generates a unique origin-destination relationship, preferably based on UUID/OID standards”).
Latorre does not explicitly disclose wherein the disclosure approval information includes date-and-time information.
Curbera teaches wherein the disclosure approval information includes date-and-time information (Curbera [0114] “this information may comprise a data structure specifying the health provider to which consent is granted, the terms of the consent, e.g., time limitations, date limitations, usage limitations, etc., the portion of the patient information to which the consent applies, and the location where that portion of patient information resides, such as a name, address, storage location, or the like, of the health provider that will act as the source of the portion of patient information for the transaction. The CIMS based health system 330 records the successful transaction, i.e. release of the patient information to the provider 320, and validates the accuracy of the location information, e.g., through the use of metadata of the blockchain or a hash of the metadata, where the metadata is the index where the data resides”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the unified identification protocol disclosed by Latorre with the inclusion of time limitations and date limitations for patient data disclosure consent as taught by Curbera. The motivation for this combination would be to streamline the exchange of medical information and provide compliance guarantees as explicitly taught by Curbera (Curbera [0026] “providing an efficient, flexible mechanism that patients can trust and which gives them full control over their patient information while, at the same time, streamlining the exchange of medical information among authorized providers and providing them with compliance guarantees”, [0112] “the CIMS mechanisms provide protocols and applications to seamlessly authorize and execute on-demand exchange of patient information, e.g., EMRs, in real-time while ensuring compliance and full auditability”).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Latorre and Curbera further teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1 (Latorre Figure 1 computer system enumerated; [0071]), wherein the disclosure approval section specifies a period of time for which the disclosure-approval-target data is allowed to be disclosed, and the disclosure approval information further includes information indicating the period of time (Curbera [0097] “This functionality allows a patient to record in the consent and data exchange ledger 223 of the CIMS 220, a consent granting document that specifies that a given health provider is granted access to patient information, such as patient electronic medical records (EMRs), held by a second health provider for a certain period of time, with a set of time and content qualifiers possibly limiting the extend of the grant”, [0114] “For example, this information may comprise a data structure specifying the health provider to which consent is granted, the terms of the consent, e.g., time limitations, date limitations, usage limitations, etc., the portion of the patient information to which the consent applies, and the location where that portion of patient information resides, such as a name, address, storage location, or the like, of the health provider that will act as the source of the portion of patient information for the transaction. The CIMS based health system 330 records the successful transaction, i.e. release of the patient information to the provider 320, and validates the accuracy of the location information, e.g., through the use of metadata of the blockchain or a hash of the metadata, where the metadata is the index where the data resides.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the submitted PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/M.A.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496