DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Examiner recognizes Foreign Priority to JP2023-021898, with a filing date of 02/15/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Please refer to applicant’s copy of the 1449 herewith.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim(s) 3, 4, 10 – the claimed ranges for respective attributes are inclusive. Example: Claim 3 - a particle size D10 in a range from 0.10 to 0.75 mm includes 0.10, 0.75, values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 (and dependent Claims 2-4, 8-13), 5-7, 14 -17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a carbonate comprising calcium and/or magnesium or a hydrate of the carbonate”. Due to the open-ended phrase “comprising”, the meaning of “and/or” and “or” as related to the materials is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of prosecution and prior art, the Examiner understands the claim to mean any of the materials individually, in combination, or collectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 7-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS5425925A (as
submitted in the IDS dated 10/02/2025) (English language translation of the Description and provided
herewith and referenced herein) by Ishida et. al. (herein “Ishida”) in further view of Evidentiary NPL
“Carbonic Acid: Organic or Inorganic? A Detailed Explanation” by www.scienceaq.com ( herein
“Scienceaq”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Ishida teaches a method of manufacturing,
a cured body; lines 174-175, “ The sheet thus formed is… then cured”.
the method comprising,
mixing a composition comprising (i) a carbonate comprising calcium and/or magnesium or a hydrate of the carbonate; lines 54, 61-62, 69-71, 74-75 “usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of… neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62), “…Other fibrous materials as reinforcing materials… may be added….for example, calcium compounds such as calcium carbonate…”
and (iia) a liquid comprising a soluble alkaline earth metal salt; lines 54, 61-62, 65-66, 69-71, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate..”, “ A mixed suspension (liquid) with a salt is prepared, usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62).
to obtain a resulting mixture and subjecting the resulting mixture to pressure molding to produce a molded body; lines 127-33, “ the board formed by the above-mentioned...step or the laminating step following… is subjected to pressure molding…and the density of the board is increased.
and drying the molded body; line 136, “ After curing, the product is dried …”.
or (iib) a liquid comprising an inorganic acid aqueous solution; lines 65-67, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate such as sodium carbonate, or a gas containing carbon dioxide or carbon dioxide may be blown into the magnesium…suspension”. Here, a suspension (that contains water) that is infused with carbon dioxide automatically creates carbonic acid (H2CO3), which is an inorganic acid. To be clear, while carbonic acid contains carbon, which is usually considered an organic, true organic molecules contain carbon-hydrogen (C-H) bonds or carbon-carbon (C-C) bonds. Carbonic acid contains no C-H bonds as its carbon atoms are bound exclusively to oxygen as referenced in Evidentiary NPL by Scienceaq.
Regarding Claim 2 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of
claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein further comprising,
after the mixing and before the drying, laminating the resulting mixture on the molded body produced in the mixing;
to obtain a resulting laminate;
and subjecting the resulting laminate to pressure molding;
and then producing a desired molded body;
Lines 91-92, 99-100, 107 127-33, “ the mixed suspension may be supplied …onto a PV fiber with a porous body (molded body), and a making roll may be used when laminating the sheet” , “the solid content contained in the suspension is extruded on the carrier in the form of a board or sheet”, “the board formed by the above-mentioned...step or the laminating step following… is subjected to pressure molding…and the density of the board is increased”, “but a high specific gravity
product is preferably formed in multiple layers.”
Regarding Claim 7 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
the inorganic acid aqueous solution is present and comprises an inorganic acid comprising
hydrochloric acid, carbonic acid, and/or sulfuric acid; the instant claim was disclosed in Claim 1;
lines 65-67, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture
of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate such as sodium carbonate, or a
gas containing carbon dioxide or carbon dioxide may be blown into the
magnesium…suspension”. Here, a suspension (that contains water) that is infused with carbon
dioxide automatically creates carbonic acid (H2CO3), which is an inorganic acid.
Regarding Claim 8 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
pressure molding is performed for 30 seconds or more; lines 127-129, “The board formed by the
above-mentioned… laminating step following the relevant paper making step is subjected to
pressure molding. The pressure molding may be of a flat press type or a roll press type, and may
be performed at room temperature”. A PHOSITA would know that pressure molding, or any
industrial molding process, has a time associated such that certain requirements or outcomes of
satisfied. Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the time duration of the pressure
molding. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the time duration of the pressure
molding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One
would have been motivated to optimize the time duration of the pressure molding for the
purpose of a adjusting thickness, squeezing out excess water and increasing the board density, as
noted by Ishida (line 131). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
it is not inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would
have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum
values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
Regarding Claim 15 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
pressure molding is performed for 30 seconds or more; lines 127-129, “The board formed by
the above-mentioned… laminating step following the relevant paper making step is subjected to
pressure molding. The pressure molding may be of a flat press type or a roll press type, and may
be performed at room temperature”. A PHOSITA would know that pressure molding, or any
industrial molding process, has a time associated such that certain requirements or outcomes of
satisfied. Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the time duration of the pressure
molding. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the time duration of the pressure
molding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One
would have been motivated to optimize the time duration of the pressure molding for the
purpose of a adjusting thickness, squeezing out excess water and increasing the board density, as
noted by Ishida (line 131). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
it is not inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would
have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum
values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
the inorganic acid aqueous solution is present an comprises an inorganic acid comprising
hydrochloric acid, carbonic acid, and/or sulfuric acid; lines 65-67, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate such as sodium carbonate, or a gas containing carbon dioxide or carbon dioxide may be blown into the magnesium…suspension”. Here, a suspension (that contains water) that is infused with carbon dioxide automatically creates carbonic acid (H2CO3), which is an inorganic. To be clear, while carbonic acid contains carbon, which is usually considered an organic, true organic molecules contain carbon-hydrogen (C-H) bonds or carbon-carbon (C-C) bonds. Carbonic acid contains no C-H bonds as its carbon atoms are bound exclusively to oxygen as referenced in Evidentiary NPL by Scienceaq.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further view of
Scienceaq and in further view of JPS5425925A p165 Translated (English language translation provided
herewith and referenced herein) by Ishida (herein “Ishidap165”) and in further view of NPL “Effects of
Particle Size Distribution on the Performance of Calcium Carbonate Concrete” by Bui et. al. (herein
“Bui”).
Regarding Claim 3 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida discloses certain materials can be used: calcium sulfate, calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, glass based silicon components (lines 30, 75, 77) . Also, “the mixed suspension is supplied onto the carrier by, for example, a flow box, a spray-row beef coater, a knife coater, or the like. To. The supply amount is O # / 111 'or less, preferably 02 to # β, as the solid content of the mixed suspension (lines 86-88). To clarify this poor translation, Ishidap165, Col 2 Para.5 lines 5-7, “The supply amount is 50m3 or less, preferably 0.2-1.0 kg/m3” . Ishida discloses a mass of particles (kg) for a certain volume (m3), or a particle packing density which a PHOSITA would know is directly related to particle size/particle size distribution, but does not disclose,
the composition has a particle size D10 in a range from 0.10 to 0.75 mm and a particle size D50 in a range from of 1.0 to 5.0 mm;
In analogous endeavor of evaluating particle size distribution of calcium carbonate concrete (CCC) Bui discloses producing a variety of samples with a variety of particle size distributions (PSDs), where the PSDs are blends of two groups of particle size distribution (PSD); one group 300um or less and a second group 425 um or less (Page 692 lines 1-2, Page 693 lines 1-14) which contain limestone and used cement (Page 692 Table 1, where the limestone and cement contain oxides of MgO and CaO – after ignition loss which removed carbonate (CO3) from the MgO and CaO, as a PHOSITA would know). Pressed samples were produced and then a limestone solution was passed through the samples – analogous to a solution mixture (Fig. 1); the limestone solution contained gypsum (CaSO4 *2H20), calcite (CaCO3), and dolomite (CaMg(CO3)) (Page 692 Table 2). The results of the different samples provided results for compressive strength (Page 696, lines 1-12, Fig. 7). As such, particle size distribution is a result effective variable. A particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Bui discloses the claimed invention except for the exact particle sizes of the composition of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the particles sizes of the composition of the instant claim, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to optimize the particles sizes of the composition of the instant claim for the purpose of obtaining a desired compressive strength of the article, as noted by Bui (Fig. 7).
It is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further view of
Scienceaq and in further view of Ishidap165.
Regarding Claim 4 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein comprising,
using an amount of liquid in a range of from 5 to 40 mass% with respect to composition mass;
lines 88-92, 100-103, “when the product has a low specific gravity, the solid content
concentration is about 30%...In the case of an intermediate specific gravity, it is preferable that
both the solid content and the supply amount (liquid) are in the middle, and a low specific
gravity product can be formed into a predetermined thickness at one time, but a high specific
gravity product is preferably formed in multiple layers”, “The solid content contained in the
mixed suspension is mainly composed of bulky anhydrous salt needle crystals, so that the
drainage on dehydration on such a carrier is extremely good, and the dehydration
efficiency and the yield are improved. It is desirable that the dehydration ratio is such that the
weight ratio of solids: water is in the range of 3o near 0 or so: so.” To clarify this poor
translation, referencing Ishidap165 Col 2 Para. 6 lines 6-8 recite “It is desirable that the weight
ratio of solid content to water be in the range of 30:70 to 50:50.” Here, Ishida correlates specific
gravity, where 30% solid concentration is low specific gravity, with intermediate and high
specific gravity embodiments where a PHOSITA would know increase specific gravity = less %
water in suspension.
Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed range of the mass % liquid in the
composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the mass % liquid in the composition ,
since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would
have been motivated to optimize the mass % liquid in the composition for the purpose of
reducing defects in the subsequent pressing and drying steps as noted by Ishida (104). Where
the general conditions of a claim are disclosed it is not inventive to discover optimum working
ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through
routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,
105 USPQ 233, 235.
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further view of
Scienceaq and in further view of Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” (Novel) and
Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” (Novel).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt comprises a soluble calcium salt and/or a soluble
magnesium salt; Claim 5.
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises calcium bicarbonate, calcium
sulfate, calcium chloride, magnesium bicarbonate, magnesium sulfate, magnesium
nitrate, magnesium acetate, and/or magnesium chloride; Claim 6.
Lines 54, 61-62, 65-66, 69-71, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate..”, “ A mixed suspension (liquid) with a salt is prepared, usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62). Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” and Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” disclose the water solubility in water of magnesium chloride and calcium sulfate at 20°C per 100g of water are 0.20g and 54.5g, respectively.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further view of
Scienceaq in further view of JPS5425925A p166 Translated (English language translation provided
herewith and referenced herein) by Ishida (herein “Ishidap166”) and in further view of USPGPUB
20210292230A1A1 by Alanqari et. al. (herein “Alanqari”).
Regarding Claim 9 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida discloses drying at ≦ 0 to tSO ° C after curing (line 136 ) and Ishidap166 discloses drying is
performed at 60°C to 150°C to produce the product (Col 1 Para. 4 lines 13-15) but the combination does
not disclose,
the molded product is dried until a moisture content of the molded body after drying becomes
24 mass% or less;
In an analogous endeavor to manufacturing a cured article with cement powders with an aqueous
solution [0007], Alanqari cites that “drying refers to merely allowing a cement to achieve a moisture
condition” [0010]. Alanqari discloses the claimed invention except for the exact moisture content. It
would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to optimize the moisture content since it has been held that where the general
conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves
only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to optimize the moisture for the purpose of
obtaining a moisture condition appropriate for its intended use, as noted by Alanqari [0010]. Where the
general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum
working ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine
experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,
235.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further view of
Scienceaq in further view of Ishidap165 and in further view of Bui.
Regarding Claim 10 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
an amount of liquid used in a range of from 5 to 40 mass%, with respect to
composition mass; lines 88-92, 100-103, “when the product has a low specific gravity, the solid
content concentration is about 30%...In the case of an intermediate specific gravity, it is
preferable that both the solid content and the supply amount (liquid) are in the middle, and a
low specific gravity product can be formed into a predetermined thickness at one time, but a
high specific gravity product is preferably formed in multiple layers”, “The solid content
contained in the mixed suspension is mainly composed of bulky anhydrous salt needle crystals,
so that the drainage on dehydration on such a carrier is extremely good, and the dehydration
efficiency and the yield are improved. It is desirable that the dehydration ratio is such that the
weight ratio of solids: water is in the range of 3o near 0 or so: so.” To clarify this poor
translation, referencing Ishidap165 Col 2 Para. 6 lines 6-8 recite “It is desirable that the weight
ratio of solid content to water be in the range of 30:70 to 50:50.” Here, Ishida correlates specific
gravity, where 30% solid concentration is low specific gravity, with intermediate and high
specific gravity embodiments where a PHOSITA would know increase specific gravity = less %
water in suspension as well as provides options for the solids to water ratio of the mixture.
Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed range of the mass % liquid in the
composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the mass % liquid in the composition ,
since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would
have been motivated to optimize the mass % liquid in the composition for the purpose of
reducing defects in the subsequent pressing and drying steps as noted by Ishida (104). Where
the general conditions of a claim are disclosed it is not inventive to discover optimum working
ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through
routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,
105 USPQ 233, 235.
Ishida discloses certain materials can be used: calcium sulfate, calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, glass based silicon components (lines 30, 75, 77) . Also, the “the mixed suspension is supplied onto the carrier by, for example, a flow box, a spray-row beef coater, a knife coater, or the like. To. The supply amount is O # / 111 'or less, preferably 02 to # β, as the solid content of the mixed suspension (lines 86-88). To clarify this poor translation, Ishidap165, Col 2 Para.5 lines 5-7, “The supply amount if 50m3 or less, preferably 0.2-1.0 kg/m3” . Ishida discloses a mass of particles (kg) for a certain volume (m3), or a particle packing density, but does not disclose,
the composition has a particle size D10 in a range of from 0.10 to 0.75 mm;
and a particle size D50 in a range of from 1.0 to 5.0 mm;
In analogous endeavor of evaluating particle size distribution of calcium carbonate concrete (CCC) Bui discloses producing a variety of samples with a variety of particle size distributions (PSDs), where the PSDs are blends of two groups of particle size distribution (PSD); one group 300um or less and a second group 425 um or less (Page 692 lines 1-2, Page 693 lines 1-14) which contain limestone and used cement (Page 692 Table 1, where the limestone and cement contain oxides of MgO and CaO – after ignition loss which removed carbonate (CO3) from the MgO and CaO, as a PHOSITA would know). Pressed samples were produced and then a limestone solution was passed through the samples – analogous to a solution mixture (Fig. 1); the limestone solution contained gypsum (CaSO4 *2H20), calcite (CaCO3), and dolomite (CaMg(CO3)) (Page 692 Table 2). The results of the different samples provided results for compressive strength (Page 696, lines 1-12, Fig. 7). As such, particle size distribution is a result effective variable. A particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Bui discloses the claimed invention except for the exact particle sizes of the composition of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the particles sizes of the composition of the instant claim, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to optimize the particles sizes of the composition of the instant claim for the purpose of obtaining a desired compressive strength of the article, as noted by Bui (Fig. 7).
It is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further
view of Scienceaq in further view of Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” (Novel) and
Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” (Novel).
Regarding Claims 11, 12 and 13 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of
the limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises a soluble calcium salt; Claim 11.
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises a soluble magnesium salt; Claim
12.
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises a soluble calcium salt and a soluble
magnesium salt; Claim 13.
Lines 54, 61-62, 65-66, 69-71, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate..”, “ A mixed suspension (liquid) with a salt is prepared, usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62). Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” and Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” disclose the water solubility in water of magnesium chloride and calcium sulfate at 20°C per 100g of water are 0.20g and 54.5g, respectively.
Regarding Claim 14 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
pressure molding is performed for 30 seconds or more; ; lines 127-129, “The board formed by
the above-mentioned… laminating step following the relevant paper making step is subjected to
pressure molding. The pressure molding may be of a flat press type or a roll press type, and may
be performed at room temperature”. A PHOSITA would know that pressure molding, or any
industrial molding process, has a time associated such that certain requirements or outcomes of
satisfied. Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the time duration of the pressure
molding. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the time duration of the pressure
molding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One
would have been motivated to optimize the time duration of the pressure molding for the
purpose of a adjusting thickness, squeezing out excess water and increasing the board density,
as noted by Ishida (line 131). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior
art, it is not inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would
have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum
values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises calcium bicarbonate, calcium
sulfate, calcium chloride, magnesium bicarbonate, magnesium sulfate, magnesium nitrate,
magnesium acetate, and/or magnesium chloride; Lines 54, 61-62, 65-66, 69-71, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate..”, “ A mixed suspension (liquid) with a salt is prepared, usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62). Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” and NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” disclose the water solubility in water of magnesium chloride and calcium sulfate at 20°C per 100g of water are 0.20g and 54.5g, respectively.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further
view of Scienceaq in further view of Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” (Novel) and
Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” (Novel) and in further view Ishidap166 and in
further view of Alanqari.
Regarding Claim 16 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
pressure molding is performed for 30 seconds or more; lines 127-129, “The board formed by
the above-mentioned… laminating step following the relevant paper making step is subjected to
pressure molding. The pressure molding may be of a flat press type or a roll press type, and may
be performed at room temperature”. A PHOSITA would know that pressure molding, or any
industrial molding process, has a time associated such that certain requirements or outcomes of
satisfied. Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the time duration of the pressure
molding. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the time duration of the pressure
molding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One
would have been motivated to optimize the time duration of the pressure molding for the
purpose of a adjusting thickness, squeezing out excess water and increasing the board density, as
noted by Ishida (line 131). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
it is not inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would
have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum
values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
the soluble alkaline earth metal salt is present and comprises calcium bicarbonate, calcium
sulfate, calcium chloride, magnesium bicarbonate, magnesium sulfate, magnesium nitrate,
magnesium acetate, and/or magnesium chloride; Lines 54, 61-62, 65-66, 69-71, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate..”, “ A mixed suspension (liquid) with a salt is prepared, usually in a mixing ratio of 100 parts by weight of neutral magnesium carbonate to 100 parts by weight of the above-mentioned anhydrous salt” (anhydrous calcium sulfate – lines 54, 61-62). Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” and NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” disclose the water solubility in water of magnesium chloride and calcium sulfate at 20°C per 100g of water are 0.20g and 54.5g, respectively.
Ishida discloses drying at ≦ 0 to tSO ° C after curing (line 136 ) and Ishidap166 discloses drying
is performed at 60°C to 150°C to produce the product (Col 1 Para. 4 lines 13-15) but the
combination does not disclose,
the molded product is dried until a moisture content of the molded body after drying becomes
24 mass% or less;
In an analogous endeavor to manufacturing a cured article with cement powders with an
aqueous solution [0007], Alanqari cites that “drying refers to merely allowing a cement to
achieve a moisture condition” [0010]. Alanqari discloses the claimed invention except for the
exact moisture content. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the moisture content since
it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would
have been motivated to optimize the moisture for the purpose of obtaining a moisture
condition appropriate for its intended use, as noted by Alanqari [0010]. Where the
general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover
optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process
parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re
Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in further
view of Scienceaq in further view of Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Calcium Sulfate” (Novel) and
Evidentiary NPL “Water Solubility of Magnesium Chloride” (Novel) and in further view Ishidap166 and in
further view of Alanqari.
Regarding Claim 17 - Ishida and Scienceaq in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Ishida teaches wherein,
pressure molding is performed for 30 seconds or more; lines 127-129, “The board formed by
the above-mentioned… laminating step following the relevant paper making step is subjected to
pressure molding. The pressure molding may be of a flat press type or a roll press type, and may
be performed at room temperature”. A PHOSITA would know that pressure molding, or any
industrial molding process, has a time associated such that certain requirements or outcomes of
satisfied. Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the time duration of the pressure
molding. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the time duration of the pressure
molding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One
would have been motivated to optimize the time duration of the pressure molding for the
purpose of a adjusting thickness, squeezing out excess water and increasing the board density, as
noted by Ishida (line 131). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
it is not inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would
have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum
values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
the inorganic acid aqueous solution is present an comprises an inorganic acid comprising
hydrochloric acid, carbonic acid, and/or sulfuric acid; the instant limitation was disclosed in
Claim 1; lines 65-67, “The neutral magnesium carbonate used in the present invention may be a
mixture of magnesium salt such as magnesium chloride with a carbonate such as sodium
carbonate, or a gas containing carbon dioxide or carbon dioxide may be blown into the
magnesium…suspension”. Here, a suspension (that contains water) that is infused with carbon
dioxide automatically creates carbonic acid (H2CO3), which is an inorganic acid.
and wherein the molded product is dried until a moisture content of the molded body after
drying becomes 24 mass% or less;
In an analogous endeavor to manufacturing a cured article with cement powders with an
aqueous solution [0007], Alanqari cites that “drying refers to merely allowing a cement to
achieve a moisture condition” [0010]. Alanqari discloses the claimed invention except for the
exact moisture content. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the moisture content since
it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would
have been motivated to optimize the moisture for the purpose of obtaining a moisture
condition appropriate for its intended use, as noted by Alanqari [0010]. Where the
general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover
optimum working ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process
parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re
Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Tas et. al.(USPGPUB 20220340491A1) discloses a method for manufacturing concrete containing calcium carbonate, calcium oxide, magnesium oxide, magnesium chloride, and dolomite; infused with CO2; cured and dried.
Guynn (USPGPUB 20210309570A1) discloses a method for manufacturing cement with multiple particle size materials where the materials comprise limestone, CO2, and calcium ions in the liquid
Yoshida et. al. (USPGPUB 2021017410A1) discloses a method for manufacturing structural material containing soluble salts providing anions and cations (including calcium carbonate, bicarbonate, calcium sulfate, magnesium carbonate).
Dietz et. al. (USPGPUB 20220183288A1) discloses a composition comprising alkaline metal or alkaline earth metal salts with carbolic acid, with a particle size distribution, citing D10/D50/D90 particle sizes.
Dubey et. al. (USPGPUB 20200231503A1) discloses a composition comprising alkaline earth metal oxides (calcium oxide, magnesium oxide) which also includes sources of calcium sulfate and carboxylic acid.
Pelot et. al. (USPGPUB 20190315659A1) discloses a method of making gypsum sheets where the mixture contains water, calcium sulfate hemihydrate, calcium carbonate.
Fui (USPGPUB 20170283324A1) discloses a method of making boards, where the mixture comprises water, magnesium oxychloride, an inorganic salt) where the slurry is poured into a mold.
Ferriera et. al. (USPGPUB 20170152178A1) discloses a hydraulic cement composition that comprises water, limestone, and calcium carbonate with specific particles sizes for D50 and D90.
Randall et. al. (USPGPUB 20170088471A1) discloses a method of cold sintering materials where the materials contain a ceramic and a solvent (water-based with soluble salts) which are formed under pressure.
Massa et. al. (USPGPUB 20130087075A1) discloses a method for concrete construction materials comprising calcium oxide and sodium carbonate/bicarbonate, pouring the mixture in a mold, curing and drying the molded body.
Stude (U.S. Patent 4,036,659) discloses a cement composition comprising calcium sulfate hemihydrate, water, a water soluble salt, an alkaline hexametaphosphate, and calcium chloride.
Ippei et. al. (JP2022162955A) discloses a hardened body construction material comprising particles each containing a Ca source and/or a Mg source to a liquid containing at least water (which could be seawater to add soluble salt ions); a step (II) of dissolving CO2 in the liquid obtained in the step (I), thereby obtaining a liquid containing Ca(HCO3)2 and/or Mg(HCO3)2; a step (III) of shaping an aggregate into a predetermined shape; a step (IV) of adding the liquid containing the Ca(HCO3)2 and/or the Mg(HCO3)2 to the predetermined shape obtained in the step (III); and a step (V) of changing circumstances in the predetermined shape obtained in the step (IV), thereby obtaining the hardened body formed by having the aggregate and carbonate existing in the aggregate.
Constantz et. al. (U.S. Patent 7,753,618) discloses an aggregate containing seawater (with divalent cations) CO2, magnesium carbonate, and calcium carbonate, where the aggregate is pressed flat and then dried.
Constantz et. al. (U.S. Patent 8,177,909, herein “Constantz9090”) discloses hydraulic cement compositions containing seawater (with alkaline earth metals and infused with CO2), calcium carbonate, calcite, and aragonite where the material is dewatered, poured into molds, and dried.
/CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741