This action is in response to the preliminary amendment and documents received on August 7, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NILSSON (US 4,938,739).
In reference to claim 1, NILSSON discloses a method for folding sheets comprising the steps: providing a linear transport system (figure 1) comprising a linear fixed guide 10 defining a treatment path, and a plurality of support elements 3 slidingly engaging the fixed guide 10 of the linear transport system to move each support element 3 along the fixed guide 10 independently (column 2 lines 26-33) of the remaining of the plurality of support elements 3; arranging (figure
3) a sheet 4 onto the plurality of support elements 3; moving the plurality of support elements 3 along the treatment path while reciprocally approaching (column 1 line 55- column 2 lines 1-8 and-24-50) the sheet 4 to form folds in the sheet 4.
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 5, figure 3 of NILSSON further discloses simultaneously making the plurality of folds in the sheet 4 in sequence by keeping a plurality of support element pairs 3 approaching one another in movement along the treatment path in the same direction.
Diagram I
With reference to claims 6-8, figure 1 of NILSSON further discloses a folding station (see Diagram I above) where a plurality of folds are performed along the treatment path, which includes a folding plane; wherein support elements 3 include folding elements (see Diagram I above) that protrude from a common rotable support C (chain) about an axis of rotation and are alternatively movable from a distal position relative to the fixed guide 10 to a proximal position perpendicular relative to the fixed guide 10; arranging support elements 3 from an upstream position along the treatment path to a downstream position along the treatment path; moving the folding element(s) from distal position to proximal positions wherein the folding elements contact the sheet 4; and bring the respective folding element(s) back to the distal position(s).
In reference to claim 10. Figure 1 of NILSSON discloses a machine comprising: a linear transport system comprising a linear fixed guide 10 defining a treatment path; a plurality of support elements 3 independently (claim 10) slidingly engaging the fixed guide 10 for movement along the treatment path; a control unit C configured to consecutively move the plurality of support elements 3 along the treatment path and to reciprocally approach the treatment path.
Regarding claim 11, NILSSON further discloses each support element to include a respective carriage 13 and independent drive unit 8, 9 that engages the fixed guide 10.
With respect to claims 13-15, figure 1 of NILSSON further discloses a folding station (see Diagram I above) where a plurality of folds are performed along the treatment path, which includes a folding plane; wherein support elements 3 include folding elements (see Diagram I above) that protrude from a common rotable support C (chain) about an axis of rotation and are alternatively movable from a distal position relative to the fixed guide 10 to a proximal position perpendicular relative to the fixed guide 10; arranging support elements 3 from an upstream position along the treatment path to a downstream position along the treatment path; moving the folding element(s) from distal position to proximal positions wherein the folding elements contact the sheet 4; and bring the respective folding element(s) back to the distal position(s).
In reference to claim 16, NILSSON further discloses an unloading station 20 structured for unloading a sheet (column 2 lines 51-58) from the plurality of support elements 3; and wherein the fixed guide 10 is shaped so that the sheet 4 is substantially horizonal when in the unloading station (figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
July 11, 2026