DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation of “determining, by a moving body including a camera;” appears to be incomplete. For the purpose of prior art rejection, the limitation was interpreted as “a moving body including a camera;”
4. Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
“transmit the image to the control center” should read “transmitting the image to the control center”.
5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-7
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narita et al. (US-20220153295-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Narita discloses a moving body comprising (See at least Fig. 1, and [0050]: an automatic traveling vehicle 10 [i.e., a moving body] is configured to be unmanned):
a camera (See at least Fig. 3, and [0061-0062]: a control system 50, which is mounted on the automatic traveling vehicle 10, controls the travel of the automatic traveling vehicle 10. The control system 50 includes cameras 56 [i.e., a camera] installed on each of the four supports 16);
one or more memories storing instructions (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a and a storage device 64b [i.e., one or more memories ]. The storage device 64b stores at least one program [i.e., storing instructions] configured to cause the vehicle 10 to automatically travel); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a [i.e., one or more processors] and a storage device 64b. When the processor 64a reads and executes a program [i.e., to execute the instructions] stored in the storage device 64b, various kinds of processing performed by the processor 64a are realized):
control the moving body to move autonomously based on information set in advance (See at least Fig. 1, and [0073]: the operation management of the vehicle 10 is planned [i.e., based on information set in advance], such that the vehicle 10 travels in a predetermined operating area. The vehicle 10 automatically [i.e., control the moving body to move autonomously] travels);
transmit an image captured by the camera to a predetermined control center while moving autonomously (See at least Fig. 3, and [0079-0080]: the vehicle 10 basically executes a patrol task by traveling on a predetermined patrol route in a scheduled time zone in accordance with a command from the management server 82. In the patrol task, the processor 64a transmits, an image of the surroundings of the vehicle 10 captured by each camera 56 [i.e., transmit an image captured by the camera], to the management server 82 [i.e., a predetermined control center]. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, during the patrol task the vehicle is traveling. That is, the captured image is transmitted to the management server 82 while the vehicle moves autonomously);
determine whether an event appearing in the image captured by the camera conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition (See at least Fig. 3, 15, and [0136 & 0140]: in step S300, when the processor 64a determines (detects) an abnormal situation [i.e., determine whether an event appearing in the image … conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition] from the images of the camera 56 [i.e., the image captured by the camera] based on the learning data. When the processor 64a determines in step S300 that an abnormal situation has occurred, the processing proceeds to step S310. In step S310, the processor 64a determines whether or not a suspicious person has been detected by the abnormal situation determination process in step S300. Specifically, the processor 64a determines whether or not the abnormal situation determined by the abnormal situation determination process indicates that a suspicious person exists around the vehicle 10. When the abnormal situation determined in step S300 indicates that there is a person who has a weapon, there is a suspicious person in behavior, or there is a person who has shooting equipment, it is determined that there is a suspicious person around the vehicle 10); and
shift to an operation mode when an event conforming to the autonomous driving stop condition has occurred, the operation mode being for remaining at a location where the event has occurred and continuing to capture an image and transmit the image to the control center (See at least Figs. 3, 15, and [0142-0143]: when a suspicious person is detected in step S310, the processing proceeds to step S312 [i.e., shift to an operation mode when an event conforming to the autonomous driving stop condition has occurred]. In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person [i.e., the operation mode being for remaining at a location where the event has occurred, especially when the suspicious person stays at a location, the vehicle 10 that tracks the person remains at the specific location where the event has occurred], photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56 [i.e., continuing to capture an image], and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82 [i.e., transmit the image to the control center]).
In regard to claim 2
, Narita discloses the moving body according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to:
move to a position determined for each of autonomous driving stop conditions and continue to transmit an image to the control center (See at least Figs. 3, 15, and [0142-0143]: when a suspicious person is detected in step S310, the processing proceeds to step S312. In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person [i.e., move to a position determined for each of autonomous driving stop conditions, especially when the suspicious person moves around while the vehicle 10 tracks the suspicious person], photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56, and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82 [i.e., continue to transmit an image to the control center]).
In regard to claim 3
, Narita discloses the moving body according to claim 2, wherein one of positions defined for the respective autonomous driving stop conditions is defined as a position for capturing an image of a target vehicle from ahead at a predetermined distance (See at least Figs. 1-3, and [0142]: In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person, photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56, and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82. The travel control of the vehicle 10 for tracking the suspicious person is performed by using the camera 56 to control the electric motors 36 such that the vehicle 10 keeps a constant distance from the suspicious person [i.e., a predetermined distance]. Examiner notes, when the suspicious person is in a vehicle and the vehicle 10 is ahead of the suspicions person’s vehicle, then the position for capturing an image of a target vehicle is located ahead at a predetermined distance).
In regard to claim 4
, Narita discloses the moving body according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to terminate the operation mode based on a termination condition defined for each of the autonomous driving stop conditions (See at least Figs. 5, 9, and [0085 & 0105]: in Fig. 5, first, in step S100, the processor 64a determines whether or not the time zone TZ2 in which the patrol task is performed (that is, the time zone in which there is no transport task) has arrived. As a result, when the time zone TZ2 has not yet arrived, the processor 64a ends the current processing cycle. In step S130, the processor 64a determines whether or not the time zone TZ3 for performing the cleaning task has arrived. As a result, when the time zone TZ3 has not yet arrived, the processor 64a ends the current processing cycle. On the other hand, when the time zone TZ3 has arrived in step S130, the processing proceeds to step S132. In step S132, the processor 64a executes the switching to the cleaning task (that is, the processor 64a executes the task switching process). Examiner notes, as described above, the vehicle 10 switches between different tasks and the start and stop conditions for the tasks are time-based. That is, the vehicle 10, start a task, including the patrol task, and terminates the task when it is time for performing another task. As such, Narita teaches terminating the operation mode based on a termination condition defined for each of the autonomous driving stop conditions).
In regard to claim 5
, Narita discloses the moving body according to claim 1, further comprising:
a speaker or a light emitting device (See at least [0054]: the vehicle 10 includes a buzzer 22 [i.e., a speaker], an abnormality warning lamp 24 [i.e., a light emitting device], an emergency button (push button) 26, and a microphone 28),
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the speaker or the light emitting device to perform a warning operation by determining operation contents for each of the autonomous driving stop conditions (See at least Figs. 11, 13, and [0117 & 0129]: when the emergency button 26 is operated or the processor 64a determines in step S230 whether or not a predetermined password has been detected by using the microphone 28 [i.e., determining operation contents for each of the autonomous driving stop conditions]. The password described here is, for example, “help” or “scream”. When this kind of password is detected, the processing of step S202 and the subsequent steps is executed. In step S202, the processor 64a operates the buzzer 22 and the abnormality warning lamp 24 for a predetermined time [i.e., to cause the speaker or the light emitting device to perform a warning operation]).
In regard to claim 6
, Narita discloses a method for controlling a moving body, the method comprising ([0079]: a method [i.e., a method] for generating a characteristic patrol route is described):
determining, by a moving body including a camera (See at least Fig. 3, and [0061-0062]: a control system 50, which is mounted on the automatic traveling vehicle 10 [i.e., a moving body], controls the travel of the automatic traveling vehicle 10. The control system 50 includes cameras 56 [i.e., a camera] installed on each of the four supports 16);
one or more memories storing instructions (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a and a storage device 64b [i.e., one or more memories]. The storage device 64b stores at least one program [i.e., storing instructions] configured to cause the vehicle 10 to automatically travel); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a [i.e., one or more processors] and a storage device 64b. When the processor 64a reads and executes a program [i.e., to execute the instructions] stored in the storage device 64b, various kinds of processing performed by the processor 64a are realized):
control the moving body to move autonomously based on information set in advance (See at least Fig. 1, and [0073]: the operation management of the vehicle 10 is planned [i.e., based on information set in advance], such that the vehicle 10 travels in a predetermined operating area. The vehicle 10 automatically [i.e., control the moving body to move autonomously] travels); and
transmit an image captured by the camera to a predetermined control center while moving autonomously to determine whether an event appearing in the image captured by the camera conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition (See at least Fig. 3, 15, and [0079-0080 & 0136 & 0140]]: the vehicle 10 basically executes a patrol task by traveling on a predetermined patrol route in a scheduled time zone in accordance with a command from the management server 82. In the patrol task, the processor 64a transmits, an image of the surroundings of the vehicle 10 captured by each camera 56 [i.e., transmit an image captured by the camera], to the management server 82 [i.e., a predetermined control center]. In step S300, when the processor 64a determines (detects) an abnormal situation [i.e., determining whether an event appearing in the image … conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition] from the images of the camera 56 [i.e., the image captured by the camera] based on the learning data. When the processor 64a determines in step S300 that an abnormal situation has occurred, the processing proceeds to step S310. In step S310, the processor 64a determines whether or not a suspicious person has been detected by the abnormal situation determination process in step S300. Specifically, the processor 64a determines whether or not the abnormal situation determined by the abnormal situation determination process indicates that a suspicious person exists around the vehicle 10. When the abnormal situation determined in step S300 indicates that there is a person who has a weapon, there is a suspicious person in behavior, or there is a person who has shooting equipment, it is determined that there is a suspicious person around the vehicle 10Examiner notes, as mentioned above, during the patrol task the vehicle is traveling. That is, the captured image is transmitted to the management server 82 while the vehicle moves autonomously);
remaining at a location where the event has occurred when the event conforming to the autonomous driving stop condition has occurred (See at least Figs. 3, 15, and [0142-0143]: when a suspicious person is detected in step S310, the processing proceeds to step S312. In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person [i.e., remaining at a location where the event has occurred when the event conforming to the autonomous driving stop condition has occurred, especially when the suspicious person stays at a location, the vehicle 10 that tracks the person remains at the specific location where the event has occurred], photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56, and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82); and
continuing to capture an image and transmitting the image to the control center (See at least Figs. 3, 15, and [0142-0143]: when a suspicious person is detected in step S310, the processing proceeds to step S312. In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person, photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56 [i.e., continuing to capture an image], and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82 [i.e., transmitting the image to the control center]).
In regard to claim 7
, Narita discloses a non-transitory recording medium recording a program for causing a computer to execute processing, the computer being mounted on a moving body including (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 [i.e., a computer] includes a processor 64a and a storage device 64b [i.e., a non-transitory recording medium]. The storage device 64b stores at least one program [i.e., recording a program] configured to cause the vehicle 10 [i.e., the computer being mounted on a moving body] to automatically travel. When the processor 64a reads and executes a program stored in the storage device 64b, various kinds of processing performed by the processor 64a are realized [i.e., to execute processing]):
a camera (See at least Fig. 3, and [0061-0062]: a control system 50, which is mounted on the automatic traveling vehicle 10, controls the travel of the automatic traveling vehicle 10. The control system 50 includes cameras 56 [i.e., a camera] installed on each of the four supports 16);
one or more memories storing instructions (See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a and a storage device 64b [i.e., one or more memories]. The storage device 64b stores at least one program [i.e., storing instructions] configured to cause the vehicle 10 to automatically travel); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to See at least Fig. 3, and [0066]: the automatic travel ECU 64 includes a processor 64a [i.e., one or more processors] and a storage device 64b. When the processor 64a reads and executes a program [i.e., to execute the instructions] stored in the storage device 64b, various kinds of processing performed by the processor 64a are realized):
control the moving body to move autonomously based on information set in advance (See at least Fig. 1, and [0073]: the operation management of the vehicle 10 is planned [i.e., based on information set in advance], such that the vehicle 10 travels in a predetermined operating area. The vehicle 10 automatically [i.e., control the moving body to move autonomously] travels); and
transmit an image captured by the camera to a predetermined control center while moving autonomously (See at least Fig. 3, and [0079-0080]: the vehicle 10 basically executes a patrol task by traveling on a predetermined patrol route in a scheduled time zone in accordance with a command from the management server 82. In the patrol task, the processor 64a transmits, an image of the surroundings of the vehicle 10 captured by each camera 56 [i.e., transmit an image captured by the camera], to the management server 82 [i.e., a predetermined control center]. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, during the patrol task the vehicle is traveling. That is, the captured image is transmitted to the management server 82 while the vehicle moves autonomously), the processing comprising:
determining whether an event appearing in the image captured by the camera conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition (See at least Fig. 3, 15, and [0136 & 0140]: in step S300, when the processor 64a determines (detects) an abnormal situation [i.e., determining whether an event appearing in the image … conforms to a predetermined autonomous driving stop condition] from the images of the camera 56 [i.e., the image captured by the camera] based on the learning data. When the processor 64a determines in step S300 that an abnormal situation has occurred, the processing proceeds to step S310. In step S310, the processor 64a determines whether or not a suspicious person has been detected by the abnormal situation determination process in step S300. Specifically, the processor 64a determines whether or not the abnormal situation determined by the abnormal situation determination process indicates that a suspicious person exists around the vehicle 10. When the abnormal situation determined in step S300 indicates that there is a person who has a weapon, there is a suspicious person in behavior, or there is a person who has shooting equipment, it is determined that there is a suspicious person around the vehicle 10); and
remaining at a location where the event has occurred and continuing to capture an image and transmit the image to the control center when the event conforming to the autonomous driving stop condition has occurred (See at least Figs. 3, 15, and [0142-0143]: when a suspicious person is detected in step S310, the processing proceeds to step S312. In step S312, the processor 64a controls the travel of the vehicle 10 so as to track the suspicious person [i.e., remaining at a location where the event has occurred, especially when the suspicious person stays at a location, the vehicle 10 that tracks the person remains at the specific location where the event has occurred], photographs the suspicious person using the camera 56 [i.e., continuing to capture an image], and records the photographed image of the suspicious person and transmits the image to the management server 82 [i.e., transmit the image to the control center]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mukherjee et al. (US-20220032968-A1) teaches a neighborhood watch system includes a central control unit (CCU), an environment sensing units mounted on one or more autonomous vehicles which are self-driven vehicles, alarm units mounted on the autonomous vehicles, the environment sensing units being operable to continuously obtain 360° views of surroundings of the autonomous vehicle, and to send the 360° views of the surroundings to the CCU.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661