DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A (figs. 1-5) in the reply filed on 02 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ketcham (USP 6,497,433).
In regards to claim 1, Ketcham discloses a fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (14), including:
a first end (bottom in fig. 1);
a second end (top in fig. 1);
a first through-bore (central bore);
a first radially inward facing surface including a first groove (42, 40) forming a first axial surface (40); and
a first radially outward facing surface; and
a retainer (16) removably connectable to the connector body, including:
a second radially inward facing surface (at 62) forming a flange (shown in fig. 1), a third end (at “52”), and a fourth end (at “54”);
a second radially outward facing surface (at 62);
a second through-bore (central bore);
at least one finger (50) extending from the fourth end; and
a second axial surface (66) operatively arranged to engage the first axial surface to lock the retainer in the connector body.
In regards to claims 2 and 17, Ketcham further discloses the at least one finger comprises:
a proximal end connected to the fourth end;
a distal end;
a third radially outward facing surface (58); and
a third radially inward facing surface (at 58), wherein the third radially inward facing surface is a frusto-conical surface arranged at an acute angle with respect to the second radially inward facing surface.
In regards to claim 3, Ketcham further discloses a second groove (60) is formed in the third radially outward facing surface, wherein the second groove forms the second axial surface.
In regards to claim 4, Ketcham further discloses the distal end forms the second axial surface (shown in fig. 6).
In regards to claim 5, Ketcham further discloses at least one of the second radially outward facing surface and the third radially outward facing surface is a frusto-conical surface (see 58) arranged at an acute angle with respect to the second radially inward facing surface.
In regards to claim 6, Ketcham further discloses the third radially outward facing surface comprises: a frusto-conical surface (at 58); and at least one constant diameter surface (at 60).
In regards to claim 7, Ketcham further discloses the at least one constant diameter surface comprises:
a first constant diameter surface (see portion 60); and
a second constant diameter surface (see at 62), spaced apart from the first constant diameter surface.
In regards to claim 8, Ketcham further discloses the second constant diameter surface is arranged at the distal end (shown in fig. 6).
In regards to claim 9, Ketcham further discloses the first constant diameter surface comprises a first diameter;
the second constant diameter surface comprises a second diameter; and
the second diameter is greater than the first diameter (shown in fig. 6).
In regards to claim 12, Ketcham further discloses a tube (20) including a fourth radially outward facing surface comprising a second groove (28), wherein the flange is operatively arranged to engage the second groove to secure the tube in the connector body (fig. 1 shows this capability).
In regards to claims 14 and 18, Ketcham further discloses when the tube is secured to the connector body via the retainer, a radial space is arranged between the fourth radially outward facing surface and the third radially inward facing surface (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 15, Ketcham further discloses the at least one finger comprises a plurality of fingers circumferentially spaced about the fourth end (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 16, Ketcham discloses a fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (14), including:
a first end (bottom in fig. 1);
a second end (top in fig. 1);
a first through-bore (central bore);
a first radially inward facing surface including a first groove (42, 40) forming a first axial surface (40); and
a first radially outward facing surface;
a retainer (16) removably connectable to the connector body, including:
a second radially inward facing surface (at 62) forming a flange (shown in fig. 1), a third end (at 520, and a fourth end (at 54);
a second radially outward facing surface (at 62);
a second through-bore (central bore);
a plurality of fingers (50) extending from and circumferentially spaced about the fourth end; and
a second axial surface (66) operatively arranged to engage the first axial surface to lock the retainer in the connector body; and
a tube (20) including a third radially outward facing surface comprising a second groove (22), wherein the flange is operatively arranged to engage the second groove to secure the tube in the connector body (fig. 1 shows this capability).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketcham as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Olson (USP 6,447,024).
In regards to claim 13, Katcham discloses the fluid connection assembly of claim 12 but does not disclose the tube further comprises a third groove and a seal arranged therein.
However, Olson teaches a similar fluid connection assembly comprising a tube (40) having two identical seal grooves (54, 56) with seals (58, 60) arranged therein.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the tube of Ketcham with a second identical seal groove, in order to provide a backup seal in case of the failure of the first seal, thus preventing leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar fluid connection assembly.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
09/17/2026