DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: reference character (58) is directed to two separate components in Figure 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Kiesel, DE 102022004245 B3.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 11
Kiesel discloses a burner (10) for an exhaust gas system of an internal combustion engine (Kiesel, [0006], Figure 1), comprising:
a combustion chamber (12) formed by a chamber element (14), wherein in the combustion chamber (12) a mixture which comprises air as a first fluid and a fuel as a second fluid is ignitable and combustible (Kiesel, Abstract, [0011], Figure 1), whereby a component of the exhaust gas system and/or exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine that is flowable through the exhaust gas system is heatable (Kiesel, Abstract, Figure 1);
a channel (at (20)) through which at least one of the first fluid and the second fluid is flowable, wherein the channel (at (20)) opens into the combustion chamber (12) and wherein via the channel (at (20)) the at least one of the first fluid and the second fluid is introducible into the combustion chamber (12) (Kiesel, [0012], Figure 1); and
a closure element (24) which is moveable relative to the chamber element (14) between a closed position fluidically separating the channel (at (20)) from the combustion chamber (12) and a release position fluidically connecting the channel (at (20)) to the combustion chamber (12) (Kiesel, Abstract, [0013], Figure 1);
wherein the chamber element (14) has a recess (34) in which the closure element (24) is at least partially received in the release position (Kiesel, [0040], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 14
Kiesel discloses the burner (10) according to claim 11. Kiesel further discloses that the closure element (24) is disposed at least predominantly or completely in the recess (34) in the release position (Kiesel, [0040], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18
Kiesel discloses the burner (10) according to claim 11. Kiesel further discloses an inner contour of the recess (34) facing toward the closure element (24) in the release position is adjusted to an outer contour of the closure element (24) facing toward the inner contour in the release position (Kiesel, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 19
Kiesel discloses the burner (10) according to claim 11. Kiesel further discloses at least one wall region (A, annotated Figure 1 of Kiesel below) of the chamber element (14) adjoining the recess (34) is flush with the closure element (24) in the release position (Kiesel, annotated Figure 1 below).
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 1 of Kiesel
Regarding Claim 20
Kiesel discloses an internal combustion engine, comprising: the burner according to claim 11 (Kiesel, Abstract, [0001], Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kiesel, DE 102022004245 B3, in view of Paulov, US 2019/0170060.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 15
Kiesel discloses the burner (10) according to claim 11. Kiesel further discloses that the closure element (24) has a lever which is pivotable around a pivot axis relative to the chamber element (14) between the release position (Kiesel, [0017], Figure 1) and the closed position, wherein the lever covers and thus fluidically blocks an outlet opening (22) of the channel (at (20)) which opens into the combustion chamber (12) and, in the release position, releases the outlet opening (22) (Kiesel, Figure 1).
However, Kiesel does not explicitly disclose that the closure element has a closure part that is formed separately from the lever and is held on the lever, wherein the closure part, in the closed position, fluidically blocks an outlet opening of the channel which opens into the combustion chamber and, in the release position, releases the outlet opening.
Paulov teaches a closure element (pivoting flap valve) (Paulov, [0038], Figure 3) that comprises a lever (60) that is pivotable around a pivot axis (62), and a closure part (55, valve flap) (Paulov, [0038], Figure 3). Paulov further teaches that the closure part (55) is formed separately from the lever (60) and is held on the lever (60), wherein the closure part (55) in a closed position, fluidly blocks a channel (50, bypass duct), and in the release position, releases the channel (50) (Paulov, Figures 3-5).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the closure element of Kiesel such that the closure element comprises a closure part formed separately from the lever and is held on the lever so as to be pivotable with the lever as is taught by Paulov as well known in the art since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 16
Kiesel and Paulov teach the burner according to claim 15. Kiesel further discloses that the pivot axis runs through the recess (34) (Kiesel, [0017], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17
Kiesel and Paulov teach the burner according to claim 15. Paulov further teaches that the closure part (55) is held on the lever (60) with play and is thus limitedly moveable relative to the lever (60) [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the closure part (55) is held on the lever (60) with some level of play as they are separate components] (Paulov, Figures 3-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In the burner of claim 12, the inclusion of:
“wherein, in the release position, at least one first partial region of an outer peripheral lateral surface of the closure element facing toward the combustion chamber in the release position and at least one second partial region of an inner peripheral surface of the chamber element opposite the first partial region in the release position and facing toward the combustion chamber and the first partial region in the release position form a rotationally symmetrical region of the combustion chamber” was not found.
Kiesel, DE 102022004245 B3, discloses a burner closest to the burner that is claimed. However, Kiesel does not disclose wherein, in the release position, at least one first partial region of an outer peripheral lateral surface of the closure element facing toward the combustion chamber in the release position and at least one second partial region of an inner peripheral surface of the chamber element opposite the first partial region in the release position and facing toward the combustion chamber and the first partial region in the release position form a rotationally symmetrical region of the combustion chamber.
In the burner of claim 13, the inclusion of:
“wherein, in the release position, at least one first partial region of an outer peripheral lateral surface of the closure element facing toward the combustion chamber in the release position and at least one second partial region of an inner peripheral lateral surface of the chamber element opposite the first partial region in the release position and facing toward the combustion chamber and the first partial region in the release position form a region of the combustion chamber which is mirror-symmetrical with respect to a plane of symmetry, wherein a straight line runs in the plane of symmetry, and wherein the straight line runs through a center of an outlet opening of the channel which opens into the combustion chamber” was not found.
Kiesel, DE 102022004245 B3, discloses a burner closest to the burner that is claimed. However, Kiesel does not disclose wherein, in the release position, at least one first partial region of an outer peripheral lateral surface of the closure element facing toward the combustion chamber in the release position and at least one second partial region of an inner peripheral lateral surface of the chamber element opposite the first partial region in the release position and facing toward the combustion chamber and the first partial region in the release position form a region of the combustion chamber which is mirror-symmetrical with respect to a plane of symmetry, wherein a straight line runs in the plane of symmetry, and wherein the straight line runs through a center of an outlet opening of the channel which opens into the combustion chamber
Conclusion
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741